OKU parking: what are the rules and who can use it?

A recent viral Facebook video showing a driver in Penang protesting against Majlis Bandaraya Pulau Pinang (MBPP) parking wardens clamping her car for parking in a disabled (OKU) parking spot despite her having a wheelchair-bound mother has been making the rounds. In the video, the driver is seen trying to argue her case that she should be allowed to use the space because her passenger is unable to walk.

However, the council enforcement officers stood firm by the ruling that only vehicles displaying an OKU sticker, with an official OKU identification card issued by the Social Welfare Department (JKM) are allowed to use disabled parking spaces. Eventually, the officers relented and released the clamp after the driver paid the fine.

The driver, when asked to show an OKU card, said the passenger was recently disabled, and the application was still being processed by JKM. Members of the public were also seen trying to convince the officers that an allowance should be made in this situation.

Checks with both the JKM and disabled advocate Peter Tan showed that JKM rules require a disabled person to be examined, with a letter from a government medical officer stating the nature of the disability – temporary or permanent – and type of disability. The disabled person, or caregiver, should then complete a JKM form and the card will be issued.

With the OKU card, one can proceed to the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to obtain an OKU sticker, which is only distributed at the department. Find out about the process and required documents by the JPJ here.

Tan said that for council controlled parking spaces, usage of OKU parking is only with the display of the OKU sticker on the vehicle, and the OKU card must be produced on request or displayed. This also applies to parking located inside government buildings, but according to Tan, the security guards in such buildings do allow abled drivers with disabled passengers to park in OKU spaces, at their discretion.

We contacted Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) for clarification and the council confirmed that it has the right to issue summonses to cars without OKU stickers parked in OKU lots. Under the MBPJ traffic ordinance, those wrongly parked in special parking lots (OKU and reserved) can be fined RM100. The rate may be different in other jurisdictions.

MBPP mayor Datuk Maimunah Mohd Sharif explained to the woman in the viral video that council officers cannot nullify issued compounds on the spot. “We will review the guidelines. There could be room for improvement. Yes, the enforcers saw your mother was in a wheelchair. However, your car could not be unclamped without the need for payment. At the moment, that is not the procedure,” she said, as reported by The Star.

As the current ruling stands, only disabled drivers, with suitably modified vehicles approved by the JPJ, with a JKM identification card, are allowed to use disabled parking. In many cases though, the disabled rely on abled drivers to move around.

It should be noted that OKU spaces are designed with extra space so that a driver in a wheelchair is able to move around the car and get in and out easily. Such spaces are located near building entrances with ramps for easy access to the disabled.

Registration as a disabled person with JKM is voluntary, but does allow access to all the services and privileges provided by the government for OKU. What do you think? Should the ruling stand as it is with OKU parking only for disabled drivers with proper JKM card and sticker, or should an allowance be made for drivers with disabled passengers, despite not having the proper documents and sticker, such as in this recent case?

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Mohd Ishak on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:46 pm

I dont know why we always got OKU parking deviants. How come Singapore can do it and we find it a problem?

The problem here is big shots, including Ministers have been seen parking in OKU places. If not them, their drives go and park in OKU places waiting for the Menteri or their bosses.

Then the polis see, too scared to apprehend. Polis car just pass by the offender cause he got badge that says, Datuk, Member of Parliament or Menteri.

So, what do the rakyat do? They also follow what their leaders show by example.

Solution to this is very simple. Strict enforcement. Pay RM1000 fine. And go to Balai, cannot settle. Cannot pay RM50 duit kopi to settle.

Can we do this? Can the PDRM also co-operate not to take duit kopi to settle such hefty fine when offender comes in to settle saman?

Well, Singapore has done it the past 30 years. We must learn from Singapore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 19
    • Normal abled drivers park in OKU parking spaces. Make them an OKU when they go collect their cars, Simple.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • Brakemaster on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Learn what?. If you like them so much, why dont you move there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 108
      • You ask learn what? Learn how they manage their country, how their people have better live, how their people have higher income, so many things can learn. Why move there, why not make our country better? Malaysia have long way to go to be a developed country, too many people with this type of mentality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
      • vwfan on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Unbelivable thoughts…malaysia is happier without rakyat like you

• typical loser thinking. If other is better than us, of course need to learn from them. So simple also do not know, only answer what the useless government officer will answer us. Shame of you!

• Majukan Malaysia on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Singapore currently busy making autonomous bus a reality, while we Malaysians over here arguing on OKU parking.
      Based on the facts given, the lady does have a wheel chair-bound mother, which needs extra space to exit and enter the car. It is justifiable for her to use the OKU parking. No rocket science.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 20
      • GO by the rules on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:15 am

But doesnt have OKU card which against the rule, nope, the lady shouldnt be using the OKU parking. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Not Toyota Fan on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Too many able bodied persons abuse this, more so if they drive expensive cars. Pretending not to see nor acknowledge the space.

Such people are selfish, uncivilised & kurang ajar. More so if they’re some elected official like Ministers. Elected officials behave like the roads & parkings are bapak dia punya. These people are truly Otak Kurang Upaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • There r oso rich OKUs, so stop generalising. Do they deserve less to use OKU parking?

Its very simple solution. It dun matter if the driver or passenger uses wheelchair. As long as can show proof of wheelchair usage, then the car occupants deserves to park in OKU spot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
    • Adsik on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:45 pm

RM100 already cry like pussycat, bring out steering lock.. umbrella, baseball bat.. buka rim, buka baju, become street fighter.. can’t imagine if the fine increase till RM1,000..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • saladin on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Complicated process to get the sticker. U need to go to 3 jabatan to get it clear. Should the card n sticker issued by MOH when they inspect the patient. Wasting time to go jkm n jpj.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • Obamama on Nov 22, 2017 at 4:42 pm

I found these so troublesome to go through so many departments, let along OKU. Typical red tape government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • When its easy to get, its easily abused. Assurances must be in place to ensure only those deserving gets it.

• GO by the rules on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:18 am

Its not wasting time. Its for the benefits of the OKU people. You do know right OKU received monthly allowance from JKM? And do you know who is governing our roads? Its JPJ. So, you want it, go and get it. If not, just be lazy like u.

• Perhaps having a one stop centre placed at a utc complex for oku sticker applucations could solve the problem.

• BbalingBiru on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:22 pm

If human enforcer are unable to use all their senses and consideration to amicably settle issues, than authorities should use robots and AI of all sorts to do enforcement jobs. I’m sure all jobs will be done fully efficient at more stable op-ex cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • Cars carrying disabled passenger should also be allowed to park at OKU parking lots, but a temporary OKU sticker must also be displayed on the windscreen. For disabled passengers, the sticker should be registered to the disabled person instead of the vehicle so that it can be carried around and used on any vehicle that the disabled person is riding in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Pau Pau on Apr 23, 2022 at 5:28 am

Totally agree with this suggestion. Not all disabled people are drivers & rely on relatives for transport. The disabled parking sticker should be registered to the named OKU card holder & not the vehicle. My Sister who is an OKU card holder needs such a sticker. How to apply for one please

• No oku sticker, no park. Simple. Find a solution rather than blaming the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 16
  • Car must be registered under OKU.. means.. if u mother with disabilities.. it still wrong.

Hahaha..pusing2

• orang biasa on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:49 pm

For my point, i stand at officer side as they are follow the rules that has set by government.
    Like that recently situation happened, the owner should pay the fine then of course need spend some time to go office to appeal with proof.
    Some more like the OKU car park need to stated clearly the t&c to park the OKU lot! Now i can see this OKU lot is grey area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Majukan Malaysia on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:48 pm

To add on the grey area,
      A car with valid OKU sticker clearly displayed, parked on a OKU parking, but the passengers and driver are all non OKU? Is it fair if the normal driver did not bring their OKU member out but park on an OKU parking anyway. If the enforcer see, will he/she clamp the car with a valid OKU sticker but no OKU on sight?
      This clearly proves that our current ruling is invalid and unfair.

• This would be considered as a misuse, like using student cards or special rate access cards when boarding public transport, and if caught would in many cases have the access card, badge or sticker confiscated.

• GO by the rules on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:20 am

Yes, officer will need to clamp because they didnt bring their OKU card. Just think what should happen to you if you didnt bring ur driving license and got roadblock? Think. Think. Think. Then only say/type.

• Its unfair, too many OKU parking at some places like shopping complex, every floor 3 to 4 parking lot allocate for OKU and most of the time not utilize. We are suffering to get one even after we round the entire parking area for 1 hour…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 55
    • Then what happens if an OKU-registered vehicle finally comes to find that some cars have parked at the designated lots just because somebody thought this is a good idea of optimizing empty lots?

• potato on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:00 pm

when war time comes & goes, you will see a sudden increase in OKU parking space requirements.

so having more OKU parking lot designated right now despite not being fully utilized doesn’t mean it’s wrong.

also i believe the OKU space should also be shared for pregnant drivers & those with temporary injuries causing inconvenience in movement.

Doctors should have the authority to issue such temporary OKU passes.

• balldisc on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:09 pm

one word for you : uber

• Break your leg you get a parking.

• Selfish on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:44 pm

For decades OKUs suffered lack of parking spaces. Most are suffering permanent disablement. Even now they aren’t really getting their designated spaces. Because of people like you who deem the world’s “unfair” just because you couldn’t find some lots while shopping with your fully-abled body. You should be ashamed of yourself, and kindly don’t embarrass yourself again here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Robert Mugabe on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Come out with special or different colour car license plate or registration number for OKU.

• Whoever is disabled should apply for oku card only then will receive all those privileges regardless whether they’re driver or passengers provided oku sticker was displayed. No stickers but got clamped then don’t make noise la. Obviously the merc above had no oku sticker but as usual put some fake emblem at plate number sure no enforcement officer dares to clamp. So how? Only ordinary rakyat subjected to the rules?

• Someone on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:28 pm

In this case, the wheelchair speaks louder than a piece of sticker.
    Think carefully whats the purpose of an OKU parking lot is meant for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • common sensor on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Common sense prevails anytime.

• FireAce on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:35 pm

1. The “wheelchair” wasn’t there when the enforcement officer carried out their duties to issue summons & clamp the car.
      2. After summons is issued, enforcement officer do not have authority to waive the summons. Doesn’t matter whether the “wheelchair” present or not at the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Kangkung on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:22 am

Nop, wheelchair doesnt speak. Its an item. There are many different categories of OKU, doesnt mean I use a wheelchair I am entitled for OKU car space. I could abuse it. Luka kaki sikit nak naik wheelchair. Hadoi.

• why so hard to comprehend the law? no sticker, no parking.. if you think you MIGHT have the right to park, just write a surat rayuan and wait for the refund.

• No OKU sticker, no parking at the designated lots – final. Once clamped, the only way out is by paying the fine.

However there is a bigger question behind this. When the car was clamped, the lady did claim that she was in the process of requesting a sticker, meaning she knows a sticker was needed, but still went ahead to park at OKU parking lots although none was issued to her at the moment.

This ignorant mindset is sadly rampant not just in this case. Be it from house extensions, business setup or even property development, a big bunch of people seem to think as long as the application has already been submitted (but not yet approved), they can go ahead and start doing whatever they applied for, only to rant and go public complaining when they’re caught.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • saladin on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:54 pm

You stupid or what. She did not abuse the parking space for disable. She is using for her disable mother. You must remember a truth is forever a truth. Man made law is done by politician and can change overnight. Today u blame her for not having the sticker and judge her at fault, makes u like a good law abiding citizen, regardless of any of her emergencies.

Suddenly the law change tommorow, people with wheel chair can use the bay,no need sticker. With all your statement now you look like puppet played by politician. Becos you follow the law and not the truth.

And also FYI you can start dev construction once you submitted ur application. You just need to pay 20x submission fees. Dont rant things you dont know. Go back to school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Congratulations, you’ve just announced to the whole world that you’re one of those that does whatever it takes even if its above the law or in your term ‘political puppet’.

Like you said, laws are man made and can be changed according to the times and need. Even the mayor has acknowledged the room for improvement. But until that’s done, like it or not, everyone is still subjected to it. Now stop ranting like a 5 yr old and go back to your cave.

• klguy on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:07 pm

datuk, dato, ,datuk sri, tan sri, all can park at OKU or not?

• 12yrsold on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:27 pm

I hope the people who are so strict do NOT have an OKU families & friends. If U cannot carry an OKU person, it also mean U can’t do a favor/help an OKU in distress like taking him/her to a hospital/bank.

What is the point of a parking lot for OKU when the person U are trying to help is an OKU person ??! Don’t tell me NO one here in his lifetime have help an OKU in distress ??

The Guard/officer should have used his common sense or discretion to allow such people to use the facility.

Looks like if your car do not have a OKU sticker, U cannot help/take him to his destination without Kena Saman !! Where is our COMPASSION ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • When enforcement is lax, u complain officers not doing job.
      When enforcement is strict, u complain no compassion.

So, like, whut?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • 12yrsold on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:16 am

U are right. People like U do not deserved compassion when U like to park at OKU parking lot bcos U can’t tell or differentiate between an Idiot who park indiscriminately & a person who is helping an OKU bcos U lack COMMON Sense.

• Ahh yes. Common sense. Ever heard the proverb: Common sense is an uncommon thing? Meaning if u ask 10,000 person for their common sense on a subject, u will get back 10,000 different common sense answers. So how can u make a judgment based on common sense? This unlike the law which is written whats right and whats wrong. Theres no ambiguity.

And yes, im merciless to those who dun follow the laws regardless who relates to me. If my parents broke the law, I WILL tell them off and ensure they dun do it again. If thats compassionate-less then so be it.

• FireAce on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:17 am

So the enforcement officer need to WAIT for you to come back to take your car. If you didn’t come back with an OKU passenger, then only issue a summons? If you argue you are dropping off OKU passenger, WAIT some more for you to bring your OKU passenger to prove your case?

OKU and their drivers do deserve special care but don’t expect the world to revolve around you.

• waters on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:33 pm

Aiya – senang saja la. Issue a temporary sticker/letter. Paste that on the windshield. The Temp sticker should have the start-end date. Habis cerita. Just like what happens when we apply for a new IC.

• In my opinion, the MBPP officer was not wrong, he just follow the rules, no sticker, clamp. Is the system that not good enough to cater for different situation. The officer can be flexible enough to open the clamp if the car owner can prove that she got a OKU passenger that using wheel chair, the officer could have just take their photo as prove to unlock the clamp.

• Ariff on Nov 22, 2017 at 4:15 pm

OKU parking space is meant for vehicles operated by OKUs themselves since they need special requirements to get in and out from the vehicles. Whereas the OKUs who are being chauffered can be dropped off at the closest point of drop off and then the driver can go park just like a normal driver does. The driver don’t need the special parking space. For the vehicles with the special stickers, it’s a bonus for them. Doesn’t that makes sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Ollie on Nov 22, 2017 at 4:42 pm

This is the best comment.

• Rich or poor, theres no logical reason to block half the road just to load/unload the wheelchair. OKUs have their privileges but it doesnt go past their special carpark. For chauffeurs dropping off, pls use the OKU bay to do that and park somewhere else. Doesn’t that makes sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Simple rules to follow when parking at OKU spot.

1. Blue Sticker
    2. OKU certified driver

No excuse even if you, an able-bodied person, drive for an OKU, you’re not entitled for that parking spot. What if other OKUs also need to use it?

• This is what should be done:

If you are wheelchair bound, and a driver, the health institution/hospital should release a letter where you can receive a OKU pass/sticker with a portion of their OKU ID number at JPJ counters or by mail.

If you have an immidiate OKU family member (child/parents/spouse) a similar letter could be used to collect a different kind of OKU pass/sticker of a different colour (to distinguish OKU Driver or Passenger).

Only vehicles of such pass should be allowed to park at OKU spaces. Because i find it a waste of time and energy for authorities to walk/drive to a parking spot, and to figure our whether or not there is an OKU driver, passenger or just an able-bodied person that misuse the spot. They either have to call for the owner of the vehicle, or waste time clamping and such.

Colour coded OKU stickers with serial numbers should be used/implemented. You will notice from far and a simple check of serial number/car number is suffice for legitimacy reasons. Its just a matter of printing in a different colour with serial numbers, no new technology here. Maybe Blue for OKU Driver, Yellow for OKU Passenger.

Because I saw OKU stickers sold at Daiso for RM5 with no problem.. anyone can be an asshole parker.

• Kangkung on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:24 am

U write here so long think ah beng paul tan will convey to JPJ ah? Go write to JPJ, this is one of a good idea.

• Ben Yap on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:59 pm

OKU people should just take uber or grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Lucky Gong on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:16 pm

Uber driver bring them into car? I wonder they will do that?

• I think labelling the parking space for only OKU is too narrowly defined and authority blindly following guideline is prove that our community is now lacking human factor.
    Sometimes so called abled person also face difficulties in parking the car. Especially when handling young toddler alone while performing groceries shopping or delivering and fetching from school.
    If only considering the adults, the abled may have no issue parking the vehicle few blocks away. But can the toddler manage the few blocks walk? How about mom or dad with strollers?
    All in all a lot of situation or scenario need to be taken into consideration.
    Maybe we just need to educate ourself and families to prioritize persons in need.
    In the meantime, a better infrastructure of parking space need to be enforced for new building which can be hugely improved.
    It is nonsense to develop new high rise building with allocation of parking space according to land sq ft.
    We need to grow up.

• My opinion is that the driver on the above situation should have not been fines because her passenger was OKU anyway,no that she lied or so. Sometimes,such tolerance is essential because not to say that we should not strict the rules,its just that may be she just happen to bring her mother to the particular place on that day using that car. May be its not even her car,may b she just borrowed it from her friend or so on that particular day to bring her mom. Not to say myself or everyone should overly think,but at times such tolerance and give and take goes a long way. You dont have to officially announce all the time that you have an OKU passenger with you through sticker. As long as you have an OKU with you,its fine.Its like parking space that is allowed for family with kids. Do you have to put a sticker or so saying that there is baby on board?So would you be fined if you dont do so? May b just inform them nicely since it was a first time and give them a second chance.Just my two scents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • I think people don’t understand what’s the use of OKU parking lot – it’s for drivers who are having disabilities. Period. In this case, not that I’m heartless but she could just drop the mother off first then find a proper parking lot. Of course the challenge is that she needs to send her mum to different places under different weather and situations. But, what if another OKU driver arrive there? Where is she/he gonna park? Many people just park anywhere that’s convenient, the nearest. The best is just next to the car and don’t have to walk much at all. If only people are more caring and considerate, such issue won’t even surface. Malaysians, you can do better.

• Hermin5 on Nov 24, 2017 at 5:43 am

Well im an OKU myself and it only took 1hour with a valid medical report from the Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia for JKM to issued OKU cards. So there no tjere is no delay in applying for OKU status unless the disability is not permanent. But the challenges for most OKU is the designated parking lot always is always block by a cone or a sign and we must get out of of the car and remove them first before we can parked.

• potato on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:09 pm

without the cone, most likely you won’t even have a empty OKU lot to park your car at.

they know that if they put a cone, the drivers genuinely needs that OKU lot will do spend the effort to move the obstruction.

though yes it’s inconvenient and not really safe, but it’s what it takes to keep the lot empty for OKU drivers.

you can hire a person to station there just to make sure the lot is properly utilized but that would mean additional cost.

• John Labu on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:03 am

rules is a rules. no OKU card, no OKU parking. OKU card is for the driver not the passenger. Can i drive a car without driving license just because i’m busy to take of my OKU mother?

• If she does this drama in KL/PJ shopping complexes, she would kena minimum RM100 & then sent out asap by an army of security guards wielding hand batons! The ‘OKU driver’ ruling is very strict here. Even my wheel-chaired mom & I are not allowed to use OKU lots. And I agree that is the right thing to do. Pg Council is too lenient over blatant abuse of these lots by normal/able-bodied drivers.

• typical loser thinking. If other is better than us, of course need to learn from them. So simple also do not know, only answer what the useless government officer will answer us. Shame of you!

• Shida on Jul 17, 2018 at 11:44 am

I am a housewife with a 7yo oku son (jkm cardholder). I never parked on the oku parking lot as it is gainst the law… bear in mind that i’ll bring my oku son everywhere daily, inclucing groceries shopping etc….

but i would be very thankful if the rules and regulations can be ammended by the authorities. We really need the space and area to bring our son in/out of the car.

Many of the comments i presumed made by people who dont have any oku family members & the regulations also in made by those who are in the same category and further more does not truly understand our inconvenience in conducting our daily activities.

Berat mata memandang berat lg bahu memikul… ✌✌

• cfansoon on Nov 27, 2018 at 6:00 pm

I had a car accident in 2014 Sept, bone fracture on left leg femur.
    Until now I still need to use a single crutch when walk around.
    I decided not to get an OKU identification card from JKM.
    Whether I will be able to get an OKU identification card or not I am not sure because my case is “small case” only (maybe?).
    But why more than 4 years already I still unable to walk without the help of a single crutch? Asked the doctor, but the doctor just said that I might need to depend on crutch for the rest of my life.
    I hope the doctor is wrong, I still doing physio every day, hope that I will not need to use the crutch soon or later.

• Hhhhhh on Jul 04, 2019 at 10:31 pm

Selfishness is not a disability

• Vimi Fiona Anthony on Jul 05, 2022 at 9:32 pm

I am OKU and I rely on my family for transportation. Therefore Should allow able drivers with OKU passengers and with OKU sticker/card to park at OKU lots.

• Cynthia sammy on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:07 pm

With so many seniors who are still driving n some of them if not most have leg problems n uses a walking cane, why can parking lots be utilised for us senior citizens? There are special parking for single ladies, family n OKU, please consider us old n weak senior citizens esp those of us who are living alone n still have to go out to pay bills n buy groceries.

• John Ng on Apr 09, 2023 at 11:16 am

Disabled parking lots are meant for drivers with a physical disability and NOT for passengers with a disability. The fact that the disabled parking lot is place near the entrance to buildings means it’s for disabled drivers especially those on wheelchairs to access the building with ease. A deaf person who has an OKU Card is NOT ALLOWED to park in a disabled car park too as it’s meant for disabled DRIVERS with mobility impairments. Cars with disabled passengers can temporarily stop at the entrance of malls & buildings OR just before entering a car park lot to disembark the disabled passenger (with wheelchair) b4 parking into a lot. There’s not enough car park space for all disabled people in any country