Sarawak LRT project to commence 2019: chief minister

Sarawak could have its LRT project started by 2019 subject to feasibility studies, Sarawak chief minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg was quoted as saying in The Borneo Post. The state’s Budget 2018, which was tabled on Wednesday, provides for an allocation for studies on the implementation of the LRT project, which can take up to a year to complete, said the chief minister.

The feasibility studies would include proposed routes, soil conditions and power sources, while the stage-by-stage development of the LRT system will serve as triggers for the development and growth of Kuching and its surrounding areas, the chief minister said. In addition, the Greater Kuching area could also include Bako, Damai, Lundu, Bau, and Serian as well as Kota Samarahan and Padawan, he added.

“If the Brookes could implement our first train service from Kuching to Mile 10 before, we should be able to implement something better than that now. We are moving towards modernisation and we must ensure that our people have a better quality of life with shorter travel time from their homes to their respective work places,” Abang Johari said.

The proposed LRT would preferably be operated with electric trains since the state has plenty of electricity generated by three hydroelectric power (HEP) plants at Batang Ai, Bakun and Murum, the chief minister said. The fourth hydroelectric power plant in Baleh is expected to generate around 1,400 MW of energy when it is completed in 2025, the report said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Tahniah to Swk gov for prioritising public transports. They see what happen to big cities in Semenanjung when they grow big and dunwan Kuching to suffer the same. Lets just hope the study dun get stuck at infinitely perpetual 87%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • Wan Luqman Noor on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:07 am

“proposed LRT would preferably be operated with electric trains”
    non-electric LRT are still made???

• Yes, Canada uses LRT Diesel trains (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trillium_Line) and LRT hydrogen fuel-cell trains are about to introduced in Germany soon (http://www.alstom.com/press-centre/2017/03/alstoms-hydrogen-train-coradia-ilint-first-successful-run-at-80-kmh/).

• Its nice to see rail development spurring outside of the Klang Valley. But In all honesty, I wont question weather Kuching necessitate such a development, I have never been to Kuching and any early public transportation is good for a growing city, but there are two very congested cities that really needs public transportation ASAP, Penang & Johor Bahru. Penang is literally clog with cars on the wee tiny piece of land poking off Peninsula Malaysia while JB is the 2nd fastest growing city in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • U have to remember, Swk proposal is using their own money. In that sense, they rather spend it on serving the pipu instead of frivolous projeks.

JB pulak has their own reasons not to have. Perhaps they rather move the human concentration to new townships (Nusajaya, Iskandar, Pengerang, FC, etc) instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Jordan on Nov 13, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Yes, there is monorail feasibility study ongoing in penang. The MRT from SG will be extended into JB terminating at Iskandar. Are you not aware of these developments?

• lilytan on Nov 13, 2017 at 11:52 am

Rather than LRT, a new train service that connects major towns and rural area is probably a better choice.

• the driver on Nov 13, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Agreed with liliytan and AVH above. Two words that probably will describe the near future – white elephant. Having been to Kuching a couple of times as part of my job, I do not see the necessity of a mega project like this. LRT is meant to ease the congestion of tight cities and JB and Ipoh need it badly. Kuching is a nice town but not yet quite a metropolitan city. Try getting the return of investments from uncongested towns and it will be unviable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • bobcat on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:05 pm

yuppp…you are correct. A Kuching to Miri rail network and after that, from Miri continue to Sabah all the way to Tawau. baru Malaysia Boleh!!!

• Jason Pro on Nov 16, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Please, obviously you’re not East Malaysian. From Miri to Sabah? Dream on!

• Unlike Semenanjung cities, most of major towns in Swk r clustered around Kuching, Miri, etc. Theres no economic gains to like isolated towns to cities yet. Pipu there dun travel from outskirts to inner cities to work on daily basis. So its better to have a LRT/MRT system working to cater to cityfolks, then we can talk about linking outskirts pipu to the major cities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • I am very happy to know that we have LRT starting in East Malaysia. This is the sign of a developing country – when smaller towns start having monorail/LRT/MRT. Good one.

• Correct me if I am wrong… didn’t they in their initial hype say the Sarawak LRT will be up and running in 2020…….

• As a Sarawakian, he basically means: Vote for BN in the next election if you want LRT projects.

• Whats other option? Vote other side for a undersea tunnel from Semenanjung that gets stuck at 87% distance?

• Das Auto on Dec 02, 2017 at 1:44 am

Congrat and Goodluck! Studies around the world conclude that for rail based PT to be feasible and economically viable, that city need a population of at least 4 million people.

• apambalik on Dec 19, 2017 at 12:15 am

FYI Das Auto, Light Rail is built in Canberra with a population of only 390K. Your kind of study is obsolete

• KingOfSeven on Jan 23, 2018 at 12:05 pm

I have to go with my Chief Minister, go for it.
    By the way, we are talking about Sarawak, not JB, not Ipoh and obliviously not Penang.
    If those city need LRT, talk to your state government.
    Sarawak are doing this LRT project with their own money, not from the federal government.We have been patience enough for mega project for the development of our state while watching our resources being used to develop the West Malaysia. Now it is time for the East Malaysia to shine, so just hold your thought.

• I don’t think anyone would question this bro. What did u said are absolutely TRUE. Should Sarawak Government use their money to develop other state?? I don’t think so. As Sarawakians, I realy agreed with the decisons made by our CM. YAB CM know what is good for Sarawak, n YAB will do to make it becomes reality.