Illegally parked vehicles in Shah Alam will be towed away by MBSA, owners stand to face RM3,500 fine

The Shah Alam City Council (MBSA) has announced that it will tow away vehicles that are illegally parked in residential areas, and the corresponding motorist will be fined RM3,500. According to The Star, the move follows numerous public complaints over the nuisance caused by heavy vehicles such as buses and lorries that are haphazardly parked on road kerbs, dividers, fields, parks and other open spaces.

Mayor Datuk Ahmad Zaharin Mohd Saad said these vehicles were an obstruction mainly to the people living in neighbourhoods within the city. “Some park at the main junctions of busy roads and cause traffic congestion,” he told the press after chairing the monthly full board meeting on February 27.

Ahmad Zaharin said such vehicles were an eyesore, creating a negative image for the city in addition to damaging public property. “Most of these drivers park their vehicles overnight,” he said, adding that some of them remained at a particular spot for days, sometimes even weeks.

He said the council has hired loaders and engaged tow truck operators to tow away these illegally parked vehicles. “Owners of the vehicles will have to pay a hefty fine of RM3,500 and RM50 per day as storage fee until the vehicles are collected from the council depot,” added Ahmad Zaharin.

On a similar but unrelated matter, the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) recently said that reserved parking bays are not supposed to be blocked 24/7 and there are stipulated hours for when business owners or staffs can utilise the designated spots.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Good initiative from Mr Mayor. Lacking enforcement and too many motorists haphazard parking at the main junctions of busy roads.

Causing traffic congestion @ Shah Alam City Centre and illegal roadside parking in residential areas. Your men will have a busy yet productive day tomorrow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Jarrod Ong on Mar 01, 2018 at 5:30 pm

They talk big. Do you know all over Malaysia got few hundred thousand abandoned cars?

Yet, they don’t saman or chase the owners. So easy, just ask JPJ for the last known address and then polis can go and saman the offenders.

Or through IC number, can search LHDN files and issue summons on the offenders.

Yet, hundreds of thousands abandoned cars.

I think in Klang Valley, few hundred thousand abandoned cars.

And guess where the dengue and aedes breed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
      • Sohai La on Mar 01, 2018 at 9:15 pm

Haih… When enforce say talk big/got cable/wayang only, when don’t enforce say authorities corrupt/incompetent. And after that complain people illegal parking, why authorities no catch, and then when kena saman get angry pulak.

Diam lar.

• Jarrod Ong on Mar 02, 2018 at 6:24 am

Thousands of people suffer from dengue and hundreds die from it every year. Abandoned cars, besides abandoned houses, are No 1 places for dengue larvae to breed.

• awg1031 on Mar 02, 2018 at 9:28 am

off topic..

• Hasnol on Mar 02, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Quick question, Does a saman issued by local city council affect my roadtax renewal?

• they breeding in the “few hundred thousand abandoned cars right….

• Ben Yap on Mar 01, 2018 at 4:43 pm

If i got a 15 year old kancil and it is being towed away by MBSA, after upon calculation and my beat up kancil is less than RM3K market price, i will just leave the car there and not collect it.

alternatively, if i got a junk that i want to discard, i’ll just abandon the car and allow MBSA to tow it away and conveniently wash my hands after that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Henry on Mar 01, 2018 at 5:27 pm

You can abandon the car but you are still the registered owner. When the accumulated charges are high enough MBSA will sue you. They are not bothered about how much your car is worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • MeToo on Mar 01, 2018 at 4:55 pm

RM3500 fine?! Awesome!

I’m so glad I live in Shah Alam!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • After diskaun, becomes RM30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Jarrod Ong on Mar 02, 2018 at 6:17 am

That is the Malaysian style. Even saman now got campaign…just pay RM10.

This is why we need outsiders to come and help us with enforcement and deterrent laws

• Digidigi on Mar 01, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Even 3500 is too little, should revoke driving license etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Zainudin Merican on Mar 01, 2018 at 5:36 pm

What about abandoned vehicles? All left by the roadsides or at apartments’ parking lots

• pengayuhbasikal on Mar 01, 2018 at 5:40 pm

expect more ‘gaduh rebut parking lot’ after this….

• Bernard on Mar 01, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Burn their vehicle, jail them for a month …..that’s the least MBSA should do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Mar 02, 2018 at 6:12 pm

I hope you get what you wish on others if one day somehow your car is illegally parked. There is such a thing call law.

• SA resident on Mar 01, 2018 at 6:13 pm

Any idea how we can make a complaint during non-office hours?

• Shah Alam resident on Mar 01, 2018 at 8:34 pm

As a resident of Shah Alam, I can confirm you that MBSA is known as Talk Only No Action (TONA). It has become a dumping ground for obsolete cars because anyone can fool with MBSA with immunity.

• One one hand there someone that says MY has most exp car in the world, but reality is theres hundreds of thousands of cars (thats oso what he said) being abandoned cuz their owners got new rides. What he said and reality tarak ngam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Mar 01, 2018 at 11:23 pm

Good.
    Enforcement.

• 12yrsold on Mar 02, 2018 at 8:22 am

Please show the hotline numbers & email so that we can do our part to clean up Shah Alam.

• Alister on Mar 02, 2018 at 8:54 am

Please apply the new rules in JB area please.

• sam123 on Mar 02, 2018 at 10:15 am

they should create a gov website or pages for rakyat to complaint or upload picture for viral.. easy

• regretbuyingford on Mar 03, 2018 at 1:06 am

side note guys..

did you know that no city council has the authority to issue a summons amounting to RM3500?

that is beyond the capacity that any city council is allowed to fine.

sadly the datuk bandar got some lousy legal advice.