VW CEO predicts a comeback for diesel technology

The popularity of diesel-powered vehicles have been on the decline ever since the Dieselgate scandal erupted in September 2015. This has led Toyota to completely stop sales of its oil burning models in Europe, but Volkswagen CEO Matthias Muller seems to think that the technology will make a comeback.

According to the Detroit News, Volkswagen is expecting consumers to “forgive and forget” soon, as cleaner diesels hit the streets. “Diesel will see a renaissance in the not-too-distant future because people who drove diesels will realise that it is a very comfortable drive concept,” explained Muller. “Once the knowledge that diesels are eco-friendly firms up in people’s minds, then for me there’s no reason not to buy one.”

That’s quite a bold statement, considering that the German auto giant put aside about US$30 billion (RM117 billion) in provisions to cover fines, retrofits and legal costs after it was caught rigging diesel-emissions systems to dupe government pollution tests. The move even saw former VW exec Oliver Schmidt, who was the company’s emissions compliance manager from 2012 till February 2015, sentenced to seven years of imprisonment and slapped with a US$400,000 (RM1.63 million) fine.

“We need diesel to get to the CO2 goals,” said chairman of the board of management of Volkswagen, Herbert Diess, after presenting the all-electric I.D. Vizzion concept car in Geneva. “Electric vehicles in many cases won’t keep frequent drivers happy,” he added.

The Dieselgate saga also forced Audi to quit racing in the WEC LMP1 series

Recently, a German court ruling allowed cities in the country to ban the most heavily polluting diesel cars from their streets, to which Diess responded by saying that it’s “scary and totally unnecessary.” Similar decisions to clamp down on diesel cars have been made by other countries like Paris, Madrid and Mexico City. China, France and the U.K. have also put in place plans to phase out the internal combustion engine for good.

However, Volkswagen isn’t the sole believer in the diesel renaissance. According to Automotive News Europe, Ford is still backing the technology, but the uptake will disappear in some segments, notably for smaller vehicles, the company said.

European carmakers are keen to stick with diesel as an effective and profitable way to meet regulatory demands to cut CO2 output until demand for zero-emissions electric cars takes off. German manufacturers are particularly exposed because they generally make larger, more powerful models. Daimler, the maker of Mercedes-Benz, said its CO2 fleet emissions rose last year because buyers opted for larger cars.

Automakers in the EU need to lower fleet emissions to an average of 95 grammes of CO2 per km by 2020-2021. Meeting those goals has gotten tougher as demand for diesel cars – which emit about a fifth less CO2 compared to equivalent gasoline vehicles – has slumped amid consumer worries about driving bans in the city.

Despite the dip in diesel’s market share in Europe, Mueller is predicting a comeback. “The rules of the game in the EU in relation to climate protection and emissions goals on CO2 are so challenging that governments cannot do without diesel,” he told reporters, adding that Volkswagen won’t miss the targets the EU has set. “We are doing everything to avoid” coming up short, he said. “If there is less diesel, then getting to that goal just gets tougher.”

Last year, Volkswagen pledged to spend more than US$42 billion (RM164 billion) through 2022 to develop battery-power and autonomous-driving technology, and it has plans to create electric versions of all 300 cars, trucks and buses sold by its dozen brands by the year 2030.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• (Like) Diesel-powered vehicles.
    (Dislike) Petrol-powered vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • No brainer on Mar 10, 2018 at 9:00 am

Cleaner and more environmental friendly. Durable, low maintenance and more mileage. So why not?

• Vw fans on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:20 pm

For u to cheat again? A child just not happy after studying so much but teacher say this subject is not taken into account.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Daniel Masilamany on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:37 pm

diesel in europe euro 5 and that also now kotor. Imagine our Euro 2 diesel….racun wei

Euro 2 diesel was banned in whole of Europe in 1994 cause it was proven to be cancer causing. But 24 yrs later, msia still selling it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • Adik adik. Let me introduce u to an English word called CHOICE.

There is Euro2M diesel and there is Euro5 diesel. Thats called CHOICE.

Paham, dik?

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:47 pm

Good weed you have there, Herr Muller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Love Alan on Mar 10, 2018 at 1:04 am

Nokia

• JasonT on Mar 10, 2018 at 2:36 pm

Diesel technology coming back is just business talk. Most countries in EU already banning diesel cars in 3-5 years time. These manufacturers must have contracted out their Diesel engine productions and having high stock level, now trying to offload them with rubbish talk. Petrol engine is already old school, how is Diesel engine be better than EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • autobahn on Mar 12, 2018 at 8:52 am

Diesel is better than ev or petrol in a sense for heavy usage (interstate long haul), it still produce more power and is more efficient that equivalent petrol car, without the hassle to stop (long stop) to recharge the battery (for the ev). But for normal driver just to go to work and town driving, the EV is the best choice.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 10, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Seriously VW, after your dieselgate scandal in US, you still wanna bet your last dollar on diesel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Kuinosan on Mar 10, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Smart money pick mazda skyactivX.

• Toyota Roadkill on Mar 10, 2018 at 7:35 pm

Sam better focus on the decline of your Toyota from global number 1 to number 3. In Malaysia also your UMW cannot sell Toyota anymore. Need to sell Perodua to survive. Soon your Toyota will become extinct just like Toyota salesmen.

• macampondan on Mar 10, 2018 at 4:15 pm

i predict vw is going to cheat again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • makkaupondanlejen on Mar 10, 2018 at 7:32 pm

Wow so many fortune teller cyber troopers here -:)

• Macampondan on Mar 12, 2018 at 12:02 am

So many butt hurt vw owners…giving dislikes. Hahaha…. pray hard so that it doesn’t break on you. Hahahaha

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 11, 2018 at 11:32 am

I’m still not keen with all these hybrid and EVs but I am very keen to get s diesel model if they are selling one. Not just VW but BMW or Mercedes for the matter.