The West Coast Expressway (WCE), which will connect Banting in Selangor to Taiping in Perak, is now 35% completed and will be open to traffic in 2019, Bernama reports.
The progress report was given by the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) director-general Datuk Ismail Md Salleh, who said that the development of the 233 km highway, of which construction started in 2014, was progressing on schedule. There are 11 phases.
“Phase 4 of the project, from Federal Route to New North Klang Straits Bypass and phase 8, from Hutan Melintang to Teluk Intan are scheduled to be completed and opened in early 2019,” he said, adding that other phases were also expected to be fully completed by 2019, except for phase 7B involving the last 10 km of the Tanjung Karang route and phase 11 involving the Changkat Jering/Taiping connection.
Ismail revealed that the project cost RM5.04 billion, with RM980 million set aside for land acquisition handled by the concessionaire, West Coast Expressway Sdn Bhd.
“This project will provide the best alternative route for road users in avoiding congestion particularly during festive seasons,” he said, adding that WCE can potentially spur economic growth in coastal towns.
This will make balik kampung up north much easier. But need wait 2 more years.
Yay! Lebih lancar di jalan lama
Oso NSE.
Wowasan2020 negara maju!
Only country in the world where 233KM can cost RM5.04 billion
That also, we use super cheap Bangladeshi labour who are underpaid. Here itself, billions is made.
Double bonus, concessionaire will get 50 years contract to make the road with option to increase toll every few years.
There, billions EVERY YEAR for 50 years.
Why not u try trekking thru dense forest from Kuala Slgr to Changkat Jering and let see how easy it is for u to build a path thru…
but orang utan like you easy to trek forest.
This car blog or talking about trekking and hiking etc?
This car blog or about 233KM can cost RM5.04 billion?
Those who never been to MY think MY land is flat like Amerika Western Plains.
Penang 350million study only no tunnel.. lol!
It is way more expensive in penang…
Easier said than done.
Why not you yourself try to build your very own highway…? Even the cost of upgrading the 20-km FT23 road from Segamat to Jementah into a divided highway (not a controlled-access expressway) is RM380 million. The 233-km WCE E32 that costs RM5.04 billion does not include the engineering shortcuts taken via rerouting the two missing links to the existing Klang-Teluk Intan Road FT5 from Tanjung Karang to Sabak Bernam and Teluk Intan-Sitiawan Road FT5 from Teluk Intan to Lekir.
You still think that building highways are cheap…? The higher the hierarchy, the higher the construction cost as well.
Yes you guys are right. Those in the civil business will know that just only the transportation cost of the materials are in millions..
Sadly people who is not in civil business comment like they are the one who build the road.
Itu tak kena, ini tak kena.. nothing is right with you… I pity the fellas working with you, sure kna complain night and day nonstop. I wonder how your family can tahan you, so negative.
Sadly those who complain a lot die fast, hypertension
Please back up your argument with facts , if you have any
Are you even a certified civil engineer?
Does rm 305 million feasibility study for a tunnel seems reasonable to you…?
YB ni banyak cakap banyak komen but habuk tarak…wonder who you are in real life and what do you do for living…or you just sitting in front of your laptop/pc/hp while your parent is supporting your makan minum..
2 years from now, can frequently balik kampung….Yea!! Can see my papa and mama more…
projek lama dah tergendala diberi ‘nafas’ baru……… hmmmmm… terima kasih le
What does he mean by “land acquisition of RM980million to be handled by the concessionaire”?
Does it mean that the govt is not paying for land acquisition? I doubt it.
Will the concession agreement be made known to the public, or will it be under the OSA like the others?
Privatised hiway, means company have to bear all project costing including land acquisition lah. Manada gov involve? U buy house, surely u must own the land its built on 1st, right?