Hyundai Grand Starex facelift unveiled in South Korea

We may have become used to numerous local updates to the Hyundai Grand Starex over in Malaysia, but the fact of the matter is that globally, the humongous van/MPV has only seen one mild facelift since it was unveiled in 2007. Well, the Korean-market model has finally received a more comprehensive overhaul inside and out, bringing it up to date with the rest of the company’s lineup.

All models get a new front fascia that ditches the distinctive vertical headlights for horizontal trapezoidal items, flanking a version of the company’s Cascading Grille – way better than our Lexus-style front maw, don’t you think? The lower air intake has also been redesigned, while the bonnet is taller to provide greater pedestrian protection and a more stately look.

The new, more luxurious Urban model gains a number of additional upgrades, such as projector halogen headlights, a chrome grille, LED combination tail lights, 17-inch machined-finish alloy wheels, aero-blade wipers and revised suspension tuning for improved comfort.

Inside, the Urban also gains a redesigned “sedan” interior, with a horizontal dashboard design, a new four-spoke steering wheel and gearlever, automatic air-conditioning and a “floating” freestanding eight-inch infotainment touchscreen with navigation.

The nine-seater Urban, which joins the van and 11- and 12-seater Wagon models, is exempted from individual consumption tax levied on the other variants in Korea and can be operated with a standard driving licence. It is also allowed to travel at over 110 km/h, while still being able to use highway bus lanes with at least six people on board.

Other added features include hill-start assist, a locking differential and increased sound insulation for a more quiet ride. Passenger models also receive an updated 2.5 litre CRDi turbodiesel engine that is Euro 6-compliant, making 140 PS and 353 Nm of torque with a six-speed manual transmission, or 176 PS and 451 Nm with variable geometry turbocharging (VGT) and a five-speed automatic.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Does it still have the annoyingly bright LEDs shining from the wing mirrors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • annoying starex on Dec 21, 2017 at 2:20 pm

for the first time, i totally 100% agree with you john. that bright light LED at the side mirror is super duper annoying. just like vios rear fog lamp. i don’t know what the driver was thinking when switch it on. feeling cool? nope, you just making trouble to the other cars behind because it is so bright. mind you, it is RED bright.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Trajay on Dec 21, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Macam alfat tapi bukan..

• vandriver on Dec 24, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Seats are very straight, like those in factory workers van

• starexowner on Jan 23, 2018 at 11:40 pm

it has no switch to switch it off. it auto on whenever the car is started.

the front sensor couldn’t also be turned off. it is super annoying while queuing at traffic lights.

blame Hyundai..

• Some say rich ahbeng car to bring their 9 kids.

• Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 21, 2017 at 2:23 pm

I think ahbengs got 2 or 3 kids only. They know family planning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Nope. Seen so many times these ahbeng MPVs open door and unload a swarm of misbehaving screaming little terrors.

• stasta on Dec 27, 2017 at 10:21 am

if their faces dont look alike, you know its their kids friends, not their own offspring.

• (Like) Hyundai Trajet rm168k.
    (Dislike) Maxus G10 rm153k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
  • Petoron Sagu on Dec 21, 2017 at 12:24 pm

I like the bright shining side mirror. Feel like driving a jet…. Hehehehehe

• Not Hyundai Fan on Dec 21, 2017 at 2:49 pm

For more info, Hyundai sales will not able to sell well and Hyundai sales will continue dropping

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • eddiekee on Dec 21, 2017 at 3:12 pm

some marques also not doing well so please don’t purposely mention Hyundai. they got some sales every month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • La La La Land on Dec 21, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Why Hyundai sales not able to sell well? It is because current Hyundai models design are getting worst and terrible. Hyundai Kona headlights also copying from Citroen C4 Cactus. Hyundai Starex Royale new facelift that mentioned this article, it’s design looks very boxy compare to Kia Grand Carnival where Kia Carnival design is not even boxy and its shape design looks better compare to Hyundai Starex Royale Facelift that mentioned this article. Not only that as the username: John and annoying Starex also commented this article that bright light LED at the side mirror is super super annoying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Well said

• So, if a brand does not upgrade it’s products, it is outdated. If a brand upgrades, it is copying. So, what exactly do you want the brand to do? If you don’t like the designs, don’t buy. Simple. It’s as though you are FORCED to buy Hyundai vehicles and there are no other choices.

Total nonsense comments sometimes from some people on here.

• Jürg Hölzle on Dec 21, 2017 at 3:38 pm

We owned a H-1 (2012-2015) and I like the concept. The design is better, now. I would still like a new side profile, too.

I like, that the seats have now real belts. But I still miss curtain airbags to protect your whole family.

• Kelvin Kong on Dec 21, 2017 at 4:33 pm

The head, fog lights and front bumper looks like the current Santa fe facelift design …..

• La La La Land on Dec 21, 2017 at 9:00 pm

Yup and it’s outdated too for both new facelift stared royale that mentioned this article and current Santa Fe facelift design

• La La La Land on Dec 22, 2017 at 2:23 am

Yup and I forgot to tell you that when I looked Hyundai Starex Royale new facelift, it’s look not even updating facelift at all as Hyundai Starex Royale new Facelift is getting outdated.

• ah beng macam pondan on Dec 21, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Facelift so many rounds like Elizabeth Taylor

• Facelift for a 10 years old model? Record breaking for Korean vehicles.

• (LIKE) Hyundai Grand Starex
    (UNLIKE) Kia Grand Carnival

• Kim kim kim on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:09 pm

Will this facelift launch in malaysia or just many country but not in malaysia? I am a real starex fan who didnt own the starex~ hehe~ but if this facelift launch in malaysia, i think i will buy one! The latest model in malaysia is not perfect enough for me although i love starex~ hahaha