JB-Singapore Rapid Transit System agreement signed

Malaysia and Singapore have signed a bilateral agreement on the four-kilometre Rapid Transit System (RTS) Link between Johor Bahru and Singapore at the 8th Singapore-Malaysia Leaders’ Retreat yesterday. Bernama reports that the cross-border MRT system, first announced in 2010, will run from Bukit Chagar in Johor to the Woodlands North station in Singapore.

Not to be confused with the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR); the new RTS Link will be able to ferry up to 10,000 passengers per hour in each direction, and it’s scheduled for completion by 2024. It’s also expected to shorten the travel period between both countries down to 30 minutes from the current hour-long drive (or more).

The signing of the agreement was done between Singapore’s Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan and Malaysian Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan.

At the following press conference, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said the RTS will provide seamless connectivity and the volume (in terms of capacity) required. It’s a complex project but very doable, according to Najib, adding that the technical challenges can be overcome. He’s very optimistic that the RTS can change the nature of connectivity between Malaysia and Singapore in the future.

Both countries are also looking at increasing Keretapi Tanah Melayu Bhd (KTMB) shuttle frequency to Woodlands from 26 trips to 31, Najib added. There’s also plans on both sides to look into reviewing tolls at the Second Link to make it more attractive for people to use as, and it can help ease congestion at the Causeway.

Concurring with Najib, Lee said the RTS Link will replace the KTMB Link to Woodlands when it becomes operational in 2024, but in the meantime, both countries will increase the KTMB shuttle frequency, as one of the ways to address congestion. “The enhanced connectivity will also boost economic cooperation in Iskandar Malaysia,” Lee added.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Joholan on Jan 17, 2018 at 3:59 pm

Johor the strongest state & economic superpower. Daulat Tuanku!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 17, 2018 at 4:24 pm

Syok gila orang johor, tak perlu memandu ke singapore , kerja dapat sing dollar.

• tommyboy on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Unless you stay in SG if you want to work in SG……otherwise I would encourage you to try to travel to SG to work everyday and see how long you can last…. regardless of whether you are driving to singapore or not…

• Vincent Ang. on Jan 18, 2018 at 4:57 pm

The nons have been travelling to SG to work everyday for decades. Perhaps in your “perfect” world people do not have to slog for a living.

• I’d done this slog for the better part of a decade. I’d rather enjoy a good quality of life, in Johor despite the significantly lower pay. Imagine seeing your own home only in the dark. That having been said, I’m happy for those who manage this nightmare of a commute on a daily basis.

• Kudos to both govs! Public transport > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jan 17, 2018 at 6:27 pm

KL rapid transit so packed, so infrequent, so untimely, so poor service, etc……and now sibuk want to do JB-Sing transit pulak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • What do you expect, all development only focus in KL and Selangor? Is high time to stop development in KL. Its getting too congested.

• What is KL rapid transit, cuz theres no such service here.

• transformer on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:09 pm

SG has a very smart government, they just won’t allow 1hour inter-border crossings(JB City-Woodlands)… they will create a lot obstacles to prevent it! anyone can imagine if there will be a day, when 1hour crossing is possible, johor housing, food, petrol and etc. will be sold out! and SGD outflow would affecting SG retail & economy too…

• Vincent Ang. on Jan 18, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Why? Perhaps you should get out from under your tempurung to see how Johor and Singapore depend on each other.