Proton Iriz to gain CVT enhancements from Persona

Proton_Iriz_Drive_ 012

It’s no secret that the new 2016 Proton Persona is built on the bones of the Iriz. There have, however, been several improvements made to improve refinement and CVT response – known weaknesses on the hatch – and it appears that these will be fed back to the latter in the near future.

At a session during the Persona media drive, deputy CEO Datuk Radzaif Mohamed said that the revisions were made in response to customer feedback for the Iriz, and that they will come “full circle” to the hatch. “This is our next project that we are going to run concurrently to see how we can bring this much improvement to the Iriz which has been around for the last two years,” he said.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-3

General manager for engineering validation Tengku Azizan Tengku Ahmad echoed Radzaif’s comments, saying that CVT response and refinement were the two things the company wanted to improve on the Iriz, and that it worked with CVT maker Punch to implement those changes.

Other upgrades include a new ECU for a more linear throttle response, as well as a reduction of engine mounts (which themselves have been redesigned) from four to three in order to transmit less vibrations to the cabin. The improvements were clearly felt in the Persona, both during the initial media preview and the test drive proper – you’ll be able to read the full review soon.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bring on Iriz R3 version!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Retrofit All Iriz on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:17 pm

So what happen to the existing unsold Iriz stocks? Let it rot for half price lelong later?

Why not Proton retrofit the changes to that stocks honestly and spare the headaches for once to the buyers.

Or better still issue the recall for all current 45k units to retrofit it as well. If done for free for sure Proton will nail back a huge respect and trust from rakyat again.

• The verdict. Never buy 1st few versions of Proton until the model is matured

• yup..thats why i bought protong car after 3 years they were launched

• It takes them 2 years to realise these issue? The top management must be sleeping on the job… Unaware of what’s really crippling Proton brand and models…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 50
    • Soliddd on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Power window ok je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • basherlogic on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:24 pm

You must be sleeping…2 years time to implement it on Persona. Both cars dun get launched in one time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Delloid on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:02 pm

Aero the fanboy #1 said his Iriz power window driver side gone kaput but replaced under warranty.

• Türk on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:35 pm

So tell me how long did it took Honda with the takata airbags before someone died? I wonder since Malaysian brand is always cikai and not good

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
      • Meanwhile toyota still dun realise their junks r unsafe

• Same L00 on Sep 22, 2016 at 2:27 am

No matter how old the cars, recall are made by batches to change Takata airbags. This is called commitment!
        Meanwhile ppl who bought old batch of problematic iriz, they suffering is their own business, like proton will care?! Proton will just try their best to market this “upgraded” iriz based on old owners’ unfortunate. This is called irresponsible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • B-Unggul on Sep 22, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Potential legal cost ain’t cheap, especially when it involves real human lives.

So it’s better for them airbags to get replaced. Some may posit that it’s far more economical even.

Not that I’m against that. It’s just the right thing to do. But please, ‘commitment’?

• Same L00 on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Yes, you are right. proton even their customers die also they don’t bother, coz no legal case no cost. That’s why proton no recall no quality no improvement.

• camtakpro on Sep 22, 2016 at 8:55 am

This is not software in computer where a bugged update can be tested immediately without leaving the chair. A bugged update in CVT gearbox can render the car dangerous or unmovable.

It has to be properly tested for regression.

You would be lucky they backported the fix in Persona back to Iriz.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:54 pm

I take it that we have to wait for the Iriz facelift model. What about the existing CVTs for preve and suprima s?

• passion on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:57 pm

what about the current Iriz owners?

• azrai on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:01 pm

So as usual pity the early buyers…can early owners get those tweaked done at SC? By doing this, people will have faith in your good willing proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Annoynimouse on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:56 pm

If its just a software upgrade and minor replacement/addition of parts here and there, then its possible. But if it involves major engineering change, it’s unlikely. Removing one engine mount sounds quite major to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:57 pm

If hardware related of cuz cant do anything eg mounting point. If related to software than that can be tweak.

• Solitacer on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:01 pm

My neighbour with a new born baby who bought an iriz three months ago showing real regrets when they saw my new persona at the carpark. My questions is if given choice to choose with similar price range, is there anybody still buying iriz? This situation same like the bezza beating the their own brother myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Some will buy.. not all pipu like sedan n not all don like hatch. It depend on ur taste n requirement. I myself don like hatch from any brand hatch unless someone gip me for free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • If city use, I prefer hatchback.
      If hiway use, I prefer sedan.

So what I did is to buy a 2 in 1, Gen2 fastback (hatch & sedan in one car)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Silthice on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:28 pm

The New Persona design reflects more of GEN2 & Wira Aeroback rather than Persona. Wish the boot opening is bigger so that can squeeze in ice box inside.

• Opinionated opinion on Oct 01, 2016 at 11:29 am

The bezza isn’t cannibalizing the myvi. There’s a reason it was released as a 1.0/1.3 and not 1.5. Similarly, there’s a reason it was based off an axia and not a myvi. But besides that, you have a point.

• Tomato. on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Hopefully it has the same front treatment.

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:10 pm

It is a good thing that the CEO admitted to its shortcomings & willing to listen to its customers. That is a hallmark of a great leader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Silthice on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:27 pm

The new ECU is also important for Iriz as Iriz suffer from low throttle like then first generation of Campro during Gen2 era. How about the rattling sound inside the dashboard and door? Hope Paultan Team can highlight this issue to Proton as well. Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • rosdi on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:36 pm

All I want is Iriz 1.3 Turbo!… this will be selling like hot pisang goreng!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Silthice on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Talking about Iriz 1.3 Turbo remind me of the the iriz and Exora equip with 1.3 Turbo engine at Alami Proton. Never heard of them after that.

• Hopefully they bring out the Iriz facelift by 1Q 2017 with not just improvements and enhancements on the engine and CVT, but also the noise, vibration and harshness of the interior quality too. Would be nice if Proton change the current rear tail lamp to the one found on Iriz Active too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Türk on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Yes bro.. Somehow I’d really be happier if iriz receives a rear lift.. The front seems nice already

• azhar on Oct 10, 2016 at 9:57 am

Preve yg keluar lebih awal pun belum buat facelift..Iriz facelift mungkin 2018/2019

• Toyota Nirvana on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Proton admit that their CVT on the Iriz is shit. How about free CVT upgrades for current Iriz owners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • inspira owner on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:28 pm

My brother’s iriz 1.6 executive .. he went to service centre asking them to remapping the ECu for better reaponse and end up got typical proton’s staf answer.. the most epic one.. “proton biasa la”… until now.. it was in manjung..

• Aragon on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:58 pm

I wonder when they gonna do a facelift for Preve. Its been 4 years in the market so I guess its the right time to make some cosmetic changes and fixed all the problems occur during first batch.

• nextbatch on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Preve and Suprima will get the new TGDI Engines as stated by Proton before.

So updated version will have 170 hp wooohee~

• SlowNspeed on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:31 pm

TGDI engine need constant top overhaul, if Proton gonna use TGDI they better buy lots of ear plug

• johari adam on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:36 pm

It’s like flogging a dead mule.
    No matter what updates you do ,
    the Campro is just too old and maxed out its shelf life.
    Just wait for another year then current Persona owners will feel thel same way as Iriz owners.
    RV will plunge so don’t get caught.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • taknaktoyota on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:46 pm

But but but higher price will get higher loss and TCO

• Agreed. Campro is too old for current emission standards. Thats why they replacing it with VVT engine now.

• inspira owner on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:25 pm

I thought paultan used to tell about proton doing a remapping on ECU of iriz way back in 2015 if in im not mistaken… means that it just a bullshit la.. if now only do it

• FrankC on Sep 22, 2016 at 8:03 am

Proton car hv low rv.. Well we don’t buy to use for short term like those who chg car every 5 yrs… Proton cars can last to 10 yrs.. Exception to early Gen campro engines… At the price Proton selling how much rv do u expect to hv in return?…

• FrankC on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:57 am

That’s good progress and that’s how continuous improvement work…
    Btw, what about preve? Any improvement or facelift?

• Mr ExoraMan76 on Sep 22, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Please do not forget to fix some issues with Iriz Premium’s push start button.I am getting running out of patience with it.Thanks

• ok good

• SukaSuki on Sep 24, 2016 at 3:55 pm

For someone who drives Iriz’s manual, this so called “improvement” is not all that important. Yeah, of course, quiet cabin is lovely for family trip, but I personally prefer Iriz’s drony boomy sound anytime. It makes driving it so much better. It feels that the car is talking to me.

After using Iriz for about a year now, I realize the potential this machine has. Its composure at high speed on highway (I’m talking about 150-160 km/h here) is respectable. That keeps me thinking, if only I have more powerful engine, for sure I can ‘always’ tapau those luxury cars on the road anytime.

Like the first comment here said, I am too, looking forward for Iriz R3 version, or a TURBO, or maybe add optional bodykit like Suprima S’s Super Premium.

Where is it?

Perhaps by next year? after the new engines from Petronas are ready?

• John Rambo on Sep 24, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Hi, it’s rather easy to blame Proton for this and that, without realizing the price paid for the product, and thinking like you yourself never fall when you start to learn to run. Come on guys, give me a break! get real, for me Proton is performing from time to time, saying they are sleeping is very immature statement, look at it as our country achievement, don’t be sarcastic, because your words describe you.

• Malaysian Driver on Dec 25, 2016 at 10:28 am

My Iriz manual, no jerking, no slow throttle respond, no TCU recalibration needed, instant power, instant respond, instant control immediately under my left foot and left palm, and far more fun to drive than any Iriz CVT. I haven’t come to mention no CVT oil changed required, less prone to problem and much much cheaper maintenance bill.

I am willing to roll my gears, I drive my Iriz in the horrendous KL traffic, and my left foot doesn’t feel stress or fatigue at all, the clutch is so forgiving and light in the Iriz. Drive manual, less problem, save money, more fun!