Mercedes-Benz Malaysia Q3 2017 results announced – 8,771 cars delivered, 6,580 cars produced locally

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has just announced its performance results for the third quarter of 2017, which sees a total of 8,771 vehicles sold to date. This represents a dip in vehicle deliveries compared to the 9,047 units in the same period last year, though this remains in line with this year’s first-half figure, which was also slightly down on the corresponding 2016 period’s tally.

Of the overall 8,771 units delivered in the third quarter, 6,580 were locally assembled units, contributing to a 2.3% market share in Malaysia as of August 2017. As with the previous quarter, MBM’s passenger car sales performance was led by the sedan range comprising the C-Class, E-Class and S-Class, with the lead taken by the C-Class with 3,044 units, while the E-Class comprised 1,891 units in this period.

The brand’s SUV line-up contributed 1,895 units to the third quarter sum, while the compact car range accounted for 1,220 units in this period. The crowning Dream Cars range added 406 units to the roll for Q3 2017. Two additional models were launched in this period, the Mercedes-AMG E 63 S and the GLC 200.

Meanwhile, the company saw 94,596 vehicles serviced at its network of outlets in the first nine months, up 18.3% from last year. The company’s financing arm, Mercedes-Benz Services Malaysia, charted a growth in its portfolio to RM2.2 billion in the year-to-date Q3 2017, up 22.2% over the same period last year.

The briefing also highlighted the brand’s commitment to local industry, with RM1 billion invested into its local operations since 2003; Mercedes-Benz Malaysia currently employs 1,400 staff in total.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• rosdi on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 145
    • Man of steel on Oct 06, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 222
      • Volvo is not chasing the volume to make a profit and in fact their swedish assembly in Shah Alam maximum CKD is about 3,000 units the most in a year.

Volvo then export their cars out to all asean countries including Taiwan.

Even if volvo sales does jump to 4,000 units a year ,the backlog in orders will cause long waiting list to buyers.

Anyway, the sales of Mercedes in malaysia is also 15 years behind Toyota , Honda , Proton.

It seems more people are buying mercedes not for status symbol > is cheap and equivalent to Volvo car price too . These people trying to show they are upper class even they are low class ( self praise image) and they can use it for Taxis and Uber as well.

Mercedes is no longer status symbol in fact is cheap and almost same pricing like the other luxury brands.

Mercedes is perceived more towards a Taxi symbol anyway.
        Good luck to you if you really is a new Mercedes owner and do drive well your new Taxi then.

Do you need a fare now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 45
        • Fenix on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Well said. Dear owners, sell your new Mercedes and upgrade to Lexus^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Exvolvo on Oct 07, 2017 at 2:16 pm

I seen most of earlier volvo drivers bought the car because of lower price, after that they upgraded their car to either benz or beemer when they changed their next car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • william on Oct 09, 2017 at 11:58 am

You are not a volvo owners.

Real Volvo fans/owner always like to stick to Volvo more than Mercedes.

Some Mercedes models are even LOWER PRICE than Volvo and why should real volvo owners take risk to downgrade to Mercedes .

Volvo safety is miles better than Mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Same Lorrr on Oct 07, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Tas, you can trade in to me your current Kimchi before you upgrade your next car to Sushi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Same lorrr ,

Already thrown the rubbish Milo Tin Sushi for Kimchi long time ago.

Kimchi shell is tougher.

• Colvok coxk on Oct 09, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Kimchi FA sales man keep bashing Mercedes ? What a joke when i see this article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • sushi sucks on Oct 10, 2017 at 4:52 am

Sushi cars are way to low category for my consideration.

Thanks and no thanks

• TaknakP1 on Oct 10, 2017 at 10:32 am

Proton cars only worth besi buruk value.

• First time i hear car manufacturer not chasing volume to get profit. May be terbalik not enug buyer pulak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
          • Audi Fans on Oct 09, 2017 at 11:54 am

Heng,

Your style look more or less to me like a Mercedes salesman preaching.

• Abd Karim on Oct 08, 2017 at 10:19 am

Whole Asean only need 3000 units. Volume so low kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • wydle on Oct 09, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Tas,

Volvo actually is not competing with Mercedes for that kind of sales volume. Volvo is already making good profit from the CKD constraint in producing 3,000 cars annually.

Maybe you should re phrase your point there.

Take care for such a worthy write up and hopefully Volvo Shah Alam can expand its assembly plant in the future for their future SPA AND CMA cars

• victor on Oct 07, 2017 at 2:12 am

Not to mention Mercedes is also achieving crap low RV nowadays too >>>>

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
        • Malaysia Got Free Parking on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:29 pm

All continental cars lose about 50% of its value first year. That is why it is wise to buy 1 yr old continental

• Operation Manager on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:16 am

Volvo (the Thor thunder lighting), next year pls CKD at lower price than 3Star/BMW, and next year sure will achieved historical milestone leading NO1-sales under luxury segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
      • Volvo is crappy mobila on Oct 08, 2017 at 12:24 pm

U right buddy..volvo is like chopped liver at a pot luck dinner..no one is touching it…they sell maybe 10 units year even tht it to their own staff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Oct 07, 2017 at 11:13 am

looking at this we realized it’s a waste of tax money to build decent public transport!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • 4bini on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:08 pm

MBM can do well in Malaysia and in Asian countries where car and house are status symbols

In European countries, even top Doctors or Lawyers just use Ford Focus or some cheapo Renault as their main car. Cause they got nothing to prove. Even big Lord or Sir also just use normal VW car to go about.

But in Asian countries like Malaysia, having a BMW and Mercedes is portrayed as you are “successful and have achieved”. Status symbol.

With this in mind, MBM screws the rakyat of Malaysia with high prices. Sadly, no matter how high, most Malaysians strive to own BMW and Mercedes. And MBM knows this.

Pity MBM is taking advantage of this. MBM, time to reduce your prices. Way way way overpriced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 257 Thumb down 10
    • Man of steel on Oct 06, 2017 at 9:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 150
      • Jimmy on Oct 06, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Auto Bavaria, what happened to you?

Wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
      • Ais Kacang on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:03 am

Auto Bavaria don’t care. Their service centers can easily make RM1 million a month profit servicing cars. Most car company’s service centers make 10x more profit than the sales department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • Best or Nothing on Oct 06, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Overpriced? Yes..to most people. But few can afford. Which is why its a luxury car. It is also design, comfort, technology and safety that makes it a good car. Hope u understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
    • Jimmy on Oct 06, 2017 at 11:17 pm

Senior respectable Malaysian lawyer driving a CRV only, haven’t seen one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Ais Kacang on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:59 am

Cannot blame MBM la….

In Malaysia, the government control the car price. The car plus accessories have to be approved by a gov agency. That’s why you see many car companies trying to use tricks like the EEV to bring prices down.

For luxury cars, the selling price wanted by the car company to the final approved price can be as high as RM100,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
      • No problem taxing those who buy luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 31
        • Ais Kacang on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:10 pm

It is not a tax dude, it is price fixing and free market manipulation. By right all car companies should be allowed to set whatever prices they wish, not controlled by an agency.

• Malaysia Got Free Parking on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Gomen want to protek Potong. They are still doing it. OMG

• Bittermuch on Oct 08, 2017 at 1:19 pm

I don’t understand why you have so much bitterness over people owning cars you can’t afford

• @4bini

I have to agree with your observation. The reason people in Msia and Asian countries need to buy branded stuff is the low self esteem that their people in their society have. The only way they can associate with success is money and branded goods and the companies who sell these products know this. The people in these kinds of society have nothing or little in their achievement to show to the world and the easiest way is via this material purchases. They cannot show the world how great they are via their achievement in science & technology, literature, arts & music, sports, philosophy and various other higher degrees of humanistic achievements. These kinds of material status symbol is very shallow in nature and shows their society is only at the infancy of development.

• Najib on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 170
    • Heng Lee on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 123
    • Audi Fans on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:23 am

Biasa is for kampung mentality and thinking only

Mercedes is to show to people owning a Japanese , national , french and cheaper German cars only.

A person who drive either a Jaguar/Range Rover/Volvo/Audi/Porsche/Bentley/RR/BMW does not care a damp about your Mercedes or neither Mercedes image is portrait as prestige or successful to them at all>> hell not but to low class people is a big yes.

These group of wealthy people had already got or achieved what they needed and does not like driving a Mercedes at all ( too common). Only people who did not make it YET to their levelS and upcoming will THINK mercedes is held of great .

Even you do drive a Mercedes ( do not know is old junk or new one ) chances is that your image suddenly turn to be an Uncle/auntie or Uber driver currently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
  • Some pipu says MY going bankrap cuz of record breaking sales for Mesidis & Beemer & Volvos. Ini semua salah luxury car brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 91
    • rosham on Oct 06, 2017 at 9:53 pm

Kan Maslan cakap betul, GST kurangkan kos hidup, makin ramai Mesidis. Terbukti ekonomi semakin kukuh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 87
      • tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:20 am

That’s why la, people laff at maslan, but he proved he deserved his 3.85.

Recently people complaint rm4k Samsung Note8 sold out. Go mall, kfc, starbucks always full.

Mana rakyat terjejas? Bingung.gif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
        • inb4 rakyat typing out sad stories being poor from their Note8 while sipping Rm30 frappucinos at Starbuck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 53
        • jibby v2.80 on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:50 pm

kfc always full. Proton gips free kupons.

• winrar on Oct 06, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Gratzz Benz! BMW of asia nowhere to be seen. Cheerz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:18 am

Thank you Mercedes-Benz Malaysia for publishing info and statistics on sales, production, investment etc.. Not many car companies share such info regularly … and I don’t blame them; most people aren’t interested in industrial statistics anyway, it’s a niche topic. But some of us are interested… for many reasons.

As I’ve mentioned many times, MAA and MyCC stopped publishing new car models sales data since 2012 (zero transparency), and monthly make/model production data is not openly published (paid MAA subscription is required). So it’s up to the car companies to tell us how well their models are selling, and how many models they’ve produced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • C. P. MOHAN on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:26 am

There will always be people who will buy luxury cars no matter how bad the economy. With better credit and owing policy, the ownership is a lot bigger. Ownership was incredibly high before the 2008 crash, my point is do not only look at ownership but also the debt created.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • MB only nibbling on the niche market. The CKD price is still higher than of Germany CBU means nothing to the Msia consumers. Plus the QC and Material used is surely lower grade compared to CBU. Else I wouldnt be seeing 1yr E class having burnt rear Lamps

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 08, 2017 at 1:54 pm

easy loan …mudah la…cannot bayar…jual kereta lor