Pakatan Harapan GE14 manifesto – auto-related points

Pakatan Harapan (PH) has released its Buku Harapan election manifesto for the upcoming 14th General Election (GE14), and though there was no mention of lower car prices if it came into power, as was the case in its GE13 manifesto, there were still some items in the general mention that were related to the automotive scene, or would have an impact on it.

UPDATE 1: The story has been revised with GST-related info.

UPDATE 2: Pakatan Harapan has since won the 14th general elections; however, this article was written before the elections, hence the mentions of the coalition as the opposition in this article.

The first, one of 10 specific pledges that PH aims to fulfil within the first 100 days of taking office, concerns the introduction of targeted fuel subsidies to stabilise petrol prices. Currently, fuel prices are set via a managed float system and adjusted on a weekly basis, and so fluctuation is common.

The opposition says that it will provide oil subsidies at a rate seen fit every month to eligible groups (those using 125 cc motorcycle and cars of 1.3 litre capacity and below). It said an appropriate quota will be set, with the subsidisation mechanism tied in to an individual’s identification card, presumably to prevent abuse. In this manner, subsidies will be targeted only at those who need such subsidy assistance.

The second is also one of the 10 salient points listed in the manifesto, and is a promise to abolish the goods and services tax (GST) and take steps to reduce the cost of living. Doing the former without changing anything else upstream will have an effect on car prices, but this won’t be the case – the removal of the 6% GST (currently applied on top of a vehicle’s retail price without insurance) will see the reintroduction of the sales and services tax (SST) in its place.

For cars, this will entail sales tax, previously imposed before GST came into play. This was applied on a car’s government approved selling price, essentially, the car’s open market value (if CKD) or cost, insurance and freight (if CBU) price, along with associated import and excise duties. Pricing changes will occur, but as a result of the different mechanism of calculation.

As for car insurance, which is also subjected to the 6% value-added tax, the final rate of an insurance cover for a vehicle will be lower as a result of the tax omission, if nothing is added on to it. Prior to GST, only stamp duty was applied to the figure.

Elsewhere, the removal of GST will not have any implications on servicing, maintenance and repairs or the pricing of accessories and spare parts, given that SST – which was previously also set at 6% – will go back in place of it.

There is also mention of a gradual abolishment of tolls in the manifesto, though this is part of the larger canvas and is to be accomplished within five years. The opposition also said it will reduce excise duties on imported cars with an engine displacement below 1600 cc to enable a first car purchase to be made at lower prices. To avoid abuse, only one car will be alloted in this manner per household earning below RM8,000 a month.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• gongwill on Mar 09, 2018 at 2:55 pm

All gifts, cancel all input, money fall from sky i guess , politicians at their best .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 23
    • azhar on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Proton has changed partner for good. We Malaysians are the change that we seek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 22
      • Jamal on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Malaysia does not need GST if corruption is abolished. Per year, corruption alone is tens of billions of ringgit.

Clean up the country, you don’t need GST. Malaysia is a very very rich country. It is far richer than Singapore. We have abundance of natural resources….tin, gold, silver, rubber, copper, bauxite, palm oil, oil and gas and hundreds of other natural resources.

We are infact super rich. But because of corruption, just a handful get all the riches of the country. The majority, 90% of the rakyat, suffer.

Abolish corruption, and you will see, there is ZERO need for GST

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 653 Thumb down 41
        • After 60yrs of mediocrity. Try 5yrs…Ynot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • YB Albert on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Your excellency Jamal
          Abolishment of corruption is a DREAM and myth.However,minimisation or reduction of it,is achievable.
          Pakatan leading component party is actually the celup version of the current coalition big brother.
          However,no harm if we give regime change a chance.The rakyat has their own democratic rights to choose,bearing in mind promises can still be broken.
          If whatever changes after GE 14,can make costs of living more bearable,why not?
          If it takes 13 hrs to count the juta juta RM confiscated in the Sabah watergate scandal,we sincerely hope it will perhaps take less than an hour
          to count any future illgotten gains,due to regime change.
          If change can benefit the rakyat,why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 25
          • Pak Lajak on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:06 pm

Tik tok tik tok… bagi signal Tukar lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • “no harm if we give regime change a chance.”
            Big harm there, cuz those who did all those r now on the other side. So how can it benefit the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Clean Up Malaysia on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:35 pm

Too much of corruption. Now the corrupted no more taking millions. Already taking billions.

Must clean up Malaysia

• Cheah Per Li on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:01 pm

We need more Mainland people in our Cabinet. Then only, our country will prosper and do well

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 28
          • People could afford to overeat proves our country already prosperous and do well

• drilleros on Mar 10, 2018 at 12:30 am

Think again, bro! You really need communist in the Malaysian cabinet? Communist???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Common sense on May 11, 2018 at 11:02 am

Take a look at China with their Communist party. What do u learn from there? I believe that democracy system is not as stable as u think due to changing in policy. Look at US as an example. At one point a president wants this, when another president took over, the new president doesnt want that. How to improve?

• BS. You can only reduce corruption, but never in anyone lifetime, that it can be abolished. Plus, More that 160 countries implemented GST/VAT, what makes you think that Malaysia should abolish that. I would prefer the government to tax those who can afford to pay GST and reduce income taxes, rather than relying on HONEST income tax payers. At least, it fair that everybody who can afford contribute to the country’s development.

Prior to the GST implementation, there were so many type of people who got away from paying taxes such as contractors, freelancers, traders etc. Yet, they still enjoy the country’s infrastructure and services

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
        • Giussepe Lee on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:11 pm

Oh u dont have to like your own comments so many times…1 enough la

• I would prefer they keep gst for a few years though, they need money to operate after all

• Change via structured planning is gud.
        Change via Xmas wishlist is chaos and anarchy.

• Muzaffar Shah on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Our car prices are already the highest in the world and yet, they add GST for cars also making it even higher

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 19
        • Metallicars on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:45 pm

PT can ekceli arrange a Meet the fans debate on dis topik..

• Vandamn on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Have u heard of singapore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 62
          • Daniel Masilamany on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:55 pm

Singapore gomen servant earn SGD5000 on average

Putrajaya gomen servant earn RM1200 on average

BMW 530i CBU in Singapore SGD270k
            BMW 530i CKD in Malaysia RM388k

Mana lagi murah???

• Tyson on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:46 pm

singapore 297bil, malaysia 296bil. GDP

• Ya i do, a island who 3x currency higher and most malaysian who head to work for better income counties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
          • Banglaman on Mar 10, 2018 at 11:09 am

I dont live in Singapore. Do you?

• singapore on Mar 10, 2018 at 11:35 am

where is Singapore?

• klata-klata on Mar 10, 2018 at 10:45 pm

Our AP costs into somebody’s personal account, whereas Singapore’s COE goes into the public account.

• 1.3mil Range Rover vs 50k range rover on May 11, 2018 at 8:34 am

Dollar for dollar, we are

• DonkeyKong on Mar 10, 2018 at 2:14 am

LOL car prices highest in the world.. another katak bawah tempurung spotted, where “world” = peninsula Malaysia, Sabah, sarawak and Brunei…

Many car models in Thailand, Indonesia and Philippines are more expensive than their counterparts in Malaysia, and we’re not even comparing our prices with Singapore yet..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • So…now how???

• Shazwan Karim on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:13 pm

I believe in Pakatan’s plan for us. At least, besides a progressive automotive policy, we Malaysians will have water!

Today is the 5th day we Selangor people have no water. And this is because Splash is incompetent. And we all know, Splash is from the previous Government and they have a 30 year contract. And even basic water also we cannot get

I am certain Pakatan’s guidance will make our automotive sector boom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Game Over on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:21 pm

28 May 2013:

Najib reiterates promise to reduce car prices

KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak Tuesday reiterated the government’s promise to reduce the car prices in stages.

“As promised, car prices will be reduced in stages until 2017. Insya Allah, I will ensure that every promise is fulfilled,” he said in his latest tweet.

In its pledge for the 13th general election recently, the Barisan Nasional promised to review the National Automotive Policy to reduce the price of cars between 20% and 30% in stages, and to raise the competitiveness of the national cars if given the mandate to administer the country.

• Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:30 am

Poppycock! The man eats QUINOA, not RICE. And he waves kangkung at your face and saying its cheap! Would people still thinking of putting their trust on him?? Give it some thought, people!

• Horizon Sailor on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:43 pm

All politician BN/Pakatan cakap only…Kencing kuat..they come to us…asking our vote…use dirty tactics…scandal here…scandal there…after we vote for them..later they ditch us for the next 5 years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 20
    • drillero on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:01 pm

Gong, dont be stuck in the typical Malaysian & MAS mindset. Using your logic & analogy, AirAsia forever will never make any profits since they charge lowest rate possible? Where is MAS & AirAsia now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Give fuel subsidy on May 11, 2018 at 10:41 am

In cash to the targeted group monthly or yearly basis. These will prevent abuse by all parties.

• Sick&tired on Mar 09, 2018 at 2:57 pm

We seriously need to change our government. BN has been in power for way too long. Countries like south Korea which used to be equal to us, are now way ahead of us. In fact Thailand has also suppressed us. Mark my words, soon Indonesia will be ahead of us. The people there had the guts to vote for change.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 76
    • Anonymous on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 273
      • Smnco on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Car prices reduced by 30% as promised….
        Ehh wrong side…Ooopss

• sick&tired on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:00 pm

yeah, i meant surpassed.

Our Ringgit has been one of the worst performing currency in South East Asia for the past couple of years. In fact the Thai Baht is now higher compared to the Ringgit! I still remember clearly when our money was higher than the thai baht and USD used to be only 2.5! Those were the good old days! We should be questioning why this has happened, but instead, we let religion and politics cloud our judgement. If we were to solely pick a government based on performance, it would be the end of BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 33
        • be the end. it rhymes.

• If we were to solely pick a government based of performance, it wun be PH either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • kzm (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:20 pm

last year RM is one of the best performing Asian currency..fyi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • DonkeyKong on Mar 10, 2018 at 2:17 am

Ringgit will never go back to the level that it once was as long as it’s not an internationally traded currency that is open to short-term hedging and speculation. This has nothing to do with government, even if you change government without removing these safety mechanisms that reduce the speculative appetite for the ringgit, our currency will not improve much compared to where it is now. Learn a bit of real economics instead of believing political propaganda hook, line and sinker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Giussepe Lee on Mar 10, 2018 at 3:28 am

The good old days was when Mahathir pegged the ringgit to 3.8 for years and then lost guts when to unpegged it….and if the RM is 2.5 today…our exporters all belly up bcos cannot compete with vietnam n indonesia…LOL

• Tong Poh Wah on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:04 pm

ha ha ha ha….Malaysia 2nd higher economy after Singapore

• old dog on Mar 10, 2018 at 9:45 am

you live under the well..

• Gomorrah on Mar 12, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Actually, your words are empty. Singapore is governed by what used to be the MALAYAN opposition. Learn your history before bashing others. And the Singaporeans are also looking for change if you study their voting tendencies in the last 2 elections. No political party/coalition should be in power for that long. In any case after so long, the incumbent government is only now offering this, that and the other to various parties, Sabah and Sarawak, all because they can feel a real threat to their hold on power. Is that really the way a government should function? Give goodies only out of fear and not out of duty to the electorate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Kuntak on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:00 pm

“suppressed “??? I think wanted to say “surpassed”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Wilson on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:26 pm

U BN supporter need to wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • Freddy Santai on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:42 pm

https://paultan.org/2011/12/27/indonesia-set-to-be-no-1-automotive-market-in-asean/

Indonesia No1 in ASEAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • Set to be is different then already No.1.

• Giussepe Lee on Mar 10, 2018 at 2:53 am

Yes they can be the number one auto market…its bcos of their huge population…thats when we talk about market

• Giussepe Lee on Mar 10, 2018 at 3:16 am

Yes…they can be no 1auto market in asean if they can energize their economy…thats bcos of huge population…population is the factor in this case if we talk abt market…look at china…so if we cannot be no 1 auto market just accept the reality bcos our population is small…is singapore ever be no 1 auto market in asean…never…so thats explain abt it

• Sukarrnan Hassan on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:52 pm

well known fact thailand and indonesia has surpassed us. fake news that we are 3rd wealthiest country.

You saying South Korea is poorer than Malaysia?? Get real!

• OME (Oh my english)

• Omar Merican on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:05 pm

spot on. Malaysia was supposed to be the Detroit of Asia. But because of cronyism and corruption, car companies in the 80s and 90s moved to Thailand.

We have lost hundreds of billions USD in investments. That is TRILLIONS. We lost all to Thailand. We also lost about 500,000 jobs. All went to Thailand.

30 years ago, Thailand was nothing. Now, it is the Detroit of Asia.

• Giussepe Lee on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Blame it on mahathir…he decided the automotive policy back then

• My in No.3 after Sg n Brunei. This have been table in Dewan Rakyat by KPDNKK. If not true, why PR not make any sound about it in the Dewan. They also silence when KPDNKK told that out goods price are cheaper then other ASEAN. Meanwhile those Country u mention have higher GST then My.

• lilytan on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Dont be silly. Where u gonna get the money later on? Rather than abolish GST better just cut it down to 2% or increase 0% items.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 23
    • You have a point there but PH also has many excellent economists. Our govt has ample of revenues not only from GST, can excise tax and petrol tax. Its just how it utilises the allocation. Remember, the lembu project was given 250 mil and after almost 10 years we see nothing. Except for several condos and a merc CLS. And many more cars unknown to us.

• Huehue on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Before gst introduced, where do you think the gov get money from?..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 26
      • Double Taxation Is Haram on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:25 pm

The car GST is already taxed on top of excise duty which is basically a double taxation.

Then factored again on the car loan bank interest which is triple taxation!

This is Haram! Change ubah new government!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • SST. U don’t know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Huahua on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:04 pm

Sales and services tax (SST). Which the rate is higher than GST.

Read more and complaint less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Ta da on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:28 pm

Sales tax

• Kah kah on Mar 10, 2018 at 1:17 pm

This fella…funny la…mustve been the class clown

• Targeted fuel subsidy. How do they target and how to make sure only those who deserves it gets it and not abuse? No subsidy program have ever managed that. So why benefit those who dun deserve it esp foreigners?

The article conveniently omitted that they will bring back SST to replace GST. That means 10%+6% vs 6% standard rate. Gud luck trying to justify that.

Also they will create Protiga as replacement for the loss of P1.

About tolls, din they propose new tolled hiways?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1670 Thumb down 224
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:49 pm

The report merely outlined the pledges and promises being made, and stated very clearly quite a few times across the article that anything – and everything – becoming cheaper is subject to the proviso that there will be no return or reimposing of sales (and service) taxes that were imposed before GST came into play (which would be a bit far fetched, given that there’s a fair bit of money involved). There’s no crystal ball, so we can’t tell what will happen or whether there will be a return to SST in place of GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 173
        • Sukarrnan Hassan on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:49 pm

no such thing. No need links as there is no such thing

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:40 pm

You’re right, I missed that mention of the SST initially. Story has been updated accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 139
          • Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:07 pm

No one can tell what a potential change in the service rate may be, if it even comes to that. What I do know is that the service tax prior to GST was 6% for automotive-related services. I am sure of this because we cross-checked it while doing our GST story in 2015, and I still have vehicle service receipts pre-April 2015 that state 6% on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • BTW Anthony. Anything can be done on the like/dislike system? It makes discussions unmanageable. Thx.

• Might be my mistake, but I too have service receipts pre-date 2015 with 10% service charge added on top. I believe this is optional and some places have but others dun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
          • Lim Kwan Sek on Mar 10, 2018 at 9:10 am

Paul Tan better have username system. Too many people doing fake likes and abusing your system

• Petrol Kuota on Mar 10, 2018 at 6:39 am

The targeted fuel subsidy quota based on Mykad has been proposed in 2014 but govt not implemented.

If Pakatan copy similar idea it’s interesting to know how they gonna do it effectively.

Maybe Paultan can revisit this idea and discuss it here.

• Usage of mykad is flawed as anyone can borrow each others to fill up quota. Rich pipu or foreigners can pay Rm20 for Rm50 quota fuel. So how does it help gov to help the pipu? BR1M otoh….

• Gomorrah on Mar 12, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Wow the MyKad doesn’t have biometric information recorded on it ah? Come on la, all they have to do is interface the JPJ network and the JPN network and they can target the subsidy purely to whichever qualifying driver is driving their legally owned and registered vehicle.

• drilleros on Mar 10, 2018 at 12:45 am

Nhoj, Read between the lines. GST is lower at 6%???
      GST is wide based & multiple layer taxation (6%+6%+6%+6%+6%….) whilst SST is direct taxation @ 12% flat and restricted items only.

Between limited & direct taxation vs multi variate and multi stage taxation, which one will be more cheaper to majority Malaysian?

Before GST era, do you pay SST for Teh Tarik @ Mamak?
      Think again & think harder John Doe
      Now, is your life better after pay more tax?

• Haklia on May 11, 2018 at 8:53 am

Yes, before gst era we do pay sst for teh tarik. But it won’t be stated on your receipt. Unlike sst, gst is more transparent because we can see how much we pay to the gov. It needs to be transparent because it’s claimable.

• I’m no fan of Najib, but this Mahathir-led PH is Barisan Nasional 2.0

There is no public consultation, like a roadshow, asking for feedback on what their aspirations would be. They just cooked this up behind closed doors assuming the people would accept this wholeheartedly. They don’t listen to the people. They’re BN all over again.

To talk about flaws in their manifesto is just not enough. The holes are as many as in the fishing net.

Targeted subsidy? You think the 2 millions taxpayers who are already footing the bills for the other 10 millions non-tax paying workers don’t deserve anything at all for their contributions?

Too many flaws. But my point is they don’t consult the people, and with Mahathir at the helm, we’re back to square one.

Cyber troopers please stay away.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 19
    • “You think the 2 millions taxpayers who are already footing the bills for the other 10 millions non-tax paying workers don’t deserve anything at all for their contributions?”

Thats what GST aims to correct, but some wants to revert back to old system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 152
      • Sukarrnan Hassan on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:47 pm

It has always been the case. See the few tax payers support the majority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • Gunalan on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Those AP lords & Pr1ma cronies..Kakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Correct. And thats the problem with the old system. The few pays for the many and then grumble about it. But the current gov has done something about it, and bring a more equitable and fair system thats used in 160 and counting countries including down south.

• Hahaha!

• You may be right. But remember there’s significant of people went voting because they didn’t want Najib that’s all. We shall see what happens in the next 5 years

• Fanta Grape on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Dear Anthony,

If you can access to custom documents, you will witness that there are 2 GST figures apply. Kindly ask your friendly car salesmen to help, I understand its a bit difficult because most cars are registered online. Except for foreign brands, still registers manually at JPJ counter. The custom papers will be attached normally as well
    The yellow one, look at the back. Then you will find 2 separate GST figures, instead of 1 sales tax of 10%. The game is on us. Tq BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • Kuntak on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:59 pm

I don’t think the price will fall with the abolishment of GST. Like before, oil price came up, goods prices also went up. Oil price went down, goods price remain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Maroh maroh bayar laa on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:48 pm

True. Any side that win GE14 should target those who increase their price in view of increasing oil price. Make sure they reduce the price once the oil price drop. They (seller) want to use oil price as excuses to increase the price, so be sure to change the price everytime the oil price change. Not only when the oil price goes up

• Giussepe Lee on Mar 10, 2018 at 3:48 am

Businesses are too greedy

• Obamama on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:27 pm

We all should give Pakatan Harapan a chance. No corruption no 1MDB, money will be spend wisely.

No politic party shld be given the power to rules eternally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
    • tomok on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Kudos to MACC & KLCC.

• No 1MDB corruption no doubt, instead u will have RM305Mil missing tunnel study report and Ijok land corruptions.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 10, 2018 at 2:20 am

LOL no corruption with Pakatan!! This sentence wins the day. Is it April 1st already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • ChickenWing on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:41 pm

GST doesnt need to abolish. Also who rule the country doesn’t matter as long as they can fulfill their promises to help rakyat and upscale the economy of the country. Use the GST income wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Ben Yap on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:43 pm

if my work performance in my company is the same as the government, i will be fired long time ago.

• GST can be fund for infrastructure but GST is funded for corruption that is a big issue. If GST is implemented, we no need to have toll fare anymore because GST can cover the cost of damage. What im worry is that rather Malaysian had the opportunity in the future. If GST is to build up our security, our safety, our future health and education, i don’t even bother to have GST. GST is useful if the government create better future but GST is just for corruption, we are in the death end.

• Ahmadjr on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:01 pm

Pakatan pun nak bagi gula2. Kalau gst dihapuskan belum tentu harga akan turun, subsidi minyak pula sangat bahaya untuk negara yang banyak hutang luar. Lebih baik fokus kepada 1) pendidikan sama rata. Gunakan sistem macam germany. Pendidikan disubsidikan secara menyeluruh supaya takde orang yang tertinggal. Penyelidikan perlu ditambah dana supaya boleh dikomersialkan dan skill kemahiran kena diberi keutamaan. Sistem meritokrasi digunakan. 2) pecahkan monopoli. Beras, bahan binaan seperti simen dan pasir, internet dan balak perlu dipecahkan monopoli yang dah macam kartel supaya harga lebih kompetitif.

• Pakatan should waive the ridiculous import duty, ap, beside gst. Then we’ll talk about the ballot box. Of course, excise duty, not forgetting. Rakyat is paying this excess cost to the banks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
  • Smartboy on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:21 pm

I dont mind keeping the GST…but give back some of important subsidies such as petrol. Middle class are the one affected the most. We pay tax PCSB monthly..we contributed the most to government…but what did we get in return ? Car still expensive. Petrol more expensive due to no subsidy, cost everywhere increased significantly due to GST effect and petrol hime and we dont qualify for BR1M…if i earn rm5000 back in 2005 i feel more than enough but what rm5000 can do now if i live in Lembah Kelang or nearby cities ? This is where BN fails…talking about high earning nation but how many really enjoy the living when everything went up and feels like benefits as Malaysian and tax payer gradually shrinking.

We need to try new party…we used the same for last over 50years…why wouldnt we not willing to even try and give chance for new one. Be smart guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Becoz the new ones have proven to be worse when gip a bit of power?

• Shahrulnizam on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:18 pm

This so true. But changing new party don’t really give much different. All are from one root. Un satisfied ex umno member. Having same mould

• Lastime in 2005, we had no IPhone, no android smartphone, people mainly use Proton/Perodua cars, development charge by state government was so low that the cost of new housing development was low as well, which in turn contribute to lower cost of LIFESTYLE. Nowadays, cost of LIVING is slightly higher than before, but cost of LIFESTYLE is has increased so much.

• Excise duty kena potong mana?
    Gst want to remain or reduce to 3% enough la
    People want cheaper car la!!!

• Keep on dreaming on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:12 pm

PH thinks businesses will declare their sales honestly if they reintroduce SST? Now lots of businesses butt hurt coz difficult for them to run from taxes. What is PH plan to plug these leakages from these unscrupulous businessman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Get them donate to party instead. Huhuhu

• DonkeyKong on Mar 10, 2018 at 2:23 am

Those big businesses that are hurting from being unable to cook their books ended up becoming Pakatan cronies.. if you’ve done business with such companies you’ll know.. they are bitching non-stop about it being harder to evade tax with GST system..

• Sean loo on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Agree on reduce GST and transparent all the Gov procedure and agenda. BN is overwhelm lord land for 50+ years poor Malaysian is losing behind after all. Is time for MALAYSIA awake from adverse nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • kelpa32 on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:17 pm

Abolish all taxes for all private car below 1.8 litre, just tax a GST/SST on top of sales price.

• Chock on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:42 pm

I think cheaper car is ok, but make the cost of using the car more expensive. That is how it is in all other countries where cars are cheap. So people do own cars but use less often on the road, so there is less jam.

• KAN SING on Mar 10, 2018 at 8:31 am

In 2010 when Datuk Seri Maglin dcruz was a deputy minister in the information ministry, he bulldoze thru te pengarahs and got work done..ForAll your infos..he was the man who mooted the red IC problem faced by Indians and others reap the fruits..He would have done more if he was a full minister..Malaysian need this kind of ministers..I know bcoz i was there.

• Again with fuel subsidy and maintain the high price cars. No thank you then i would prefer the current one stay on.

• Kevin on Mar 10, 2018 at 12:32 pm

PH should use United Kingdom as guideline. No need to implement fuel subsidies. PH should implement some new rule such as
    1. Lower import tax for all range of car and remove AP for import car
    2. Fuel price should remain fluctuation
    3. Once car price reduce, insurance shall increase (this will improve driving attitude and reduce accident)

For my own opinion, if car price bring down like rm40k for a Toyota Camry/Honda Accord, we can have 40000liter of fuel to burn even the fuel price is rm4/Liter

• Rooney on Mar 10, 2018 at 7:51 pm

If follow UK, then you must add congestion charge at RM11.50/day for every car that drives into KL. Then all older cars and diesel cars must be taxed heavily too. They do this because cars are highly accessible because they’re cheap and now they cannot solve their congestion problems. That’s also the reason why we get those recond cars with UK spec. It’s because they need to get rid of their cars which depreciate in value quicker.

No single system in the world is perfect.

• U forgot to mention UK GST/VAT n income tax. Need to follow them too.

• John Tan on May 11, 2018 at 10:45 am

What you say? Who’s the opposition????

• Suhaimi Nawir on May 11, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Will the government review the agreement made on the collaboration between Proton & Geeky!!!??? … or will Proton return to mummy to be milked again!!!???

• Michael Sen on May 11, 2018 at 7:11 pm

For CBU car like Lexus, if SST 10% re-imposed after GST gone, would selling price increases or decrease?

• KUAN MIE CHARN on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:35 pm

HI,TUN MAHATHIR N THE MINISTERS IN THE PH GOVERNMENT, I WOULD LIKE TO HIGHLIGHT THIS ISSUES OF GST! THE GOV TOLD US, THE CITIZEN OF MALAYSIA THT THEY HV ABOLISHED THE GST SINCE THE 1ST OF JUNE, I EXPECTED THE PRICE TO HV DECREASE NOW THT THERE IS NO GST! BUT IN REALITY, THE OPPOSITE IS HAPPENING! THE PRICES OF GOODS, INSTEAD OF DECREASING, IT IS INCREASING ESPECIALLY IN OUR AREA’S COFFEE SHOPS, HOW COME? I DONT UNDERSTAND IT! CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN TO US WHY IS IT HAPPENING THT WAY PLS? THANKS! GOD BLEES U!