Dealers investing millions to upgrade Proton outlets

Proton will be introducing a range of new Geely-based models next year, and dealers have begun the move to upgrade their facilities in preparation of this influx of new cars, with many investing millions of ringgit to expand their network or refresh their dealerships.

One of these is the Pantai Bharu Group of Companies, which runs a Proton 4S centre in Jalan Meru, Klang. According to Datuk Shamshudin Nor, the company – which also operates Perodua and Kia dealerships – is set to expand its Proton presence with the introduction of a new RM4 million facility.

It had actually started building the stand-alone car showroom, but hadn’t decided which brand would utilise it. The recent dealers trip to China, organised by Proton to study the operations of a Geely dealership in Shanghai, cemented that decision to make the outlet home to a new Proton outlet. He said the visit gave him a new perspective about the Proton-Geely venture.

“In my past 40 years of operating auto dealerships, there has not been one car that I really like, other than a German car which I own. I’ve been with Proton from the start during the EON days, where we did very well, and after the hurdles, I was curious to know how far we would fare in the market,” he said.

He test drove the Geely Boyue and came away impressed. “I had a good look at the car, saw its build quality and felt its comfort level, and I believe this is a winning factor that can bring Proton back to its glory days,” he said.

Another dealership that was impressed by Geely on the recent Shanghai trip was Hoi Keen Service from Kuantan. Susan Leong said the visit brought about confidence in the brand. “I saw the Geely EV car and I was very impressed with its technology. The fact that it is being used by ride-hailing company CaoCao shows how reliable Geely EV and its technology is,” she explained.

Currently, Hoi Keen runs a Proton service centre as well as a paint and body shop, but is now building a new Proton 4S centre in Pahang. Located in Indera Mahkota 3, Kuantan, the total cost of investment is expected to be in the region of RM16 million. Such a huge investment shows just how confident Hoi Keen is in the national brand.

“When I was in Shanghai, visiting the 4S dealership of Geely, I saw what could be done to improve customer service. It’s the only way to move forward, expanding the business, because the service to customers shouldn’t stop after a sale is made,” Leong said.

:The added value to customers is definitely after a car is purchased and I understand why Proton is urging its dealers to expand their outlets to 3S or 4S centres. An excellent ownership experience should be the positive way moving forward in order to revive the Proton brand,” she added.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight ongoing frustrations with Proton’s quality, management, and market performance, criticizing its reliance on showrooms and rebadging instead of product improvements. Many argue that despite dealers investing in upgrades, Proton's core issue is the product's reliability, safety, and value, leading to poor sales and brand perception. Some believe Geely's investment and newer models offer better quality and global competitiveness, overshadowing Proton. The superiority of Perodua's models, after-sales support, and value is frequently cited, emphasizing that Proton's failure stems from inferior products and management flaws. Overall, sentiments reflect disappointment, skepticism about Proton's future, and a recognition of Geely’s positive influence, with some advocating for Proton to focus on product quality over showroom appearances.

• Michael Cheong on Dec 22, 2017 at 7:59 pm

The trip sets into concrete those who can afford to play can stay..and those who had been protected and thinks it’s their right to be given preference and protection i.e crutches..will have to return to their rural heartland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • M. Hanafi Kembara on Dec 24, 2017 at 12:25 pm

join alternative P2. Change 4 better future..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Rahim Chik on Dec 24, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Geely started in 1997. Proton started in 1985. So, Proton is 12 years older than Geely. This means also, Proton should have 12 years more experience than Geely.

So why are we learning from a younger person?

Somehow, Geely has USD$ billions cash in reserve. Proton has ZERO in cash reserves.

Why is this so? Proton should be having billions in cash reserve too being 12 years older than Geely.

Did we make a mistake?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
      • Volume difference even if market share is lower. Geely with 10% market share there will make much more money than P1 with 30% market share here cuz they sell much much more cars due to their market size.

Its so elementary that an elementary student can answer, so why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
        • GORDON RAMSAY don't drive Proton on Dec 28, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Dealers Invest millions to upgrade ? The problem is not the dealers …it’s Proton. A restaurant can reno and upgrade all they want. .. but still maintain same lousy food and chef in the kitchen…

• Proton incompetence aside, having 40x bigger domestic market certainly help business to grow.

Think any online business you do in Malaysia, but your revenue/income multiply by 40.

There’s a reason why foreign players even sacrifice a bit in negotiation just to get into China market.

• Basherlogic on Dec 25, 2017 at 4:12 pm

By your logic every unker must drive a luxury car

• Mustapha Kamal on Dec 26, 2017 at 10:09 am

If Proton was good quality it could export to all over the world and even to China.

If Hyundai can sell 8 million cars globally, why can’t Proton?

• Muzaffar Shah on Dec 25, 2017 at 8:46 am

The past 30 years also Proton had hundreds of lawatan sambil belajar to all the car factories all over the world. Even many Japanese and German car factories and their showrooms.

Big group fly business class and stay in 5 star hotels.

Nothng came out of that. How is this different??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Alyaniff on Dec 25, 2017 at 10:06 am

Or balik to their grandparents homeland to clan’s crutches and protection

• Polla on Dec 22, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Master strokes by Geely P1 mgmt, reviving excellent ownership experience to Proton brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 25, 2017 at 12:29 am

Proton thinks fancy showroom can sell cars? This is how stupid they are.

Hello Proton, people want quality, good RV and good after sales support.

All 3 Proton does not have.

Remember, Proton too had so many lawatan sambil belajar the past 30 years, nothing helped. You think this lawatan about making your showroom fancy will make your cars sell well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Caveman on Dec 25, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Sian basher living in denial saying 5 star ancap car still no quality

You must be living too long in cave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Booooo on Dec 25, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Sembang kencang oni no proof. Even kindergarten student can do better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Karim on Dec 22, 2017 at 8:35 pm

The King is back!

• fanofthisite on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:41 pm

the Jury is still out there , a long way to go, i figure they need at least 3 new models and upgrades and the sales and after sales experience for a year at least before the jury’s findings take root. Hopefully for the dealers they will have upped the game at least to the Jap makers level of service culture by then.

• Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 22, 2017 at 9:14 pm

No point investing millions. Cause now, ALL Malaysians are going for Perodua. Better for Proton to give their factory to Perodua cause Perodua is having too strong a demand.

Before the new Myvi, people may consider Iriz because of 2 reasons. It had VSC and more airbags.

Now, Myvi got VSC plus so many airbags PLUS

1) good after sales and first class support
    2) Excellent RV. Use 3 years also still can sell RM38k
    3) Time tested VVTI Toyota engine worth RM80k from Vios
    4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
    5) FC one of the best in the market
    6) Warranty claim also no dispute
    7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
    8) Company not near bankruptcy. They give you high quality expensive parts to make the car.
    9) When claiming warranty Perodua company not worried they losing more money cause cash rich
    10) Got 5 stars based on 2017-2020 Stringent Protocol. No tipu tipu

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi. Pls Proton, don’t waste millions upgrading your showrooms. Come join Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 49
    • Yg lain mgkin relevant..tp bab resale value tu tipu lh,myvi tin kosong 2016 pun aku jmpa 32k kt mudah.my..jgn ckp psal RV la,kreta engine kuno bole lah bro..myvi bru aku yakin elok kualiti dr yg lama tp bwh 28k mgkn ok,hrga skrg masih so-so

• yawnz on Dec 24, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Boring cnp comments by loser P2 SA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
    • fanofthisite on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Geely’s investing so whats with the comment. Private company mah, sink or swin, their problem, irregardless of P2

• Omisu on Dec 22, 2017 at 9:38 pm

How come after so many years of establishment, P1 can only produce this kind of low quality car? Geely cheapest sedan can easily beat saga and persona in term of quality. omg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • geely on Dec 24, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Low quality car = jepunis and jepunis celup car

• Rahim Chik on Dec 24, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Geely was only born in 1997. And yet, their cars are 100x better than our Protons.

Did we do something wrong? Maybe Proton needs to employ 100% Geely directors and management to run Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 24, 2017 at 6:29 pm

market size n money. Even when Geely sold crappy car their car sales still more than p1 n p2 combine. Sold more car mean more money, more money mean can invest more for newer model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Jarrod Teo on Dec 25, 2017 at 1:06 pm

When Proton was making billion of profit, why they did not save for a rainy day like now? Typical Putrajaya mentality…just burn and enjoy the money. No need to worry about future

• Andrew Kang on Dec 25, 2017 at 8:59 am

We were married to Mitsubishi for over 20 years. Why we never learned anything?

Mitsubishi was and is one of the top global car companies in the world.

What were Proton staff doing? Everyday the news say we got transfer of technology, transfer of skills, transfer of this and that…..all kelentong kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Mitsu is top global car company? Really? Where is Mitsu globally now? Oh wait, belongs to Nissan now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Shaharuddin Ismail on Dec 25, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Didnt you know Mitsubishi was at the verge of bankruptcy? Now it is part of Renault Nissan alliance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Ohwai on Dec 26, 2017 at 6:37 am

P1 learned rebadging from mitsu, not about showroom. You never learn anything, go and read

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Mustapha Kamal on Dec 26, 2017 at 10:12 am

Infact Jepunis learn from Proton, now they settled in Malaysia and they relax.

Jepunis now lepak and goyang kaki…they learn Proton culture

• Raja Celup on Dec 22, 2017 at 10:05 pm

The sales ads that mocked Myvi now proven to be failure with poor sales recorded. Really sad and backfired tactic indeed.

• Bernard on Dec 22, 2017 at 10:12 pm

Why not upgrade yourselves in every way possible first? Then upgrade the showrooms etc. Also lower car price by 50%…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Buyers are not influenced by fancy showrooms. Invest in better mechanics and workshops. Pay higher wages because if you pay petai you get rempits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • so, p1 next grand plan is to sell geely cars as proton?

• Johnson Potien original on Dec 23, 2017 at 10:59 am

No need to go shanghai to see how they do things there, jus visit Perodua PJ HQ service center, free nasi lemak and Teh tarik upon request, free iPad station with free Wi-Fi, free lounge area free music, premium lift lobby with auto scented air freshener, friendly staffs, not to mention affordable labour charge! HighKlass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • ruslan on Dec 23, 2017 at 11:11 am

i dont know but suddenly i feel like i dont care what proton are doing..or not doing anything..just not bother with them anymore (as long as they dont take rakyat money)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ahmadjr on Dec 23, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Jangan 2018 tahun gawat dah la..

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2017 at 5:17 pm

There are two types of stupid people:
    1. the truly low-IQ, betul-betul bodoh, one
    and
    2. the very intelligent ingenious one.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 23, 2017 at 9:32 pm

This goes to show how poor our outlook of China cars have been. The truth is our cars are way behind China & our people’s mentality is locked in ancient times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Nakoruru on Dec 24, 2017 at 9:00 am

So it has begun. Proton showroom will now sells geely rebadged. Local iconic products will be sidelined.

• Proton’s logic when their cars are not selling.

1. Vendors not performing.
    2. Dealers not performing.

Nothing about their pathetic managment and working culture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Nemesisz on Dec 24, 2017 at 6:33 pm

So after 34 years of struggle and million of tax payers money injection this is how low Proton fall. I don’t see this as an achievement for Proton, for Geely of course. Proton is not a Malaysian brand anymore. 34 years of reasearch and boasting how great they are but not a single original engine being produce.

Proton should apologize to Malaysian since they use tax payers money for 34 years but nothing achieve. Moreover because of Proton we have to suffer paying crazy price for import car just to reduce the competitiveness. Proton should be ashame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • “not a single original engine being produce”.
      Really? Then what is CAMPRO? U just came out from somewhere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Mustapha Kamal on Dec 26, 2017 at 10:29 am

Campro engine is a joke. This is why jaguh kampung syiok sendiri and never progress. Produce an engine which drinks petrol like a Jaguar and then happy tell the whole world we achieved a great engine

by the way 30 years only 1 engine produced? 10,000 workers in 30 years only managed to produce 1 engine?

• Syiok sendri statement. Do u have proof that it drinks petrol? I have proof that my 1.6L CPS drinks as much petrol as Mivi 1.3L. So which drinks more petrol, a Mivi engine or my CPS?

• Pokoko on Dec 24, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Can’t wait not to buy crap from china.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Dec 25, 2017 at 2:25 am

Oh no, these dealers are going to lose millions. Why not distribute honda? Surely make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • norman on Dec 25, 2017 at 7:58 am

That’s the way it should be,Sales of cars shouldn’t be stop after selling but in fact to enhanced and upgrade after sales service

• ccy7218 on Dec 25, 2017 at 11:47 am

What is this to be shout about? P1,after so many years and billion dollars spent, still even can’t produce a decent car… tahulah malu skit… And till now only wanna learn how to sell car??? Wth is happening???

• Do share which model is not “decent”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Mustapha Kamal on Dec 26, 2017 at 10:14 am

if they produced decent car, why are sales plunging. Why company already bankerap?

• Again diverting and not answering the Q. Which model isnt “decent”?

• Mustapa Buta on Dec 26, 2017 at 11:40 pm

This is because the blind consumers are being lead to believe that PROTON cars are not good, by the blinds themselves.

Their latest cars are indeed decent, like Iriz, Persona & Saga, superior ride & handling, outstanding VVT engine and top-notch safety, and yet, despite all these improvement and immense effort by the young engineers (multi ethnicity mind you, they are all 1 Malaysian literally despite false accusation saying they are of single dominant race), while storming God knows financial crisis, the consumers are still being blinded by fools saying the cars are not good.

Hence why it is still not selling.

For God sake.

• Topkek on Dec 25, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Before told P1 had hundreds of lawatan sambil belajar. Manu satu betul ni?

Decent car you mean without takata airbags right? P1 dun use one.

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • People still sell more cars than Proton even with Takata airbags. Proton apa ada? 1 year old new Perdana pun dah stop production.

• 12yrsold on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:29 pm

I think P1 miss the point why they are NOT selling in numbers by Investing millions in outlets. It’s the Product’s.

If the products are GUD, Reliable & cheaper to maintain, people will buy. P2 is a GUD example. Why do U think P2 sell more cars than P1 ??! Its the product’s Right !

• fanofthisite on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Hope your investments payoff. But you better up your game, the last time i went with a friend to an official Proton dealership and a private dealer the experience was so memorable in what the dealer experience should not have been in empty showrooms , especially compared to a crowded Honda dealer who was busy selling their new Civic like hot cakes. Only reason my friend bought and willing to wait for his Preve was budget and wasnt needed urgently. I later spotted a button fixed upside down on his car. What lah! Take so long to pasang a Preve and then attention to detail pun lacking

• One angry p1 customer on Dec 31, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Got one new proton car, I testified p1 cars really out of quality and fool of scams. Feel really upset. They dont hv quality mindset leading to hole co disaster. Selling so pricy at low quality products but sold less cars than other brands actually bring them less money. Poor understanding on current markets and poor price tagging plus poor attitude in handling customers complaints formulate a complete receipe for p1 to go holland. On top, poor after sale svc with steep price of spareparts and labour charges only inviting more disasters.
    Coupled with fool of craps in mgt and vendors p1 will never succeeded as manufacturer but only good in assembling foreign cars and opening wider markets for foreign producers of cars and spareparts distributing their products in this country sell at cheaper and more reliable than p1. Comes with the influx of spectacular foreign cars and local p2 will giving p1 another huge blow. Only time will tell how long p1 will survive before being swallowed 100% by chinese geely. P1 need to stepup and change attitude.