In conjunction with the 14th Malaysian general election, motorists will get to enjoy discounts and rebates on toll charges at selected highways. This was confirmed by the Malaysian Association of Highway Concession Companies (PSKLM), whereby eight highway concessionaires are offering a 10% discount for Class 1 highway users from midnight to 11.59 pm on May 9, 2018.

In an official statement, the highways involved are the New Pantai Expressway (NPE), Cheras-Kajang Highway (Grand Saga), Damansara-Puchong Exressway (LDP), Duta-Ulu Klang Expressway (DUKE), Kajang Seremban Highway (LEKAS) at Ampangan Toll Plaza only, Shah Alam Expressway (KESAS), Sungai Besi Highway (BESRAYA) and New North Klang Straits Bypass Expressway (Grand Sepadu).

Meanwhile, all other classes will also get a 10% discount at Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah Bridge (or Penang Second Bridge), Kuala Lumpur-Karak Highway (KLK), East Coast Expressway Phase 1 (ECE 1) and Maju Expressway (MEX) from midnight to 11.59 pm on May 9. If you use the SPRINT Highway during that timing, a 10 sen discount awaits you.

Click to enlarge

Users of the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH) will also get a 10% discount but this is only valid from 8am to 5pm on May 9. During the same period, a 100% discount is offered to those who use the KL-Kuala Selangor Expressway (LATAR).

As for rebates, these affect the Lebuhraya Pantai Timur 2 (LPT2) and PLUS Highway (except Bangunan Sultan Iskandar, Tanjung Kupang and Penang Bridge toll plazas). On offer is a 20% rebate for PLUSMiles cardholders or Touch ‘n Go cards registered on the PLUSMiles portal, valid on May 8 and 9 for Class 1 highway users. The rebate is only applicable for journeys exceeding 100 km, and users can make their redemptions between June 15 to September 14 this year.