Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Plus now pricier – RM114,008

Those looking to purchase the new Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid, take note – having been launched in November, the petrol-electric hatchback has seen an upwards price revision on the range-topping HEV Plus variant.

Initially retailing at RM110,828 on-the-road without insurance, it is now priced at RM114,008, a premium of RM3,180. Mind you, it’s still good value for a car that comes with features such as blind spot detection, autonomous emergency braking (AEB), lane keep assist and adaptive cruise control (Smart Cruise Control). The standard HEV’s pricing is unchanged at RM100,328.

To recap, the Ioniq Hybrid is powered by a 1.6 litre Kappa GDI four-cylinder Atkinson-cycle direct-injected engine, which produces 105 PS at 5,700 rpm and 147 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. It’s paired to a six-speed dry dual-clutch automatic transmission (DCT) as well as a 44 PS/170 Nm electric motor.

Total system output stands at 141 PS and 265 Nm, sent to the front wheels. Performance figures include a zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of 11.1 seconds and a top speed of 185 km/h, while fuel consumption is rated at just 3.4 litres per 100 km.

Standard kit includes LED daytime running lights, 17-inch alloy wheels (with a full-size spare), keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone auto climate control, cruise control, a 4.2-inch TFT LCD Supervision multi-info display, a five-inch touchscreen infotainment system with rear-view camera, rear air-con vents, seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist and ISOFIX rear child seat tethers.

Step up to the HEV Plus and you’ll gain bi-xenon headlights, LED tail lights, leather upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, a 7.0-inch TFT LCD digital instrument cluster, a larger 7.0-inch touchscreen, Qi wireless smartphone charging and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, in addition to the aforementioned driver assistance systems.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ben Yap on Jan 12, 2017 at 4:51 pm

0-100 in 11.1 secs and top speed 185km/h, is ridiculously slow. this modern times, it should be 0-11 in 9 secs and top speed of 200km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 88
    • don’t know why some people still bother with those kinds of numbers here in Malaysia, not as if this car was designed to drag..

probably won’t be first place shooting off from the traffic light to the next. Damn. That alone should be reason enough not to buy the car. /s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:43 am

Another gift from the gomen to the rakyat. Everything going higher by the thousands. Open your eyes rakyat. Leaders are enjoying their lives in luxury whilst we suffer with higher prices and most people even do 2 jobs to make ends meet.

All because our currency is collapsing due to investors pulling out their money due to theft and corruption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • MY still got growth, meanwhile SG is preparing send their women here as maids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Nazee on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:01 pm

The keyword here is hybrid. Do read…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • dont be a dicky, why not focus on fuel consumption of just 3.4 litres per 100 km? or the presence of AEB , BSD features in a $110k car?

• lolpanda on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:54 pm

the focus of this car is fuel efficiency.. it’s not a hybrid sports car. drag coefficient matters more than drag racing here…century sprints are irrelevant here.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Many will regret buying this kimchi junk.They never learn than kimchi no RV? Honda has failed with Insight Hybrid.If low grade sushi can’t make it right,what make u think ioniq can success? Only Toyota make you peace of mind.That’s why Toyota is number 1 in the world.Not jaguh kampung like proton or Honda.Even Thais regret buying Honda.And last year they ditch Honda and give back crown to Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • atifjeelan on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:54 pm

Speed kills bro.

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:15 am

It is hybrid without turbo dude. If u want power don’t think of “hybrid car” la. Don’t compare with 330e or C350e, it cost more than double of Ioniq high spec. 330e or C350e is pretending to be eco friendly and fuel saving but the actual cost of battery replacement anytime cost you a new Axia.

• jjj , john, lolpanda and autodriver. do u need everything to be spelt out for you?
        why this hybrid with 140 bhp and 260 NM is slower than a 1.5 honda city ?

• yiwen on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:38 pm

is speed a requirement in our current state? Check out the fuel price today. Is getting more expensive unless you’re a rich guy where petrol price did not make a pinch on you.

• Now almost exact same price with Civic low spec. So either this or civic10?

• Malaysian on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:18 pm

confirm everyone vote for civic.
      Why? Everyone confirm will say kimchi no RV.
      Hail Honda.
      For me, i will choose ioniq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • lolpanda on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:56 pm

I’d have the Ioniq, too…all that tech. i mean the Civic’s great but it’s just like any other car out there..again my humble opinion, everyone’s entitled to theirs.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:37 pm

Vios much better than this kimchi junk and civic.. Vios new engine with EEV status.Good job UMW.Toyota will be number 1 in 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • thepolygonal on Jan 12, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Yes.. I have seen one on the road :D Very much appreciate the buyer. Hope can see more to come. It’s actually quite a nice looking car but nothing compared to jepunis overlord new camry 2017 for US version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Tiger88 on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Wait till they give discount and that’s guaranteed now or later.Just wait n c

• Bernard on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:23 pm

This car is suitable for an advanced country with proper expertise and infrastructure . Here a small conventional 4 wheel drive would be ideal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • I couldn’t agree more..unless you drive mainly in the city or intercity..malaysian roads are generally really in bad shape in semi urban and rural area..your front suspension wont last long in this condition..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:47 pm

good sales jack price up…apa ini

• camtakpro on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:29 am

HEV+ increase price but the HU is horribly out-of-style with the rest of the car – felt like China made cheap LCD touch screen with just FM radio.

• Semut Gatal on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:08 am

Bro , it can connect to Apple Car play or Android auto. All your phone apps will be available to use including google map, waze , music etc.

• Berjaya on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Ohhhsome! Hyundai RV going up!! Faster grab

• nabill (Member) on Jan 12, 2017 at 5:59 pm

that price change is quicker than the 0-100 time !!

• Ioniq 2017 owner on Jan 14, 2017 at 5:44 am

I thought they will increase price to at least Rm120K because the Ioniq hybrid sold even more expensive in Singapore, Hong Kong, UK, European countries and 3 months waiting list in US for Ioniq Electric version too.

• Shaun on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:11 am

The experience I had in Hyundai don’t even warrant is awful, crap car (Hyundai Sonata i45) that shuts down by itself when you’re driving, very dangerous! Hyundai never were able to identify the problem or fix it. Besides that, the Sunroof plastic support broke into two on the 3rd year of 5 yr warranty causing failure of sunroof in shutting, had to use tape and later on permanently sealed shut with silicon so the whole sunroof doesn’t fly off while i’m driving and kill anybody behind. Really terrible customer service, give plenty of excuses to not fix the sunroof. Quote RM6k+ to replace the sunroof… Stay away from Hyundai for your own good.

• Semut Gatal on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:04 am

I am waiting for the Plug-in Hybrid(PHEV) version . Hopefully it will be available here. Ioniq has been a success overseas with positive feedback from consumers & motoring journalist.

• I’m the owner of this car (Hyundai Ioniq HEV+). Personally, this car so far so good. Only refuel one a month, surprisingly very low fuel consumption. If you said this car is slow, let me change to sports mode and we drag race. Since the fuel consumption is very low, I rather used Ron 97 instead of Ron 95. The safety features for this car is very amazing with RM 115K price tag (you never get this safety features in others brand with RM 115K price tag). If you plan to purchase Hyundai Brand please ask the Hyundai Owner, not Toyota, Honda or Others Brand Owner….hounesly they quite bias.