W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Edition E with added equipment in Malaysia — E 200, E 250 from RM365k

MercE40036

As previewed earlier this week, two new special edition W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Edition E variants are now on sale in Malaysia. Known specifically as the Mercedes-Benz E 200 and E 250 Edition E variants, prices for the two cars are listed at an unchanged RM364,888 and RM403,888, respectively.

The new special editions largely feature cosmetic upgrades made to the existing E 200 and E 250 Avantgarde vehicles. As such, similar powertrains are carried forward without change.

The E 200 Edition E maintains its 184 hp/300 Nm 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged engine, while the E 250 Edition gets the same powerplant, tuned to deliver 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque instead.

2015-mercedes-benz-e-class-edition-e-200

Mercedes-Benz E 200 Edition E.

And just as before, both of these W212 variants feature a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus torque converter automatic transmission, with a steering column-mounted Direct Select shifter.

Just as we confirmed yesterday, additional equipment added to the E 200 Avantgarde forms the E 200 Edition E (pictured above). Specifically, the extra kit includes a set of 18-inch five large-spoke alloy wheels that replace the standard 17-inch rollers, larger perforated front brake discs to match, “Mercedes-Benz” lettering on the brake calipers and an illuminated Three-Pointed Star on the front grille.

Elsewhere, the E 200 Edition E is left largely unaltered from the standard Avantgarde variant. The car still features a two-bar radiator grille, LED headlights with Dynamic Light System, adaptive LED brake lights, and all the usual trappings of the W212’s Avantgarde line.

MercE40041

Mercedes-Benz E 250 Edition E.

Inside, and apart from the Edition E emblems on the floor mats, the E 200 continues to offer black ash wood trim elements, an Artico leather-wrapped dashboard, and full leather seats among other highlights. The car is also notably specified with a COMAND Online infotainment system, a DVD player, a reverse camera, and an active parking assist system.

Similarly adding on equipment to the existing E 250 Avantgarde’s arsenal, the higher-spec Edition E variant sports an upgrade to an AMG Line exterior kit, which introduces an AMG-specific front bumper, side skirts and rear bumper with dual integrated exhaust tip finishers. Just like the E 200, the E 250 Edition E also gets an illuminated Three-Pointed Star.

A similar set of 18-inch five twin-spoke AMG alloy wheels are specified, which look very similar to those on the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid and the E 400 we’ve reviewed before. And as it goes, Edition E badges are visible on the front fenders.

E 300 Bluetec Hybrid KL-BKK 24

While the majority of the interior is left identical to the current E 250 Avantgarde, the Edition E gets a new AMG design three-spoke steering wheel and a Surround View Camera. Elsewhere, the variant adds a power-operated panoramic sliding glass sunroof, and a Keyless-Go (keyless entry and engine push-start button) system on top of all that is available specs-wise on the E 200.

To recap, the new Mercedes-Benz E 200 Edition E retails from RM364,888, while the E 250 Edition E demands RM403,888 — both prices are OTR, without insurance. Also, do keep in mind that these special edition variants are expected to be on sale for a limited time only.

The listed prices include Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s four years unlimited mileage warranty, while just like the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, they are also available for purchase under the company’s Agility Financing plans. To book a test drive of the new Mercedes-Benz E-Class Edition E variants, follow this link.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Folger Penipu on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:24 pm

what a conjob trying to clear old stock at such high prices still. The E350, with a far more advanced engine and more powerful nm and bhp is sold for US$51k CBU. This junk, CKD Made in Malaysia, sold for RM365k??

Come on FOlger, stop cheating Malaysians. CKD cars should be far cheaper than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Oi BMW salesman! on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Folger sudah balik India la kekeke

• john palat on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:26 pm

cars in Malaysia are cheap. Stop complaining. I am happy with car prices in Malaysia.

• I like to sleep and be lazy but still want everything free in life

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 19, 2015 at 5:10 pm

You can’t afford it? Say thanks to Proton!

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:34 pm

RM403k for a old stock?

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?
      Where is Najib’s promise? Najib pr
      omised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well known fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM18k per month by 2020?

If not, why is this RM403k car exclusive to just the super rich? Why can’t above average people own a Mercedes too like all over the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • cheat people. MBM makes a clean RM200k on each E250 sold. Highest margin of any car distributor in the world

• Simon on Nov 18, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Oii BMW salesman!

Shuddup la….your car also similar price dumbass

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 19, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Update yourself. Claus Weidner (moving from MB Indon) ist ze neue Big Boss.

• E300 BlueTEC Hybrid RM338,888!

• MBM are so dumb. E250 sell for RM403k but E300 sell for RM333k.

Then bluff and say tax free

• wahai on Nov 19, 2015 at 9:29 am

Grow up Johnny boy….
        Even you have the cash, you are not guaranteed delivery of the E300… Simply because they have outsold what they can produce.
        MB remain the most competitive brand in the luxury market in the country, i don’t see how you can dispute that.
        You want your E class at 200k? go and buy it in other country then since you know where to get it at that price.

• wawasan on Nov 18, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Your short sentence says it all….

• gaylord on Nov 18, 2015 at 6:28 pm

the car for old person who goyang kaki at gomen office..

• carfan on Nov 18, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Malaysians must be one of the highest taxed person in the world. Income tax-27%. GST -6%, tolled roads, excise duties on cars. Previously some argued many of our essentials were subsidised including petrol. Now with no subsidies, should the corresponding excise duties on cars be reduced? We are lucky Govt took away the subsidies when the commodity prices were so low. Hopefully G has plan B when these prices go up.

• Not True on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:38 am

Your assumptions are not true.
      Australian for example has the highest tax bracket of over 40% with GST at 10%.

Closer to our region, you only need to look at Philippines that has 32% income tax bracket and VAT/GST of 12%.
      We are not even the second highest in ASEAN. Thailand (35%), Vientnam (35%), Indonesian (30%), are all paying more then us.

I don’t know much about Vietnam, but philipinnes, thailand and Indonesian have similar car prices like us, and they pay toll too.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 19, 2015 at 8:23 am

Kinda feels like a stock clearance more than anything else, really.

While the E250 looks decent, I’m not a big fan of the special edition rims for the E200, the standard ones seem better.

• Sammy Loo on Nov 19, 2015 at 10:01 am

the grill looks like some after market product.

We have tons of Vios and Myvi with those illuminated logos.