Two more deaths recorded at Batu Tiga toll plaza

A fatal accident occurred at the unused Batu Tiga toll plaza this morning, resulting in the deaths of two road users. This is the second time such an incident was recorded at the location, with the first taking place on January 15.

In a report by Bernama, Shah Alam district police chief ACP Baharudin Mat Taib said initial investigations revealed the car was travelling from Kuala Lumpur to Shah Alam. The vehicle was believed to have been speeding before the driver lost control of the vehicle and rammed into a pillar of the toll plaza.

Highway users have urged the authorities to accelerate the demolition of the Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas. Both toll plazas have ceased operations since the start of 2018, in line with Budget 2018 as announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Highway concessionaire PLUS has already announced it is in the final stage of awarding the tender to the contractors that will undertake the demolition works. The company noted the works will be completed by the end of March this year, and it would be carried out in stages.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• U-Tun on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Plus is trying to hold gov for ransom by delaying the process so that they don’t have to spend on the demolition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 43
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 19, 2018 at 4:58 pm

They were speeding…read the story properly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
    • Darren Ong on Feb 19, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Get China to do it. They can do it in 2 days with sparkling clean up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:58 pm

China can build north south highway in a month but only in china as the authorities there will steam roll anybody that is in the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • They oso steam roll environ & animals

• Kilingkiang uu uu on Feb 24, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Steamrolling anyone who is in the way and they became super rich lately??!! I’d rather have a communist government like China and i wont stand in their way

• All were informed.
      https://paultan.org/2018/01/19/batu-tiga-toll-plaza-fully-demolished-by-end-march/

• basherlogic on Feb 19, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Why wait 3 whole months? This is vital. If there was a flood, will you say, wait 3 months then I come and save the rakyat?

3 whole months?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 51
        • Why in the world are you comparing a flood to a road accident? Doesn’t make sense at all. The accident wouldn’t have happened if the driver was careful and SLOWED DOWN when approaching the toll plaza. Somehow, just because no need to pay toll some drivers treats the toll plazas as invisible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
        • Sure, they can do it within 1 month. But need to kolos whole width of the hiway. Mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
        • U-Tunnel on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Do it right the 1st time. Better to take it slow than sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • nothing to do with flood la brother. apa ko mengarut ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:00 pm

2.5 months to appoint a contractor and two weeks to complete the job.pur glc full of tender comittees and endless meetings.

• wandy on Feb 19, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Sorry for the losses. But please people..just treat it as normal toll booth even though it is free, at least until the demolition work done.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
  • PLUS should be continue supplying the lights during the night before the actual demolish as it is super dangerous and they must act fast to remove all the toll pillars. Brainless PLUS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 33
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 19, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Completed by end of march you idiot…brainless KH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 22
  • “The vehicle was believed to have been speeding before the driver lost control of the vehicle”
    If the driver din ram the toll booths, they wud have rammed other road users or road barriers then bounce back to hit others. The toll booths there just happened stopped more serious eksidens from happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
  • Farhan on Feb 19, 2018 at 5:06 pm

I think the speed limit is still set to 60 then to 15km/h at the toll booths You drive like maniac, then you die like a maniac. No one to blame but the driver. An impact at 60km/h would not kill, no matter what material you hit, be it a stone wall, booth or toll pillar. Buckle up your seat belts, drive safe and always remember if you have a passenger in the car, it is someones daughter/son/mother/father/brother/sister life in your hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Not surprise what is happening. Look what happened yesterday traffic congestion at PLUS Highway!. After every year traffic congestion at PLUS Highway, what PLUS ONLY know to do is add more lanes! PLUS dont want to study why the Highway congested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
    • Ur statement has nothing to do with these incidents. Just wanna hentam much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 31
  • James on Feb 19, 2018 at 7:58 pm

What kind of doofus goes thru a narrow Road at high speeds? Even if it’s free and without poles, there will also be PLUS staff that occasionally walk between booths.

• TheDean on Feb 19, 2018 at 8:43 pm

Government is so slow to act. An inactive toll booth station, especially unlit, is a MAJOR road hazard. If a single basketball can be a hazard on the highway, what more several slabs of concrete with mere 7-ft openings? If have to wait for 3 months, at least have a flashing hazard light lit at all booths to warn cars further up to slow down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Starbucks on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:51 pm

This is bureaucratic issue – paperworks, tenders, etc. Would be better if it could be leaner, honestly.

• They were speeding and both of them are from Shah Alam. How come they didn’t know that the toll booth is still there?

• Mustafa on Feb 19, 2018 at 11:00 pm

The abolishment of toll at these 2 toll plaza was announced during the 2018 budget in October 2017 and I am sure the decision must have been made a month earlier in September 2017…what had stop PLUS to start the tendering process for the removal if the tol plaza…why wait until january 2018 to start the tendering proses? Are they still hoping the the gomen will reverse their decision (or they are trying to renegotiate)…

• More warning signs and light up the place properly please… Plus better do something to prevent further losses of lives while processing the demolition of the booths. And to the drivers… pls be extra careful la… Distressing to see unnecessary carnage due to stupidity.

• potato on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:47 am

you can drive at safe slow speed like 15km/h but the vehicles behind will still be driving at 60km/h.

when you slow down either they horn you or they couldn’t slow down in time because you decided to go 15km/h at the inactive booth.

• st3wp1d on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:43 am

Most lefllane got..

• Low Budget on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:28 am

I am a daily user and I can say that most drivers slow down when approaching the toll booths even if there is no toll, it is the stupidity of these young drivers who try to speed through the toll booth.

• Mr Hakim on Feb 20, 2018 at 8:06 am

Those toll booths are stationary objects. You hit it then you the one who wrong. If you died then you deserved it, end of story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Best comment ever. But basher logic dictates that even if out of control speeding driver rams a lightpost in middle of nowhere & died, oso ini sarahan gov.

• Blame the toll booth not the awful drivers. If you are such a bad driver that you can’t see a huge toll plaza, and avoid hitting it, you should not have a driver’s license.

• Ben Yap on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:46 am

toll booth do big also the driver cannot see and ram into it. driver problem, not toll booth problem.

• Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:01 pm

Drivers so happy no more toll so they speed pass the booths.

• To be or not to be on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:57 pm

This is a car forum right? Why put this up ans debate on how they died…its turning into a tabloid …make up yr minds…talk bout car and its engineering or this type of newsprint ..

• PT oso layan Berita Harian, well known to be a tabloid, news. So…