2018 Kia K900 teased ahead of debut later this year

Kia has released the first teaser for its second-generation K900, its flagship premium sedan that will celebrate its world debut later this year. While it is known as the K900 in North America, the sedan is referred to as the K9 in Korea, and Quoris in other selected markets.

Design-wise, the K900’s profile features a set of multi-spoke wheels and narrower side mirrors compared to the outgoing model. The side grille on the fender has also been removed for a tidier look, and we also see new lighting units front and back.

Kia says the new car “combines sophisticated exterior design, effortless performance and a spacious cabin distinguished by luxurious materials and elegant styling.” A range of safety and driving assist systems will also be available, although nothing specific was mentioned.

The same can be said of what will go under the hood. In the U.S., the current K900 sold is available with either a 3.8 litre V6 or 5.0 litre V8 petrol engines. The Korean market K9 not only gets those two engines, but also a 3.3 litre V6.

The new K900 was developed with input from its designers in Korea and the United States, with production set to take place at the company’s plant in its native market. After its debut, the flagship model will go on sale in selected global markets from the second quarter of 2018.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anton Ravind on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:31 am

Wow, what a leap in improvement. Kia and Hyundai just started 10 years before Proton and yet, they can sell 8 million cars per annum globally.

And they are No 1 sales in US and Australia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 30
    • Wow, never knew P1 started back during Merdeka 1957. Thanks for info bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 29
    • andrew on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:01 pm

you know they started in 1947 right?

• No no. The history books & wiki lied to us that P1 was started in 1983. According to basher, we inherited P1 from the Brits, u see.

• Get a Lexus! No point getting a Korean and after that have to park far far away during old school mate gathering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • wendy on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:48 pm

haha 10years ago i remember use to hide my samsung phone when everyone were using nokia..

and each time people came to my house they wonder why i use LG tv while the rest using sony..

how things changed now..no one use nokia phone and sony tv anymore..

i guess for cars really soon..korean already tapau japanese in most industries..

few more years people will hide their japanese car at high school reunion..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Hardly interesting.

• No wonder if it will be like Genesis G90. And pls, Twin-turbo V8 engine to par with other continental brands like 750Li, S500