Three’s company, as the 2017 BMW S 1000 XR rounds out the trio of Motorrad models launched for the Malaysian market at Sepang today, joining the G 310 GS and the HP4 Race. First introduced to the Malaysian market in 2015, the 2017 revision of the S 1000 XR is priced at RM105,900 including GST, excluding insurance and on-road costs.
A litre-class motorcycle in the adventure sports mould given its roots in the S 1000 RR sportbike, the S 1000 XR is powered by a liquid-cooled, 999 cc inline-four cylinder engine producing 165 hp at 11,000 rpm and 114 Nm of torque at 9,250 rpm; a 5 hp gain in this latest Euro 4 emissions-compliant guise. Transmission is a six-speed gearbox with an anti-hop clutch.
Improvements for the update include vibration-decoupling of handlebars, and an increase in its maximum permissible weight from 434 kg to 444 kg, an equivalent 10 kg gain in payload capacity. Suspension remains as before, with a 46 mm upside-down front fork adjustable for compression and rebound, while the rear monoshock is adjustable for rebound.
Weighing in at 216 kg, the S 1000 XR features twin 320 mm-diameter front disc brakes with four-piston calipers, while the rear is equipped with a single 265 mm brake disc and a single-piston caliper, both managed by BMW Motorrad Race ABS. Wheels are 17-inch aluminium items, shod with tyres measuring 120/70R17 and 190/55R17 front and rear, respectively.
A ride-by-wire throttle setup enables Rain and Road riding modes, while ASC aims to make the best of available grip in any given road condition. For greater adjustability, a Dynamic package is available, which brings additional Dynamic, Dynamic Pro, ABS Pro, and DTC modes along with cruise control and LED indicators. Alternatively, the Touring package brings heated grips, GPS preparation, centre stand and panniers. Like the others launched today, the S 1000 XR comes with a two-year, unlimited mileage warranty.
RM106k is crazy. We have to thank our weak Ringgit for it. If Ringgit was stronger, we would just pay RM60k for this bike.
Ringgit oh Ringgit, I hope you get stronger one day.
We are given another chance to correct this …maybe next year.
Malaysia has the highest car prices and highest bike prices in the world.
I don’t know why we have to suffer with such high car and moto prices
Ok its already 2 years and the govt also has changed. Called up the motorrad for this xr..price still 106k….sad
Now RM is banana money. Same like pisang mas, berangan and goreng pisang
Dear paultan editors, can you guys please integrate the fuel prices found on the side column to support for mobile phone sites? Because as of now it’s nowhere to be found. Just providing suggestions for improvements cheers.
Life is so unreasonable…106k for a motorbike :-(
Are these bikes too sophisticated for our riders, roads, general infrastructure and our fuels good enough for these bikes?
ironically this motorbike has the same amount of cc as the axia but more powerful.
Perodua engine cannot compete with motorcycle?
Axia suitable for msians, the bike no
If you inserted this engine into an axia, 2 things will happen; it will not move until you see 3000+ rpm, and it will have horrendous fuel consumption. That’s because the BMW engine makes very little torque at low revs unlike the Perodua engine and lastly the engine will be unreliable courtesy of thinner piston rings, smaller plain bearings, etc all in the name of performance.
You have to give credit to designers of low power engines because they are built to last, it’s actually easier to build a high output engine with less regard to longevity than to build a low powered engine built to a price and made to last while needing minimal maintenance.
Did you read the articel?
“165 hp at 11,000 rpm and 114 Nm of torque at 9,250 rpm”
Do you want to accelerate an Axia at the traffic light from 0 to 50km/h at approx. 7500rpm? Less rpm wouldn’t work as the engine will die? ;)
Not ironic because different application requires different solutions. Axia’s engine has pull far heavier load so it requires torque way down in the rpm range (peaks out at 4000-4500 rpm) hence lower hp but broader torque delivery, and it only revs up to 6000-6500.
Furthermore, motorcycle engines pull a lot less mass, so manufacturers can build them smaller and lighter with over square cylinders so it can rev higher in order to produce more top end (peaky) power.
He he he. By your logic/reason, P2 should use BMW 1,000cc engine la. The maintenance will be higher too. The end result is the Axia will cost more bcos BMW engine parts are more expensive. Thanks for your sarcasm & Cheers …