New system to replace Public Service Vehicle (PSV) license next year – level field for Uber, Grab and taxis

The government says a new system to replace the public service vehicle (PSV) license will be introduced. Set to regulate and enable fair competition between Uber, Grab and taxis, this is expected to be finalised as early as January next year, Berita Harian reports.

The move follows amendments made to the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act 1987 to regulate ride-hailing services such as Uber and GrabCar, which were tabled and passed by the Dewan Rakyat in July, minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri said.

The amendments to the rules of licensing procedures covering ride-hailing and regular taxi services are being discussed by the land public transport commission (SPAD) and the road transport department (JPJ). The amendments will not have would not have to be tabled again in parliament, but just gazetted after negotiations with the ministry of transport are completed, she said.

“As soon as the amendments are complete, there will be no difference in Uber, Grab and taxis, and they can compete to provide public transport service to consumers,” she told the publication.

Commenting on the developments, Nancy said Malaysia had its own approach in formulating appropriate policies to regulate Uber and Grab’s services. She added that the government did not want the country’s taxi service industry to drop out of the modernisation cycle which now sees public transport operations relying heavily on smartphone-based applications.

She said that while taxi drivers are still valuable public transport providers, they need a shift in operating procedures to keep pace with the current market demand.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• arowana on Dec 22, 2017 at 11:38 am

Hokayy New system next year. Good luck current govt..

• azrai on Dec 22, 2017 at 11:49 am

Yeah..people use GRAB & UBER at normal days. When it is rain or traffic gridlock they choose the traditional taxi. Make sense in term of dollar and cents.

• Nasrul Syawal on Dec 22, 2017 at 11:50 am

when uber first appeared in malaysia, what did SPAD’s boss said back then? would like to see his comments which was representing the government.

• The then-SPAD boss is now critical of gov. Probably got frustrated his then-advice wasnt followed now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Bernard on Dec 22, 2017 at 12:10 pm

What the govt must understand is we don’t want taxis and the taxi drivers. We also don’t want taxi drivers to be uber and grab drivers!
    We just want everyday good citizens to be uber and grab drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Problem is, u dun get to decide who becomes Grabuber drivers. Unless of cuz u become major shareholder in both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • CitizenKane on Dec 22, 2017 at 4:46 pm

John. Please stop making stupid comments. Its he people who decide what they want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
        • Stupid as stupid does. Do u know that Uber doesnt have any qualms to work with taxis? In some countries, they partner with taxi kompenis as their drivers. And do u know that Grab came from taxi reliant system called MyTeksi. No u dun feel so stupid does it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 35
  • Ben Yap on Dec 22, 2017 at 12:31 pm

so moving forward e-hailing drivers can no more be called partners by their respective e-hailing companies.

they are now called taxi drivers.

• Robinhood on Dec 22, 2017 at 2:48 pm

The creative term is Ride Sharing Drivers. Or you want it to me more canggih, can also termed as Application Based Transporters or whatever it is. More important is everyone get a chance to cari makan legitimately and proud of their profession.

• carazy on Dec 22, 2017 at 4:16 pm

One problem with uber and grab is passengers insurance. If is no problem eg. accident not happening during the drive session is OK… But, let say, if there are accident happen and passengers injured/die, then the passenger will have some problem, because private car insurance. Enlighten me if Im wrong.

• Typically Grabuber drivers dun have commercial license that covers paying customers. So for those who ride it, caveat emptor

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Dec 24, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Problem with your arguement is that the majority who uses grab/uber have personal insurances or the company they work for offers them insurances, travel insurences (tourists), epf also got death benefit, 401k like scheme also have those, house loans also got insurance… Some people I know is worth more dead now than alive because of all those insurances they have. Upper-lower(rm2500)~high income ppl tends to have some~overkill amount of “long term backups(up to 70yo coverage)” prepared that in the end the car insurance for passengers barely even matter at all.

• Charan on Dec 22, 2017 at 5:08 pm

How about if a grubbers wants to buy a new car? Any bank will give car loan to them? As they don’t have epf or any pay slip.

• https://paultan.org/2016/10/21/uber-malaysia-happy-with-budget-2017s-endorsement-partnership-with-proton-a-world-first-statement/

• BuduBuduh on Dec 27, 2017 at 9:11 am

Did u know that, we can make a self-contribution on EPF? And did u know that for applying a car loan, if self employed, they can submit a one-year bank statement? Don’t simply talk like that. If no option, means that “orang kampung” cannot buy a house and cars..is it? Jangan perlekeh rezeki orang. Tak hebat pun kerja makan gaji jadi balaci company.