Study for Vehicle End of Life policy at final stage: Liow

kedai-potong

A policy for the maximum permissible lifespan of vehicles in Malaysia has been in the works, and the study towards that is now at its final stage, according to a Bernama report. A proposal to incentivise owners of older vehicles to change those for newer ones is included as part of the study, which must be presented to Cabinet before its tabling in Parliament.

“We have not set a deadline to implement the policy because we know it involves various other matters and amending the transport laws, especially the Road Transport Act 1987. However, we understand the worries of the people because the older a vehicle is, more issues or problems arise,” said Malaysian transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

The vehicle scrappage policy, should it be implemented, will allow the transport ministry to determine the lifespan of vehicles allowed on roads, while providing incentives to owners of vehicles which are nearing the end of the pre-determined lifespan. “We may give rebates or cash to them who are ready to end their vehicles, and to us, it is the best way to reduce the number of old vehicles on the road,” Liow added.

Various departments and agencies want the new policy to be implemented immediately and have lodged complaints in order to reduce the incidence of abandoned vehicles, the transport minister said, adding that the abandoned vehicles likely hold stagnant water which will lead to more breeding grounds for mosquitoes and consequently, an increased incidence of dengue cases.

First brought up in 2009, the Vehicle End of Life policy has hung in limbo since minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said at the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) status update that “the public is not ready” for such a scrappage scheme.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reflect strong opinions on vehicle End-of-Life policies, debating the fairness and practicality of scrapping old cars. Many emphasize that well-maintained older cars can be safer and more reliable than newer, poorly maintained ones, urging inspections rather than blanket bans. Several argue that safety is more about driver behavior and maintenance than age, suggesting targeted checks like Puspakom inspections. There are concerns about the economic impact, with some criticizing potential government subsidies, higher costs, and increased taxes, especially on low-income owners, viewing the policy as potentially unfair or profit-driven. Others highlight environmental issues, such as pollution from old buses and trucks, advocating for restrictions on commercial vehicles first. Overall, comments highlight the need for balanced, fair solutions prioritizing safety, affordability, and fairness for owners.

• thepolygonal on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:42 pm

I guess this issue came up as a response to several accidents involving old big vehicles in like lorries, buses… yes… implement to commercial vehicle first, those big old trucks and lorries and buses are the ones making lots of headlines, with private vehicles having the option to voluntary cash in or discount for new ones.
    Doesn’t this way sound better?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 0
    • Mr Loba Loba on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:53 pm

big old commercial and gov vehicles must implement first

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
      • Jimmy on Oct 30, 2017 at 10:45 pm

1. 20 to 25 years is already a very long time.
        2. only vehicles above rm 1 million with milage less than 100k km (5k km yearly usage), substantiated by evidences, can apply for extension permits subject to inspections/testings and renewals at regular intervals.
        3. Insentive of rm 3000 per scrapped car, plus some form of partial tax relief (eg 100% tax exemption if the new car is below rm50k, 50% tax exemption if it is rm 50.1k to 100k, 25% if it is rm 100.1k to 180k) Above rm 180k, the car is in ‘luxury’ range meant for ‘rich’ people, so no tax insentives. Those insentives have to be given directly to buyers, not through those greedy car sellers.
        4. If the ‘new’ car to be purchased is a second-hand car, then a further rm3000 can be granted.

If you cannot fork out another rm2k to purchase a rm48 888 car (10% downpayment), then you deserve to drive the ultrabasic Viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
        • ex-VGM staff on Oct 31, 2017 at 8:47 am

all vehicles over 30 years old must be removed from the road. unless owners applied for classic vintage status. means, the car is in excellent running condition and will hardly breakdown. cars that include toyota corolla KE70, the first datsun bluebird 1.8 SSS or the first gen Honda Civic. otherwise, they must go to compactors.

cars more than 15 yrs old cannot be used at all in big cities (KL, JB, ipoh, penang, melaka). they are slower, hard to keep up with the faster traffic today, dont have the capability to brake as good (no ABS, hardly all-disc brakes) and more often than not will breakdown and cause traffic jams to thousands of road users. they can still be on the road, but in remote areas – smaller towns or felda estates.

all cars above 20 yrs must go for compulsory MoT inspection to check on road worthiness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • Alip ba ta on Oct 31, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Hallo ex VGM staff , pls la don’t talk like rubbish , if I can buy recond Alphard rm30k , tomorrow I send my old c200 to compactor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Vag cars before 3 years old automatically becomes compactor material

• MrBig on Nov 01, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Beg to differ … since when a 15 years old car will be slower, hard to keep up with faster traffic and have bad safety feature?

My car is more than 15 years old and it is faster than a lot of cars on the road, it comes with 4 wheel disc brake with ABS and traction control. It has 10 air bags and sold body too. BTW, it never breakdown in the middle of the road too ..

A well maintained old car can always be better and safer than those “badly maintained” or “never bother to maintain” newer car.

• Old Car on Oct 31, 2017 at 10:08 am

Your Point No. 2 is discrimination against the poorer car owners.

• Majid on Oct 31, 2017 at 10:08 am

We try to be like Singapore but we will never be an inch to them

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Implementing this on lorries & buses will definitely bring forward an increase in transportation costs, which undoubtedly be used as an excuse for unscrupulous businesses to raise prices.

So beware what you wish for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
      • Gary Chong on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Human lives are priceless.

Safer roads & vehicles in future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • Sohai on Oct 31, 2017 at 9:23 am

Talk only, no action for more than a decade. Remember just recent days ago case old buses kilang crashed
          near Juru Plus highway casing several death & injury. Not only that, all over mesia environment fresh air been polluted by the dark smoke from very very old euro2 diesel bus-kilang. Mesia environmental NGO should sue the mesia govt relavent kementerian, bus kilang associate, & the very old bus kilang owners to pay for the cost of enviromental pollution damage, it might cost up to billiobs ringgit for the recovery from the damage. Remember the fresh air is belongs to all 30millions rakyat mesia. Wondering WHY still passed through JPJ inspection and still on the road????? why gov still selling Euro2 diesel…?????

• deskila on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Raise of price.. if reasonable should be given go.. but if those scrap buses and lorries which still on road could cost more damage than money.. human life

• Slirh on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Yes, safety costs money and human safety always trumps business needs.
        Question is why the cost of safety being put to the consumer/ user only?
        While the govt is preparing the right policy, associated costs like having cars with 5* ANCAP, car seats for chldren, etc needs to be made affordable to the masses. Road design e.g. rubberised wearing tarmac should also be given priority and incentives to be used widely.
        MIROS and JKJR have done their studies and provide recommendations, I do hope these are being implemented rigorously.

• 3pedaler on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Impose penalties for old vehicles, cash rebates for new ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
    • QChan on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:11 pm

“Impose penalties for old vehicles”

I think this is quite a disingenuous solution. One may need to soldier on with an older car for a variety of reasons and one of which – $$$. Be kind.

We certainly do not want unsafe cars on the road. Perhaps, we should implement the UK-type MOT inspection before any older car is allowed on the road.

All cars that pass such an inspection should be allowed on the road – regardless of age. You’ll be surprised many “Old” cars are in immaculate condition. Be kind.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • 10 year or older car to go yearly puspakom inspections

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
        • Low Budget on Oct 31, 2017 at 10:11 am

Puspakom to inspect your old vehicles? Ha,ha……. Didn’t you read that the old buses that crashed just after the Puspakom inspection?

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Personally I don’t think old vehicles should be scrapped. But the government need to mandate that to keep the old vehicles on the roads, periodic inspections must be done. Only when the car fails such inspections should the it be scrapped.

At least it won’t penalize those who methodically maintain their cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
    • citizenjohn on Oct 30, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Scrapping policy is more towards removing unsafe cars from the roads rather than badly maintained ones.
      Yes, ur classics may be in tiptop condition with shiny chrome bumpers and all that, but does it have ABS, ESC & airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
      • John is in my IC on Oct 31, 2017 at 7:20 am

I’m sorry, but I strong disagree your logic. I’m dumbfounded by it. A car’s safety is NOT measured by its features. In fact, the human behind it has the highest vulnerability to being unsafe!

C’mon lahh…just because the road you travel on is flat doesn’t mean the Earth is not round. Just because the features are there doesn’t mean it makes people a better driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Old Car on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:58 pm

They should also disallow 9 year term loan for car, if not before finish paying for the car “kena” scrap already, like that how lah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • 12yrsold on Oct 31, 2017 at 8:24 am

Most if not ALL cars can easily last more than 12 yrs regardless of brand provided U service & repair the worn out parts. Just saying bro.

• A well maintained old vehicle is more reliable then some unreliable brand new car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
  • Not Toyota Fan on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Petrol still defunct Euro2 but Mini-star wanna shiok sendiri with Vehicle End of Life. Konon nak macam First World Country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • 12yrsold on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:06 pm

He he he, the article said it was 1st brought up in 2009 by Mustapa Mohamed but LTL is too shy to say they are sleeping on it.
    If the abandoned vehicles are holding stagnant water which is also breeding grounds for mosquitoes, U should order your ministry to work with ministry of health/municipal council to toll away the vehicle ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • These monkey just want to tax you more for new car.

Do you think they are concern about your safety? Look at the way Puspakom conduct the inspection. They are just create another cronies to suck the rakyat’s money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • SALang on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Before implement scrape, please make malaysia vehicle price the affordable. After than, then can consider scrape.
    If you scrape program started, even with rebate, i dont think the rebate will enough to purchase a new car. It may help a bit on the downpayment but car owner need to tight up with 7 to 9 years loan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • SALang on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Something to add on…
      Loan ambik 9 thn..
      Scrape kereta thn ke 10
      Ambik loan lagi..
      Process ber ulang…

End up… hutang bank seumur hidup…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • citizenjohn on Oct 30, 2017 at 9:41 pm

What does lowering car prices has any incentives? We have 3rd highest car ownership in the WORLD and ahead of car countries like Germany and Jepunis.

Better keep the high car prices and improve public transports instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • isengard6 on Oct 30, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Wellsaid john, Singapore is best success story. Clear, konsisten & efektif policies making people mobility a breeze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • LOK CHYI YEU on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Meaning most car will need to be scrap…. it wont work as our country vehicle are one of the world most expensive. You want to sell overseas also other third world country wont want your super expensive 2nd hand cars. So end up all serve as scrap metal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Concerned on Oct 30, 2017 at 11:31 pm

Reduce our car prices then implememnt more inspection centers. So malaysia would stop being a dumping ground for all the recon old cars in the world

• Mr Suka Study Selalu on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Study, study, study, study…and end of the day, half bake implementation and later flip-flop.

The only happened were many sessions of makan karipap and drink teh tarik and lots of hot air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Victor on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Before scraping cars, reduce car prices first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • camtakpro on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:25 pm

If brand new MyVi & Saga with VSC @ RM20k, then ok.

Otherwise, the government should also have End-Of-Life policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • government dah tax ridiculous amount when we buy the car new. return back half of the tax amount when scrap la. pala otak dia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Jelly on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:57 pm

If they let the cars be cheap (remove taxes), who would want to drive an old car on the road? it’s so expensive that the tax being paid, people are making fulll use of what they paid for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Remove crazy duties,automatically the automotive ecosystem will normalize. Probably double the road tax for older vehicles in order to collect more revenue?

• intermilan on Oct 30, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Should be optional not forced / mandatory to private vehicles but mandatory to commercial vehicles like taxi.

• Guest on Oct 30, 2017 at 7:32 pm

What if the vehicle is a restored valuable classic?

• Alan Chan on Oct 30, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Just start by scrapping those 20 year old wira saga that is a hazard to everyone on the road. Every week you can see them causing accident at highways cause their tyres all botak and not abs. Old car = drive like bull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • pondan4 on Oct 30, 2017 at 7:48 pm

1st GST
    2nd no fuel subsidy
    3rd further cut on other subsidies
    4th screw the hell up on Ringgit

Now, want to implement car scrapping policy.

Gov thing rakyat is so rich… and can keep sucking ppl up.. they have good life , high life while rakyat keep suffering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • citizenjohn on Oct 30, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Populist policies is the sure road to ruination. A true leader takes the roads less traveled.

• pondan4 on Oct 31, 2017 at 10:49 am

It’s a policy that helps to increase revenue from excise duty. think abt that

• first malaysia car price must reduce

• MenteriPasola101 on Oct 30, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Mr.Minister, did anyone inform you your road condition is not even safe for a brand new car?

• First things first
    Get rid of all those abandoned vehicles first since you are so concerned of dengue breeding grounds, what are the city councils are doing!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Theres even an abandoned CL500 with shot air dampers in berjaya times square car park for years

• Real World on Oct 30, 2017 at 11:25 pm

Before scrapping old cars, PLEASE scrap people 1st who don’t have even a proper license or drug edict whose driving lorries and busses.

• Concerned on Oct 30, 2017 at 11:28 pm

Just reduce the tax structure and make cars cheaper if we are going too implement this policy. So we stop becoming the dumping ground of all the old cars in this world

• Mr Cringy on Oct 30, 2017 at 11:55 pm

Double the road tax for old car..just do on the big old commercial(more than 10 years)

• Superdriver on Oct 31, 2017 at 8:09 am

1st impose high tax on the car. Car dealers become overnite millionaire.2ndly start selling sub quality car with cheap plastics and gimmicks,then slowly remove all safety feature and precious life saving equipment killing millions of malaysians after many decades.All for the sake of profit.Then now to milk sommore cash from consumers,start putting in safety tech in the cars and ugly bodykits at exhorbitant prices that are standard and cheap in all other parts of the world.Need not mention the people who buy japanese cars for resale value. Its a known fact now that car manufacturers are not making good quality cars like many years back and focusing on sales and numbers only. Buying a shitbox to sell it later with little loss is still an expensive shitbox. Thats how you actually die in an accident on the road. People must learn and educate themselves better to compare cars better on its tech,engine ,safety ,power,control and etc. Sales man are not doctors ,they are there to sell cars and not save your lives. Now coming back to shelving all old cars in malaysia is like removing lead paint and repainting the whole house again.You bloody sold it to us in the first place. And as a blue colour worker in malaysia, i cant afford this bs.

• Mr. Environment on Oct 31, 2017 at 9:14 am

My suggestion: All cars must go to Puspakom for check at year 7,10,15,18 onwards every 3 years… More puspakom should be setup with minimum cost to check. And finally the most important thing to check is THE EXHAUST SYSTEM! Check the carbon emission as too many cars/bikes fail this even after 4-5 years. All cars from year 2000 should be emission compliant (P1, P2 included)

• sam123 on Oct 31, 2017 at 10:20 am

To those who hated old car very much, continue to hate until u old la, no matter what.. old car will stay.. will drive.. will show..

• Bernard on Oct 31, 2017 at 11:34 am

Pay the owners 10-20% higher than market value to scrap as the old cars are still running well, has sentimental value & most importantly , owners can’t afford new cars, hence new cars should be sold 10% lower for these owners as well.

• potato on Oct 31, 2017 at 3:48 pm

By the time Gomen passes this ruling, Petrol probably no longer the main fuel for vehicles…

• Abu bakar ikan bakar on Nov 01, 2017 at 1:17 am

How the hell do you think poor people will trade in their hard earned money, i.e. Years of installment, coupled with depreciation of value, they’ll end up with nothing. Just the few thousand ringgit of compensation. This will work only in high income/ low inflation society.
    The only thing that will work is to reduce the selling price of vehicles, encouraging rakyat to buy new instead of used vehicles. Then again this won’t happen in Malaysia.

• Alcyon on Nov 03, 2017 at 9:19 am

Christ, what a bad idea. Paying people to scrap their cars to buy new ones. Whose money are you using to pay the owners? RM3K to 5K paid by the taxpayers just to subsidize the car industry. The industry should be able to stand on its own, not subsidized by taxpayers. Really dumb ministers we have, so obvious they want to enrich their cronies.

• Pavan on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:41 pm

Strongly disagree, behaviors of drivers and age of manufacturing shouldn’t be used to measure cars lifespan. 1.Lots of car owners of cars older than 1970s are maintaining their cars better than the ones newer. eg. Mini clubs, VW beetle clubs, BMW clubs. Mechanical parts have less breakdown than of those electronics, factually eg, Merc maintain more mechanical value to a car via engine power than electronic tuning, lookup top 10 less breakdown cars, this will be there. 2.If safety on the road to be considered, truck tyre burst recent incident or all other car crash accident, how many are old cars, give fact and how many of it is proton, if the list of accidents from PDRM and insurance agencies can show this fact than we can debate. if not than i believe only proton old cars need to be crapped away. 3. find the root cause not blame game. car breakdown due to poor maintenance, accidents due to negligence (both are behavioral). and lately i see this a lot; maybe you guys can catch it too, road users especially 18-25, turn on signals once in the new lane, this is root cause of accident prone behaviors or root; if you want i can record some and send to you. Dont just throw the word safety and take care of profit risk(safety). 4.To suggest on safety; older cars can be added to puspakom special checkpoint if you are so worried about safety, Users like myself bought those cars with our own money not brimm. 5.Plus if gov want to encourage us to buy new cars you will be so considered of removing your import tax which is a killer for tax earners pocket we would be very delightful buy new cars. Easy to suggest from gov point of view but think from car lovers and public point of view. Remove old cars; profitable for auto industry monopoly not end user. FACTS : a POLO will cost me RM40K in India but here im malaysia a myvi cost 50K, BMW M4 cost 700K here but almost half in the UK. people pay of thier cars in 9 yrs, struggles rough time, dont you thing they too deserve to enjoy the fruit of their struggle have another decade or 2 to enjoy the car they bought dearly. If you wan to encourage us to buy new, remove the import tax, if buyers go for import cars that means local cars are not competent yet. make betterment, be competitive dont sabotage. Increase import tax force malaysian to buy malaysian products – Hypocrisy. and to encourage the poor to take MRT rather than taking their old cars that falls in same category. I believe the choice should always be ours(people). Even great nations like US is not doing as such rules. If you put aside selfish beneficial factors to gov and car manufacturers and take in count peoples personal rights would be much better. If want to be like the great next door nation who came up with this idea of older than 5 years cars, than build betterment in everything not just car crapping. mobility is not priority than other issues malaysia is facing. thank you. im not a politician neither am interested in, i dont care who runs the gov but be fair and honest. (disclaimer to Paultan this is not an comment on you guys even though I see you guys are bring pro gov lately and pro manufacturers unlike before, hey guess you guys want a chunk of the action too ey). ;)