Proton’s ongoing quality improvement programme – automaker says it will continue with new initiatives

Since the tie-up with Geely was announced, Proton has been undergoing a quality improvement programme using an assessment system based on Volvo’s global scoring criteria. The national automaker says that since the start of the programme, gains have been made on this front.

In December 2017, an audit was performed by Geely and showed a remarkable threefold improvement. The company says that with further improvements being gradually introduced, it is confident of achieving an improved score in an upcoming audit to be carried out later this month.

Aside from quality, which has seen specific models and areas targeted for improvement, new initiatives have also been introduced for sales and marketing, and continue to be carried out. It added that testing for its first SUV, which will be based on the Geely Boyue, is gathering pace towards the vehicle’s launch in the fourth quarter of this year.

Proton also said that its February 2018 sales were equivalent to a 9.6% share of the overall Malaysian automotive market. The majority of sales was accounted for by the Saga, Persona, Exora and Iriz.

The latter is the focus of the My Style, My Drive campaign it is introducing this month at all its sales galleries nationwide. Customers are invited to rediscover the compact hatchback through a test drive to appreciate new features introduced to the car in last year’s update.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Power window on Mar 16, 2018 at 3:54 pm

My 2017 brand new persona power window is not working… Back to good ole WIRA DAYS ….gotta use manpower to push it up. So much for the hulla promises of lifetime warranty on Proton power windows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 48
    • John Delloid on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Mr Aero’s Iriz also got power window problem, luckily claimed warranty already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Rosman on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Proton under Geely Merc alliance. So quality same same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 69
        • Bising Kik Kik on Mar 16, 2018 at 8:22 pm

Haha my 8 months young Persona dashboard is rattling…. Because new persona using hard plastics on dashboard and after kena sun … Car feels like 8 years old

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • Annoynimouse on Mar 16, 2018 at 11:42 pm

Maybe mouse family living in dashboard

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 17, 2018 at 7:42 am

Yes, heard about this. Rattling a lot. Sat in a Persona recently, it was rattling like crazy. Owner said sent to SC so many time but they cannnot solve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
          • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 17, 2018 at 8:07 am

Please don’t laugh at this answer that mouse living in dashboard. Cause last time when my Waja also made noises, SC told me…biasalah bang ini Proton. Mungkin ada tikus tinggal dalam dashboard

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
          • Mohd Shahab on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:04 am

My 2018 Persona already got krik krik krik sound under the dashboard. Just irritates the life out of me

3 times hantar to Glenmarie….still cannot identify

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
          • Abdul Rahman Andak on Mar 17, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Can improve quality all you want but rakyat perception and RV remain the same.

New Proton RM50k
            2 years later sell RM20k

New Perodua RM50k
            2 years later sell RM38k

When you have to top up your loan when you sell your car, you will ask yourself, “what did I pay every month for 2 years for and where is that money? Why must I top up thousands”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
          • Wang busuk on Mar 17, 2018 at 9:53 pm

My Persona 2din
            radio unit always hang… Sometimes restart engine ok. Sometimes not. Rubbish made in China radio unit and it uses resisitive not capacitive touch screen to save cost So you can imagine how useless the touch screen is

• Proud Iriz Owner on Mar 18, 2018 at 9:10 am

Driving my Iriz 8 months now but power windows have failed twice. Also, one day, my lights also cannot switch on

• Who will sell cars after 2 years?

Proton bashers are thinking those who buy P1/P2 change cars every 2 or 3 years? Crazy.

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Proton is Proton. Geely is Geely. Geely bought Proton for Lotus.

By the way, Mercedes already confirmed in a statement that they won’t share technology with Geely.

Shareholder is just a mere shareholder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 27
          • Red Barron on Mar 17, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Rajoo

Please stay relevant to the articles as you are talking out of the picture

Do you have a mentality and comprehension problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 49
          • rally_fan (Member) on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:09 pm

seriously, would love it if you can share some links here to what you said about geely buying proton for lotus, and that mercedes is not going to share technology.. been searching all over for it, but unable to find any news about it.

• William on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:25 pm

Rajoo

Maybe Proton should learn from TATA INDIAN car manufacturer.

TATA own Jaguar, Land rover

These Indian car nameplates are quite established and good right?

Why bother about Mercedes ?

Remember The korean car SSyangyong in partnership with Mercedes?

Previously ,Ssangyong got outdated technical diesel engine from Mercedes and then Ssangyong cannot sell well almost went bankrupt.

Becos the Mercedes engine was noisy, unrefined and not powerful enough

Till today Ssangyong is still struggling.

It is best not to takes Mercedes as a partner cos these Germans cannot never be trusted like vw scandals

Geely buy share in Daimler but it is a bad decision for Proton , Geely to embarked with the untrusted Daimler for technical collaborations.

Disaster could be imminent.

Nothing is great about Daimler or Mercedes after all.

Apparently some of the latest mercedes cars designs looks like CRAP and uninspiring ( getting worst than before)

• John Mudah Lupa on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:08 am

Proton quality, safety setaraf BMW, menteri MITI said in 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • I got Cheated again on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:00 pm

From day one … I have problem with the fuel lid. Because the cover is made so flimsy and thin … The latch gets out of position and cannot open. I have had many embarrassing moments whereby I had to climb into to boot and rip open the right side carpet to unlatch it manually. How is this possible Proton ?

• Ken Hong on Mar 18, 2018 at 5:58 pm

Never seen so many complaints about a brand new car in my life. No more Proton for me!!!

• myvi 2018 many problems on Mar 19, 2018 at 11:09 am

Myvi 2018 problem:
            1.Exzos keluar asap putih
            2.LED headlamp failure/vibration
            3. Smart tag reader faulty
            USB port broken – under recall process by Perodua

But when it is P2 problems proton bashers say it is isolated problem, when it is P1’s the comments reach 9000!

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:10 pm

2015??

• They just never learn on Mar 16, 2018 at 8:04 pm

Yes my Persona windows goes up so slow… Struggling and can hear the motor whining in pain. Embarrassing when friends ask … Why your power window so slow … And it has only auto down .. no auto up .. and that’s only for the driver side even. And this is 2018 ..the first gen SAGA 1.5i even has auto ..both ways

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
        • Chandra on Mar 16, 2018 at 9:41 pm

My Myvi window only goes down never comes up. During one time got rain shower, I arrived like I bathe in my fakking car. Embarrassed like hell.
          Never a P2 car ever for me. Their so-called quality is just bulls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 47
          • Erik C on Mar 17, 2018 at 6:03 am

Upgrade to P1 bruh. my Persona so far so good, low FC superb NVH. Proton for life

• Abdul Rahman Andak on Mar 17, 2018 at 12:05 pm

good one john, try harder next time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Abdul Rahman Andak on Mar 17, 2018 at 12:08 pm

yes john, we bilip you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
          • Change dupe again, Kuntalbert? Yeah we belip u.

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:20 pm

My Waja, I had to push the window glass with two one hand and the other hand press the power up button

• Chandra on Mar 16, 2018 at 11:22 pm

At least you can push up urs. I can’t push my fakking Myvi glass and got showered in my car. Consider urself lucky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Ajerul on Mar 16, 2018 at 11:49 pm

Yupz. Those abang KLIA waja limo orso gemar buka pintu to pay TnG…hewhew

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 17, 2018 at 7:43 am

Fanboys always say problem solved but see in forums, even 2017 and 2018 cars also still got same problem of power windows beside oil leak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Mohd Shahab on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:06 am

I wish Glenmarie service take our problems seriously. We sapot Proton and Proton just tak layan us seriously after purchase

3 times just to sort my krik krik krik problem

• Chandra John on Mar 17, 2018 at 1:31 pm

I just bought the Persona. Hope it does me well

• P2 power window problem on Mar 17, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Alza also got power window switch or window problem, so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • anonymous on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:23 pm

lifetime warranty means fix it FOC for you but not guarantee you that it doesnt malfunction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • They just never learn on Mar 16, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Yes that’s Proton mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:17 pm

Myvi is the choice for people in Malaysia. This is why in 3 months, Perodua sold 60,000 Myvis alone

That is nearly the same sales for Proton’s entire range for one whole year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
          • yawnz on Mar 17, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• leoRNado on Mar 19, 2018 at 9:22 am

Before 2005, P2 selling cheap cars and stay at no 2. After 2005, P2 still selling cheap cars and stay at no 1. Pls go back and study.

• Mohd Shahab on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:07 am

My next car will be a Perodua Myvi. At least I won’t have headache after headache dealing with Glenmarie Proton Service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • Paramas Singh on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:39 pm

Warranty even lifetime no point. I don’t want the trouble of going to SC every month to fix problems. My 1979 W123 Mercedes power windows still working

From 1979 to 2018. Nearly 40 year old car

Proton need to wake up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
        • Mohd Shahab on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:08 am

I wish Proton had a technical partner like Mercedes. At least they take customer complaints seriously

• Do not forget Mercedes created a junk car call SMART in partnership with Swatch.

The Smart car is a disaster in technical partnership with Mercedes

Hope Proton does not follow the SMART car destiny , it is much safer with Geely .

• wadaf on Mar 17, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Nak tipu pun agak agak la

• I guess u have to get your window checked at the SC. I can personally tell that I own an 2012 proton saga and till this day have had no issues in their power windows. Last year i got a persona and it also does not face this problem. So maybe ur case is just a one time thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
      • Charles on Mar 16, 2018 at 11:00 pm

I have a 9 year old Persona and my power window is original. Stop spinning stories….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • FrankC on Mar 17, 2018 at 5:50 pm

Mine since 2011 1St batch saga flx with cvt.. No issue with power windows. Use it daily. Use it for t n go.. But do hv problem with central locking mechanism recently..

• My 2008 Gen2 CPS never had power window problem despite 10 years daily use for TnG and security booms at house and opis. Betul ke ur “story”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 69
      • Rightwinger on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:50 pm

Ya mine too, was a 2008 hi line Persona. TnG, security booms and what not, everyday some more. No issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 52
      • 2008 gen2? Omg, time is really that bad hah? I feel you.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2018 at 6:47 pm

bash P1 but still buy P1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 51
      • Chandra on Mar 16, 2018 at 11:24 pm

Hahaha! Lotsa P2 salesmen nothing to do but come here posting fake stories and fail-ry tales. Clearly alredi their sales is all a scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
      • Mohd Shahab on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:11 am

I am a Proton owner. But I have to admit, Perodua sales are 100X better than Proton. Surely the high demand for their cars show that their cars are high quality and good.

My next car will be a Perodua. I just have to tahan using my 1 month old Proton now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • That’s what the Malaysian get due to protecting those non performing suppliers

• Talk so much but no proof. Lets see what REAL P1 owner says: https://paultan.org/2018/03/08/proton-persona-one-mans-tale-of-love-at-first-sight/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 38
      • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 17, 2018 at 9:17 am

ha ha ha. One owner. Go to PRoton forums and get the real news.

• I AM in P1 forums unlike u fakes. And shud we trust ur bollocking spiel or what is repoted in PT, hmm?

• That ONE owner demolished every single one of ur fake owner news. Jelly much?

• Duty Free on Mar 17, 2018 at 9:59 am

That guy will not buy Proton in Langkawi. Sure he’ll go buy Toyota car in cash no second thoughts.

• Lets see what he is after:
          “price, handling and safety features that’s being offered”. Yup, something no toyota can offer.

“design, it has a modern touch with bold edges around its face making it look forceful and strong” Again, nothing toyota has.

“it has also made him new friends by helping him connect with other Persona owners all across the country.” Again, only P1 owners passionate enuff with their cars can do.

“paying attention to the smallest details to ensure it builds a car that is fun to drive. I really do love Proton as it is makes good ride and handling cars that drivers will appreciate, whilst being safe and affordable” Yup, no toyota has that.

“I am proud and lucky to drive a car that is designed and built by our own people” The final coup de grace on toyota in Langkawi.

• tkhengong on Mar 16, 2018 at 3:55 pm

The Iriz looked good actually. Well proportioned with designs that are in line with current trends. But the Saga looked out of proportion and can be mistaken for a car from the 90s.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • John Gagal on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Persona also looks weird with big turtle upper body shape, tiny wheels & Ultraman eyes rear brake lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 16, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Quite hard to believe there is an improvement in quality. This is because the Y generation and Millenials are the ones who can judge this best ie judge whether a car is of good quality of not.

As of now, 70% of local grads prefer non Proton cars

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 52
  • Bernard on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:01 pm

That’s what happens when you get hardworking people who are willing to learn and progress with a positive mindset run Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 29
    • Graduan Bijak on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:24 pm

I will buy Proton if offered 10-yrs warranty & 10-yrs free service unlimited mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
  • Meanwhile when will Proton launch the rebadge Suzuki Vitara? Testing since last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • azrai on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Good luck. But since late 90’s Proton reputation is bad among Malaysian. They should go outside with new perception and come back to Malaysia again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • azrai on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Geely should rebadge Iriz, Persona for LHD market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 111
    • Victor on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Correction

FYI, JD Power ranking in UK 2017 survey, Volvo and Kia were top spot .

BMW , Audi , Honda , land rover were all ranked at the bottom with BMW at the most bottom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 3
      • Why UK? Why not US or Germany where Volvo sits at the bottom?
        In China’s JD power, Volvo not even in the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 88
        • Victor on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:00 pm

JD Power Uk is the yardstick and universal accepted survey whereby Volvo and Kia were ranked top for 2017.

JD Power in Germany 2017 survey, all luxury cars are ranked below industry average except cheaper brand cars which are on the top like Kia . Even Porsche is not on the list too. Mini , Mercedes, BMW , Audi are all bad too. But we know that the three German luxury brands including Volvo are all good quality — so JD Power Germany is not relevant

JD Power China Survey 2017, volvo is in the list with luxury average ranking of 86 problems/100 vehicles whereby BMW , Mercedes are not on the list which are way below the luxury average of 86 problems/100 vehicles .

JD Power USA survey 2017 is very subjective as they will biased towards their own cars manufactured in USA for good quality — so not applicable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
          • Haha… any result not at your favour is not relevant and biased. You must be thinking the people at jd power are as incompetent as those at proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
          • yawnz on Mar 18, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Pipu buy P2 because it is cheap not because it is good

• Nobody believes UK surveys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 42
        • Victor on Mar 18, 2018 at 3:42 am

At least the JD power UK survey team is more competent than Ioma and paul whereby the majorities take uk survey seriously except both of you

Who will believe the empty bashing talk of Ioma ( wasting unproductive effort and senseless thinking).

Na..

• cheah on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:41 pm

New Persona, one of the ugliest in the market. Proton Preve, stupid name. 999,999 out of 1,000,000 people unable to pronounce it correctly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 63
  • YB Albert on Mar 16, 2018 at 4:53 pm

My friend bought a persona not too long ago…Oh dear…still got the power window problem.This is 2 decades after the waja and wira ,famously propelled Protong into the INTERNATIONAL HALL OF AUTOMOTIVE SHAME, not fame.
    Maybe Dr.Li Chun Rong should sack all the current batch of cronilised suppliers,and bring in China based suppliers…cut the process short ,by also chopping 20 percent of recalcitrant deadwood staff,who play politics and refuse to relocate.
    Time is running out…dont wait for Christmas Boyue launching….Perodua is eating into practically every P1 market opportunity,cos big brother UMW goyang kaki with less Toyota sales,concentrate on 70 percent ownership soon of perodua…with booming myvi sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 47
    • “My friend” Oh yeah, sure we belip u.
      Oh wait, din u said majority P1 sales was from gov fleet but PT burst ur fake news when they repoted 97.5% sales were from retail end customer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 52
      • My england is bad on Mar 16, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Geely shud rebranded Proton… renamed Lotus Persona & Lotus Saga. Sadenli no more isu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Kudos to P1! Continue the upwards and regain the local market while penetrating new ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 53
  • Suprima s owner on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:12 pm

To new china chairman…ask proton to solve opening of rear lift back door using remote control as well as side lever for proton suprima s in particular full spec model since i and many other msian paying high price for the car…u don believe me mr chairman go open urself and find out… it suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • pengayuhbasikal on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:13 pm

improvement also need to evaluated by external parties and external scoring card…aiyoh…what happened to local expertise…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • P1 used 30 years old Jepunis standard, while VolvoGeely using current global standard. So anything wrong with local expertise using current Volvo global standards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 114
      • Reboot on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:21 pm

John,

Global standard is way to go and is better than Japanese or Sushi standards– totally agreed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 112
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 109
    • Potong Sawi on Mar 16, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Last time appointed TUV Germany to check Savvy quality. Masih juga ke laut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 97
      • No Savvy owners had much complaints about their cars, init?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 100
        • Nomoreproton on Mar 17, 2018 at 9:47 am

Of course la. Because only 20
          Stupid enough malaysian buy savvy hahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 85
          • Yet theres less than that figures for Nautica owners but their complaints r heard all over the net. How come Savvy takde complain langsung?

• Salleh on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:19 pm

Sure or not appointed TUV? I think appointed TUI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 70
      • Mohd Shahab on Mar 17, 2018 at 10:14 am

Savvy and Tiara are failures. Our Iriz heading same path too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 69
  • shawal on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:14 pm

Yes ,kudos for quality improvement but we demand a better drivetrain. No use whipping a dead donkey cos at the end of the day , the final drive still sucks.
    Where is the turbo engine as promised ?
    Is this fake news ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • passion on Mar 16, 2018 at 5:20 pm

it is going to take a lot to regain the customer’s trust. lots of work!

• Proton needs to employ more better ,clever and innovative designers and engineers .

Proton must get rid many of those lousy ones ( only makan gaji BUTA with poor knowledge, NO commitments and terrible contributions) .

Then Proton will grow just like what Hyundai and Kia did . Employed the good ones and the Brands will elevate itself .

Keep employing lousy ones will pull the brand image down so goes for lousy quality parts suppliers too.,

This is what Proton needs to address now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • Daniel Masilamany on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Proton, just like Malaysia, need more Mainland people to come in and teach us how to work hard and not songlap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Cikgu Ahmad Che Mat on Mar 16, 2018 at 6:17 pm

I lost hope with p1 years ago….I am happy with my non-national car now. Happy and satisfied even I have to pay more for the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Whatever happened to proton TUV quality assessment? Not working? So sad that proton didn’t realise that for the past 10 years until geely came in and tell proton – your car no quality.

In your face P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • TUV only for Savvy lah. The rest were using Mitsu Jepunis standards. But Jepunis standards taboleh pakai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Olang kita on Mar 16, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Oooo baguih2…..rakyat akan dapat kereta top quality and harga rakyat
    Canteeeeeeeq……

• My proton preve I bought in year 2012 is giving me endless problem. Lousy quality

• Sushi Sucks on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Problem with Proton Iriz is using the CVT gearbox which Proton should had dump the CVT long time ago. The rest of the iriz is good indeed and i had to agreed.

Even CVT gearbox in Honda CRV is very noisy like the engine. Same goes for X- Trail ( no pulling power ). CVT is a failure which is common in most Japanese cars except Mazda .

• Anti Bunyi Tikus on Mar 16, 2018 at 11:22 pm

Put extra layer soundproof to solve all those rattling noise from cvt or dashboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 17, 2018 at 12:41 am

I solved Proton power window issue years ago. Just like most owners, the window will get stuck & the motor gear will break. This I found out was caused by the glass sliding tract that had become narrowed. Yes the steel plates of the track where the rubber seals sits became narrowed causing the glass to get jammed & thus killing the motor gears. So I just used a crow bar to widen the track grove & never had power window issue again for the last 7 years.

• Abdullah Hussin on Mar 17, 2018 at 9:00 am

I are very regred by purchase of proton brand if i want to wrrite here its until 1 weeks not finised because proton are very bad car in term of everthings and i want if customers want to buy the car please considered many things and very deep before decide to buy this very bad car i having facing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Harold on Mar 17, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Malaysian current fuel price ain’t cheap. Good FC is the priority. Second the car quality and durability is the next. Sabah road condition very poor and too many poth holes and gravel, muddy condition especially in rainy season. Proton car is unrealible to use in this situation, P2 also same lousy quality except quite good fuel economy and price more affortable.The cost for repairing for parts break down 4x more expensive than monthly loan. Both P1 & P2 car unsuitable for daily use in Sabah road conditions. Mostly parts easily to fail in short period toward suspension, arms and ball joint, allignment and tires failure. That why mostly peoples here use 4×4 or SUV for daily travel to work. For wealthy peoples, they drive Lexus, Merc or BMW, for the people can’t afford to own a good quality and durable vehicle, they usually to buy a bike usually prefer major two brands, Yamaha or Honda, or second hand imported brand vehicle. The fact is until today, P1 & P2 only produced low quality car, no diesel turbocharged engine, no 4×4 family with ladder frame offer, plus the bad road conditions make the situation worse.

• james chin on Mar 17, 2018 at 2:46 pm

COMMENTARY TOO GAY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • RodaEmpat on Mar 17, 2018 at 6:12 pm

My Iriz 1.6 Premium is a great car esp. after the 30k Serveice with some upgrades. Vast improve to on the road. But the problems are the 3rd party vendor parts. Very inferior even to Perodua. Hope Geely-Proton worked on it fast without fear nor compromise. Is a business world. Not a charity organisation la.

• Amran on Mar 18, 2018 at 12:36 pm

But if iriz have 1.3 turbo (125hp & 190nm) i will trade in my polo 1.6mpi for iriz super premium 1.3 turbo..

• Ahmad on Mar 18, 2018 at 8:18 am

Iriz need new engine. 1.3 cfe/turbo with 125hp & 190nm so can match with good handling. If still 1.6NA better buy myvi or jazz.

• basherlogic on Mar 19, 2018 at 11:16 am

Bashers said their outdated jepunis 1.5l / 1.6l engine is more powerful than 1.6 campro turbo, how leh?

• Mengarut daa on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:27 am

Bila artikel dalam bahasa inggeris jee ramai yang komen bash2 proton… tapi bile artikel dalam bahasa melayu… komen sikit.. kadang2 xde pun komen… membuatkan aku terfikir… yg komen nie orang Malaysia ke orang mane?? Kalau orang malaysia skali pun… bangsa ape?? Sbb mcm x boleh nk tulis dlam B.Melayu… Dan satu lagi..kebanyakkan yang bash tuu pulak nampak mcm x logik.. sbb aku pakai pesona 2nd generation stakat nie dh nk masuk setahun dh pun Alhamdulillah.. xde ape2 masaalah.. pelik…. yg komen kondem2 tu nampak sangat macm nk jatuhkan proton jee.. kalau bab power window… proton dah umum kan hari tuu… lifetime warranty….