GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X vs 1.5 Advance – which new variant should you go for?

It has been nearly a week since the third-generation Perodua Myvi was launched, and prospective buyers have been quick to place their orders. But for those who are tussling between the 1.3 Premium X (RM48,300) and range-topping 1.5 Advance (RM55,300) as a daily driver, which one gives the best bang for buck?

To even the two out, let’s address the elephant in the room here – the engines. Both are new: the 1NR-VE 1.3 litre engine, which it shares with the Bezza, makes 94 hp and 121 Nm, versus the 2NR-VE 1.5 litre’s 102 hp and 136 Nm. The difference on paper is just eight horsepower and 15 Nm, but in the real world, the larger engine is far peppier.

Naturally, the smaller 1.3L engine fares better in the eco run (claimed to return 21.1 km/l compared to the 1.5L’s 20.1 km/l), but of course this is completely dependent on the driver. Both engines are EEV certified and are paired with the same four-speed automatic transmission as standard – no five-speed manual for either one here, folks, sorry. That’s only on the 1.3 Standard G.

Being the range-topper, the 1.5 Advance is the sole recipient of Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA). It’s the first of its kind to ever be featured in a Perodua car, never mind the fact that it’s the only car under the RM100,000 bracket to have Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), a form of low speed autonomous emergency braking (AEB). The suite also includes Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC).

For RM7,000 more, it’s difficult to resist the allure of the 1.5 Advance, but that’s not to say that the 1.3 Premium X can’t hold a candle next to it. If one can do without the leather seats, touchscreen head unit and reverse camera, then the 1.3 Premium X presents a strong case for itself.

Standard features here include full LED headlamps (I still can’t believe this is standard across the model range), front fog lights, front parking sensors and a host of chrome trim pieces littered inside and out to give it a suitably pleasant look. Also, if you’re particularly attracted to the psychedelic Peppermint Green paint, note that the metallic hue is exclusive to 1.3 litre variants. Likewise, Granite Grey is only on the 1.5 litre models.

Left, Myvi 1.5 Advance; Right, Myvi 1.3 Premium X

Truth be told, we have one more surprise in store for you guys. We’ve put these two against each other over the weekend, assessing its drivability, cabin insulation, fuel consumption and all performance aspects, including a drag race! Ever wondered what the 1.5L’s 0 to 100 km/h time is like?

Fret not, all will be revealed in due course, and in the medium you’re most fond of. Be sure to watch this space for future updates, because it’s coming to you really, really soon.

Meanwhile, you may read our initial impressions of the car, or go through the specifications breakdown we’ve exhaustively prepared for your benefit. Alternatively, you can also watch the Myvi walk-around video below.

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X (Peppermint Green Metallic)

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance (Granite Grey Metallic)

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Musang king muda on Nov 21, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Rm500/bulan 1.3 Premium X.
    Top up Rm50 lg dapat rasa 1.5 Advance…ahaks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Graduan Bijak on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:53 am

Smart graduates get it.

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jan 13, 2018 at 2:19 am

Npe 1.3x xde bodykit mcm 1.5.. kata full spec 1.3.. stkt bwk gi kerja 5km pergi blik org umah.. mls nk spend utk 1.5 yg off course roadtax lebih tinggi..insurans pun lebih tinggi

• suomynona on Nov 21, 2017 at 5:55 pm

You chose the wrong variant.

I’ll take the 1.5L High.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • 1.5L pls… full load with ppl then u can feel the difference….

• Interested on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Why 1.5l high better than advance? Like to hear your opinion.

• suomynona on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:07 pm

It’s not that it’s better, it’s only missing out leather seats, touchscreen head unit, window tint film, and ASA. I can live without them, and other features are pretty much there.

Yes, even though ASA can prevent me from getting into an accident, which can happen at any time, I believe I can live without it too. If there’s one thing ASA made me realise, its for me to be more of an alert driver on the road. If I do get into an accident because I didn’t have ASA, well, I’ll take responsibility for it.

So yeah, I’m happy enough with the 1.5 High

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • balldisc on Nov 21, 2017 at 5:56 pm

if there is Iriz 1.6 MT, got firs Iriz. if there is myvi 1.5 MT, got for Myvi.

sadly. both high spec no manual.

• U r right. For something tht is targeted for the young buyers, it better drives well. If not it probably best for retirees

• Ah Lim on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:41 am

Haiyaa.. jammed very bad still want drive manual gearbox aa now a day? Now is 2017 not 2007 maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • They did build a Proton Iriz 1.6 MT for a limited run. They should’ve made more until I got my hands on them. Heard great feedback from the 1.3 MT, I wonder how much better is the 1.6 MT considering the bigger displacement and premium aesthetics

• Just another guy on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Dont worry this is Malaysia, mechanic’ll find a way to shove manual in couple on years

• Rm7000 is nothing nowadays…even 55k sound peanut…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:41 pm

If 1.5L can be ordered with manual gearbox (H spec is fine, but AV spec is better), plus option to reinstate temperature gauge (not necessary need to be analogue, digital or bar reading also ok, compared with only blue or red idiot light, plus i don’t simply play with luck when it comes to engine/water temperature thing), then i will happily order one for myself.

• ryan lee on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:55 pm

impressive enough..kind a hope it can retain camryish meter cluster like previous one..very luminous eye catching..the current meter blue outer rings remind me of that honda city..bland and spartan nothing is perfect.

• Insigne on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Mind parking 1.5L Ad side to side with Honda Jazz V spec?

• Should have drag race test for Myvi 1.5, jazz, mazda 2, vios, city, city hybrid, persona,irizz polo sedan/ hatch…

• kenny on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:43 pm

hey paultan , do a comparison with a first gen myvi or the facelifted one , will hope to see that……

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 21, 2017 at 9:35 pm

I just realized that the third brake light is integrated into the spoiler and not behind the rear window like in the Perodua Axia. The third brake light in the Perodua Axia gets soooo hot that it causes the tint to bubble after a year.

• TreeHugger on Nov 21, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Unlike the rest of the car, the short ugly rear bumper just spoils it. For some reasons Perodua designers never get the proportion right when it comes to rear bumper design. Never learn the lesson from Bezza?

• The 1.5 should have offer front n rear different designs and more aggressive design bumper…

• penny on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:50 am

An honest opinion

PERODUA actually produces TOY CAR for the masses disguise in a small car mould.

Good example Kelisa and Axia ( unsafe for speeding)

• Rightwinger on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:08 pm

I feel sorry for you for being stuck in those times…the rest of us are in 2017, try to catch up ok?

• Which variant? Definitely it’s the one that an individual can truly afford. Able to afford the most expensive variant? It is up to you to decide if it is worth buying it.

Larger family & low income? A used MPV then. Still can’t afford it? Don’t have so many kids.

• Elchino on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:55 am

If they specs the Alza like the new MYVi next, then Perodua will be the only cars you see on the streets in Malaysia

• sam123 on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:25 am

1.5 MANUAL PLEASE

• Marieta on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:01 am

I thank god there’s no manual for high spec which most would buy. Manual is annoying in heavy traffic for those ‘prefer manual’ wannabe. It’s should be abolish long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Just another guy on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Everybody got their own preference la weii… People drive Manual as it response better and lightweight. There also those people like you drive Automatic living in a place where heavy traffic always occur. Its like ordering teh tarik kurang manis and teh tarik peng.

• its safety equipments are such a big improvement!
    But its exterior design is just like mixed baby from many cars’s design, people can tell somehow it looks like Alza, Mazda 3, saga flx, jazz, golf, axia and etc.. overall it doesn’t have unique look and impression…

• Sazali on Nov 28, 2017 at 10:48 pm

Talk so much about 1.5 Advance. No telescopic steering and not even a central hand rest at the rear seat.

• Danny Lim on Jan 09, 2018 at 11:25 am

Would like to hear your opinion from all, Myvi and City which would you pick and why?