2017 Hyundai Grand Starex Royale facelift – RM169k

2017-hyundai-grand-starex-royale-01

Earlier in the week, it was spotted in an ad, and now, Hyundai Sime Darby Malaysia has announced the introduction of the facelifted Hyundai Grand Starex Royale, introduced as a 2017 model year version.

In other markets, the Starex has been unchanged since its introduction in 2007, so this represents the first time it has been updated. However, the 2017 refresh is actually the fourth for the second-gen TQ, from a local perspective at least – previous updates available locally for the massive people mover came about in 2009, 2011 and 2014.

The latest rework brings about a new face, led by a new – and unmissable – grille, with no shortage of chrome. As a result of the massive grille, the front bumper has also been redesigned, and changes have come about with the front fog light array as well.

2017-hyundai-grand-starex-royale-02

New aerodynamic cladding finds its way on to the sides, while the rear features new tail lamps, the addition of gloss back contrast panelling and a revised rear bumper, with new integrated exhaust outlets.

No mechanical changes for this round, the 2.5 litre CRDi diesel engine with VGT continuing on as before, with 170 PS at 3,600 rpm and 392 Nm from 2,000 to 2,500 rpm. The oil burner is paired with a five-speed auto transmission.

Exterior colours available for the MPV include Creamy White, Timeless Black and Hyper Silver. The Grand Starex Royale Deluxe 2.5GLS is priced at RM168,888 (on-the-road, with insurance), and comes with a five-year or 300,000 km extended warranty. It will be available for viewing at all Hyundai showrooms nationwide from December.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Starex with braces.
    Alfat with false teeth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Leafable on Nov 23, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Scarier than Nightmare on Elm Street.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Lexus called and wanted their grille back.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 23, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Those front eyes looking at you….

• OMG!! Alphard wanabe !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • ammar on Nov 23, 2016 at 5:42 pm

i don’t understand what kind of design language that hyundai is try to bring into starex? Resemblance to toyota MPVs? it will make them more ugly than previous generation. I don’t see any good result derived from the translated design plus, it does not even close to luxury MPVs. Again, what is hyundai trying to do here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Kow on Nov 24, 2016 at 8:08 am

Very very imba grille. I would go for new Kia Carnival design although they are from the same company.

Anyhow Starex is NOT a luxury MPV comparing its price.

• very spacious with three rows setting. like an apartment on wheels but the front looks may have been overdone.. the front is quite a mess like the latest alphard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Amazing. 170k for a noisy, unrefined, ugly, unsafe, underspecced MPV that stole the “facelift” from a mix of the Alphard and Alexus Spindle grilles. For RM170k, a base spec Alphard or an Estima represents much better value, they are both better looking, reliable, much safer (both have 11 airbags and ESP/VSC standard) and are fully imported from Japan. Only someone ignorant would look to the Starex. Come on Hyundai, I expected better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
  • ugly stick on Nov 23, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Is this a race between the Korean and Japanese for who can make the ugliest mpv competition?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • P1 Ertiga > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • And in one stroke of genius, Hyundai increased the RV of the pre-facelift Starex!

• voDevil on Nov 23, 2016 at 6:39 pm

*facepalm

they took Audi’s signature single frame grille design into their US Elantra and now… Lexus spindle grille signature pun kena sapu?!?!?

• Its van. Not mpv. Never

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • samsengMY on Nov 23, 2016 at 7:28 pm

The poor Ah Beng’s MPV. Cant afford a brand new or recon Vellfire, this cheapskate MPV is 2nd on their list to scare away perodua Myvi drivers on the highways. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • TheDean on Nov 23, 2016 at 7:45 pm

This is actually very interesting: if in an accident, no need to repair as the design is already a wreck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • kelvin on Nov 23, 2016 at 8:55 pm

The most confused design language in automotive design history.

• Optimus Prime on Nov 23, 2016 at 9:54 pm

How about the interior? Still have the useless middle front seat? And still no sliding rear window. haiiya. Aircon break down, rear passengers will drown in sweat.

• p2lover on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:04 pm

hahaha the front like fish head in finding nemo movie

• NICHOLAS on Nov 24, 2016 at 3:23 am

GIVE YOU THE ALPHARD LUXURY AND FEEL AT ONE THIRD OF THE ALPHARD’S PRICE. WHAT DO YOU EXPECT MORE?

WANT ANY BETTER? YOU HAVE TO BUILD ONE YOURSELF.

• Interesting facelift aside, it seems like nobody realized the price went up from 138k to 169k.

• i have ridden the current starex once and honestly, its a good mpv/van. very roomy, comfortable and not that much noise from the engine or outside. however i agree that this latest model front face is overdone

• arowana on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:48 am

the dead must be happy to sit on a alphard-like hearse now..

• Ben Yap on Nov 24, 2016 at 10:10 am

The grilles…. omg, my eyes hurt.

• akmal on Nov 24, 2016 at 11:40 am

ugly?good side- no body wanted it, no body will hijack and steal it. I rented one.Space is more than alphard and vellfire, I can put my son stroller without folding it with 5 passengers. i take out the last row seat. no need to bash, defending any brand won’t give you any benefit either. cheers…

• It has surround camera !

• Nyew Kam Cheng on Nov 24, 2016 at 4:50 pm

It just a people mover, serve the purpose of carrying two normal families without any complaint!Powerful engine and durable, spacious and economy to run…..
    Those who don’t need to carry more than 7pax, and extra cash, then go for your desired models..don’t need to insult those existing owners of the lovely MPV!

• Ah Kow on Nov 24, 2016 at 4:55 pm

The ideal mpv to stuff a group of kpop stars in it

• Sam Loo (or1) on Nov 25, 2016 at 7:41 am

Consider a used Starex.

15 month old unit for around RM60k

• johnny222 on Nov 27, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Still rocking the dangerous passenger 2 point seat belt from stone age?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:26 am

Its meant to be used as a hearse. No need for passenger safety

• Bernard on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:37 pm

The name grand royale etc makes it sound like it can conquer everything ….funny :)

• For those not driving a starex ..it is best not to comment , n compare to the luxury alphard .. starex is a window van category ..but it meets its purpose in space n medium luxury mpv ..performance also good , enough power from the 2.5 litre diesel engine …it is even better to drive at full passenger n weight down capacity.

• limcc on Dec 15, 2016 at 12:06 am

Bunch of moron who never drove a Starex complain its underspec? That “puny” 2.5l VGT outputing 441Nm@2000~2500rpm of Torque will thrash your overpriced Alpha. If you don’t know why torque is more important than horsepower for big MPV, go educate yourself.

This is a real people mover with room for 6 adult plus their big travel luggages, try that on your 500K Alpha, prepare to suffocate with your luggage on your chest. For daily uses, it make at least 8 persons comfortable for a long journey from JB to Kedak. again, that that on your Alpha/Veilfire, be prepared to get scolded thru out the journey cause the passengers are all fighting for space.

The vehicle is boxy and looks unflattering cause IT WAS designed as a van first and foremost. But for what it suppose to do, it does an excellent job cause no other vehicle offer the same feature for the price.

Stupid to buy starex? how about someone spend over $200K for a used MPV that only has pretty exterior but has lower engine performance and have to shell out another tens of thousands to “beautified” the interior? Ah Beng calling a practical family man “beng”? lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Bodoh_org_atas_ni on Feb 06, 2017 at 3:35 am

Stupid comment, Alphard and vellfire are luxury van.Is that mesnt to be spacious?powerful engine?
      If you want spacious, go buy a bus…
      If you want powerful engine, a ‘head’ lorry will push your body stick to your seat when accelerating..
      Clearly u never own an alphard or VF..
      If someone want to give a free alphard or starex, what do you chose? Be honestt..
      You just jealous…..
      Hahahaha..
      Good luck with yr hateerrr
      Muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • KingKoki on May 02, 2017 at 9:56 am

I will choose starex because i need to carry my 10 children & 1 wife.or should i buy 2 alphard/vellfire?

• FairDeal on May 11, 2017 at 5:20 pm

I just saw and test drove the Starex today. I own a Vellfire. I must say for the price the Starex is pretty good. We are all consumers. No need to be prejudiced against any brands. Take each as the come.

• Suraya Natasha on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:04 pm

i like Starex chair arrangement like Maxus G10… Easy to entrance the others seat…
    2-3-2-3…
    2 sedan in 1 MPV…

• sopheak on Sep 16, 2017 at 5:38 pm

can i buy front bumper?how much?