Barisan Nasional GE14 manifesto – enhancing transportation and further developing its infrastructure

We’ve seen what Pakatan Harapan and PAS have promised in their election manifesto for the upcoming 14th general election (GE14), and earlier tonight, ruling party Barisan Nasional (BN) revealed its manifesto, which contains 300 plus initiatives grouped under 14 thrusts.

None of these were related to anything automotive, not directly at least. Unlike the pledges made elsewhere promising the abolishment of the goods and services tax (GST), cheaper cars for first-time buyers (either by the reduction of excise duties for vehicles under 1.6 litres capacity or complete exemption of excise tax for vehicles under 1.3 litres) as well as targeted fuel subsidies, the BN manifesto was more straight-laced, being centred around plans to enhance and develop transportation.

The development of the country’s road network is the primary focus on the motoring front. The party stated that it will upgrade and maintain federal roads on a regular basis as an alternative to tolled highways, and will strengthen transportation networks and interconnectivity in Sabah and Sarawak through the upgrading of 12,500 km of rural roads.

Highway network expansion will also continue, including that for the third phase of the East Coast Expressway (ECE), while the West Coast Expressway – from Banting to Taiping – is scheduled for completion by 2020.

Meanwhile, construction of the Central Spine Road, or Kuala Krai-Kuala Pilah highway, continues. Besides reducing traffic congestion, the 325 km-long route – which will connect Kelantan, Pahang and Negeri Sembilan – aims to drive new economic growth in the East Coast economic corridor.

There will also be a strong focus on infrastructure projects such as village roads, bridges and the addition of streetlights. Chief among these will be the construction of 383 small bridges throughout the country to enhance connectivity between rural areas.

At an individual level, movement on the Transformasi Nasional 50 (TN50) blueprint front will see the introduction of a TN50 public transport pass (costing between RM50–RM150). This will offer unlimited monthly access to public transport for students, working youths, senior citizens and the disabled. Elsewhere, as part of an enhancement to the MyLesen programme, subsidies will be provided to rural youths who apply to get motorcycle (B2 class) licenses.

In terms of public transport, feeder-bus services are set to be enhanced, while there’s plenty of development in store for the country’s rail network. Aside from the planned Kuala Lumpur-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) project and the 688 km-long East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) that will run from Port Klang to Pengkalan Kubor, work on the 197 km Gemas-Johor Bahru double-tracking project is ongoing.

The manifesto also highlighted a number of other rail projects that are on the cards. Besides the construction of a rapid transit system (RTS) linking Johor Bahru and Singapore, there are plans to build an electrified railway line from Subang Jaya to the Subang Skypark Terminal as part of the planned railway integration, and the Klang Valley dual-track railway line is also due to be upgraded, with 42 km of track set to be repaired.

Other planned projects include the establishment of an integrated intelligent transportation system (ITS), which will cover every type of transportation and traffic across the country.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wilson Ang on Apr 08, 2018 at 2:33 am

It takes BN to build the Pasir Gudang Highway in Johor for more than 10 years. And it is still under construction and many bottle neck which still causing jam. I believe it will take another 10 years to finish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 5
    • NajibStyle on Apr 08, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Multi Billions Projects on the pretext for rakyat “benefit” must stop … Malaysians are no longer gullible who benefits actually

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
      • jinggo on Apr 08, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Ini semua moneyfesto… oh wait, unchanged

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
        • Life is tough on Apr 08, 2018 at 10:16 pm

For once the readers of Paultan are United on this matter… that Enough is enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • Lima Sudah Cukup Mati on Apr 08, 2018 at 6:50 pm

No 1 … Beli Kapal Layar
        No 2 … Beli Kapal Selam
        No 3 … Beli Kapal Terbang
        No 4 … Project Berbilion-Billion Rakyat Tanggung masa depan
        No 5… Ada baki ? sudah masa untuk GE15

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • Muzaffar Shah on Apr 08, 2018 at 3:14 pm

This is the biggest joke ever. I just take all this very lightly. Cause the most basic promise, to reduce car prices by 30% also never honoured.

Last election, 5 years ago, BN promised to reduce car prices by 30%. They said they understood car prices were the highest in the world and rakyat was suffering so much with high car prices.

What happened? Well 5 years now, car prices have gone up

Worse still, Minister come few days ago and said car prices went down a lot

Basic also cannot honour, how to believe all this promises?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 10
      • thepolygonal on Apr 09, 2018 at 8:58 am

60 years in doldrums. Local transportation and automotive poised for reform.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Can you please explain how is it that our car prices are the highest in the world? Any statistics? Global price comparisons? Or it just came out of your tiny little katak-bawah-tempurung mind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Makan sendiri on Apr 08, 2018 at 3:39 pm

Manisfesting into a beast … Bite the millions of hands that feed a few

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • John Ohwai on Apr 08, 2018 at 3:56 pm

public transport is the no 1 way to make money and pocket the money. If 10 billion for example….expect 5 billion to masuk poket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • YB Albert on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Just vote REGIME CHANGE..Anyone can promise you the moon. Can they do it?
      SEE,Americans voted for regime change.They r beginning to see changes alto some r debatable.
      Give change a chance.If after a term,u r not happy…u can vote again,mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • Old horse on Apr 08, 2018 at 6:46 am

All the MRT built at no one can easy access from SG Buloh , aim to building new condos at the end, how people can go ride them is totally not planned. Where is ss2, PJ14, UM stops,? Those got most people and students

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
    • BMW CKD 530i RM380k in Malaysia
      BMW CBU 530i SGD230k in Singapore

Toyota CHR RM150k in Malaysia
      Toyota CHR SGD65k in Singapore (tambah SGD35k for COE)

Gaji Gomen servant Malaysia purata RM1200 in Putrajaya
      Gaji Gomen servant Singapore purata SGD5000 in SG

Mana lagi murah???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
      • Basherlogic on Apr 08, 2018 at 7:06 pm

Last time basher said gomen servants can buy BMW, mana satu betul ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • Depends on which gov. servants.Some can even buy RR, lambo, ferrari, etc although gaji not that high.

• azhar on Apr 08, 2018 at 7:16 am

Where is 30% reduction of car price in their last manifesto?…sorry i dont trust them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 357 Thumb down 4
    • William Tan on Apr 08, 2018 at 3:33 pm

Camry Hybrid CBU with 10 airbags in Australia AUD27k (RM90k)

Camry Hybrid CKD in Malaysia (with no tax) RM175k.

How come no tax and CKD more expensive then CBU in Australia?

Both countries also got 30 million population….so demand and market the same

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
      • Chock on Apr 08, 2018 at 11:27 pm

you forgot. 30 million aussied who can afford the camry vs 30 million malaysians who can only afford axia!

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2018 at 11:41 am

Yes, both countries have similar populations. Australian income tax peaks out at over 40%. Malaysia’s is at around 26%. Malaysia’s corporate taxes peak at under 30%. Australia’s hits 50%. They have VAT of 10%. We have GST of 6%. Petrol prices in Australia averages between A$1.20-A$1.50 per liter depending on location. Our petrol prices are under A$1 per liter. Australia implements double personal income taxation, i.e. a citizen of Australia will have to pay income tax to Australia even if he’s a tax resident elsewhere. Malaysia has 0% income tax for foreign derived income and doesn’t implement double personal income taxation.

Toyota cars in Australia are mostly built in Australia, they’re not CBU.

It’s easy to bash based on a single point like car prices, but if you have to compare, why not compare with everything else that determines the cost of living between Malaysia and another country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
        • acmilan on Apr 09, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Toyota cars in Australia not CBU.

https://paultan.org/2017/10/03/toyota-ends-production-in-australia-after-54-years/

• Toyotas no longer CKD there thou. Expecting to go up in prices after current CKD units r sold.

• Jho kebal on Apr 08, 2018 at 4:08 pm

16% reduction kita ok

https://paultan.org/2018/04/04/miti-deputy-minister-says-average-car-prices-have-gone-down-by-16-38-percent/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 34
    • When reduced alredi, some pipu complain about RV. So wanna reduce or not reduce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 55
      • RV? Who cares, I don’t mind my current car RV becoming garbage if they cut the prices down by 30%. If you’re buying a car thinking about RV, you can’t afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • Then u will complain why just come out from gate alredi jam 4-5hrs. Ini salahan Gov for making cars too cheap. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • Andrekua on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:40 am

Public transport my foot… ever since Najib become PM, buses have become extinct in kepong. I can’t even teach my son to take public transport. There’s only one route left which is wangsa permai. I don’t really think I would believe the words from a leader who can’t get the most basic public transport aka buses working and profitable. Even the developed countries still keep their buses. It’s hard to imagine why they would keep losing money even though it’s a complete monopoly when they kicked out the bas mini and selangor who were making money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 210 Thumb down 2
    • Sam 'john' Loo on Apr 08, 2018 at 3:16 pm

You know why, they want rakyats to buy ‘shitty and cut corner’ poodua as much as possible (they can’t afford to lose sales anyway) and hoping them to close one eye with ‘this simple but for me, it’s NOT tolerable flaws – missing temperature gauge where Proton and even Kia doesn’t learn form them, thankfully’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Where is the great commentator john who always say our public transport is best in the world???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • If PT can burst that fake news bubble of urs when repoting that 97.5% of P1 sales is from retail end customers instead of gov fleet (https://paultan.org/2018/01/08/proton-sales-result-end-2017/), then how to belip what u spieled above?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
  • jinggo on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:42 am

Pembaris sembang, gajah terbang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Sick&tired on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:52 am

I am sick and tired of BN. Our country has remained stagnant for a long time. Look at Singapore, their currency is 3x higher compared to our currency. In fact the Thai currency has also overtaken us. If we are not careful, Indonesia and Philippines will be next!

Malaysia is a great country, rich in natural resources and wonderful people, we should be doing much better. If something is not working, would you continue doing the same thing, or would you opt for a change?

I really hope you guys put your emotions (especially when it comes to race and religion) aside and think rationally.

And pls go out and vote!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 250 Thumb down 40
    • The only reason MY cannot advice is becoz of pipu like u who stays in caves and complain and whine and dun bother to lift a finger to improve the country, instead keep demanding others to make the change. Gandhi said: We r the change we want to see. So get of that keybod and put in the effort. Gov needs pipu to start working and improve the country, not just sit there and complain. Keybod warrioring cant improve the country yo!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1847 Thumb down 30
      • Misspelled: The only reason MY cannot advance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • loller on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:09 pm

I like your many likes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Apparently the silent majority has enuff of basher bollocks and just liked sensible comments. Cant fault them, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • Joholan on Apr 08, 2018 at 9:07 pm

in Johor we have our own way, so don’t bring your outside influences, take care of your own states and country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
          • Correct. TMJ has given his advice. Best to heed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • YB Albert on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:44 pm

Folks,beware…this johnnie fella has a doctorate in REVERSE PSYCHOLOGY…..He is probably a penganggur keyboard warrior/curi ayam staff…during hours,he has the time to keep pouring his usual PIPU into paultan.
        We are retired folks writing FACTS.No time for garbage.After contributing to paultan forum,we take our Mercedes/Royce for a spin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
        • If PT can burst that fake news bubble of urs when repoting that 97.5% of P1 sales is from retail end customers instead of gov fleet (https://paultan.org/2018/01/08/proton-sales-result-end-2017/), then how to belip what u say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Gandhi on Apr 08, 2018 at 5:51 pm

Want efficient public transports- vote BN
      Want ProTiga & endless epic traffic jams- vote PH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 30
    • And yet in penang, after 10years theres nothing but tunnel scam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 23
      • tunnelgate, watersupplygate, floodgate, environgate, housinggate, expendituregate, allowancegate, landscamgate, waterdealgate, uturngate, toomanygates, etc. And they supposed to be the alternative? Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
        • rightwinger on Apr 09, 2018 at 9:54 am

come on over and ill give you a guide tour of lopsided enforcement.

• Leakage all over on Apr 08, 2018 at 9:14 am

RM40,000 per meter .. that is 3 feet …made of gold ? The proposed KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) could cost about RM40mil per km according to an estimate by UOB Kay Hian Malaysia Research.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 10
    • ECRL is 60 billion and construction of it mainly by China workers. Kurang Malaysians.

by the way, tickets would cost RM300 EACH….can east malaysians who are mainly poor afford it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • Yes, they can. Theres plenty of rich Sabahan & Sarawakians that can AFFORD it if they wanna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Railman on Apr 08, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Lets see what it cost worldwide:
      California – USD$ 56Million/km (or 82Mil per mile)
      Seattle – USD$ 50-87Million/km (or 80-140Mil per mile)
      China – USD$ 17-21Million/km
      EU – USD$ 25-39Million/km
      India – USD$ 27Million/km
      Hokuriku extension – USD$ 28Million/km
      Indonesia – USD$ 34Million/km

Malaysia – as above, USD$ 11Million/km.
      Expensive? I wonder….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
      • 40mil every 3feet on Apr 08, 2018 at 11:44 pm

Unlike those countries you mentioned… Malaysia need not purchase or clear the land as it’s already owned by KTM long before you were born. The major cost only involves laying the new tracks, stations and foundation work on EXISTING KTM TRACKS. Stop pulling wool over our eyes if you refuse to see the obvious… You have vested interest? I wonder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
        • Railman on Apr 09, 2018 at 11:11 am

Stop pulling wool over our eyes. Much of the alignment for HSR is totally new with land acquisition, clearing of forest, & possibly tunneling. HSR being much, much faster than normal rail, requires straighter rail config & current rail alignment is just not suitable for HSR usage. If you see my examples above, the US ones doesn’t require much land clearance or tunneling works, yet its so much more expensive. Don’t talk like you know the business when you just know nuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Sapot u bro Railman. Truth prevails over ignorance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Medic on Apr 09, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Deswai ERL & Monorel built w great foresight.

• Both were built by previous management.

• Gomorrah on Apr 09, 2018 at 11:49 am

Who is pulling the wool over whose eyes? Land acquisition is a major part of it and not necessary. And KTM is not going to be owning or operating the resultant entity and the land.
          KTM still uses metre gauge. The majority of high speed railways use standard gauge. Why didn’t the option to upgrade the railway to standard gauge occur when the double tracking initiative started? This would have allowed Malaysia to utilise the tilting train technology that exists in Europe (see Sweden) which is able to cope with existing older train lines and the way they were laid, rather than acquire new land for the wider radii that high speed trains require for turns? The answer is simple – certain parties benefit. Not the rakyat. Not to mention the environmental impact that laying a completely new rail line is going to cause.
          Wanna talk means talk facts la. Don’t simply hantam and say KTM land. The KTM land in Singapore also all gone. Prime land some more.

• While im not up to Railman level, let me add info from wiki. The X2 rail that u mention is up to 200kmph while the requirement for HSR is 300~350kmph. Not same same which need new alignment of tracks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • my england is bad on Apr 09, 2018 at 1:04 pm

I din know why land acquisition is unnecessary, HSR train goes flying ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Gomorrah on Apr 09, 2018 at 2:30 pm

To make it clear for those who missed the context of the entire post – X200 is existing technology to use high speed trains on existing already owned land. Therefore land acquisition unnecessary. HSR specs as pointed out exceed the speed limit of aforementioned technology. However land acquisition costs factor heavily into it. So total cost will be different. To spell it out – HSR will cost more than an in-place upgrade and infrastructure will not belong to KTM. Do we really need this for this route?
            Also HSR will cannibalise KUL-SIN air travel market. I don’t care about SIA, however MAS does profit from the route.

• As u said, tech is not same same. Perf oso not same same. So why choose this method? HSR requires diff way of thinking and therefore need land acquisition for alignment of tracks. The goal is to make it faster & more efficient than air travel. Otherwise, why do it? As for MAS, they have to redeploy to other routes, or offer cheaper than HSR fare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Gomorrah on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:36 pm

The whole point of what I am getting at is do we need this ultramodern transport route at this time in our country’s progress when basic things like healthcare, access to electricity and water are still a challenge for the rural folk and the urban poor? Don’t forget that there are bound to be people displaced by this rail alignment just like other previous projects. Look at the bigger picture la. It’s not all about having shiny trains and stations and then have people begging on the steps of the station.

• If we wanna stay middling in our middle income trap, then its not necessary. If we wanna go up to high income nation, then yes its veli necessary. Same question Japan ask themselves when deciding on Shinkansen. So which level u wanna be at?

• my england is bad on Apr 09, 2018 at 5:36 pm

It won’t affect flight providers as the HSR will take 2-3 hours from KL to Singapore while only 1 hour by plane.

• Gomorrah on Apr 09, 2018 at 9:13 pm

So the last time you took an airplane you just walked straight from your house to the terminal and got on the flight ah? No need to travel to KLIA, no need to clear security/immigration, no need to wait in boarding lounge right? Cos you are flying private jet issit? Factor in all that to the KUL SIN flight and the train and plane journey are very nearly the same duration.

You really think Japan asks themselves the same questions this country needs to? Or has to deal with the multiple needs of a multicultural society? The middle income trap will continue and worsen the way things are going if we can’t get the basics right. Splurging unnecessarily is not the way forward.

• What r the basic r talking about here? All basics r being taken care off. Just focusing on basics wun get us to high income, we need to enhance further to attract the high income jobs and pipu. Thats how Japan grew.

• my england is bad on Apr 10, 2018 at 2:16 pm

How about a time testing by PT guys when all are ready? Plane vs HSR

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 10, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Sounds like a good plan!

• The quality of the roads, number of lanes (10 to 12 lanes), mostly straight roads, miles and miles across uninhibited places.

But our roads !?

• Rakyat Menderita on Apr 08, 2018 at 9:30 am

What happened to GE13 “Rakyat Didahulukan” manifesto ? After 5 years…. Rakyat didahulukan dan dibebankan untuk membayar macam macam dan menderita nampaknya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Derek on Apr 08, 2018 at 9:38 am

No link to the PH manifesto?

• Their leader alredi said not all is doable. No need to write about it lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • President Malaysia on Apr 08, 2018 at 10:09 am

BN manifesto is all about one focus only.. Spending money… I also can be PM like that la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Amiruddin on Apr 08, 2018 at 10:28 am

Just one word ‘sembang’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 9
  • SEANSD on Apr 08, 2018 at 11:35 am

All of this project is non-transparent and sky-high cost which involve and benefit conics companies and foreign workers majority.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 2
  • klguy on Apr 08, 2018 at 12:08 pm

wow, someone is campaigning for a bunch of monkeys

• drmpower on Apr 08, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Double tracking is 16 year old promise still can count or what. Plus it should have had happened 16 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • Susah rakyat on Apr 08, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Manifesto no 1 … Beli Boat Besar. Manifesto no 2 Beli Kapalterbang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • WILL SEE ....HOW on Apr 08, 2018 at 1:43 pm

They re v v desperatos..!!

• Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Never trust this GOV, lavish money for secure our crown rakyat is suffering and highest minister can amnesty even deadly drug and bribe can turn into donation. R U kidding MALAYSIAN?? Democracy is mourning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • At least got arrested lor. Itu orang tunnel, orang bakar kancer, orang scam tanah, nape tak complain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • vVivi Zurianti on Apr 08, 2018 at 7:18 pm

Instead of cars getting cheaper by 30% as promised during GE13(cakap2 kosong oni), now the cars are more expensive than ever. Even simple kapchai cost more than 5k…..

Next? Majority of toll prices hiked up overnight…..and the govt had the cheek to say they cant do anything becoz of agreement oredi signed. Then they announced the agreement is confidential under OSA.

Enough la of this BN’s bs manifesto…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Meh. All parties are good at making populist pledge. PH promise removing toll, GST, oil subsidy, reduce car price and etc…. Pas also make the same pledge but with zero interest rate for first buyer. And BN promise to upgrade infrastructure and public transport that cost billions of ringgit. Can all this party really honour their pledge without bankruping the country? Our politicians need to reconsider all their manifesto for sake of the country not for the party.

• Ahmadjr on Apr 08, 2018 at 8:56 pm

I thought ecrl was good plan until we know they don’t even how to cross pahang to selangor. The route they said they studied so well had to cross a unesco park and a water dam. This project is a fraud and failure even on paper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:10 pm

ECRL priority is not a passenger railway. It’s true purpose is to provide high volume rail cargo connection between Port Klang and Kuantan Port. Think of it as a “Kra Canal lite”. But as usual, the ignorant masses complain without knowing anything while those who are involved in this important future economy driver will never get their voices heard above the noise.

• Ahmadjr on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:36 pm

You don’t understand the situation here. I said how they want to cross from pahang to selangor when the alignment is at an unesco park and a water dam. You know the route yet you support it blindly. Blind loyalty makes someone a fool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • From SPAD map, it looks like it will follow coastal way thru to Kuantan then roughly the existing rail network thru Pahang til Port Klang. So whats this bullocks about crossing dams and UNESCO park?

• I heard that its SG that discouraged the Thaksin Kra project by u-know-what-happened-there. Same thing is happening here. SG money makes wonders in swaying who gets to make that decision.

• Bernard on Apr 08, 2018 at 9:56 pm

Vote wisely for the future your children deserve.

• Ben Yap on Apr 08, 2018 at 10:22 pm

Look at ERL, it’s so expensive to go to klia at rm55 per head, per way. that’s excluding the cost of ride to the train station. It’s more convenient to take GRAB directly. Many manifestos from political parties are just trying to woo votes with empty promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:14 pm

You have no idea how often international business travelers rely on the ERL, do you? Same goes for the HSR. It’s not for tourists to take to Singapore as an alternative to express busses. It’s for regular business travellers to use as an alternative to air travel. The trouble with malaysians is that they crow about wanting a high income economy yet they condemn every single proposed infrastructure that is necessary to drive our future economy and economic networks.

• They dunno how high income pipu works and live and thinks all that money and superb infra just pops up from nowhere thanks Santa Claus.

• azrai on Apr 09, 2018 at 8:29 am

Go and Google Translate ‘Making America Great Again’ into Malay. It shows ‘Hebatkan Negaraku’! What a coincidence.

• so many goodies…question is where the funding comes from? our own savings ^^

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:15 pm

As compared to? Name a single country in the world that doesn’t build infrastructure with tax revenue?

• derickfun on Apr 09, 2018 at 9:27 am

the current project for east coast railway already consider bad business case. not very sure the intention you post about this election related promise. We need better public transport for sure but doesn’t meant we should sell the property or rights to foreigner and with price jack up easily 200% and more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:18 pm

Over 60% of ECRL traffic is cargo freight between Port Klang and Kuantan Port. How is that a bad business case? There will be no cabotage at Kuantan Port and shippers can shorten their trip between the straits of melaka and the South China Sea, bypassing Singapore and saving a few days duration. The ECRL is an enabler for this. How is that a bad business case? You think the ECRL is for orang kampung to take during Raya only?

• ECRL is more than that. Its to transport goods from China to Port Klang bypassing SG. Their role in commerce will die veli quick.

• Aiya Typo on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Suppose to be “Mana Pesto” not manifesto. As in “woii! nih spaghetti mana pesto?”