UMW Toyota Motor has announced the first units of the Toyota Harrier are now being delivered to customers, just a few months after the SUV was first previewed in November last year. The Harrier is available in two variants here – 2.0T Premium at RM238,000 and 2.0T Luxury at RM259,900 (on-the-road prices without insurance).
“We are encouraged by the response to the introduction of the all-new Toyota Harrier in Malaysia. As the earlier generations were intended only for the Japanese domestic market, we were unable to sell them officially. However, Toyota Motor Corporation has now decided to offer it outside Japan and we are among the first countries to sell it officially,” said Ravindran Kurusamy, president of UMW Toyota Motor.
Both Harrier variants are equipped with an 8AR-FTS 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine producing 231 PS and 350 Nm of torque – all sent to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic gearbox. Toyota claims fuel consumption of 13 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle, and there are also “performance” dampers to reduce roll and improve high-speed stability.
Local variants get plenty of kit, with available equipment including triple-projector LED headlights with sequential indicators, LED fog lamps, 18-inch dual-tone alloy wheels with a five-spoke turbine design, Nappa leather upholstery, a height-adjustable powered tailgate, panoramic sunroof and ventilated, power-adjustable front seats with memory function.
On the safety side of things, there are seven airbags, VSC as well as the Toyota Safety Sense suite of systems, including Pre-Collision System (autonomous emergency braking), active cruise control and auto high beam. For more information and detailed specifications of the Toyota Harrier, head on over to CarBase.my
Harrier is going to do so well for UMW Toyota. I guess, all those anti Toyota in Malaysia now going to cry like newborn baby.
Nothing like UMW backing and UMW service quality. No lepak and no cheating
Cry is those who bought the Lexus RX200T
Those who bought the Lexus RX200T at nearly RM480k must be very very very very dumb when the BMW X5 40e is RM388k
Those who bought recond Harrier 150HP. RM240k
Full spec Premium Advance 150HP recon Harrier is now at around RM170k, good deal, can save almost 100k compared to UMW 2.0T Premium spec.
Killer for xc90 and xc60
OMG , 150 HP asking for RM 24Ok .
That’s rip off and so overpriced .
Harriet is price too expensive and is same level with CRV , CX5 , X-TRAILS only
Even those who bought NX200T also cry. Still far expensive than this harrier 200t.
I see more harrier than any volvo xc90 on the road. People here still prefer more reliable sushi
I think you got anti-UMW mistaken with anti-Toyota.
Pay a little more can get a GLC alredi. Expecting near zero sales.
RM238k Toyota Harrier 2.0T Premium
or
BMW 320i.
dont compare suv with saloon la, should be comparing new bmw x1 or toyota harrier 2.0T
Harrier sahajalah…
U choose the 320 you get the german built car but looses on the practicality of a suv. But if you get the Sorento 2.2CRDI HS, you both, germanaic feel of a vehicle and practicality of a SUV. As a bonus you get a much more powerful car too
This year toyota will bring in harrier facelift, new CHR, new vios, and later end of this year new camry
and all will be overpriced
This new Harrier is no longer tie in with Lexus RX family. More like to the Rav4
Curious timing to bring the Harrier to Malaysia now. I would have much preferred seeing a hybrid version, which will probably arrive later this year in Japan, brought to Malaysia to really influence the Malaysian market.
Being picky here but seems to have no back seat USB ports, while the one at the front seems to be placed in an odd spot. No navigation as standard, although you can pay an extra RM1,272 for it.
Would have also liked to see 19″ wheels, as the 18″s don’t quite set it off, for me anyway.
Yeah…..picky….I know.
Without people like you the industry wouldn’t grow!
Harrier is no longer related to Rx family anymore. Closer to Rav4
harrier is JDM RAV4…japan no longer has rav4 for sale
Who’s idea is it to use that horrible colour for the demo model? Some people might like it but a lot will not.
Why do these Japanese brands always choose some awful MAROON or bright purple instead of neutral colors like silver, white or black?
Paultan appreciate if you can do a comparison review between this 2.0t harrier with the 2.2crdi hs sorento. Thanks
Did Harrier won any car or magazine awards yet ? international ?
So far I never heard nothing yet? Even the design and styling is nothing to shout about ..
So nothing outstanding coming from Toyota Harrier in term of engineering breakthrough and safety , as it seems …..true.
Don’t buy it. This model has been in the market since late 2013. It’s already 5 years design. Toyota will release new Harrier in soon in 2019.
max speed 180KM only…what for your high hp engine for?