FK8 Honda Civic Type R – 60 units booked before launch, target to have 40 units delivered in 2017

Honda Malaysia (HM) has just unveiled the FK8 Honda Civic Type R in Malaysia, where it costs RM320,000 on-the-road without insurance. Some might think that’s pretty steep, but the mega hatch is CBU imported from the United Kingdom, and forex has not been on our side for some time now.

Our bet is that HM will sell whatever they have, whether the sticker reads RM280k or RM320k. The company has revealed that it has 60 bookings on hand until today. It has plans to deliver the FK8R to all these early birds by January 2018, and 30 to 40 of them can look forward to receiving their Championship White knights by the end of the year.

HM’s sales target for the new Civic Type R is 100 units per year, and the size of its initial order is 150 units, as revealed by Shugo Watanabe, HM’s executive coordinator, who added that the company expects high demand at the start before things taper off, as is normal for new products.

To recap, the FK8 Civic Type R is an all-new model based on the latest global Civic platform. It’s powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged VTEC engine with 310 PS at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 4,500 rpm. A six-speed manual gearbox transfers drive to the front wheels. The CTR’s claim to fame is that it’s the fastest front-wheel drive car on the Nurburgring with a time of seven minutes and 43.8 seconds.

All of HM’s cars come with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty, and the Civic Type R is no exception despite its performance. The service interval is 10,000 km, and the car can be serviced at the same 20 ‘Honda Sport Dealers’ nationwide that are authorised to sell the model.

“No more proving cars at Tsukuba, but setting records on the world’s most demanding track. Riding well on Europe’s cobbled roads and the autobahn, because that’s now its habitat. Twenty five years after the debut of the performance badge, the Civic Type R is now truly global in reach and ambition,” we said of the FK8R after driving it. Full review here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Zuchie on Nov 09, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Real men use three pedals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Ais Kacang on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:23 am

In these times, only idiots use manual for cars like these. Autos are faster and more convenient to use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • Sohai on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:24 am

Only Sohai will buy… current Civic 1.5T cruise ~170 already can feel the body roll (that already added a Steel Bar across the RearSeat, can’t
      imaging if no bar even worst). It still way miles can near VW Passat handling, not to mention AUDI BMW MERZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • johnnas on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Sohai,
        u even more sohai to compare Civic Turbo with a Type R. proves ur just an obnoxious person. bet u don’t even know what’s stitch weld. go back to your Ultra Racing-esque whatever car ur driving now.

• contilover & Proton on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Dont ever say Real Man Drive Three Pedal. to me real man drive Superbike/Sportsbike with manual. It’s a 4 door car, why invest with only Manual. Goodluck bring family at the back and face jam everywhereHonda still afraid to invest a Dual Clutch towards its manufactured “racing car” because why? because they are still new in the market. Turbo also new. The one with long time for turbo in the market like Renault, VW Group (VW Audi Seat Porsche Bugatti).

• ha ha ha on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:54 pm

oh really? how about drive it in kl during rush hour and see who is the real man now.

• I miss Ohwai on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Utter waste of money. Might as well add a bit more and buy the BMW x5 40e or the Volvo XC90.

Both the above cars cost DOUBLE than the Type R in overseas markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • rich ppl on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:53 am

bai, thats why rich people only buy cos thwy have lots of money to waste

• thepolygonal on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:57 am

Yup only targeting the rich.. and I think we have more than 60 rich people in this country.

• Why would you compare a daily driver track car to an SUV? Maybe waste of money to you, but not to the enthusiast

• Pic27
    Now this is what I called Brembos.

So anybody confirmed the WRX STI brakes r Brembos or not?

• shogun on Nov 10, 2017 at 5:47 am

i went to MAEPS yesterday. Yes, WRX STI also has yellow caliper Brembos. The ads video on YouTube also said so. The rims of the WRX STI is also nice though. Suits the car.

• Thx for the confirm, althou its funny why STI rebrands the brakes while Honda kept Brembo wording, instead of using HONDA or TYPE R.

• johnnas on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:35 pm

youtube warrior.

• johnnas on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:38 pm

seriously u dunno? being so lihai in comments and talk as if ur a Top Gear car critic, I didn’t think u wouldn’t even know that STi maintains Brembo as it’s brake supplier.
      typical keyboard warrior. bet ur as round as Krispy Kreme donuts.

• Brembo typically have BREMBO branding on their brakes. Mitsu using Brembos have BREMBO, Honda using Brembos have BREMBO, Nissan using Brembos have BREMBO. Ergo its need to clarify why Subaru using Brembos dun have BREMBO. Whats so special with Subaru, or did Subaru pay extra to rebrand as STI. Is it worth it, considering what other brands above have done?
        So instead of throwing insults, perhaps u can throw answers to my Q above.

• ok let me make another example, you buy a rm300 brands outlet tee.

• I like RS

• So basically 60% has been sold b4 even launch and at final quarter of the year? I guess these 60(and counting) lucky soon-to-be-owners, din get the memo from bashers about this CTR being expensive!

• Alson P on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:32 am

Diehard fan’s..

• Ah Beng on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:51 am

Ah Beng spec ready….

#vteckickedinyo!

• Mr. Octopus on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:39 am

Grey importers gonna have a good time for this model

• v-tec fan on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:44 am

i gonna miss those screaming vtec sound

• thepolygonal on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:55 am

Aiyo.. for those of us who can’t ditch out more than 300k, bring in the S660 and sell it sub 100k. Sure hot cake. Trend here very funny… CRZ’s best selling market is Malaysia…. not much power but still can sell… price rules.

• With this price, better get FD2R and the rest of money just mod and maintain.

• panjang on Nov 10, 2017 at 3:11 pm

They squeeze the life out of the engine and still give 5 years unlimited mileage warranty.Talk about confidence in their engineering.

• Shere khan on Nov 11, 2017 at 4:12 pm

With terms and condition la. Need to check what part is covered and what not

• Dhonda on Nov 11, 2017 at 9:19 am

What…the… Civic Type R 4door sedan…

• jack sepang on Nov 13, 2017 at 9:12 am

car for wealthy people… for me better buy house with this price. anyway very pretty car