Mercedes-Benz Malaysia sales hit 9,047 units in Jan-Sep 2016, 10% growth – C-Class sales grow 90%

mercedes-benz-malaysia-q3-2016-18

It’s been a challenging year for the automotive industry so far, but no one seems to have told Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. The company has just announced yet more impressive sales figures today, zooming towards yet another record year for Stuttgart.

All in all, 9,047 Mercedes vehicles left showrooms in the first nine months of 2016, marking a 10% growth compared to the same period last year. The company’s total market share now stands at 2.4%, further solidifying its position as the #1 premium brand in the Malaysian automotive sector.

Leading the charge was the C-Class, which achieved sales of 3,733 units this year, a staggering 90% jump compared to last year. Not surprising, given that this is the full year the compact executive sedan is being sold with the current reduced prices, along with the full range consisting of the C 180 Avantgarde, C 200 Avantgarde and Exclusive, C 250 AMG Line and C 300 AMG Line (now replaced by the C 350 e).

The C-Class’ strong sales performance is more than enough to offset the decline in sales on some of the other models. E-Class sales are down 45% to 1,463 units due to the phasing out of the locally-assembled (CKD) previous-generation W212 and the transition to the fully-imported (CBU) W213. Sales of the S-Class, specifically the S 400 h, has also dropped 40%, sitting at 821 units.

mercedes-benz-malaysia-q3-2016-22

In terms of Mercedes’ compact cars, A-Class sales have risen 21% to 829 units on the back of the introduction of the facelifted model earlier this year, while CLA and GLA sales came up to 480 units and 473 units respectively.

Meanwhile, the company sold 964 units of the GLC and 190 units of the GLE and GLE Coupé, while the Dream Cars portfolio – which consists of coupé, convertible, AMG and Maybach models – rounded out the sterling performance with 195 units sold from January to September.

Moving to the other parts of MBM’s business, production at its plant in Pekan, Pahang has grown 15% to 6,424 units, and the company says that the recently-unveiled warehouse near the plant should help the company satiate growing demand.

Aftersales has also seen a total of 79,917 vehicles serviced at MBM’s 29 dealerships nationwide, up 18.1% from the year before. The company claims that despite the high number of vehicles serviced, it has maintained the highest Customer Satisfaction Index (CSI) score in history. Lastly, financier Mercedes-Benz Services Malaysia generated a year-to-date servicing portfolio of RM1.8 billion, up 80% from last year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kaki5 on Oct 19, 2016 at 6:33 pm

The rich got richer. So no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Mercedes is now selling a lot of cheap and small car, the bigger luxury car, people going for BMW and Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
    • Lewis on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:15 am

MBM kept breaking records & BMW, AUDI, LEXUS all slumping. Oh waiii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Gargantia on Oct 19, 2016 at 6:40 pm

As some says GST will balance the Rich and Poor Rakyat… seem that the facts the Rich are getting Richer and the Poor are getting Poorer !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Insider on Oct 19, 2016 at 7:31 pm

GST saved 1MDB… not poor us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Tax the rich so no problemo. GST means the more they buy, the more we tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Poporing on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:28 am

GST doesn’t discriminate, even poor people need to buy stuff. Genius.

• Yes, our GST discriminates cuz it has zero and tax exempted items unlike other countries GST.

• the more ‘we’ tax? ah, finally you confirmed my suspicion of your full-time job as a cyber trooper. no wonder you bash the bashers

• Yes, i admit i cybertrooper for 160 countries that have GST/VAT. Problem?

• But they pay more GST when buy this Merc right?

• Mikey on Oct 21, 2016 at 8:56 am

U are right Ali. But the smarter one buy Hybrid. It’s cheaper bcos EEV vehicle have INCENTIVE. Hence it benefits the rich buyer

• Shaguntula kristina on Oct 19, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Wow. I bought 2 cars this year. 1 for comp use n 1 for my bf. I hope he happy coz no. 1.i am also no. 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Johan on Oct 19, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Its a g8 brand and car. Bmw lagging now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Mikeym on Oct 19, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Since U bought 2 cars from No1, I hope the No1 bring U good & long life together with your BF. Just don’t come crying here & complain that he run away with No2 & Make sure he sign a Prenuptial Agreements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • when u couldnt afford e-class lul

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 7:27 pm

The impressive figures is in the C-class & A-class. The E/S class drop more than 40%. This mean many company top management are holding back & not changing to newer E/S-class.

It is good that U managed to maintained the highest Customer Satisfaction Index score in history otherwise BMW/Audi will steal your customers under your nose.

At least U remember that your existing customers are your greatest assets who say 1 word is better than your advertisement. Good luck to MBM bcos U need more than luck to maintain the No1 premium brand in M’sian automotive sector

• applegreen on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:32 am

Many top management bought 7 series and porche macan. You can see it from monthly sales figures

• Bimmeria on Oct 20, 2016 at 7:09 am

Looks like the 7 series hit S class’ sales

• thepolygonal on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:13 am

Wow.. C-Class (+90%) gaining traction… oh wait… it’s because the E-Class (-40%) and S-Class (-45%) is down on sales. People downgrading? Also the new C-Class looks sweet compare to alternative…

• i though malaysia going to bangkrupt soon?