Electric motorcycles, or e-bikes, are coming out in the market faster than lightning, with most major manufacturers having one or two in the design or production pipeline, not including current major players Energica, Zero and Brammo. A new player in the field is Sur-Ron, from China, with its current offering, the “White Ghost”.
Claimed to come with a sub USD 3,000 (RM11,700) price tag, the White Ghost is designed for short urban trips. Carrying a 10 kilowatt electric motor that is the equivalent of 13.4 hp, this e-bike has a 100 km/h top speed powered by a 4.2-kilowatt hour, 60-volt battery that takes three hours to go to full charge.
Power is transmitted through a two-speed, dual-clutch DSG automatic gearbox, apparently a first for a China made e-bike. Suspension is with upside-down telescopic fork in front with a monoshock in the rear, and ABS is standard equipment.
This is enough to carry the White Ghost to a distance of 100 km, depending on which of the three riding modes is selected. The first two modes – Economy and Sport – are self-explanatory while the third mode, “Turbo”, boosts power by 20% for 20 seconds to allow for over taking or riding uphill.
Several modern conveniences are included in design of the White Ghost, including a storage space where the fuel tank would be for a normal motorcycle. Also included is full LED lighting all-round, with the headlight being a two-element projector light unit flanked by two DRLs, which Sur-Ron calls “Soul-Eye”.
At the back, the brake lights and indicators are integrated, changing colour and flashing as necessary. On the inside of the fairing, green LEDs add “atmosphere lighting” to the White Ghost, combined with cornering lights that come on as the rider leans the e-bike.
Activating the White Ghost is with a keyless fob, which also includes a vehicle location feature and functions as a flashlight. The 2018 Sur-Ron White Ghost is currently under-going type approval and homologation in China for export sales.
China? No thanks.
Boyue also China mah. This means majority also say no thanks to Boyue
Hahaha! Change dupe again.
Germany oso cant stop the tide of China coming in to ‘save’ them. In the end, majority have no choice but to China. Tremble with fear.
“4.2-kilowatt hour, 60-volt battery”
ONE litre of petrol has an energy density of 11.6 kilowatt hours. I guess it needs better batteries before electric vehicles become competitive…
You also have to consider that electric motors are also very efficient, has better torque curves, and has a much higher power density than combustion engines. Just as well, this bike uses a relatively low voltage. Lower voltages draw more current for the same power. The LS-218 electric superbike has a 380V battery pack, powering a 200hp motor. With a 20kWh battery it has a range of at least 250km. It has the same amount of power and is slightly heavier than a Yamaha R1, yet the LS-218 can go farther.
A 4.2kWh will be have the same engery desity with 20V, 200V or even 2000V (P=U*I) ;)
Of course the voltage does not affect the energy density. I wasn’t talking about the battery voltage, I was talking about the components that draw from the battery. Doubling the voltage halves the current draw, and loss is then reduced to a quarter (P=I²R). The motor will have less torque, but can be at a higher speed. Torque can be regained simply with increased gear reduction.
Yeah, but ONE litre of petrol is only 20-30% efficient. That 4.2-kW hour battery is paired with an electric motor that is 95% efficient (typical automotive grade brushless motor).
If dont simply talk c.o.c.k. People will laugh.
This is an entry level motorcycle. It doesn’t need to go farther than it does.
but the efficiency of the combustion engine is below 20% last i checked
Good Move…!!!! We have alternative to the good ol’ gas tech. I personally believe that the “e-things” ARE the FUTURE of transportation. Owned an electric bicycle now and I DONT have any complaints about that 3 year old thing…And the one thing strikes me is….It is MADE IN CHINA!!!!! Pretty zippy for me to run house hold errands shopping..heh heh…
Takes 3 hours to charge for just 1 hour of use. No thanks
How to travel 100km with a 4.2kW/60V battery? Even electric bicycles cannot accomplish that with the same battery specs. Must be joking these China men.
What electric “bicycle” has a 4.2kWh 60V battery pack?
Even if one does exist, this motorcycle has an advantage; speed. It has much more torque (what electric bicycle has a 13 hp motor?), therefore larger gearing. Electric bicycles can do at most about 50-60km/h, with their motors running at full.
Great addition from China. Hope they can bring it into Malaysia market and keep on updating new updated and powerful efficient version!
When the release date ??