Petron Malaysia ready for RON 95 Euro 4M roll-out

With the deadline for the implementation of RON 95 Euro 4M coming soon in October 2018, Petron Malaysia is ready for the roll-out of the fuel, upon mandate by the government. Speaking to paultan.org during the Fuel Happy Petron Blaze RON100 media test ride to Penang, sources inside Petron Malaysia said this is not a new thing, and is an industry-wide readiness status.

This also includes the roll-out for B10 bio-diesel, should the government give the green light for it to be included in forecourt fuel sales throughout the nation. In the case of the changeover for RON 95 to Euro 4M standard, roll-out will most likely happen in phases, with out of town stations posting slower sales getting the fuel about three to four months ahead of urban stations with faster tank turnover.

The announcement that RON 95 fuel in Malaysia was to be switched over to the Euro 4M standard this year was made in 2015. Diesel in Malaysia is regulated to Euro 2M and Euro 5 standard, both in B7, with only Euro 2M diesel to move to B10, while RON 100 is currently not regulated.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• In this competitive marketspace, PetronM is highly commendable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Ramasamy Karupiah on Feb 02, 2018 at 6:28 pm

The whole of Europe banned Euro 2 in 1994 cause it was proven to be cancer causing.

That was 24 years ago. It has taken Malaysia 28 years to push itself now to Euro 4M.

By the way, what is Euro 4M? Is it Euro 3.5? Why can we be like Singapore soon to be Euro 6.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 25
      • kipKEEP1230 on Feb 02, 2018 at 8:29 pm

Alamak bro. That standard you’re talking about is emission standard. This is fuel standard lah.

• Sean Liew on Mar 28, 2018 at 12:17 am

Basically what Ramasamy said was what you eat is what you shit. What’s wrong with that statement kipKEEP1230??

• SG has the refinery to refine crude into Euro6 fuels. Rapid in Penggerang is just coming online and needs more investment to reach Euro6. At the moment its setup can reach Euro5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
      • Benzene Inhaler on Feb 02, 2018 at 10:11 pm

Revisit history https://paultan.org/2015/08/18/euro-4m-ron-97-fuel-in-malaysia-what-does-it-mean/

• There’s a reason why gov slowly remove subsidy so that Malaysians could eventually enjoy higher euro standard.

But then being a Malaysians from my observation, probably its all about opposing for the sake of opposing.

Cancer causing? How about start eating the right food (if you’re not) since you’re much likely to get cancer that way.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
      • Lawson on Feb 03, 2018 at 9:24 am

The way you put up this reply is as if Euro 2 is proven to be cancer causing while Euro 4 is not. The fact is all petrols are having the same nasty compounds in them; benzene, toulene, xylenes, mtbe etc etc etc. As for benzene the daily working exposure limit is below 5ppm in air. So whether the petrol is having 2% or 5% benzene it is already high. So the oldies mechanic sucking out petrol from a car and use it to bare hand wash disassembled parts is a big no no. So the gov making petrol stations to go self serive is one way minimising workers to benzene exposure. Euro 6 will have little impact if our roads are having 20% badly maintained cars or cars that are over 20 years old and those carburetors type. Not to mentioned a badly maintained 2 stroke kapcais giving more smoke than 5 to 10 cars.

From me I wish that there is choice of RON92 Euro 4 as it will be cheaper. Lots of cars can operate using RON92. Or one could pump RM25 of RON90 and RM25 of RON95. Mazda new incoming 2019 engine could even run on RON87!.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
        • stastasta on Feb 07, 2018 at 1:49 pm

mazda can run on ron87 your head. it can run on OCTANE87 NOT RON87. octane and ron different you know or not ?

• Gomorrah on Feb 03, 2018 at 11:03 am

Because then the government will finally have to admit that we do not have the cheapest fuel prices in the world. Comparing the cost of Euro 2M and Euro 4/5/6 is not like for like, but that is what they’ve been selling to the public until now. Euro 4M and Euro 4 spec are in no way the same. Only certain parts of the Euro 4 spec are being adhered to. See here https://www.acfa.org.sg/newsletterinfocus08_02.php

• Read here Euro 4M Vs Euro 4..
          https://paultan.org/2015/09/02/euro-4m-caltex-ron-97-petrol-techron/

• Ramasamy Karupiah on Feb 03, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Besides Petrol, 95% of Diesel vehicles still use Euro 2M diesel DESPITE Euro 5 Diesel being available.

Already many years now Euro 5 Diesel introduced into Malaysia. The Government should stop selling Euro 2M diesel immediately due to the dangers. Commercial vehicles as well as public already given enough time to upgrade to the cleaner diesel

By the way Euro 2M means Euro 1.5. This is much lower than even Euro 2 (which was banned in Europe 24 years ago)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Smoke less. This will gip better chance to prevent cancer than Euro2M diesel.

• contifan on Feb 02, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Finally.. we conti cars with direct injection can sigh of relief…somewhat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • If i were to buy conti car, i will definitely buy diesel variant . We have euro 5 diesel here. Plus diesel engine gives better milleage and torque than gasoline engines

• Tahniah to Petron for making the transition earlier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Polling time pak on Feb 02, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Petronas > petron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
    • Ur right. Wht a shame if the pinoys beat us. Better close shop n sell off to china.

• Pinoys get their Euro4 stocks from SG. Ours is refined locally. So no shame at all, proud even.

• Ethan on Feb 03, 2018 at 12:03 am

Pumping Petronas in my Vios always causes engine knocking sound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Ahmad on Feb 02, 2018 at 7:48 pm

I’m not trying to promote Petron, but as a user, this is our change of radical provocation for fuel providers (or should i say CODO rather than COCO) to immediately provide better product to our BolehLand.

Some of the engine designer heavily rely on the source of power to ensure the optimum performance that we going to get. However I am not so sure, how significant is the later EURO series of oil perform especially when it comes to high compression engines. But we do know the higher the RON, the better it perform especially for the said engine.

• how much will 1 litre of RON95 4M cost ?

• Amigi on Feb 03, 2018 at 3:30 am

Congrats Proton! good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
  • starangel on Jul 13, 2018 at 12:30 pm

is ron 95 becomes euro 4 standard..what about ron 97?

• Concerned Consumer on Jul 29, 2018 at 12:05 am

Hope PH government will not delay this exercise.
    Wonder why there is no new news on this.

• taweel on Sep 28, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Just left 3 days for RON 95 to be introduce in EURO 4. Any news about it?

• Indeed any update on the Euro M4 as of October 1?