2017 Proton Iriz officially launched – RM44k to RM59k

After a public debut followed by a media preview, the 2017 Proton Iriz has been officially launched in Malaysia. As reported previously, the variant line-up has been trimmed to make it more streamlined compared to before.

Now, buyers will get to choose from a total of four variants – 1.3 Standard MT (RM43,800), 1.3 Standard CVT (RM46,800), 1.3 Executive CVT (RM50,800) and 1.6 Premium CVT (RM58,800). Before this, the variant count stood at eight, with manual and CVT options for all variants, including the now retracted 1.6 Executive.

These on-the-road prices are inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty. Two new exterior body colours have also been introduced – Ruby Red and Carnelian Brown – joining the existing Graphite Grey, Atlantic Blue and Cotton White (Citrus Green is no more).

Revisions for the Iriz include a number of noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) refinements. These include a reduction in the number of engine mounts from four to three, a new exhaust system from French supplier Faurecia and higher-quality sound insulation.

The company claims that with all these improvements, the Iriz is now five decibels quieter than before. Aesthetic changes for all variants can be seen at the front, where there’s now a gloss black front grille garnish.

Meanwhile, the cabin sees a redesigned instrument cluster with an ECO Drive Assist indicator for CVT models, as well as a new gearlever with a side-mounted unlock button. There’s also new fabric upholstery with blue and red stripes, along with red stitching.

As for variant-specific changes, the 1.6 Premium now comes with a two-tone exterior colour scheme, where the door mirror caps, roof and spoiler receive a Quartz Black finish.

Moving inside, the Premium switches from to part-leather upholstery (previously full-leather), and is joined by red stitching on the steering wheel and carpets. Gloss grey coats the previously matte centre console and gearlever surrounds, and the instrument cluster shroud is now finished in gloss black.

The infotainment system is new too, now offering Smart E-Link smartphone screen mirroring. Certain features such as automatic headlight activation, auto-folding door mirrors and the auto-up function for the driver’s side window have been removed from the Premium’s kit list.

Other items such as LED daytime running lights, a dual-tone bodykit, a larger rear spoiler, 15-inch two-tone alloys and steering wheel audio controls are retained on the Premium variant.

Next up, the 1.3 Executive now receives front fog lights, keyless entry and push-button start on top of a bodykit, rear spoiler, body-coloured door handles, rear wiper, rear seat USB chargers and adjustable rear headrests. The variant continues on with 14-inch alloys, a slightly smaller rear spoiler, double DIN head unit and urethane steering wheel.

Equipment count on the 1.3 Standard is the same as before and includes projector headlights, LED tail lights, 14-inch alloy wheels, fabric seats, reverse sensors and a 2-DIN radio/CD head unit with Bluetooth connectivity, USB and auxiliary ports and four speakers.

Safety kit remains the same as before, with dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist, front seat belt reminders and ISOFIX child seat anchors (rear). The 1.6 Premium also gets side and curtain airbags (six airbags in total) and seat belt reminders on all seats.

Similarly, engine choices remain identical, with the 1.3 litre VVT four-cylinder engine continuing to produce 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the larger 1.6 litre mill pushes out 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. However, Proton has retuned the engine control unit (ECU) and the CVT’s transmission control unit (TCU) for a quicker, more linear response.

We’ve already a go in the updated Proton Iriz, and you can read all about it in our first impressions review, here. Browse full specifications of the Iriz at CarBase.my

GALLERY: 2017 Proton Iriz 1.3 Premium CVT

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rooney on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:51 pm

The Kingdom pride has Arrive !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Can Proton tell us how many Iriz they sold since it was launched. Cause, former adviser Tun M said Iriz was a big failure and sales were so bad.

Can Proton also tell us, what happened to Iriz EV that they showcased 4 years ago. Proton took even more money from the Government citing that they needed to do more research before they finally launched the Iriz EV officially. 4 years have passed and still no news. Where has the research money gone to?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 22
      • Gone to cronies kingdom lah. Why ask?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Thank you Geely for saving Proton. Because of you, Proton now got some money to pay their workers.

We Malaysians hope Geely brings in someone from mainland to become CEO of Proton. For sure, the company would turnaround fast and be profitable within a year.

Don’t forget also, Geely owns 49.9% of Proton.

If Proton has 12,000 workers, Geely has the 49.9% RIGHT to bring 5990 workers from mainland to replace the dead logs in Proton. Mainland workers work non stop and are super productive. No break. No lepak. No minum teh 8x and long hours without asking OT.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 27
      • Why do you even care the number of unit sold? The number reflects malaysian taste and lack of good car awareness. It doesnt justify the product is a failure or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 55
        • waters on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:57 am

Ummm..It does. Proton is a MALAYSIAN car. If a MALAYSIAN car company cannot figure out the what MALAYSIAN’s want – then considered fail la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
        • BLT_Club on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:44 am

Low sales does not equal failed product? With this type of thinking, no wonder Proton needs tongkat. Low sales is ok, FAMA can bail out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • It is commenter’s view not p1

• Dont talk bad about our beloved Proton. All Malaysian let alone the world loves proton. u tok much kok. Its our nations pride and joy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
        • KenJi on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:53 am

Gratitude beloved Proton founder creator.
          His immense vision & determination.
          Go TDM !

• Mikey on Jun 05, 2017 at 6:51 pm

YB, U have asked the most important/pertinent question which is still not forthcoming – Where has the research money gone to & where is the EV? Your guess is as Gud as many here. Cheers …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Albert on Jun 05, 2017 at 6:51 pm

KUNTA
        This will be the last souvenir production model before Geely brings in their complete range of cars.
        Protong fanboys,it is now or never.This 2017 iriz is a farewell sayornara model.Grab it before production ceases very soon.
        You wanna be syiok sendiri…this is your last chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
        • What?? on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:48 pm

The only person who syiok sendiri here is you. Give it a break with your delusional rambling about something that’ll NEVER happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:40 pm

All over the world, all car companies are moving towards Hybrid, EV and PHEV. We as Malaysians have the right to know why our Proton still sleeping on this EV issue. Even Hybrid, which Proton promised 8 years ago also hilang. Duit research pun hilang.

Proton seems not to have any direction where the automotive sector is heading. It is very obvious now that Hybrid, PHEV and EV are the trends and EV will be the future.

Proton still confused. Have hundred and one meetings. All minum teh and makan karipap and kuih lapis in the meetings. But nothing comes out of those meetings.

A car company that has no direction in life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
        • kunta kurap on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:06 pm

You get your direction. One time you said yes, one time you said no. Get a life.

• I’m so proud of Proton, I’m crying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Nearly RM60k for a small B segment car and yet, it now comes with half leather? OMG. Previously, it was full leather. Is this some form of cost cutting? We Malaysians are paying RM60k for a small B segment car, the least Proton should do is give full leather.

By the way, where is Gomen’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? If premium is close to RM60k. 30% less, would knock off RM18k to RM42k.

For most people RM18k is a lot of money. I hope gomen keeps their promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Infact, Proton should start the ball rolling by reducing their car prices by 30% since they are the national car company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 17
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:29 pm

better yet ask for free lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
        • Lolz. Even veterans like KZM bro cant tahan his stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
          • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:01 am

Reality is BR-V laku keras . No one buys Ertiga & Exora …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
          • remoter on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:12 pm

Very sorry to know you live in remote area

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:12 am

you should know cause you are always asking things for free

• Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:03 am

i have told you many times, no point gomen reduce price of luxury cars like XC90 and BMW x5. Reduce from RM588k to RM388k for what? You keep on telling that gomen has reduced prices of cars that cost RM500k.

Pakai hotak sikit. Gomen should reduce cars that are affordable such as Saga, Myvi and Axia.

Bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta! But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well try ukur baju di badan sendri…

• yb kunta kinte ahole on Jun 06, 2017 at 11:29 am

dey macha….
        new mounting, new exhaust system for better nvh,new infotainment system,blablabla….
        lot of added new features to improve the car and all u want to complain is on the 1 item they hightlight change to half leather.i bet if they didnt wrote dat u dont even know proton change dat.

only know to complain.

• Proton fanboys will hail this as Game Changer version 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rr on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:53 am

Proton handling? Like a proton persona hit axia at highway.. very good & feel handling by lotus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • kopisusu on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Kalau dah mengantuk semasa pandu kereta, apa jenis kereta mewah ke, canggih ke, moden ke, buruk ke, lama ke, semuanya akan kemalangan juga.

• Same L0rr on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:02 am

Hope this iriz handling is not bad as proton persona handling by lotus that hit perodua axia at highway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • Huh? Handling has nuthing to do with that incident. The person was sleeping/distracted on the wheel and panicked.

• fanofthisite on Jun 06, 2017 at 11:46 am

how many time i have seen a Hilux landed on its side on a highway, bad design or poor driving. Question to you …are you any authority on the handling of the Persona, know what the cause of the accident was, or just tembak for tembak sake

• You better go check your eyes, Persona dun lost handling to hit axia, it might be the driver!

• Will PT do comparison test drive later?

• “1.6 Executive CVT,” a typo there. Supposedly 1.3 cvt exec.

• The poor quality engine cover is still there. They have to spray silicone on it to make it shine and mask the poor finish. Must be from powerful cronie supplier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • What?? on Jun 05, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Hopefully this newer version can even out the Persona sales since the Persona outsold the Iriz pretty much every month. Pricing seems just about right.

• Highly unlikely. MY market is still more towards sedans when they can afford it.

• sohem price on Jun 05, 2017 at 6:43 pm

who in their right mind will buy the rm44k 1.3 manual?

i rather buy the bigger cc engine and longer wheelbased 46888 proton persona manual

sohem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Bangang betul proton management. Most people buy this kind of car for their foreign maids to go to the pasar to buy fish and vegetables. Most wet markets now have parking ticket systems. No convenience for our maids lah if you omit the auto-up function for the drivers window, espcially when its raining. Parking at wet market pun full of tight spaces where the auto folding mirrors are handy to ensure easy to get back to your maid’s car full of grocery bags. And if the day gets dark kesian our maids have to manually switch on the headlights instead of having it come on automatically like it was 2014. Bodoh punya proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Keretakeretakereta on Jun 06, 2017 at 6:51 am

Pity to those who bought axia they dont have the right mind better buy persona if thats the case

• Mat mung on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Nk trade in myvi lor.
    Bosan dah myvi.
    Korner je membuang p jamban.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • Stick Shift Macha on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:41 pm

R.I.P 1.6 Manual Iriz.

• polla on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Timing belt inside?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Joseph chan on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:18 pm

I bought proton iswara when I just started working,later i upgrade to proton waja..in those 20 years or more..both served me and my family well…and I just bought proton lriz for my daughter… can’t stop others for negative comments on our national car…. but our national car is not a failure… It a good car… it’s proton management that have failed our national car….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 13
    • Once while we have this type of post….” i bought proton, so far ok”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
      • Phillip Thompsons on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:05 pm

Can’t we give our opinions if we had a good experience with our cars here regardless of brand? Why so salty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • mondo on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:07 am

Amoi only worship dugong….salivating when sees one, and feels once in a life time orgasm from a 2 inch fowl….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • my england is bad on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:13 pm

amoi tried hard to camo his incompetency in england
        Haha!

• Tzuyun BF on Jun 06, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Proton okay, design pon okay, tp macam you cakap, “bad management”…. I hope everyone will realize about this.. T T

• des88 on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:37 pm

i am waiting geely emgrand model … pls no more proton product … pls take rebadge geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • What?? on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Another armchair critic who believes all of Proton’s problems will be resolved just by bringing in the Geely models. The Iriz isn’t a bad car in it’s current form and the only thing it needs right now is a solid engine & gearbox combo like the upcoming GDI engines. Build more confidence on your own products first and then introduce the Geely vehicles since there’s still a large amount of people still in doubt with made in China vehicles especially when Toyota & Honda are dominating the market right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Malaysian Driver on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:45 pm

I have sat in the real thing (the one featured recently at the DRB motorshow), the fit and finish is one level above than the old Iriz launched 3 years ago. In fact, all the penals are tightly screwed, it is CKD Honda standard, if you asked my subjective feel. That plastic-cap-like air cond knob, though still uses the same material, now return real tentacle feel. And the sharp edges on the steering wheel which cut your fingers previously, are now smoothen out.

I can genuine feel Proton start paying attention to little details that they previously taken for granted. These are little details that make their cars previously look good superficially but plagued with various QC issues, which ultimately dreadful to own in long terms, issues such as NVH, engine smoothness, throttle respone, dashboard fit and finishes, switches tentacle feel and etc.

This enhanced Iriz are about these little details that plagued the previous iteration of what is already a very good car. That’s why you don’t see much changes from the outside. For me, the Iriz chassic is very good dynamically, on par to challenge the segment kings (Mazda2 & Fiesta), it is safe, and generous on features too. It is just that stupid dreadful CVT that robs all the refinement away.

When I test drove the Persona with my friend, I was expecting that lack-lusture, dreadful CVT from the Iriz. The moment I stepped on the throttle, I remembered me pointed at the gear lever and said to my friend, “This is the CVT I would buy” ! And indeed how those ECU guys and engineers at Tanjung Malim done such a fantastic job on a once lousy-to-drive CVT (not to mention a very outdated engine) still amazed me. In the end of the day, it is not the hardware per se, but it was the tunning that Proton got it wrong from the start. Just like ride and handling, transmission tunning is a “black art” in automotive engineering, and I am glad they do found the ” secret code” now.

I have yet to drive one of these enchanced Iriz , and if what I have experienced in the Persona were to be transplant into this Iriz 100%, I would dare say this Iriz is the best valued-for-money B segment hatch in the market now.

What is now left, is the stigma and public perception to overcome. This may take years before the general Malaysian car buyers would trust Proton again. The engineers and staff at Tanjung Malim are very hard at work to make a good product, and it did manifest in the latest Iriz, Persona and Saga. It is just the past is too big a hurdle to convince the public.

Though not enough, great effort nonetheless. And this is where Geely’s money comes in, let’s hope it is for the better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
        • Mr. Octopus on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:32 am

Tentacle? I believe meant tactile?

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:31 am

Yes, thanks for the correction. LOL

• tokmoh. on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:36 am

It’s all the better now the service cost has been reduced considerably, it’s more affordable now.

Eg last time 60k km service costs RM1k+-, the expensive bits being CVT fluid and fliter. Ridiculous for an entry level hatch to charge that high for service.

Now it’s down to RM700, ok la.

• des88 on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:32 am

Proton quality everyone knows, but geely maybe had chance, therefore they need to prove to us by let us drive geely products . therefore rebadge is the only way to prove us regard the doubt … proton for so many years their product will never inspire us at all.. This can be prove by their monthly to yearly sales recently.. most of ppl lost confident of proton products no matter what changes it give with… so proton pls dun waste anymore time and energy .. bring geely forward . let us try the geely products first , good or not try will know.

• When Geely bought Volvo, they let Volvo do the job without forcing Volvo to rebage Geely. I doubt Geely car are better. If Geely car are better, why in the first place they need to buy Volvo and P1. It seems like it is them who want to rebage their product by buying company like Volvo & P1. If you are a good businessman, you wont buy crap thing to enhance your good product, you buy good product to enhance your crap product. Topkek.

• des88 on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:22 pm

then u think proton cars and do any better now ??? i think geely it will not worst than proton.. just let geely product try in Malaysia market and time will not whether it is good or not

• Why we need rebatch geely? I know Geely have share in P1, but P1 own car like iriz n persona is better. Go take a test drive. It cost u nothing.

• des88 on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:48 am

Rebadge geely will boost more sales .. how many ppl buy proton products now … hardly can see sometimes only one or two saga models .. even new persona with full safety features and nuce price tag also not much ppl buy… still want depend on it ??

• kereta_lembu on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Feeewwiiiitttt! Proton Iriz Martini, but just the seats and nothing else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Iqbal Niaga on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Rakyat can save Proton too. Buy Proton

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:14 pm

oh wait i thought already launch….anyway its days are numbered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Paddi lee on Jun 06, 2017 at 1:05 am

Malaysia’s Car NO MORE.
    Now same as Cherry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Silthice on Jun 06, 2017 at 6:13 am

Can update the existing(1st gen) Iriz manual ECU so that we can get more linear throttle?

• Need to kamching with SC for that. It can spoil ECU if done wrong.

• azhar on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:23 am

looks like prices has increased a bit

• des88 on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:50 am

rebadge geely products is the only and fast solution to boost the sales .. iriz is more than two years old model , design very old with lousy gearbox and engine, some more FC is not convincing even is VVT version compare other same segment.. geely product will give a brand new and fresh feel for customer , their design is much more better than current proton products range right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Before this most people doubt Chinese car. Suddenly when Geely buy P1, Chinese car become much better then P1. Ask for rebage some more. Better ask their celop Land Rover sold here, rebage Land Rover maa.. topkek. Rebage Geely car is not the way, but using Geely money to upgrade P1 is.

• Crash Test Dummies on Jun 06, 2017 at 11:19 am

Has P1 rectified the Side Curtain Air-bags found on all Premium variant Iriz yet? During side impact, those mini-size Curtain Airbags deployed but cannot fully shield the driver/passengers head if those people are average 162cm height and below…

• up to 57k for home made iriz? this daylight robbery

• Socai (ori) on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:33 pm

the fact tat previously existed 8 variants shows how clueless the managmennt is, wasting resources…now only woke up but still same team haha…and the way the 3 engine mounting point spoken as if it is world class discovery

• benedict lee on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:38 pm

another eyesore on the road….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Benedict Lee on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:40 pm

another eyesore on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • camtakpro on Jun 06, 2017 at 2:03 pm

Proton facelift: where features got removed with price increase.

“…Certain features such as automatic headlight activation, auto-folding door mirrors and the auto-up function for the driver’s side window have been removed from the Premium’s kit list.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • City GM3 – GM6 and ditched the rear disk brakes, u tak kecoh pulak. Topkek logic tu…

• H0nb4 on Jun 06, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Very good car… owned both iriz and golf.. i can say the performance and feel of both cars are identical..good job proton

• Not from Myanmar on Jun 12, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Dear Proton, why don’t you sell your car to Myanmar? Your automotive industry hampir nak bangkrut, so better sell to Myanmar, people there need the luxury and value for money car. Thank you.

• joeco on Mar 28, 2018 at 2:13 am

If you want to feel comfortable and stable driving, go for Iriz 1.6 premium, 2017 version. Don’t just give negative comments, go for test drive.