Gov’t is temporarily delaying increasing fuel prices

Despite global crude oil prices being on an upward trend lately, the Malaysian caretaker government is delaying revising fuel prices in the country, Berita Harian reports. Over the past few weeks, fuel prices in the country have remained unchanged, with RON 95 remaining at RM2.20 per litre, RON 97 at RM2.47 per litre and Euro 2M diesel at RM2.18 per litre.

According to caretaker second finance minister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani, the decision to keep fuel prices unchanged was done by caretaker prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak. The decision was made after taking into consideration the impact a hike in fuel prices will have on the rakyat, specifically those in the lower income group.

“Because the government still doesn’t have a formula to solve this matter (consolidation of global crude oil prices), the prime minister has asked to delay the increase of fuel prices for now. Therefore, I would like to tell that public that the decision was done by the prime minister to benefit the rakyat.” said Johari.

He also commented on the actions of some who attempted to spread (incriminating) news relating to fuel prices remaining unchanged by associating it with the caretaker government’s control over the matter.

“There’s no need to complain; why would you when good things are given to us, try not to politicise things like these for the betterment of the rakyat,” said Johari.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• smart on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:16 am

so govt has control ………….. previously govt said they don’t have control over the price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 396 Thumb down 7
    • bukan on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:39 am

they only control when it benefiting them only… not for the benefit of rakyat…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 315 Thumb down 7
      • T-Puu on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:00 am

Its called Manipulation for popularity

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 221 Thumb down 5
        • Hum Kar Chan on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:21 am

They even believe their own lies… Such arrogance they have grown into … We have ourselves to blame to have fed and groomed them into monsters

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 182 Thumb down 6
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 174
          • John Padam on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Paultan, the BH news link is dead cannot access anymore.

Apa ini? Fake news kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Paul Tan on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:56 pm

You may access a cached version here.

https://paul.my/2HV84A8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 172
      • ali Flda on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:04 am

Kasi senang2 dulu Manyak susah kemudian. Sekian

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 3
    • Hilmi on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:10 am

Don’t complaint when the prices goes up soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 185
        • Hugo Andore on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:14 pm

I don’t know that you need to be a PM or has any PM experience to comment on this topic.

Macai bangang detected

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
        • YB Albert on Apr 27, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Johnnie, a Doctorate holder in REVERSE PSYCHOLOGY,specialising in lapdog kungfu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • YB Albert on Apr 27, 2018 at 3:22 pm

So, it is true,everyone smells a rat.
      So,u need rocket science…to teach u how to vote?
      Vote for your cucu and cici prosperity.
      Be very prepared….if no changes,by May 10…Rm3/litre will hit every Tom Dick and Mary…a big possibility.
      By then,your roti chanai n teh tarik goes for rm2.50 each.
      Your anak ‘s tambang bas sekolah…skyrocket 30 %.
      Every damn item related to transportation costs spiral upwards.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:26 am

saya tiada kuasa kawal harga minyak..i wonder who said this before…hmmmmm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 217 Thumb down 0

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 136
      • Tak ada logika on Apr 27, 2018 at 5:21 pm

Yang jadi isu adalah ini: A few years ago, bila naikkan harga minyak, they said it’s purely market forces.
        But now bila dah dekat dgn election, suddenly boleh pulak delay kenaikan.

Everyone knows delay kenaikan equals bayar lebih subsidi (pakai duit rakyat). Tapi bercakap seperti bayar subsidi pakai duit parti.

Adakah polisi subsidi patut diubah untuk maintain populariti?
        Adakah lepas election nanti akan ubah polisi lagi dan naikkan lebih dari sepatutnya (untuk cover balik kos subsidi)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 135
    • Banglaman on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Kerajaan tak ada formula…. Patutlah naik 5 sen, turun 1 sen. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:27 am

that was convenient

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • Erk no formula?
    Then how is the oil price been set?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 0
  • Proton oh Proton on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:40 am

unbelievable statement… gov care low income group. Joke of the year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 2
  • Eddie on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:53 am

I dare the gomen to raise the price now to RM3.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • B40M40 on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:08 am

Protek lower income group.
      https://paultan.org/2017/10/31/government-still-paying-millions-in-fuel-subsidies/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Chris on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:59 am

Finally the cat is out of the bag, quote from the above article,“Because the government still doesn’t have a formula to solve this matter (consolidation of global crude oil prices), the prime minister has asked to delay the increase of fuel prices for now.”

All the while telling rakyat, there is a formule in place. WHAT A BIG FAT LIE ALL THIS WHILE!!! Wake up my friends, who is deceiving who?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 2

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 138
    • Gomorrah on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Disingenuous. You and your masters got called out on the veracity of having a free floating system. It’s not about whether the government cares or not. It’s about whether you lot have been truthful. And clearly now you have been forced to admit that you haven’t been. Don’t waste time deflecting from the actual issue at hand. People don’t want to be lied to anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • azhar on Apr 27, 2018 at 3:18 pm

if care why delete the news..should be proud what..afraid rakyat knew that you all lied before???
      https://www.bharian.com.my/berita/nasional/2018/04/417390/kerajaan-tangguh-sementara-kenaikan-harga-minyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 136
    • pojie on Apr 27, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Sebelum ni naik sampai RM2.30 and more. Where’s the care then? Nak election baru sibuk nak tunjuk caring konon. And some people still fell for that BS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Shahril Mahmud on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:23 am

So now you’re telling the poor rakyat despite all those inteligent arguments by your minister… fuel price is actually governed by feel good factor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
  • Wah… so good ah.

I propose general election to be held every year. So the caretaker government can “delay” increase fuel price more often. Since a lot of road being resurfaced during election time, you guys can go to all over malaysia to kempen all out without harming your luxury ultra modern limo/SUV/MPV suspension system.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
  • This particular news was deleted from few major newspapers after being published yesterday. I hope Paultan keeps this article no matter what happens because it is a fact and not a fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • panjang on Apr 27, 2018 at 11:47 am

How to come out with formula when people handling the topic are not educated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Diam Diam on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:03 pm

When there’s nothing to say, better just diam diam…Or else, will just make things worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Peter F K Leong on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:21 pm

Wait until GE14 is over, then only the government will calculate with you all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Peter F K Leong on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:23 pm

Wait until the GE14 is over then the government will calculate with you all. Maybe one time up 10 sent.

• The decision was made after taking into consideration the impact a hike in fuel prices will have on the rakyat, specifically those in the lower income group.

Laughed my heart out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Gursharan Singh on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:35 pm

Agreed and thank you for not increasing the fuel prices for this month. If prices were to increase after GE14 would the perception be correct that the non increase is GE14 related?
    As rakyat gets goodies mainly prior to GE would it not be in ralkyat’s interest to hold GE annually? Also this is the time when most aspiring candidates/leaders interact with rakyat as after wind most become too busy to meet those who voted for them.

• well, this is embarassing…its embarassing to be led by all these smart people

• They think we are some kind of brainless creatures

• gundalang on Apr 27, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Article in Berita Harian convenietly disappear.

Cache is still available for viewing.
    https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:b35AsFcpjE4J:https://www.bharian.com.my/berita/nasional/2018/04/417390/kerajaan-tangguh-sementara-kenaikan-harga-minyak+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl

After 9th May, it will 100% go UP unless change happen.

• Awangku Harisyam B. Awangku Zainal on Apr 27, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Indicator, world oil price up our oil pump station go down, world oil price down oil pump station ??

• TheDean on Apr 27, 2018 at 8:44 pm

This government is so out of touch with the rakyat they truly really ought to step down. Everyone knows this is done because of the elections. To prove that they can manipulate the price also lends fear that they can increase it at will to perhaps pay off a certain debt? Oh and btw, when any government wills a certain policy, it’s by default a political matter. Doesn’t the minister know this?

• John Loh on Apr 29, 2018 at 9:27 am

This is the pure “udang di sebalik batu” example

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 113
    • Gomorrah on Apr 30, 2018 at 10:19 pm

That is the government’s job. To help everyone. Not selected elites and lie to everyone else. Get a grip. Your masters would not win in a straight fight, so nothing to crow about.

But this comment of yours has finally stripped away whatever guise/pretence you had of being a normal commenter. You are clearly paid to write this stuff on the blogs and further the UMNO agenda. The day the government stops helping the rakyat is the day it stops being the government. Never forget that the government exists to serve the rakyat. Not the other way around.