MyLesen relaunch to get riders licensed – RM299 B2

malaysian-driving-license-001

The MyLesen programme, which is initiated by the Road Transport Department (JPJ), will be relaunched to help unlicensed motorcyclists ride legally at a lower price, The Star reports.

The daily quoted Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who was speaking to reporters after presenting awards to driving institutions which obtained a five-star rating, saying that the effort was made to ensure all motorists possess a valid licence.

From this Wednesday, the public will only have to pay RM299 for a B2 class licence to ride a motorcycle under 250cc, instead of the usual RM350, the report added. Liow also urged those 40 years old and above to get a license under the Satu Komuniti Satu Lesen programme.

Actually, there’s no new deal or lower price here – the RM299 rate is unchanged from MyLesen’s 2015 price, and the “relaunch” of the programme could mean renewed and extra effort in promoting the scheme. It was reported in October 2015 that the response to the scheme has not been up to JPJ’s expectations.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I have a question. If I want a full B license do I have to take B2 first or can I straight away take full B?

• The lone unlicensed rider on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:47 am

Im above 40 with only car driver’s license. Im interested to apply for b2 to commute to lrt station. How to apply? Just go to bearest jpj and fillup rhe form or need to sit down for theoretical and practical exams? Pls enlighten me

• Wiwiwiwiw on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:59 am

I have a car driving license and previously this offer is for those who does not have a road license at all. I have to pay full fare at RM600 to get a motorcycle license.

Does this applies to those who does have a car driving license but does not have a motorcycle license?

• Black Dog on Apr 04, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Charges still too high. Students and retirees cannot afford.

Lower to Rm9.90 lah!

• Shut up and drive on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:24 pm

No money to pay license but got money to buy motorcycle?

• Student get bikes from FAMA, retirees get bikes from working kids …

• Duit kopi on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Not up to jpj expectation.of coz la..i go ask driving school many times many places non of them give 299..if got pn with so many excuses..so many syarat nonsense..lastly jadi 700 ke seribu for b2 only..wtfxxx la..please monitor driving school..wait..how to monitor ma..got duit2 kopi..

• Saitam on Apr 05, 2016 at 8:47 am

There is no such thing as RM299.
    Go ask the driving school and see how is quoted.

This goes to show the ministry has no idea on the issues on the ground.

• Hazrin on May 03, 2016 at 9:49 am

How about D?

• David Neon on Apr 10, 2017 at 7:51 am

Type your comment here..I’m 56 yrs old.Are there any charges beside RM299 for B2. what are 1Komuniti 1 Program meam

• MD:Nazmul Huda on Aug 04, 2019 at 12:53 pm