Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has just introduced a free three-year or 45,000 km (whichever comes first) maintenance programme. This is available to all Volkswagen models currently on sale today, and is only eligible for cars that are registered from January 1, 2018.
The company’s managing director, Erik Winter said that the free maintenance programme will help provide peace of mind to owners, as the costs involved will be completely born by Volkswagen. This covers the standard maintenance schedule, but excludes wear-and-tear items such as brake pads, brake discs, windscreen wipers and bulbs.
“With this programme in place, owners need not have to worry about the maintenance of their Volkswagen. This also reaffirms the commitment we have towards our customers – not just in strengthening our after-sales service, but also the Volkswagen ownership experience for our owners,” added Winter.
Volkswagen owners are advised to follow the recommended service schedule, and have the cars attended only by authorised Volkswagen service centres. Otherwise, they risk voiding the coverage.
Meanwhile, the company also announced a special low interest rate of 0.88% per annum for all variants of the Passat B8. Interested? Read our full in-depth review to find out what we think of the Passat 1.8 TSI and 2.0 TSI.
For a full list of Volkswagen cars sold in Malaysia, as well as a detailed look at each model’s specifications, head on over to CarBase.my.
VPCM is clever. They know this will sell. Proton also should follow. Give 5 years free maintenance.
After all Proton and VW owners see their RV fall like crazy. Within 1 year, car becomes half price.
The least the brand should do is offer free service.
Selow poke even bash in this tered https://paultan.org/2017/12/14/protons-december-2017-year-end-promo-offers-five-years-free-maintenance-or-up-to-rm8000-rebate/
VPCM (aka VGM) will tell you clutch pack also wear-n-tear despite low mileage i.e. 15K. Other than that, U can’t find any car of the same comfy, solidness and handling with the same price (after offer)
Embrace the Conti refined solid ride and handling..
Volkswagen. The most “loved-and-hated” brand
actually can fight the case by the word pre-mature wear.
Without a highly paid automotive expert backing ur claim, its difficult to argue that point. If win case oso, most of the claims will go to that expert so its a Pyrrhic victory.
Here is the hanky panky part, standard cal 1year@20000km. But VW mesia offer 3yrs@45000km. By default this mean VW car for sure after 2yrs will have defective. OhWai… not all mesia is Sohai… DQ200 only capable to handle torque 250Nm max, & with proven history of defective around 60000km. Market already lost confident of DQ200 7-speed dry clutch, but VW mesia insist to install on new Passat 1.8T OhWai… Sohai betul for sure nobody dare to buy Passat 1.8T… Give Drop-Everything on 2017 made Passat also useless now…
VW Service appointment booking 6 months in advance, exceed Service mileage. Voided warranty.
But but but someone says its okay wor, as long can rip money from customers.
VW service interval is 15k la bodoh. 3 yrs 45K la like that also don’t know how to count.
BMW Malaysia offers five-year unlimited mileage manufacturer warranty, 5-year/100,000 km free service.
Dey Sohai,
It’s 3 years (yearly @ 15000km) free maintenence la not warranty (which is 5 years, unlimited mileage).
And most other car’s are lower here in Malaysia for service interval (about 6-month @ 10000km OR yearly @ 12000km), so it’s good.
Oh wai bmw da best, not da tipu sini sana sikit vw… (1)BMW 5yrs unlimited mileage warranty. (2)5-year/100,000 km free service [1year@20,000km]
Cant compare. VW not in same keras as BMW
Sorry to interrupt. For VW the service intervene is 15,000km or 1 years either come 1st. Looking at it mean is 3 times free Services. The reason why not 4 years or 60,000km either come 1st because 60,000km is a major Service the cost of it is much higher. That why they prefer 3 years or 45,000km. Pls remember nothing come free in this world. Just like BMW all the service cost is already cost in to the car prices. Plus is come from manufacture mean the VW malaysia or BMW malaysia is buying the Services cost from AG is very reasonable price. Pls get the facts right before commenting on it. BTW I got no connection with VW group. All this is my own opinion only. Thanks
Can u pls find me a 2017 passat B8 1.8 CL??i will pay RM 100K for it..thx.
Good job Volkswagen Malaysia. Its another step forward in the right direction
This is the right thing that VW has done. Hope they can increase to 5 years free service as that is the general period of a car’s life span with a single owner.
Hope extends the offer to current user atleast.
Well it’s just marketting la – I personally would go for a RM 10000 discount over 5 year free service as the cost would be same & I may benefit in earnest.
Most importantly is the warranty which is 5 years / unlimited mileage – which no discount could override.
more reason to get the World Car of the Year now, the VW Tiguan.
great news, now we waiting new polo & polo sedan to reach our shore.
3 years sounds promising but VPCM already knew most VW owners hit 45k mileage in just 2 years
Buys VW just to travel 15,000km per year. Something must be wrong there or with the car.
*Actual* VW owners:
Like if you rekomen VW car due to reliability
Dislike if you don’t rekomen car due to reliability
..is there a whichever comes first thing ?? ….
Poo plan.. whats the hype?? Many other brands are offering 3yrs free maintenance as well or 100k km. 45k is a joke. VW.. v weird indeed
Dude,
This is for service (maintenance), therefore it would follow the interval, which is 15000km/yearly (45000km would equate 3 annual services).
The longest would be BMW’s 5 year / 100000km (since their interval is every 20000km / yearly).
The maintenance remains at 5 years / unlimited mileage, which is the industry’s standard & longest.
got courtesy car or not?
Lives in Kajang and works in KL surely exceed 30000 km per year. This 45k km is far too short and not attractive laa. Only aunties and ah pek travels 15000 per year !
According to john, U are better off using the LRT/MRT from Kajang to KL. That way, U don’t have to pay tolls & save time & $$$.
If going from KL definitely using public transports. But if out of states, i use my E keras and i definitely clock more than 15,000 km per year. So if i had a VW, this 3 year free maintenance wud have been eaten up before 2 years up. Not much of a incentive.
My 3 month old car has already clock down 15k km. Based on the offer by vw. I’ll cover 45k km in less than a year. So no new vw for me
I for one would never buy your car should you decide to sell it, while pity others who would use you car.
Your 5 year old car would yield 300,000km of driving – would be a perfect candidate for scrap metal.
further more the spare parts are expensive, the polo sedan maintenance services is far more expensive than pasat. regret to buy VW car.
Any brands got 10years ? Haha
Basher demands P1 gip infinite warranty & free servis.
3 years 45000 km??? I can do 45000 km in 3 months.
You do 15,000km in a month??? Equates to driving 500km every single day of each month. Taxi also don’t cover such a mileage.
Should do it right when it reset to lower price a few years ago. I still remember passat, tiguan, golf, polo, were everywhere otr. After it becomes notable with tons of problem, no matter what it does now, consumers will still scare of the potential problems they may face later. Yes, technically, you may tell problems are solved but consumers will not believe and wait for white mice. The most disappointed thing is price reduction that never think of existing owners!