VIDEO: Kia Stinger with LSD vs Panamera & BMW 640i

When the Kia Stinger GT first came out, it had its sights firmly set on rival models such as the Audi A4, BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Lexus IS. But Kia seems to be a tad more ambitious these days, pulling off skits like pitting the all-new Kia Forte against a Lamborghini Aventador on a racetrack, at standstill.

With this video however, the humour gets dialled way down, and there are three professional drivers behind the wheel of each car – the Stinger, Panamera and 640i Gran Coupé – for a proper performance-oriented showdown. In terms of pricing, the Germans cost nearly twice as much as the Korean – in the US, the Panamera costs $90,900, while the 640i costs USD $89,195. In Malaysia, it’s RM890k for the Porsche, and RM789k for the BMW.

The benchmark runs comprise of four main “obstacles,” that is the zero to 60 mph (0 to 96 km/h) sprint, G-force cornering, slalom run and an all-out hot lap on the track. We’ll spare you the details, but trust us, you’ll be surprised with the results.

VIDEO: Kia Stinger with LSD vs Panamera & BMW 640i

The star of this show is none other than the Stinger GT, seen here packing a limited slip differential to go with the 3.3 litre Lambda II V6 engine that produces 365 hp at 6,000 rpm and 510 Nm of torque from 1,300 to 4,500 rpm. It is by far the most powerful series production Kia, ever.

There’s no all-wheel drive badge on the tailgate, so this particular unit is rear-driven, receiving power from an eight-speed automatic transmission. This enables the Korean GT to sprint from nought to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds before maxing out at 269 km/h.

Back home, the Stinger GT made a brief appearance last November, but it’s not known if the car will be introduced here. “If possible, we would like to bring in the Stinger to the Malaysian market, but it will have to depend on the demand and legibility,” said Nazman S.H.C Yusof, head of Naza Kia Malaysia, in May last year.

GALLERY: Kia Stinger GT AWD previewed in Malaysia

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• david on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:40 am

Comparing a Casio to Rolex and Omega?

Yes, Casio can keep the time as good, and 1/10 the price… so??

This is poorman’s Panamera. Well done Kia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 48
    • Rightwinger on Jan 18, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Move along snob, move along…

• Seoul on Jan 18, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Not really…casio made in japan by japanese…vs rolex omega made in swiss…kia designed n engineered in germany…developed in nurburgring and manufactured in south korea….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • 3.3L v6 in a kia, confirm hisap petrol like no tomorrow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • You think the BMW 640i will return fuel economy any better than the Stinger? You are dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • sonyman on Jan 18, 2018 at 1:58 pm

people who get the 6 series are no concern of petrol price.

But for most Kia customers. Petrol price is a concern. you expect a BMW or a Porsche kaki to get this wanna be car. Probably not.

Yes the numbers tell a tale, but at the psychology levelof our fellow Malaysians. ITs not a ball game for the salaried fellow.

3.3L twin turbo. nice most cant even go through the road tax.

• Yes like someone said, casios tell time more accurately than rolexes. But nobody would cross shop a casio with a rolex. Same thinking here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • That is brand snobbery, plain and simple.

• Seoul on Jan 18, 2018 at 7:08 pm

The test just to prove that KIA can out performed the upper class benchmark especially the 6 series. KIA already said that it is half the price of the panamera and bmw so they know they are not in the same price segment but what is more important here is KIA can give VALUE to its customers. Not like lexus who priced their car as expansive as the german but cant even outperformed them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Kuinosan on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:57 am

It’s great to see Kia going for the premium sector of the car market, but Kia should not lose sight of it’s bread and butter middle-class customers who by the way, makes up for the majority of car buyers market. Please get a new franchiser to market your products Kia, Naza is killing the brand here in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Koreans have definitely come a long way since they built their first cars. Benchmark themselves with the best. Bravo!

• Dared to win and they won. Congrats KIA

• Holofanboi on Jan 18, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Wooo!!! Well done Kia!

Naza Malaysia….please forgive my ignorance on your importation costs but if possible…

Please please please price this thing below the 5 series and I would buy it in a heartbeat!

Yours sincerely,
    A 2013 K5 and 2016 Toyota Fortuner owner.

• panjang on Jan 18, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Cars like the Stinger has been around for decades. What i mean is cars that actually matches or comes within touching distance of a premium brand but does not comes with premium price tag.

So far no manufacturer or org conduct such bold comparison.Nice to see Kia started it.

• kereta_lembu on Jan 18, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Well done KIA for producing an outstanding car! For sure, apart from the performance shown in the video, Porsche and BMW will still lead the way (for now) because they are more established brands and have more pedigree. This might change if KIA keeps its game up and start to improve in its quality of materials, safety and reliability. On the flip side, people will still choose Porsche/BMW for its luxury and status factor because many times, such cars are more for show than they are driven like race car drivers.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 18, 2018 at 1:10 pm

KIA vs Porsche. Which one will give you face? Which one will the car jockeys park right in front of entrance?

• Depends. On a slow night, with no other ‘special cars’ around, even the Stinger gets parked in the front. On a busy night, even a Porsche Panamera have to eat a humble pie when there are Ferraris, Lambos and Rollers coming in.

• Safety1st on Jan 19, 2018 at 2:54 pm

That is for posers who is not a VIP but wanted to be treated like a VIP…the worse part is on a day when you bring you friend for a ride on the highway showing off your Porsches…then come a KIA from behind and smoke you….that really something

• Seoul on Jan 21, 2018 at 9:46 am

They did a test by giving the new stinger to a jockey in casino monte carlo in monaco. The jockey will normally park cars worthy of display in the front and park the rest in the basement at the back. The stinger is park between a rolls royce in the front. So yeah it is worthy of display in monaco

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2018 at 1:14 pm

What is the purpose of this comparison ?? To tell the world that a Korean KIA with enhance performance & handling can match or out muscle it’s equivalent Porsche or BMW.

Suffice to say, this GT with LSD can out Sprint, out Slalom & out Handle almost what the Germans can throw at. The Best part is U don’t have to pay with a hand or leg to enjoy the car or the driving.

How dare KIA make this video to back up their claim that they are as good if not better than a Porsche or BMW ??!! Sebab KIA Memang Boleh… Hehehe. Cheers.

• Bob_B78 on Jan 18, 2018 at 1:19 pm

Easy win for Kia for the its comparing with 2 much heavier cars. Let see if it compares with Boxters S and bmw 335i which price is much closer to this Kia. These 2 easily tapau Kia in cornering G and close circuit track time.

• When they do comparison, surely must make sure they dun lose lar.

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2018 at 3:30 pm

I think they choose Panamera bcos it has 4 doors.

• Rightwinger on Jan 18, 2018 at 5:36 pm

Boxter S? A sports car Vs a sport saloon?

• Safety1st on Jan 19, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Why not compare with aerial atom its lighther? Duhh they are comparing car of the same segment altho not the same class. The 6 n panamera are both grand touring cars same like the stingee…aiyoo

• Norman on Jan 18, 2018 at 1:42 pm

This’s the beginning Kia goes into sport car compete with German brand. Let’s see and wait how far Stinger goes. Sales figure can’t cheat. We are looking into worldwide sales.

I m former owner of Camry and Tucson.
    Now driving 1.6 K3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • THEREALMaserati on Jan 18, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Any tom dick and harry can make a fast car. But its not easy to put soul into a car. Thats why KIA and Hyundai cars suck. Totally souless. They are not even close to anything Honda has come up with and they dare to compare a piece of junk to BMW and Porsche?

This Stinger is miles away from a Civic Type R .

Pls, u guys got a long long way to go. Stop these stupid videos comparing junk to Lambos and Porsches. Nobody will buy the crap coming out from Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • No cure for stupidity on Jan 18, 2018 at 6:22 pm

A Kia just beat a Porsche and a BMW on a track, of all places, just admit it despite how butthurt you are. You watched the ‘stupid’ video too, didn’t you? So, are you more stupid now than before you watched it?

• Safety1st on Jan 19, 2018 at 3:06 pm

Bro type r is not even in the same segment. Try the I30N which beats the type r in term of driving fun

• Safety1st on Jan 19, 2018 at 3:09 pm

And we are talking the engineering meister albert biermann himself who look after the N project from start….not just another japanese guy with weird design q for the type r…but the guy who created all the M cars

• At least KIA and Hyundai their quality is continuously improving. At first when Korean brands made their car, they were helped by Mitsubishi and copied their cars. but look at now, their global sales now has overtaken far much that of Mitsubishi. I remember Hyundai’s first car Pony which is junk of rubbish. but look at now, Genesis was a car of North America. and Stinger also almost reached the title this year. Who knows? whether their improving performance surprises the world in the future

• ayoyo on Jan 18, 2018 at 4:42 pm

bold way from kimchi makers, impressive!

• nonama on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:04 am

Hyundai I30N TCR has proven it can beat golf,type r etc in the track debut last year in TCR race…well ..this tell they are ready to play with any big boys with no fear…

• arowana on Jan 19, 2018 at 4:17 pm

now it’s all about brand perception.. the performance is there…

just like most Malaysians think Toyota is god brand with HIGH RESALE VALUE, but Proton is milo tin kosong.. it’s all about perception

• Joke of the year!!! on Jan 19, 2018 at 11:04 pm

Poor man car vs Rich man car…what a joke.

• Seoul on Jan 22, 2018 at 1:14 am

Yup the joke of the year since the rich man car got beaten on its own turf…

• Nicholas on Jan 20, 2018 at 1:42 am

I thought the Kia Stinger GT was equivalent to an M4 Gran Coupe, why bring heavy gran tourers to compete against a lighter, sportier car? Even if you want to bring out the 6 series, bring the M6 Gran Coupe. Good marketing video, but not much substantial comparison here… If you want to compare cars, compare same spec cars, the 6 series sedan is a cow, much more comparable to the recent Kia Optima GT, not the Stinger GT. if it’s just according to price then bring Myvi will win already.

• Seoul on Jan 22, 2018 at 1:21 am

The stinger is based on D segment platform and uses a 3.3 liter with kerb weight of 1.86tonne…the 640i gran coupe derived from f10 D segment 5 series with 3 liter and curb weight of 1.8-2tonne…so its a battle of cows

• ali00 on Jan 21, 2018 at 12:31 pm

Well.. at the price, awesome! Please bring in into Malaysia market. Please invent a beauty Manual/GT line of C & B line for Malaysians as well =D

Peace.. from Kancil 1999, Perdana V6 2006, 2011 Gen-2 CPS and K3 1.6 2017.

• DashZ4 on Feb 28, 2018 at 5:05 pm

An impressive feat. The Koreans sure have come a long way.
    From electronics, to Korean chicks and porn and now the Stinger….Kudos KIA