2017 Proton Iriz previewed – first details of updates

The 2017 Proton Iriz has yet to go on sale, but it has made its public debut at the DRB-Hicom Autofest 2017 show before it reaches showrooms soon. The refreshed B-segment hatch has been given very minor updates inside and out, with bigger gains seen under the skin.

Exterior changes, in fact, amount to just paint, with the upper grille wing, door mirrors, roof and rear spoiler on this top-spec 1.6 Premium model now coming in gloss black, although the bodykit is still finished in the same warm grey as before. New Proton badges are also fitted front and rear, while the previous Fire Red hue has been replaced by the more vibrant Ruby Red you see here.

Inside, one can spot a new touchscreen head unit with Smart Link screen mirroring, as well as new part-leather (previously full) upholstery with red stitching and blue and red stripes in the centre that bear a striking resemblance to the Martini racing colours. Other trims will get full fabric seats with the same pattern.

Also added is a new Persona-style gearlever for the CVT models, plus the Persona’s redesigned instrument cluster (with the Eco Assist light) and new carpets with red piping. Unfortunately, features such as automatic headlights and the auto-up function on the driver’s side window have been removed.

We’ve been told here that the lineup, previously featuring as many as eight variants, has been streamlined to just four – 1.3 Standard manual, 1.3 Standard CVT, 1.3 Executive CVT and 1.6 Premium CVT. The 1.3 Executive model will gain keyless entry and push-button start, previously reserved for the Premium model.

Proton has yet to announce any mechanical changes, but we can expect the Iriz to come with the same noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) improvements as we’ve seen on the Persona, as was previously intimated. These include a reduction in the number of engine mounts from four to three, along with a revised ECU for a more linear throttle response. The much-maligned CVT should receive a few updates as well.

Engine and transmission choices should remain the same as before – 94 hp/120 Nm 1.3 litre and 107 hp/150 Nm 1.6 litre VVT mills, mated to either a five-speed manual transmission (1.3 Standard only) or a CVT.

2017 model year updates to the Proton Iriz include:

• New Proton badges
  • Black upper grille wing, door mirror caps, roof and rear spoiler (1.6 Premium only)
  • Ruby Red exterior colour option
  • Goodyear Assurance tyres (previously Silverstone Synergy M5)
  • New touchscreen head unit with Smart Link screen mirroring
  • New gearlever with side unlock button
  • Leather-and-fabric seat upholstery with red stitching and blue-and-red stripes (1.6 Premium only)
  • Red piping on floor mats (1.6 Premium only)
  • Keyless entry, push-button start for 1.3 Executive
  • Automatic headlight activation removed
  • Auto-up function for driver’s side window removed
  • Three engine mounts (previously four)
  • Revised ECU
  • CVT improvements

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 19, 2017 at 11:49 am

Oh my! Trying to revive a dead horse. Proton Iriz already confirmed failed. Tun Mahathir, then the adviser already confessed it failed big time.

Pity, the CEO of Proton had to lie to the media and public that sales of Iriz was so good that Proton Iriz had 9 month waiting list and back orders. But few months later, Tun M spilt the beans.

I advice Proton, just focus on your Saga and Persona. Showroom also still keeping failed Ertiga, Suprima for what?

Learn to focus Proton. Learn to focus. Admitting some models have failed will let you move on and focus on models making money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 97
    • RavenAii (Member) on May 19, 2017 at 2:01 pm

How is it a failed model when there were lots and lots of Iriz pacing down the roads and highways? It was a pretty success for Proton’s return to hatchback style. Unless ypu said it was an Ertiga, then it sure a failure, but Iriz has done it’s great job well done, though this minor update is kind of unneccessary tbh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 18
      • Lots and lots of Iriz?

Explain why Proton still begging for more money from the public?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 53
        • Same reason why Tesla is in red.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
          • johan on May 20, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Tesla sold how much? Proton sold how much?

• syiqin hadi on May 21, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Begging??? From public??? Define begging from public and pls do not simply throw insulting comment!

• Raven bro. Dun mind him, he stays in cave so din see Iriz on roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
        • YB Kunta Kinte on May 19, 2017 at 5:33 pm

ha ha ha ha, this is the same guy who said yesterday all Proton Saga got VSC !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • basher from cave on May 20, 2017 at 10:40 am

Meanwhile bashers still badmouth outdated basi things like broken power window and P1 tin milo no VSC!

• Panda on May 19, 2017 at 4:02 pm

So Citroen C4 Picasso 2016 also failure product lah coz i never see it on the road. Mehhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Hyundai Genesis in Malaysia also failed. Never seen on the road.

• DRB Hicom discuss Geely PSA Proton sale.

• Heard that, with the engine and transmission side improved, the driving experience also improved with better throttle response, 0-100 as well as significant improvement In fc. Well, I guess we need to wait till the official detail from proton or test drive from Paul tan to know the truth. I like the seat design though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Iqbal Niaga on May 19, 2017 at 4:27 pm

try to drive it 1st rather than talk too much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Donno on May 19, 2017 at 11:56 am

How can you improve on something without giving it some “facelift” to make it stand out from the old one? Proton too skint to spend 1 or 2 million to invest in new toolings for facelift bumpers? Look at perodua, already has facelifts for its still popular Axia. Nobody will be excited to hear all the boring “improved” points while looking at the same old looking exterior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • RavenAii (Member) on May 19, 2017 at 2:03 pm

Exactly. Even if they want to cut cost, they could have use the Persona fascias on the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • AkooIm on May 19, 2017 at 12:00 pm

It is a disappointment when u expect a big improvement for Iriz, but instead changes is very minor & almost unnoticeable, some are even downgrade… I’m expecting a new Persona-esque face with more premium feature (projector headlamp with integrated DRL, etc…)
    Myvi will still be the King & Jazz is the new Queen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
    • Silthice on May 19, 2017 at 2:28 pm

For me rather than cosmetic upgrade I prefer they start to use their new 1.2 GDi and 1.0 TGDi + Jatco gearbox on this Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Soon. Those 2 engine is debuting in 2018.

• Silthice on May 19, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Hope so as previously I heard it will be in the facelift Iriz 2017. But still I’m waiting for Exora 1.5 TGDi 8-seaters. Wish the FC & quality on par with competitior plus smooth transmission and low/acceptable maintenance cost.

• Consumer Report on May 19, 2017 at 10:30 pm

So they will facelift it first then upgrade later? Silly Proton

• syiqin hadi on May 21, 2017 at 8:58 pm

clearly stated minor changes and Proton did not used the terms of facelift or upgraded so what exactly do you expect?

• They have no idea how to properly do facelifts anymore. They are supposed to ADD features, not remove some of them. Lagi memalukan is that of all things, they remove simple, taken for granted features such as auto headlights and auto-up driver power window which are extremely convenient features used daily. Bodoh punya proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
    • camtakpro on May 19, 2017 at 2:15 pm

>>Auto-up function for driver’s side window removed

Might as well call it 2017 cut-cost Iriz, this is not facelift.

Proton back to power windows problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • topkek on May 20, 2017 at 10:46 am

If jepunis overlord removes features you shut up, if P1 you bash pulak

Topkek

• Kuinosan on May 19, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Styling, pricing & specs, Iriz more enticing than Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
    • lolboifan on May 19, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Jazz has DCT, <7.9 second 0-100km/h sprint, 18km/l fuel consumption, spacious back seats for B-segment. Do you even cheerleader bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Bashers says wun have DCTbreakdown gate, almost as gud real world FC and space is same same. Oh wait… not yaris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Proton made an effort to update front and rear badge while maintaining old badge on the steering wheel and wheel caps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Not the first time they failed at something so simple. Take a look at the pondana which has the exact same problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Nice…maybe they can get better Iriz sales now. The streamline of models was also needed.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 19, 2017 at 12:25 pm

sama aje

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • protonsucks on May 19, 2017 at 12:27 pm

no thanks proton. faster tutup kedai only la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
  • New paint scheme but why din P1 call it facelift like my superior P2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • rosdi on May 19, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Mana 1.3 tebo?

• Donno on May 19, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Good question! Where is the hyped new 1.3 turbo engine?? Cancelled??

• Dah kata 2018. Ini tahun apa ye?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • I’m afraid i have a bad news. My uncle said those engines are cancelled. Proton are not having those engines. I hope this is false news. Better be false news.

• Same ruby red with Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Sad proton on May 19, 2017 at 1:00 pm

New painting with downgraded specs except the new headunit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Bernard on May 19, 2017 at 1:08 pm

They should just discontinue it ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
  • syamilrosham on May 19, 2017 at 1:22 pm

The Proton badge on the steering wheel is still the old one hmm…

• TooSweet on May 19, 2017 at 4:43 pm

So? It’s not like a company cannot use two logos at the same time. I don’t understand why ppl are so petty about this. No matter what Proton do they can’t win and ppl gonna whine regardless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Johnson Amigo on May 19, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Lotus punya blood flowing in Iriz !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • lollotus? on May 19, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Lotus, lightweight and powerful engine. Proton, heavy and weak engine (1.6l equivalent to 1.5l competitor srsly?). Surely you jest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Elchino on May 19, 2017 at 10:40 pm

Instead of just d Lotus suspension, why can’t Proton transfer more of d technology fr Lotus?

• ae101 on May 19, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Before Iriz was launched, so many supporter said ini kali-lah. Yea, ini kali-lah for gulung tikar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • Mivi dah pun gulung tikar. Apa lagi nak gulung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Donno on May 19, 2017 at 5:06 pm

I was really hoping to see that the Iriz is the one to save Proton sales. But Proton messed up again with the Iriz, and didn’t use this opportunity to facelift the Iriz and make it kook “new”. To add salt to the wound, its competitors are releasing facelifted versions of their car at the same time. So how can potential customers get excited at the “same old” Iriz?

• Maria on May 19, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Iriz actually is a good car with value for money and pleasant design on my eyes.But seriously proton?? You cut out auto headlight and auto up windows which is very convenience for some user.And again seriously you put fugly persona gearlever…Are you out of your mind proton?? No wonder malaysian folks want you to close shop ASAP. This should not call as improvement car but cut cost car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • jinggo on May 19, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Iriz got better handling & safety features than maiwi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Redidiot on May 19, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Where’s the 6 speed manual 1.3 turbo you promised 2 years ago Proton?

• When is Iriz turbo coming out? During last year’s P1 open day, the engineers said they are in the final stage of testing. The longer P1 waits, the more they lose to the competitors.

• passion on May 19, 2017 at 3:28 pm

NOOOOOOOOO!

• Mat mung on May 19, 2017 at 3:44 pm

aku pakai iriz myvi okie jer.

• What?? on May 19, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Despite having auto headlights & auto up window removed, I’m certain it’ll sell better than the old model because of the improved NVH & CVT response which is more according to people’s taste. And besides, it’s still a pretty darn good value as well.

• Agree.. 30-70k car price buyers don’t care about auto light & auto trap power window but they care about safety feautures.

• suomynona on May 19, 2017 at 4:31 pm

What about the Prevé tho..?

• So any idea when will the new engine will come? Already mid year kan

• Yi kang on May 19, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Ok la for this update CVT gearbox, good job proton. Kenapa mau cat colour hitam dekat spoiler, side mirror, membazir. And why so bodoh pergi buang auto light and auto-up power window….RIP

• Have to bash proton as usual.
    Can confidently said all those so call improvement wont help in sale.
    Unlikely to pull more buyer, those intended to buy still buy, not buying still go to other brand.
    Status quo, poor sale

• NotAhBengRicer32 on May 20, 2017 at 4:10 am

I really wish they get rid of that ugly back bumper. I mean it looks too cancer for the premium variant. Why couldn’t proton stick with normal bumpers smh

• syiqin hadi on May 21, 2017 at 8:52 pm

Looks very subjective lah. To me Eva Mendes is hot and gorgeous but not to you!!!

• Oh i just notice the A b n c pillar interior are no longer black in color. It’s beige now like one in Persona. Hmm

• SamLoh on May 20, 2017 at 8:05 am

Where is the new GDI engine we were promised for Q3-Q4 2017? We’re still getting the old renamed campro (vvt). Come on la Proton

• Capt. Serious on May 20, 2017 at 10:49 am

Me want the 1.6 M variant

• Improvement?

I owned an iriz, it is a very convenient car to drive with all of automatic stuff. But now no auto headlight and auto up window plus semi leather seat for Premium? this pretty much we can call it downgrade from earlier model. For those who wants to buy this so called refined iriz i tell u not to waste your money on this. Well done proton!

• Fawwaz on May 22, 2017 at 12:07 am

Rear passenger headrest, finally!!

• gtmaniac on May 22, 2017 at 9:19 am

No more 1.6 manual?

What a sad day..

• streamline your lineup. iriz-saga-preve-exora.

• Turbo on May 24, 2017 at 4:50 pm

We want turbo engine!!!

• MamakKutty on Jun 07, 2017 at 4:06 am

Nice seats color. Gud Job!
    Proton really know that Malaysia climate does not suitable to all-covered PU leather. Some more sweating your butt. That is not a downgrade but comfort upgrade. Fabric covers more suitable for our climate.