Top 10 most popular reviews on paultan.org in 2017

Top 10 most popular reviews on <em>paultan.org</em> in 2017

We’ve had the opportunity to sample a good number of cars in 2017, ranging from humble SUVs to a few hatchbacks. Of course, some reviews attracted a larger number of readers, as we discovered after analysing some data from Google Analytics.

As it turns out, reviews involving SUVs accounted for half of the top 10 list of the most popular reviews on paultan.org in 2017. Meanwhile, Honda vehicles were of particular interest to our readers, with four of them being represented across a number of segments.

Other reviews that had the attention of our readers involved brands like Mercedes-Benz, Volkswagen, BMW, Hyundai, Perodua and strangely enough, Geely. We reckon most of you can guess what models made the cut, so let’s get right to it then.

Presenting to you the top 10 most viewed reviews on paultan.org in 2017.

10. DRIVEN: Volkswagen Tiguan – striking middle ground

An intriguing alternative to the usual suspects, the Volkswagen Tiguan strikes the middle ground in one of the most competitive of segments – the SUV one. Offered as a locally assembled model, the Tiguan boasts a competent powertrain, nifty tech on higher-spec variants as well as impressive practicality.

9. DRIVEN: Mercedes-Benz GLC200 – value for money?

We did say SUVs were popular on the list, and coming in at number nine is the most affordable Mercedes-Benz GLC you can buy. The GLC 200 may lose out on certain items in order to keep its attractive price tag, but it isn’t what you might call spartan either. Along with a comfortable ride, the GLC 200 is a good entry for those looking to enter the premium SUV segment.

8. DRIVEN: 2017 Honda CR-V – first impressions of Honda Sensing and the 1.5L VTEC Turbo

Time for another SUV! This one however, is a well known nameplate among car buyers as it is of course the Honda CR-V. The fifth-generation model features a 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine and Honda Sensing suite of safety and driver assist technologies, so there’s plenty new about the five-seat SUV. This first impressions drive was later followed up by a full, in-depth review posted just last month.

7. DRIVEN: 2017 FK8 Honda Civic Type R, paradigm shift

The name itself is enough to get most people excited, and after a decade-long absence, the Honda Civic Type R officially returned to Malaysia on November 9 in the form of the FK8. Prior to its launch debut, one of our own had a chance to try one out in Germany, and that review is now the seventh most viewed one in 2017.

6. DRIVEN: Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid, thinking out of the box

A hybrid vehicle with autonomous emergency braking priced at around RM114k? Sounds like quite the bargain, which is why many were keen to know more about the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid, making it the sixth most viewed review on our site in 2017.

5. Driven Web Series 2017 #1: plug-in hybrid sedans – BMW 330e vs Mercedes C350e vs VW Passat 2.0 TSI

In fifth place, we arrive at the season premiere of the new Driven Web Series, where we pitted two plug-in hybrids in the form of the F30 BMW 330e and W205 Mercedes-Benz C 350e, against a non-electrified (and affordable) alternative – the B8 Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TSI. The season will continue on with new episodes in 2018, so stay tuned for that!

4. DRIVEN: Geely Boyue – first impressions review of what will be Proton’s first ever SUV, coming in 2018

Proton will introduce its first SUV model in the future as part of its signed deal with Geely, which will be based on the Chinese carmaker’s Boyue. Naturally, most of our readers are curious just what such an SUV will be like, and our review of one while in China is fourth on the list.

3. DRIVEN: Honda BR-V 1.5L – seven seats, family first

The third Honda on the list is the BR-V, which also snagged the top spot in another top 10 list of ours for the most popular stories in 2017. Based on this review’s placing, it appears many of you wanted to know if the budget seven-seater was good enough for the demanding Malaysian carbuyer.

2. DRIVEN: Honda City Sport Hybrid – charged goodness

Honda and hybrid technology made a big return this year in the form of the Jazz Hybrid as well as the City Hybrid, and it was the review of the latter that garnered more interest. Featuring the Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) system and a reasonable price tag, the City Hybrid appears to be a good start for those looking to embrace electrification, and it looks like many wanted to know what the experience of driving one was like.

1. DRIVEN: New 2018 Perodua Myvi – first impressions

At the first mention of Perodua at the start of this post, it shouldn’t be any surprise that the new Myvi occupies the top spot for the most viewed review on the site in 2017. We called it a “fantastic value for money” during our brief time with, and based on the specs, an impressive suite of safety systems (on higher-end variants) plus an interior that boasts plenty of clever touches, it certainly makes a strong case. Since then, we’ve also posted a more in-depth review as well as a video with a demo of the ASA in action.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Malaysia Boleh on Dec 27, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Team paultan.org mmg super Ohsemm thn 2017 nie. Kipidapp Autosite terbaek, Luaskan kuasamu !!

• Mohd Darus Ismail on Dec 27, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Best review confirm the 2018 Myvi

Many still consider the new Myvi as the ultimate gift to Malaysians. It is a gift to release Malaysians from the pain and sufferings Proton cars have brought us.

We thank Perodua for bringing the new Myvi to Malaysians.

We Malaysians also choose 2018 Myvi as our No 1 Choice car and we are proud it is a 100% Malaysian product.

Now with the following points…..all the more we want Myvi
      1) good after sales and first class support
      2) Excellent RV. Use 3 years also still can sell RM38k
      3) Time tested VVTI Toyota engine worth RM80k from Vios
      4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
      5) FC one of the best in the market
      6) Warranty claim also no dispute
      7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
      8) Company not near bankruptcy. They give you high quality expensive parts to make the car.
      9) When claiming warranty Perodua company not worried they losing more money cause cash rich
      10) Got 5 stars based on 2017 Stringent Protocol. No tipu tipu
      11) This one car alone completely wiped out 4 cars. Saga, Persona, Iriz and Ertiga can close line.
      12) True Malaysian car company. Not half China company

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
      • Ringo on Dec 28, 2017 at 7:03 am

Sure2 design in msia.100%tested in msia..but never been observed in msian soil the last 2 yrs…

• tokmoh. on Dec 27, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Yo

#Sila meninggal

Takde jodoh kahwin dengan Myvi
    Dapat anak besar macam Myvi
    Pergi taman pun nak naik Myvi
    Mandi sama-sama dengan Myvi

Pergi jalan kl pun naik Myvi
    Takde rumah tinggal je dalam Myvi
    Takde kawan cuma ada Myvi

Yeah

Takde itu, takde ini
    Tapi hati ini cuma ada Myvi
    Takde rumah, takde harta,
    Yang aku ada Myvi saja
    Always with me, itulah Myvi
    No girls want me, but I only got the Myvi

Bagi signal, macam ini
    Takyah bayar BECAUSE IT’S FREE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Joned Asa on Dec 27, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Myvi, buah hati kereta sejuta umat..

• Tak laku on Dec 28, 2017 at 3:40 am

Why not many myvi on road?

• 12yrsold on Dec 28, 2017 at 9:31 am

U are right. There are not many on our roads. Only 1 million plus & counting.

• 7yrsold on Dec 28, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Errr he meant new myvi not plastic bag old ones

• Sama Kunta Loo on Dec 28, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Coz potential Myvi carbuyers realised, this ‘simple’ thing they can simply omit like that, previous generation have it (that is water temperature gauge), that’s why many potential myvi buyers including myself are not happy.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 27, 2017 at 6:22 pm

I’m surprised the Tiguan made it to the list. For the price Vw is asking, the CX5 and CRV are better propositions with higher safety kit count too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Best transport is public transport

• 12yrsold on Dec 28, 2017 at 9:34 am

It maybe the best but I’ll not ride on peak hours as it is packed like Sardines. Pity those who don’t have a CHOICE.

• Why oh why on Dec 27, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Why whole year got only one episode of driven web series?

• Add A Comment on Dec 28, 2017 at 8:43 am

Driven only had 1 episode in 2017 =(

Please do more. It is a great show!

• 12yrsold on Dec 28, 2017 at 9:44 am

In the 10 most popular review, Myvi, City & BRV is popular bcos its perceived to be value for $$$. I’m surprised that not even one is from P1 !?

• cheap thing no good on Dec 28, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Pipu buy p2 because it is cheap not because it is good

• xoxox on Dec 28, 2017 at 10:55 am

may we have the statistical info of these hits? :o

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 28, 2017 at 11:09 am

The Myvi review got over 140,000 page views (the main post itself, not including gallery/picture clicks) in just over a month. The same post has around 7,000 shares on Facebook too.

For reviews alone, we had over 4.1 million page views in 2017.

• Ben Yap on Dec 28, 2017 at 5:02 pm

in the list, again Honda took 4 spots…. everyone loves a honda.