Proton Iriz Limited Edition launched – first entry in new Design Series; two 1.3L variants offered, from RM44k

proton_iriz_le-6

Proton has officially launched its new Design Series at the Mines International Exhibition & Convention Centre (MIECC) today, with the Iriz Limited Edition being the first entry for the in-house customisation programme.

The Iriz Limited Edition comes with a choice of two decals – ‘Honeycomb’ or ‘The Stripe’, with the former being available on cars wearing the Graphite Grey or Cotton White exterior body colour. The latter meanwhile, is paired with Fire Red and Atlantic Blue colours.

Decals aside, the “designer” Iriz is offered in two variants – the 1.3 Standard CVT and 1.3 Executive CVT. According to Proton, these sporty limited edition models, of which there will only be 2,000 units, are for customers “seeking exclusivity embodying youthfulness, modernity and a progressive lifestyle.”

proton_iriz_le-2

As you’d expect, the changes are purely aesthetic, so the powertrain remains as is – a 1.3 litre VVT engine producing 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. A CVT sends drive to the front wheels as before.

Prices for the Iriz Limited Edition are as follows – RM44,450 for the 1.3 Standard CVT and RM49,130 for the 1.3 Executive CVT (on-the-road inclusive of insurance), available at all Proton dealerships nationwide.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Waiting on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Nice!!
    Good job Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Iriz is one of Proton’s big failure. I wonder why the car failed. Sales are so bad that even Budget also trying to save the Iriz by requiring Uber drivers to buy Iriz in order to get Budget benefits.

So sad to see Iriz a failure. Even more sad to see the previous CEO of Proton lying to the rakyat that Iriz sales were so good that they had orders 1 year long.

Then, Tun M, the then chairman few months later admitted boldly that the Iriz was a big failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
      • Albert on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Have u ever wondered why Proton is very fond of “SPECIAL EDITIONS” ?
        Reason- the normal editions CANNOT SELL.Stocks are piling toward Mt Everest.
        So,launch a SPECIAL EDITION…..TO CREATE SOME EUPHORIA…SYIOK SYNDROME…CURIOSITY.
        Professor Kotler ….taught differentiation …works…cos curious Proton fanboys want the LATEST AND SOMETHING EXCITING….thus the SPECIAL EDITION

• Cool story bro

• Tak laku on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Clear old stock.

• Okay generally I’m not against national cars, however this “special edition” Iriz makes me want to gouge my eyes out and rinse them with bleach. Has Perodua’s design team moved to Proton now? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • applegreen on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:37 pm

buruknya!

• annwar on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:47 pm

You might think why its ‘special edition’? Is it only the decals? But little do you know that the decals has been placed in a way that it adds about 80+ hp compared to the normal iriz. proton haters never understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Erk…..turbo charge please

• Amran on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Gambar sekadar hiasan. Keadaan sebenar, Iriz 1.3 edisi terhad ni tiada fog lamp ok..

• ahmadazzaki on Nov 10, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Proton patut improve iriz,decal tu nampak macam aftermarket accessories

• activ on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:29 pm

What a joke Proton..really disappointed..thought it would be the Iriz Active which would be more legit in the current market. Iriz Active may not be a mini-SUV but it would be the closest to that segment. Proton should have introduce the Active model with 1.3L VVT Turbo, together with a 6-speed manual transmission or a much revised CVT transmission (better than Persona)..bet it would reach that 2000 units target rather than these so called ‘honeycomb’ and ‘stripes’ design. What a creative and innovative development by the Proton|Design..bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • draman on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Cannot sell so add on bodykit & all that jazz.End of the day its the same old & lame Iriz. Already Saga owners complaining of sluggish engine performance for a recycled vvti aka takcampro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Firdaus on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Waahhh…now it is true that the VVT engine is indeed a cam takpro!

When i first told this in this forum, nobody believed me.
      Even the salesman at proton showroom get angry when I told them it is the same engine!

• Liar, it’s VVT and no, old campro dun have it

• as a designer, i feel insulted with the colour choice.
    The white one is OK.The Blue…OMG. If im the supervisor, I will slap the designer and make him regret he paid tuition fee to get diploma in graphic design.

• pak atan on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:50 am

haha.. sick statement from.sick salesman resulted from low sales figure. To boost ur sales, u dont have to bash others.

• superdriver on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Prefer the metallic silver , looks more modern. this one…don’t know how to comment. overdone I guess

• What a joke. Failure of the year is becoming specially edition

• Lurpak on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:18 pm

the honeycomb decals looks ugly as hell, simple one stripe should have look nicer but stripe everywhere… oi apa ni

• Denniz Ding on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:20 pm

ALL Iriz NEED is THE LATEST CVT N ECU firmware UPDATE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • father john on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:25 pm

That’s a con job.
      Not as easy as a firmware update.
      It’s like whipping a dead donkey.

• Jason Lim on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:19 pm

at least give a small spoiler la for god sake
    some more no fog lamp

special edition konon.more like stock cleareance

• Repainted old stock.

• Biasabiasa on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:11 pm

As an iris owner, I feel offended. This is what you can come up with Proton?

To begin with, the 1.3L is already the ugly duckling in the line up. Those decals just makes it even worse.

Stop doing this Proton!

• Anonymous on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:19 pm

oh… i see P1 is back at playing with body stickers huh… must be hard work to come up with such practical innovations… good to know that govt soft loan has been put to good use.

• Give them a break la. They are trying to sell the car maa… I am sure some will find the decals nice.
    Oooo la la… the blue one looks French! Oui!

• GoodFingerLickingMan on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:32 pm

One word for it….YUCKS

• Aero (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Proton should put the Iriz Active into production. It will surely boost sales and tie in with the latest mini-SUV/ crossover trend.

• So its just a bunch of stickers put on a tak laku car to clear old stock before end of the year. What elae is new?

What I would find more interesting is for proton to publish the photo of the ah beng who designed those ugly decals.

• Anonymous on Nov 10, 2016 at 8:48 pm

P1 should instead proceed with the Exora pick up… great for small businesses to carry their equipment… will be put to good use by govt agencies n GLCs

• Why?why purposely make it uglier and spoil the appetide of all the potential buyer? Why always do all this suicidal act? Is the designer a spy from perodua or what? I seriously doubt even can sell 1 unit of this so call special ” ugly” version. Can you proton come out something serve our eye better? Already no expectation,still will get nausea feeling. Whats wrong with this car company?

• If aiming aesthetic change, can just offer special paint,fluorescent for example or dual paint pattern,smoke lamp. So many things cheap and nice. Why must make youself look like mismatched failed product. Feeling like wanna drive a tank run over it,over and over…

• ahmadazzaki on Nov 10, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Proton patut improve iriz dan bukan tambah decal,nampak macam aftermarket accessories

• FameMoon on Nov 10, 2016 at 9:46 pm

when will the 3-mount Iriz and update gearbox Iriz gonna arrive?

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Aq peminat proton , semua langkah proton aq sokong , tapi bila nmpk iriz limited edition ni , langkah proton yg paling bahalol aq rasa , takda gunanya pasang stripe tapi rim 13 inci, paling memalukan ..nampak ricer sangat , hodoh betul..pikir ni zaman tahun awal 2000 ka? Pikir ni zaman 2 fast 2 furious punya movie ka? lagi suka yg original, nampak normal..proton!! Why u make this sexy car into RICER car? I think its far more better if the iriz r3 could be launch just like what proton did into proton satria neo to satria neo r3…now , proton also do stupid thing like what toyota do on their trd stripe on their hilux that add another 500hp..ohh proton, this stripe can make the iriz more jimat kah? This stripe can make the iriz more good ride and handling kah? Jangan jdi bodoh macam toyota..harini aq buat pengakuan, aq jumpa keta ricer ni, aq tembak pakai keta kebal aku puas2( GTA 5 Malaysia

• wah…special edition to get some stripes/decal?

reminds me the old ays the iswara and wira used to have body decals/stripes too at extra cost ^^

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:58 pm

just put a few strips and it’s limited edition?

fuh! what a gimmick.

• Silthice on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Prefer the 1.3 turbo at the alami proton with 6 manual shifter plus ➕ the activ styling