SPIED: 2017 Proton Iriz gets two-tone colour scheme

Three years on from its launch, the Proton Iriz is soon to get a mid-life update, if this photo is any indication. Reader Shafidzul Hafiz has spotted the B-segment hatch wearing a trade plate belonging to the national carmaker, as well as a couple of very minor changes.

At first glance, this top-spec 1.6 Premium model looks pretty much identical to the current car, but on closer inspection you’ll be able to notice the two-tone paint scheme, with the black roof and rear spoiler contrasting against the Fire Red body colour; however, the bodykit is still finished in the same warm grey as before. One can also spot the new Proton badging.

Expect the interior to feature revised trim and colours to match the outside, while the noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) refinements featured on the Persona should be found here as well. These include a reduction in the number of engine mounts from four to three, along with a revised ECU for a more linear throttle response.

GALLERY: 2015 Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 12, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Smart mid-life update. 1.5Bil well spent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Can Proton pls include a Green/Orange two tone colour scheme like my Gen 2?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 14, 2017 at 6:33 pm

That silly bulge on the doors are gone. Clearly they admit it was a wrong design decision. Like Waja’s triangle nose. Like Savvy’s triangle behind. Proton is fond of fugly design cues and their design language is incoherent in its lineup. Silakan berkursus di Eropah lagi, duit RM1.5 biliion tu kasi pelingkup. Typical of any bureaucracy, ignore your former design man in Mimos.

• John L on May 17, 2017 at 11:08 pm

What are you talking about? Still can see the bulge in the pic. Proton is fond of fugly designs? Come on.. if you ask me to choose base solely on design, I will choose the Iriz over the Axia any day. Bezza no contest – King of Fugliest Car in Malaysia.

• When a carmakers mid life update only involves changes in colour…

U know that they really are in crisis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 12, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Proton Iriz is Proton’s biggest failure. 2 years ago, even the CEO had to lie to the media and public saying demand was so high, even Proton could not keep up with the orders.

He said orders were even 9 months wait.

Then, few months later, Tun M, the adviser for Proton spilt the beans. He said Iriz was a big failure with very few sales.

I really hope Proton stops lying to the public about their sales. Just like Ertiga, Proton said sales are so good.

But 1 year after it was launched, many people have never even seen a single Eritga on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 26
    • If u come out from cave, u will see Er3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • If u dun know, P1 dun get most of the income from sales but from our Gov. Whether got sale or not, P1 dun give a fxxk

• Meh. My glorious P2 alredi did 2 tone scheme donkey years ago called kelisa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 12, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Instead of doing all this two tone nonsense, Proton should answer to the public where is the Proton Iriz EV.

Proton showcased the Iriz 3 years ago to the public. They then took few hundred million ringgit in grants by the Government promising that they will comply with the Government/MAI plan for EV and Hybrid push.

So Proton, where is this EV? All car companies are moving towards Hybrid, EV or PHEV. Proton and Perodua, still sleeping. Even 10 year old Hybrid technology pun tarak, what more EV and PHEV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Malaysia pipu dun like added accessories like the Vios, they prefer colour scheme change

• At least its better than myvi’s two tone scheme which is extremely hideous in my oppinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • J Lcians on May 12, 2017 at 9:50 pm

meh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • still no rear foglight as standard, just like other newer Proton model?

I hope that it’s just a pre-production unit testing the nvh and will get rear foglight as standard equipment during official launch

• Why need to follow Vios? When Toyota wants to gip 360 camera, u guys complaint non-stop. Better follow Proton and just change to two tone enough lah

• shahrizan on May 12, 2017 at 10:46 pm

How much longer is the management of Proton & DRB Hicom gonna take b4 they decide who the foreign stake holder will be ?
    Cut all the drama & make the decision fast.
    Meanwhile motorists will shun P1 cos there is an uncertainty as to where these base models will end up. And with zero budget available for future investment, looks like the GDi engines is just another cooked up over promise & under deliver episode. Remember Proton Emas ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • horrayooi on May 12, 2017 at 10:59 pm

We are waiting for new timing chain Ricardo engine to be installed to Proton cars. WE hope it will be good. Proton car exterior designs is not bad, the reasons it cannot sell was they keep on using the campro family engine for all their cars except rebadge models. There is no point tweaking the ECU and 2 tone treatment. Car buyers are not interested in these upgrades. We want new engines and latest reliable transmissions

• Jimbo on May 12, 2017 at 11:18 pm

Big hairy deal. What an achievement . Paint the unsold cars again and say they are new .

• Proton designers still screw something up. There is no reason at all for the rear bumper cladding to be finished in matte grey; it doesn’t match anything else about the car except the future of its buyers. For goodness sakes paint it black lah.

• Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sammy Loo on May 13, 2017 at 12:42 am

Proton Preve is even longer down the road, after 5 years still no sign of facelift?

• Adoii already like Myvi dahh.. Launch lambat sikit pun tak pe laa.. asal they put the new engine (GDi or TGDi) & transmission (Jatco).

• Any Iriz owners out there? How is the fuel consumption of your car? Thanks in advanced…

• Iriz owner on May 14, 2017 at 8:49 am

1.3manual reporting here.

City drive (with lots of jam) , about 7.5-8litre per 100km. Highway cruise (constant 100-120km/h) 6.3-6.5 litre per 100km. Highway dash in a rush to destination (constant 160km/h-170km/h) 10-11litre per 100km/h.

Let’s just say the gearing for the manual Iriz is abit short (2000rpm in 60km/h at 4th gear and 3000rpm in 100km/h at 5th). The 1.6 will perform better in terms of highway cruising as if has better power to weight ratio. For a vvt engine, it’s not that impressive really, my Fiesta Ecoboost matches its city consumption and better it at highway cruising. I can’t speak for the CVT model as I didn’t own one.

It could be blamed that this car is quite heavy in B segment scale. At over 1100kgs tipping at almost 1200kgs for the premium, it is heavier than a Vios, City, Almera, Polo, Jazz, Fiesta, Mazda2 and Myvi (almost every B seg car offer in M’sia). Quite a bulk to be hauled by the tiny campro, which itself not a very good performer in terms of low end torque to begin with.

In short, the Iriz is OK in practicality, not so good in city drive (because the lack of low end torque and sluggish CVT, the manual remedified things alot, but still not as zippy say, compared to a Myvi). Build and finishes matches the CKD standard of a Honda and outperform all competitors in ride & handling except the Mazda2 and Fiesta. And worth mentioning, it is the FIRST in M’sia to put ABS, BA, traction control and ISOFIX as standard across the range, forcing others to catch up in terms of safety offerings.

If you want one, I suggest you wait for this facelift with the improved CVT and 3 point engine mounting (I’ve tested it in the Persona and Saga, it corrected all the stupid jerking and throttle lag found in the Iriz , and vast improvement in NVH too). That’s all for my two cents, cheers.

• Iriz CVT 1.3 owner on May 16, 2017 at 12:52 pm

mine is a 1.3 CVT
      This is my user experience.
      Ride quality is ok for this price point, acceptable road and wind noise. But engine noise is significant when i floor the pedal. The best part is the ride and handling, it is relatively stable in high speed cruising (150-160 km/h).
      I have to mention about the CVT, my Iriz’s CVT eventually getting better in my 2 years of ownership. When I first gotten my new Iriz , the throttle was bad, I had to rev really high to 4000rpm to accelerate the car. However, the good news, is that the throttle response of my car right now is, and i will repeat, IS SIGNIFICANTLY BETTER. I’m not sure whether the CVT will get better overtime but this is my experience so far. Fuel consumption vise, this is my result, 6.8-7.5L/100KM on highway (speed between 110-150KM/H) Cruising in city at 7-8.5L/100KM ( with traffic jam )
      So conclusion, the PROs are:
      1) ride and handling
      2) quite practical
      3) Seats are quite comfortable

and the CONs :
      1) road and wind noise insulation ( to be improved in facelift version )
      2) Fit and finish ( tickling noise on dashboard, to be improved in facelift version )
      Overall, it is a good car for me.

• John L on May 17, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Another Iriz owner here. I can vouch for what they said. Just want to add my Iriz is almost 2 years old with no problems. So don’t be too prejudiced about quality for the new Proton models.

• Evilz13 on May 24, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Iriz 1.6 CVT user here..my comment is same as above. The ride is a bit jerky from the standstill, however over time, driving experience really gets better. Maybe the ecu have learning function and can adapt to the user driving experience.

• Same L0rr on May 13, 2017 at 5:21 am

Still 1.6 vvt campro & punch bising cvt right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • ExProtonOwner on May 13, 2017 at 8:22 am

Still ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Massaro on May 13, 2017 at 8:23 am

Big hairy deal. Paint all the unsold iriz cars and try to chase the Rakyat to believe they are new ones. Proton don’t have money to pay vendors and has thousands of unsold cars sitting under the elements and they still show off like they are kings of market. Shame shame shame. I bet Paul tan will not publish this comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 13, 2017 at 8:26 am

Again Proton wasting money trying to revive a dead model. No worries. No money can ask another RM1.8 bil

Proton should know, only 2 models sell. Saga and Persona. Focus on these 2 models

Preve, Iriz, Suprima, Ertiga completely GAGAL. Why even put in showroom?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Mesin rumput on May 13, 2017 at 10:09 am

Tanjung malim plant is clearing the tires and wipers stock. Need space for storing frozen karipap and keropok lekor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Cartilage on May 13, 2017 at 10:20 am

You called this as a facelift? My goodness….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • viosfan on May 13, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Much better than Vios which claims new but only a facelift with recycle chassis, gearbox and engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Bernard on May 13, 2017 at 10:23 am

Waste of money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • 3 years already.. the facelift just the black painted roof and spoiler? Hahahhahaha funny proton! Funny! What did you do all these years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • tarakbaca on May 13, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Comes with 3 mountings, tarak baca ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • High chance will vibrate a lot with those funky punch cvt and locked streering while driving. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • krazxers on May 24, 2017 at 10:25 am

Three point mounting is fine
          , if u open the hood of perodua, the engine vibrate like hell, more compared to campro, probably the mounting reduction helps. cheers. Locked steering? (axia)

• jolly_idiot (Member) on May 13, 2017 at 11:23 am

Proton facelift is to do a paint job only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • This game changer car still around ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • 2 things to make iriz ok

1. shadow e drive for quick throttle response
    2. relocate the seat back support spring.
    ( remove the lower back spring to the third level slot and overlay these 2nd level and 3rd level spring with 20mm rubber foam for batter back support.)

• william on May 13, 2017 at 10:50 pm

another bailout coming soon

• muixxium on May 13, 2017 at 11:01 pm

just plunk in the turbo you got… if can tapau yellow myvi..than you can rest for 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • camtakpro on May 14, 2017 at 6:51 pm

No idea why you got more negative. I think this is a great idea.

• Rupert on May 14, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Probably the best hatchback in the segment beating jazz,mazda and rio

• John L on May 17, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Cough cough.. and Myvi. Seriously, are people still buying Myvi with no ABS?

• Driver on May 14, 2017 at 1:26 pm

When will Proton introduce their new engine? Last time heard about it a year ago.

• Encik Bob on May 14, 2017 at 11:15 pm

What stupid nonsense laa when one based a statement sales is bad because he does not see the car on the road.

Sales can be out of the area where you stay. MPV is more popular outside Klang Valley.

I think iriz is a city car slanted towards drivers who want a bit more performance and handling. It is not your usual go to pasar or mamak car. It allows you to have fun going around corners because straight line is for noobs.

Only those who appreciate good handling and good engineering will like this Iriz. Others are better off driving cars which can be driven by a 6 year old girl.

• John L on May 17, 2017 at 11:21 pm

Clap clap clap. Have seen so many Myvi Ah Bengs speeding on straight lines then slow down like crazy during corners. What is the point when my Iriz can overtake you in corners?

• BetterBuyBoy on May 15, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Any paintshop can do the same 2-tone colour scheme…..

P1 is really that incompetent and dungu these days??

• zainal abidin on May 16, 2017 at 10:27 am

Both Iriz and New Persona must have rear brake discs. That is a positive must.

• Potential Buey on May 16, 2017 at 1:14 pm

I’ve been lurking around on getting Iriz since the article about the 1.3L Turbo variant surfaced. But I thinking only buying it if Proton introduce new GDi engine and change that old hydraulic power steering, even Perodua already using EPS!