Malaysian police gets 871 new Kawasaki motorcycles

To increase its motorcycle patrol unit (URB) capability, especially in crime-prone and border areas, the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) have acquired 871 Kawasaki motorcycles. Of these, 200 are Kawasaki KLX250 off-road bikes to be used by police in states sharing a border with Thailand, while a few Kawasaki Z250s can also be seen in the photos. Other models may be in the mix too.

In a handing-over ceremony at the General Operations Force Tactical Base near Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kedah, Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Mohamad Fuzi Harun said,”With this increase in the number of motorcycles, I am confident we can tackle crime more effectively, especially in crime-prone areas.” Also present at the ceremony were Datuk Tajudin Md Isa, Bukit Aman Crime Prevention and Community Safety Department director, Datuk Asri Yusoff, Kedah Police Chief and Executive Chairman of Kawasaki Motors (Malaysia) Ahmad Faez Tan Sri Yahaya.

During the ceremony, 67 Kawasaki motorcycles were handed over Kedah police, including 20 KLX250 off-road two-wheelers. Fuzi said the motorcycles will be handed out in stages to the various state police. The purchase of the motorcycles cost the police about RM28 million and will be used to shorten police response time.

Fuzi said in a The Sun Daily report that police currently have a strength of 4,189 patrol motorcycles. “We received very good feedback about the unit as the motorcycles are able to go to the locations faster, in less than 10 minutes. I want to thank the government for its concern for the needs of security forces, especially PDRM, in providing assets which are for the wellbeing of the people,” said Fuzi

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• panjang on Jan 24, 2018 at 9:52 am

Nice to see more police rider…agreed they can respond faster but they should get all dp bike instead of full fairing model. This allow them to go into unexpected terrain and manuovering at such terrain is better on dp bike.
    I want more of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Jalalludin on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:25 am

Why never use local bike??? Is pdrm ashamed to use local bike????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Locals still dun have off-road bikes yet. Waiting for Modenas to CKD the Bajaj dirt bike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • While the bikes enable them to get somewhat off-road for their jobs, its not intended to do that becoz the bikes have extra modification and polis accessories that makes full off-road impractical. For those tasks, they will call for backup and helicopter sapot to flush out the perps.

• From what I see in the photos, the KLXs don’t have massive modification. Even the beacon light is a tiny one on top of headlight. I believed PDRM also know that dirt bike that capable for off roading must be as simple as possible.

• Marhaen on Jan 24, 2018 at 9:53 am

Rakyat always provided the best for PDRM to do their jobs. Hope rempit Ragut and pukul Baseball bat cases are now eradicated once & for all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Ex-VGM staff on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:18 am

The original deal in 2013 between Kawasaki Malaysia and PDRM was 5,000 units. Kawasaki managed to convince the police to secure the business even though the traffic division not happy about it. The traffic boys preferred Honda (for a reason, if u know what mean). But the blue uniform decided to go for Kawasaki (for a reason, again if u know what I mean) and when they found out that Kawasaki 250 bikes were not up to par, they quietly purchase Honda 250 some time in 2016. This is reason why Kawasaki supplies the z250, instead of the Ninja 250. For that better riding position.

• Ex police on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:24 am

Please explain what do you mean?

• The above bike is not for traffic police. It is for patrol police (blue uniform). Traffic will use bigger CC bike, not this 250.

• Ashley on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:27 am

Better to put policemans on a bike than in a car. Easier to catch people. At least can see them doing their job rather than sitting in a car in groups Ronda Ronda or hiding somewhere to tido with the air-conditioner on.

• sam123 on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:18 am

baki 9,424,441 ?

• Ezra Foo on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:41 am

67 bikes @ RM28mil? That’s about RM42k per bike. That’s certainly double the retail price. Not to be prejudiced, I’m assuming the costs accounts for all spare parts and repairs for at least the next 5-7 years. Otherwise, here we go again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Did u not notice the polis accessories customisation or just lazy to see the pictures?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Ezra Foo on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Yes I did notice the mods. And to my error, it is in fact, 871 bikes. Which still adds up to at least a 12k premium for the mods. I hope you’re a biker who’s done extensive mods on your bike. And I believe that Govt vehicle purchases does have certain cost exemptions which could possibly mean a much bigger premium. Just my 2 cents worth from someone who’s not as experienced as you are.

• Polis modifications to the vehicles r usually quite extensive and part of the extra costs is for the burden of vehicle manufacturers to continue honour their warranties even after modification. Try doing that to ur private vehicle and go back to SC claim warranty. PDRM has to pay extra for this. I may not claim to be an expert, but at least try to be more observant b4 pounding the keybod.

• hondaman on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:00 pm

the rm28 million was for 871 bikes laa… rm32k each including full police customisation accessories

• Saiko on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Do you even read the title? RM28m for 871 motorcycles la. Also failed math.

• Ezra Foo on Jan 25, 2018 at 2:56 pm

You are right, I did the wrong math. So on another point, since I failed my math, does a RM12k premium justify all the mods. I hope you’re a biker who’s modded his bike extensively.

• U mod Kawasaki, gud luck going back to claim warranty.
          PDRM mod Kawasaki, no problem go back claim warranty.
          Can u now see where the 12k went to?

• nazri on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:42 am

NICE HELMET WEH !!!

• sohai on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:47 am

come with free helmet and raincoat and disc lock or not?

• Afeeq on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:59 am

Motorcycles are effective when it comes to preventing and responding to crime. Also good for patrolling. Great news!

• 871 Kawasaki motorcycles cost RM28 million, each costs about RM32,147 on average. Consider high if the motorcycles are tax exempted.

• Eddy Irwan on Jan 24, 2018 at 4:52 pm

PDRM should by GS1200R for offroad

• Mat nasib on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:07 pm

871bikes for 28 million work out to 32,000 per bikes , must be some bike hahaha

• MusangKing 2 on Jan 24, 2018 at 7:05 pm

Let’s see if there are improvement of safety and security in Mesia after buying so many patrol bikes..

Kawasaki Malaysia salesman sure masyok if this sales…….

• should use modenas bajaj instead. support local brand. in fact, twice cheaper