Grab detrimental to normal taxi drivers, says Tun M

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has promised to look further into e-hailing applications should Pakatan Harapan win in the upcoming 14th general election (GE14). The former prime minister, who is contesting the Langkawi parliamentary seat, said the move will help taxi drivers and those operating rental cars, Sinar Harian reports.

UPDATE: The source report erroneously said Tun M would abolish e-hailing services, but we’ve updated the story to reflect what he said more accurately, which is to study the matter further.

“The Grab problem is not just in Langkawi but all over Malaysia. Grab is detrimental to normal taxi drivers. This matter will be studied so that the taxi service will be fair to all, this will be done when we take over the government later,” he said.

Ride-sharing solutions, which have generally provided a more effective and cheaper public transportation option than regular taxis, have long been viewed by the taxi industry as a threat to its livelihood.

However, the service is also now being used as a platform for Malaysians to increase their income, with some making it their primary source of income, and so any move to change this will also impact a great number of people, not just economically – there would be much fewer mobility options as well.

Other news reports indicate that at least 50,000 registered Grab drivers would be affected if Grab and similar ride-sharing applications are curbed in any way.

Earlier this month, it was reported that as of April 6, all e-hailing drivers are now subject to the same regulations and requirements as taxi drivers. According to caretaker prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, the government was aware that taxi drivers face many obstacles and challenges.

“I am aware that the income of taxi drivers has been somewhat affected by the existence of e-hailing services in our country. The e-hailing service has a demand but we have to do something through government intervention to protect the rice bowl of the taxi drivers,” he said.

What do you think about plans to relook e-hailing services? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express concern that e-hailing services like Grab have improved transportation and provided economic opportunities, especially for retirees and ordinary drivers. Many criticize traditional taxi services for high fares, poor service, and unfair practices such as long routes and overcharging, which have driven passengers toward Grab. Some believe that banning Grab would harm consumers and the economy, while a few feel it could protect taxi drivers or serve political interests. Overall, sentiments favor regulating rather than abolishing Grab, emphasizing fair competition, service improvements, and modernization. Several comments also highlight the need for the taxi industry to reform instead of blaming e-hailing apps, with many supporting smart digital integration to benefit both drivers and passengers.

• tom tom on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:06 am

why tun..why???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 13
    • KWAP-Uber Investment Go Nothing on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:18 am

GRAB monopolized without UBER. Is no longer any promotion this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • U can always use taxis…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
        • So just use taxi. Be fair to taxi drivers. Don’t be kind to taxi-renting company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
          • Berita palsu!

Kita perlu mengkaji semula akta yang sedia ada supaya hak kedua dua pihak (GRAB&Taxi) terbela.

Tolong sebarkan supaya rakyat tahu betapa terdesaknya media Pro-BN.

Mereka tahu bahawa pemandu GRAB dan taxi menolak UMNO-BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 21
          • Red herring detected!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
        • Mikey on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Or LRT, MRT, buses, bicycle…subject to both Grab and taxis to same Car age… Look at the old Proton Sagas, Wiras, Wajas.. Still running around even though many ministers announced they’ll look into it. That’s 10 years ago, and the same taxis still on the roads.. Haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • We abolish Grab!! Oh waiii Sinar Harian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Leafable on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Come one, come all. RM800 fuel card Kad Bantuan Teksi 1Malaysia for all 67K taxi drivers..old Proton Sagas, Wiras, Wajas..

• U-Tun on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:28 am

It’s ok, you’ll never make it anyway..sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
    • Grab members only 50k, taxi gang millions millions you know la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:53 am

because Tun know many taxi driver are anti-govt since he PM yesterdecade ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 112
      • F1kree on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:44 pm

Ramai pemandu2 teksi adalah bekas-bekas tentera/polis. Mereka terpaksa bayar sewa teksi yg amat tinggi dan terpaksa menanggung semua kos sama ada cukai jalan, insurans dan juga maintenance. Rakyat didahulukan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Fauziah hanim abbas on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:01 pm

Kdg sikap drebar taxi sendiri..memilih tpt..dah lah kdg suasana dlm taxi kotor dn berbau busuk..kita ni kdg tahan napas kalu buleh nk simpan hidong dlm poket..sengaja cari jln yg jauh agar meter tu laju jer naiknyer..maaf kpd pemandu2 teksi tapi ini adalah fakta bukan fitnah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
          • Pelancong on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Saya setuju dengan pendapat tuan… Teksi selalu buat mcm tu.. Sengaja pusing jauh untuk dapat lebih kilometer.. Dia org ni tak seperti uber dan grab.. Uber dan grab ada istimate berapa kos.. Tak mcm teksi. Walaupun ada meter.. Jarak sebenar 5km boleh jadi 25km….

• Pak Udak on May 01, 2018 at 7:17 am

Ya betul. Kurang kesedaran sivik & kurang peka akan keperluan kebersihan. Sering mengambil kesempatan utk memperoleh pendapatan yang melebihi pada harga yang sepatutnya dibayar oleh pengguna dengan memanjangkan jarak perjalanan.

• Masalah pemandu teksi adalah sebab mereka terpaksa menyewa permit dan kereta dari syarikat . Purata sewa adalah rm80 sehari. Bawak sampai mati pun itu permit dan kereta kepunyaan syarikat. Macamana mereka nak untung selepas tolak minyak dan kos penyenggaraan ? Dan persoalannya ialah siapa tuan punya syarikat teksi itu? Mereka beli dengan harga murah. Sewa rm80/ sehari. Cuba kira berapa mereka untung.insuran beli 3rd party. Pemandu tanggung semua kos.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:09 pm

u like it or not it is true..try ride taxi n then talk politic. Since my uni days taxi drivers like that.

kunta2..not tired keep refresh to thumb down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
  • GRAB has billions USD in market value and they want to abolish it. Does Pakatan have trillions USD hidden somewhere to fulfill all their promises kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
    • Vignesh on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Fakenews. Sinar Harian & Pro media want to abolish Grab themself Hahhahahhaah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Drexter on Apr 30, 2018 at 10:57 pm

I have been Paultan fan for ~20 years. Never do I doubt their news until today. I had so much thrust in PaulTan and today they just copy the headline from other source into their own article.

First thing i though of is what is Dr Mahathir thinking of such move? To get taxi vote? He is not on the internet thing, he is outdated for such move as there are so much Grab team and user. Then the more I google, then I found its PaulTan that is misleading reader about Mahathir’s statement.

PaulTan editor, it would be good if you can study the authentication of the news before posting. thanks.

• Sputjam on Apr 30, 2018 at 8:20 pm

Grab not listed so dunno what its actual value is. Last i heard its still losing money.

• cakap cakap on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:09 am

Whatever goes… as long as this politician think they can get some votes, they wil talk….. but they might also lose some, dangerous. Fikir betul betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • What about Proton? If Grab is detrimental to normal taxi drivers, is Proton detrimental to our automotive industries?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
    • Habis Cerita on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Proton sold.

• Everybody holding their purchase this year to get Boyue. All waiting with bated breath. According to john…Lmao.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:12 am

That is the reason why I said both sides are plain useless. A vote to either side is a vote to drain. I really hope the good guys in either side will come up sooner rather than later. So that there is hope for our beloved country. Very sad to see our country having all the good infrastructures, natural resources, no major natural disaster, solid laws etc. but the people are.. Sigh.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • erwinkarim on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Very sad indeed. Mainstream media & Sinar Harian must be taken to task for false news reporting.

Make them face the full brunt of the newly enacted Anti-Fake News Act. NOW !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Belang on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:15 am

Bad move tun.. bad move. people will rethink their choice if this is your decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • This is not the way to win Taxi votes..
    What they need is to have a new platform and education to compete with Grab, not killing Grab once and for all..

We cannot escape from technology disruption in the modern age..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Budget metered taxi on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:46 pm

I beg the differ sir. It’s Grab who kill the taxi industry at the early stage. I am the taxi driver and I knew this. First it seems Grab is helping taxi drivers for secured job and steady income. When they have gathered enough info they started grab car with cheaper fare based on the information provided by the taxi driver. Supposed grab provide higher fare due the fact most of the car paying half of the taxi monthly installment but they are charging less. In fact one of the grab staff admit that the reason to do this is to wipe out the taxi services thought ASEAN. Even after the caretaker PM told that Grab now supposed to adhere the same ruling as taxi did you see Grab car que at the Puspakom. Even I admit Tun idea seems good but it’s unachievable because of the demands is still there. Furthermore this e hailing system cannot be write off overnight but either the current administration or PH should look into the idea to have it ” playing at the same level of field” practically and genuinely rather than just rethoric statement from some policy maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • Goin Mad on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Well, at least Grab does not say NO and speed off when they don’t like the destination. I’m and expat in this country, and can’t tell how many times I was stranded because either a Taxi I hailed didn’t want to drive from Museum Negara to TTDI, or refused to start the meter. On the other hand, e-hail Grab don’t haggle and refuse to start the meter. People in the new millennium are looking for convenience, not the headache of taxi drivers taking advantage of others. Additionally, taxi costs higher than grabCar. It is either that Taxi drivers are educated and controlled, or they get abolished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
        • Mikey on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Subang Airport to Kelana Jaya, near Paradigm Mall. RM 25??! Puuui..

• Pak Udak on May 01, 2018 at 7:30 am

Well said. True enough. The truth nothing but the truth. So now the taxi operators just realised that the sky is actually high.This doesnt only happen to expat but to locals too.

• Taxi charges are too high. Even when stopping at traffic light, the meter is still running..in the end, the fee is like double what Grab charge. Nobody like using taxi anymore. A lot has to change if you want to compete with Grab. Better yet just change and become Grab driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • In my opinion, the taxi driver needs to change and stop blaming grab or the government. It not about the taxi driver cannot make money. Its about the people who use the taxi service. People wants convenient but taxi driver just care about their pocket. Mentally taxi driver needs to change by letting go off their ego and start using grab apps as now grab have facilities for customer to choose taxis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • My apologies to Tun M.. it seems I was misleaded by the initial head line posted by Paultan that Tun M will terminate Grab if PH come into power… So since Paultan has changed the headline, I agree the issue of ehailing n taxi should be look into..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • They only said they will review e-hailing service. Tun didnt say abolish or anything like that. He is right, he trying to review it in oder to provide fair play for taxi drivers. We dont know what the outcome of the review probably subsidy for taxi drivers or batter platform and management for the taxi people. He is right, government need to at least review it in order to help them. In a grab user but we all have to agree that normal taxi drivers have to put higher price bexause they need to pay so many thing, taxi license, their insurance, they have thier problem that we normal citizen dont understand. Also title that PH will ABOLISH grab is misleading as tun never said that.

• Please study first before implementing this Tun! Grab is far more efficient than normal taxi. Taxi should be instead abolished and all should join e-hailing indusrty. If Tun plan to abolish grab, this might affect the GE14 outcome as grab was public centric application.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • vinnie on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:23 am

Someone very much hated by many actually owns grab through proxy.

• Yes, Mirzan owns GRAB.

• Jeffrey Ng on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Online murmurings say that the “much-loved” wife of a certain politician owns it? Yes? No? Maybe?

• Never did knew Tony Tan was married nor his alleged waifu is owner by proxy. Which news didja get it from?

• cckkpr on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:33 am

I don’t think its a wise move. You should make the taxis and grab drivers into a win win situation. Killing one group to benefit another group is not the solution. We cannot stop technology but have to harness them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Halt the mrt services also in order to push the sales of the reborn proton 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • mycar on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:37 am

grab will be abolished and replace with mycar.

• Lee Chee Kian on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:38 am

This can be an option too if the taxi can offer cheaper rate compared to Grab.

• Ehailing is the way to go. I doubt anyone can change that. Taxi drivers must reform and upgrade themselves to follow the trend.

• Mikey on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:26 pm

Most of the drivers old liao, dowan to learn but can access news, fb, xxx sites…

• Kruzer on Apr 30, 2018 at 11:52 am

Many taxi drivers are also using Grab app for more business. I took one before. There is no problem. Business is about survival of the best

• jinggo on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Grab first.. next Proton.. later ISA.

• Back to dinosour era..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Chris on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Dear Tun,
    I know that all this is about getting the taxi drivers votes. Please look at it this way, sacrificing 50K Grab drivers….not only drivers but their loyal customers who could be your potential voters. Is it worth the sacrifice?

When are the taxi drivers going to learn to be more adaptive, more courteous, more polite, use the meter, stop cherry picking customers and work time and so forth. If these issues can be addressed, probably both customers and taxi drivers will be happy. Thus making Grab to be more competitive.

I know you want badly for the country to be better for Malaysians and all the people that we love who come to this country for all their reasons. What is the price we are going to pay and is it worth it?

For the betterment of our country especially our transportation system, please rethink. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Daniel on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Please do a thorough research before implement this decision. Grab has been a need for our modern society and convenient.

• Tun never say will abolish, he mentioned will be studied, it just like what Najib telling the voters, pls don’t interpret it wrongly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Studymaut on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:52 pm

You’re right. He said he’ll study on the abolishment of gst and tolls within 100 days. Also will study on free tertiary education. The best part is will study whether to retire after 2 years or not.

• Maybe we can go back to give ap taxi again

• C.P. MOHAN on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:51 pm

Relook, review whatever, will support if in the end makes the decision that ‘customers are king’ including e-hailing service and concept so that we are in the 21st Century.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 30, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Tun, I have to disagree with you on this. Siding with taxis is like your policies of yester year resulting in failure of the public transport system. The public needed Grab & Uber because of the failed taxi system. I may agree with you on other things but not this one & on the issue of Proton or another National car.

• Wandy on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:02 pm

I believe they will revoke our taxi system 1st..no more through company..permit will be given directly to the driver

• Stevie on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:56 pm

Hello, direct taxi permit already implemented many years ago. What he is trying to do is to revert to old system where only few cronies controlling the permits. Tido ke

• Zubir on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:05 pm

I believe taxi drivers are part to be blamed on why the public are more attracted to Grab ir Uber transportation.
    All this while public use to complain that most taxi drivers are choosy in accepting destinations the public want ..with lame excuse..such as traffic jam..etc .whereas Grab ..they never complain.

So…to be they deserve it..unless they improve their services or change their attitude…best service wins.

• Taxi services are bad so EHailing is a better alternative. We had enough

• Tajul Akbar Ismail on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:14 pm

again with government intervention … politicians never learn … regardless of party affiliations … to all politicians … and to all the people … let the fee market decide … please

• Randy Teh on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:19 pm

I don’t think this is a right move to protect the taxi drivers at the expense of the larger population who frequently use the Grab services which is definitely cheaper and much more economical

• No , that is very bad. The service provided by grab system is absolutely incomparable to taxi who are not able to reach the demand of the consumers. Dont abolish this service, i mean grab service. Just think the better way to help the taxi drivers so that they can serve like what grab can provide and earn like wise.

• A wandering bystander on Apr 30, 2018 at 1:34 pm

To be honest, nowhere in the article did Mahathir say he’s gonna abolish it. In another article he said he’s just gonna regulate things to make it fair. This article just made a short inaccurate conclusion as a headline as clickbait.

• Existence of e-hailing due to weaknesses of taxi itself. I have experienced before. They will charge according their mood. If at night, price will be extremely high. They already suck many people’s blood.

• Jacuzzi on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:00 pm

Dear Tun,

We love you but please refrain from such comments. Quite a lot of us depend on Grab as a God sent. The current position of Taxi drivers was brought upon themselves because of their attitude.

Taxi drivers have been rude and selective for decades and the Government did nothing to look into this matter. Even now.

Don’t believe. Check out the situation outside some International Hotels in KL. There will be a string of taxis who will pick and chose according to a negotiated price. You mean the authorities never knew this?

Government intervention will only make things go back to how it used to be. And most of us will be at the whims and fancies of Taxi drivers again.

Promote healthy competition instead. No need for protection. Taxi drivers can drive Grab if they are also willing to work hard.

• Register je masuk Grab… Tak perlu surat sokongan dari mana² parti politik utk register Grab.

• H Ooi on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:07 pm

No problems In Singapore or Thailand. Many Taxis also running on Grab or Über. Local taxis need revamp and. upgrade.

• Andrekua on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Oh man, that’s why you hate politicians. All they know are talks but in the end it’s trash because they know nuts about the after effects.

There’s so much call about levelling field to play but are you sure that’s what Grab dislikes and not what the taxis are afraid of? The taxis do not want Grab at all, that’s it. Sure you can subject Grab to vehicle inspections and I’m pretty sure their newer fleet would pass easily than those 10 years or older Protons taxis.

If you want to level the playing field, you might as well removed the ngv/toll subsidies that taxis are enjoying right now.

• Menonti on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:25 pm

I remember 25 years ago, the time when my mother was terminally ill and needed to go for her irradiation at GHKL. We had to rely on the taxis for transport on arriving by bus from Klang. Not one taxi was willing to take us to the hospital despite the fact that my mother was in terrible pain as the excuse was that the traffic is heavy and insisted double the meter rates . Finally it was a good samaritan who offered us a ride to the hospital on seeing our difficulties. Such was the attitude of taxi drivers those days that it hasn’t changed much even today. It’s because of this that services like GRAB and UBER saw the opportunity to enhance the experience for the riders. So don’t blame ride sharing apps for the nonchalant attitude of our taxi drivers.

• Ongbernard on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Grab has monopolize the market.. They only comments “No Avaliable Drivers” & the price keep going up. From Sunway 1am Tuesday it went from rm34 to rm48..

• Tengku Rock on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Who started the taxi system that we have now?permit given to companies and individual driver sort of rent the taxi from the company? And who owns the company? Who started the crony culture? Now said want to study?

• Grab Driver on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:32 pm

Abolishing Grab? For what? To gain taxi drivers votes? You should plan to improve the taxi system in Malaysia instead.

• It’s Fake News. They changed the title now. Never said the word abolish at all.

• I think grab should stay even thought pakatan wins and for taxi drivers some of them are doing grab as well

• DIVAD on Apr 30, 2018 at 2:41 pm

Seems like a step backwards, don’t you think? First banning toy guns in 2013 and now trying to do away with a consumer friendly ride share service. Does the Malaysian government even care about its people at all? I’m glad my voting application is still under “processing”. It’s either vote for a thief or vote for empty promises.

• Nurul Hafizi B. Ahmad on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:05 pm

Well…y not help all despite choose only 1 side..make all taxi became grab..but maybe..we wanna made up our application.

Ppl use grab becoz it’s cheap fare. Is our hope that everyone were equally treat.

There are some reason taxi fare is high charge..settle the reason..and ppl will enjoy the fair fare..

Just a small suggestion from small ppl.

• hyin21 on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:06 pm

would like to know, what is the status of Grab now?
    all the cars have commercial vehicle insurance?
    they charge GST? do the drivers declare income tax?
    hope the new govt get the public transport system in order.

• Alex Vostox on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:18 pm

When desperate, everything must go political. “We must blame someone for our political gain” ” Nothing is sacred nor morally correct if there’s desire to gained power.” – Sultan Mehmed of Turkey.

• Many taxi drivers have joined GRAB & maintain taxi licences. Best of both services.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:31 pm

The entire taxi system is rotten. Rot started in late 80s when individual taxi licences were taken away to be replaced by taxi companies owned by cronies. Perhaps the original idea of helping individuals to own taxis without the burden of car purchase deposit & monthly loan repayment. But end up cronies take advantage.

Today, e-hailing is like the 21st Century individual taxis, owner operated. This gives ownership & responsibility to the driver. He is not just a driver but a business owner. Granted kampung area will take time to adopt this new way of doing things but you can’t stop progress.

Sorry Tun, whole heartedly disagree with you. Just like you foresaw the need for Twin Towers, KLIA, Putrajaya, we see the need for e-hailing service as this is the future.

• Victor on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:39 pm

Dont stop Grab. Grab giving wonderful service for the nation. And also giving good income for the Uni students and also many pensioners earning axtra income. Our texies giving bad service and very ruthless.

• tkhengong on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Chill la everyone. If PH comes to power, no decisions can be made without consensus from the other partners. I believe something will come of it. Do not be hasty to criticise and run amok! BTW, Grab is now a monopoly and the fares are not very competitive anymore.

• kusochon on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:57 pm

Can stop but please make a better alternative. learn from japan Zenkoku Taxi app. Uber pun tak laku kat sana… Don’t need to look that far actually.. Indonesia Bluebird taxi pun dah cukup…

• Ben Yap on Apr 30, 2018 at 3:58 pm

with Dr M saying this, he believes that he can get more votes from taxi drivers rather than grab drivers… let’s see when those grab drivers and passengers boycott you, you will lose.

• Taxi mahal cekik.. taxi kereta lama.. driver x mesra.. bukan nak kutuk.. kenyataan.. kemungkinan besar.. grab akan diban kat malaysia nih.. pas tuh taxi monopoli balik.. and so on so on so on..

• Tong sn on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:20 pm

Scrap grab and taxi, but incorporate into taxigrab e-hailing service joining operation.

• arowana on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:26 pm

election is near.. grab as many votes as possible!

• Kamarulzaman on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:30 pm

mse Grab n Uber di laksana kan.. tiada langsung merujuk kpd Undang2 yg sedia ade.. knape pula dipertikai kan semase nk pilihraya ini..adakah perubah yg akan di bawah PH nnti mengalami kebuntuan.. kite tunggu dan lihat

• Zaidi Omar on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:40 pm

So when PH take over the government looks like many people will loose their job. DAP said will reduce government servants now Mahadir will close ehailing service. Both of them have thousands of people working there. Seven million people also will loose their BRIM payment of RM800/RM600 that the BN government promised to pay on June 18 that’s near Hari Raya Puasa. First their job than BRIM payment near Hari Raya. Wow. Very hard to swallow.

• Rajpragasam on Apr 30, 2018 at 4:45 pm

He just wants to draw taxi drivers’ votes for the Opposition Party.He also wants to use taxi drivers as his campaigners between now and Polling Day. He has no genuine good intentions for taxi drivers.

• totally unacceptable…

• If cant beat them then join them.
    What is there to regulate when hail ride actually is a better option and does not cost the govt anything but provide better service to the users. This is a no brainer seriously. If want to stop, better stop AirBnb. its operation is detrimental to the hotel industries where hotels cost 100 of millions to built not to mention licensing etc the govt cold earn from. AirBnB hosted 1.5 million guests in 2017!!! this is mad and bad for hotel owners and hotel workforce if allowed to operate without regulations. Singapore stands against AirBnB is a correct one. Jail the owners

• Klau ad yg lagi murah, ofcoz org akan pilih yg lebih murah (grab) drpd mahal (taxi)

• I think most people has lack of understanding especially the current care taker government in the statement that Tun has mention. It’s is mention as ” look further into e-hailing application” which merely means to view from different perspective in order to seek solutions to make things work between both the taxis and e-hailing services such as grab. Don’t lah go twist and turn and also add salt and pepper to blow things up to negative proportions. The current care taker government please be an actual grown ups and be a responsible human beings running it in what you say when your mouth is open. Don’t always slap your own faces by not walking the talk. Be diplomatic in your actions. Gosh. Bunch of school kids wana be politicians.

• Billy Tan on Apr 30, 2018 at 5:46 pm

First and foremost it is unfair to make that kind of statement that e-hailing platform is detrimental to taxi operators. We have to explore the reasons of the emergence of such demands besides the popular trendy side of it. The taxi drivers have themselves to be blamed. They r responsible for turning away their passengers. Look at all the ridiculous shits they have done so far!!. Consumers are not stupid!!!

• Taxis in Malaysia are the worst in SEA. They are not clean; the fares are inflated and i dont feel safe. If the opposition cannot see this simple fact, i am disappointed.

• The ruling government is the actual cause of the taxi drivers sufferings. Taxi permits been given to company which is RASUAH n BARUA BN.This can be solved by demolish of taxi companies and giving taxi permits directly to the taxi driver and Car loan is offered too. All spad and jpj and etc fee and inspection to cut down to one stop centre. This can be done both to e hailing n taxis. All prices Should be same for taxis and e hailing.car condition has to be tip top and no old cars should be used. And curb lazy ulat taxi whixh spoils other taxi driver name. Dress code, and no smoking. Revoke license if Car has smoke smell by demerit points straight to spad. With all this awareness and training and less fees ng proper procedures. We can make the taxi industry back on road good. And save name of our nation.

• Which rock did this person crawled out from? Hello dear. Taxi permits alredi is individualised. U wanna follow UTun of going brack to taxi cronyism again? Save MY from UTun.

• nardzri on Apr 30, 2018 at 7:12 pm

grab the taxi…

• Mohd Hassan Bin Ibrahim on Apr 30, 2018 at 7:36 pm

Mcm tak caya lah

• The Transporter on Apr 30, 2018 at 8:20 pm

If your thinks e-hailing give problem to country please think what taxi’s done to passenger…
    E-hailing(grab)1000 time better than taxi’s..for driver or passenger.. Do taxi willing do the same as Grabs..

• Perbetulkan perkhidmatan teksi dlm semua aspek. Apa saja yg menjadi rungutan perlu diambil kira dan diperbaiki…Grab dan Uber ni tak perlu lagi sekiranya servus teksi yg ada menyediakan perkhidmatan yg baik dan tambang munasabah serta pemandu yg beretika dan berhemah…
    Nak selesaikan semua masalah mmg susah…tp kerajaan mesti mengutamakan keselesaan pelanggan dan pada masa sama menjaga periuk nasi pemandu teksi…

• Tiger on Apr 30, 2018 at 8:43 pm

So many other matters to look at y disturb the ehailing when so many people are happy about it.

• Daniel kajindran. on Apr 30, 2018 at 8:59 pm

Why dont the taxi join the ehailing app like what spore has done n also improve yr service n bad attidude to pax. Uber n grab came as a blessing to many of us. Dont rock the boat n sink it.

• Choong on Apr 30, 2018 at 10:20 pm

Please take care all e-hailing driver’s rice bowl too.
    Many retirees do not have a 2nd income and Grab gave work opportunities to the retirees. Unlike in Singapore where the authorities gave them opportunity to work, earn a reasonable wages and be self-sufficient. Grab Drivers work very hard and the fares are low and its a new breed of hard working drivers. Thanks to Grab Malaysia.

• HOO YONG SHIANG on May 01, 2018 at 12:43 am

Yes the taxi drivers income in a way being affected by the ehailing services ( Grab ). But do the government from the very begining know that the taxi drivers are know as the pirate of the public transport and almost all the communters being charge a fare either by not following metering charges, price charge are at the taxi drivers own rate. If meter was used they will take the pasenger merry go round before droppping them at the designate place. Even till todate with the existence of ehailing co. the taxis still arrogantly charge passsenger as they wish and of course they will feel the pintch when the public conmunters stop or rather refuse to use the taxis service. Please go round and ask the public commuters and understand the hassle they had experience with the taxi ride and dont just listen to one side story of the taxi drivers.

• Charlie Chan on May 01, 2018 at 9:00 am

My son is also a grab driver due to unemployment. It is an economical means of transportation & is a boost for the tourism industry & rakyat unlike normal taxi drivers who refuses to use meter & always overcharge. E-hailing service is more secure since users have to provide some basic personal details during registration.

• Kitausahakitaberjaya on May 01, 2018 at 9:26 am

Maybe service charge imposed by ehailing provider (commision rate) is difference for taxi and grab car.

Grab charged driver 25 percent.. Which is very high.. Patut kalu dah charge tinggi tak patut letak too much syarat2 pada driver.

Cuba tengok kalu.. Grab driver dikenakan 18 percent.. Taxi driver 10 percent commision rate.. Kalu still x puas hati juga.. Emm.. Not sure lah..

Whatever it is.. Hidup kena berubah..kena berusaha.. Dari asyik protes dok tepi jalan tungu penumpang, baik guna apps and ambik penumpang.. Jgn pikir untung byk.. Dari tak buat apa2 lagi rugi banyak

• Phil chin on May 01, 2018 at 12:46 pm

Taxi driver deserve to die with their horrible service and swindling

• Reuben on May 02, 2018 at 10:50 am

E-hailing services has improved the image of the country’s public transportation tremendously. Ratings system and proper incentives to the drivers has resulted in more courteous and polite drivers. E-hailing system cuts out taxi drivers’ refusal to use the meter as well as provide accurate fares that are acceptable by riders.
    Ratings system for riders on the other hand has also brought positive impact to drivers. It encourages better behavior from riders when taking rides. Thus, it mutually benefits riders and drivers.

This healthy competition will hopefully encourage taxi drivers to improve their behavior and attitude, which in the past has brought very bad first impression to tourists and visitors to Malaysia.

In fact, there are many more ways to enhance the e-hailing services to further improve our public transportation woes and image.

• Agree. We are the boss, we choose grab over taxi due to so much benefits vs traditional taxi. Let remain both let the payer be the boss to choose the cheapest and better transport system amongst the two.

• muhammad arveen bin abdullah on May 11, 2018 at 12:13 am

Grab ialah bagus tapi had kan untuk taxi aje, kereta swasta atau grab car dihapuskan. hanya boleh gunakan grab taxi aje.dengan cara ini taxi boleh hidup. semua app ehailing tidak dibenarkan untuk kereta swasta kecuali ia adalah ehailing taxi aje.

ataupun semua kereta yang digunakan dalam ehailing wajib daftar sebagai kenderaan perniagaan
    – wajib ada lesen psv
    – wajib ada permit ( nama syarikat tetera di pintu kereta)
    – wajib ada sticker puspakom tiap 1 tahun sekali
    – wajib ada tanduk ( ehailing only)
    – membayar cukai jalan dalam katogeri kenderaan berdagaan

itu aje yang i boleh fikir terbaik bagi 2 pihak

• Alex Chang on Jun 27, 2018 at 5:55 am

Lazy comment much, i just want to use a simple maths to prove that taxi and grab operators are almost the same. Different ways when your are at customer’s choice of side. First of all do let me explain what is taxi’s rate about , let me begin with budjet taxi first* commonly known as city taxi( teksi bandar) cause they all fixed with a meter, yes a meter that always become an issues related to….if rurals taxi(kereta sewa) they are’nt have meter no issue at all.
    1. To understand budjet meter fare.
    First 1km/3minutes = RM3.25
    Next consequtive 200m/36s =RM0.25
    Midnight fare= extra of 50% x normal fare.
    Airport charge is fixed independ of time but vary from different airports.Toll charges as well.
    Other charges included Call or booking charges. Normally RM 2.

2. Ok now is come to an operation
    => Seems more of the taxis were installed with NGVs as a primary fuel burn , cost of operation will be cheaper(~30% but not at all) compared with gasoline consume. Goverment mandatory all taxis above 1.5cc in able qualified to operate.

3. Meter hold’s rate is 200m/36s either mode. Similary to drive 20km in an hour in return to be paid with RM25 if the speed to be constant during driving. If speed randomly fall below 20~0km/hr, the less distance travel the higher the accumulate distance will be get .
    Please see the maths below
    200m/36s=RM0.25
    180m/36s=RM0.25
    150m/36s=RM0.25
    This one with the human foot’s speed
    0~50m/36s=RM0.25.
    For car’s speed above 20km/hr it’s calculate with distance’s mode.
    Differences between 200m & 180m average speed is
    (200-180)m divided by 200m multiplied by RM0.25, ie RM0.025 for every accumulated 20m for normal comparision of 200m/36s at least. A 180m distance will be reduced therefor. Cost for a non NGV ~RM 0.03/200m without serious jam at minimum. Car with a higher speed without much stopping will be more efficient, 70~80km/h to finish 200m not even takes 9~11 sec and fuel cost below 3 scen.
    Now okay take for example a customer request to go from points A to B in 2km, then the driver have to return to the same point A in 4km over all.
    Calculation=> 1km/3mins=RM3.25
    Normally meter fall RM3.25 with have’nt finished 1km(900m) yet because of the starting speed is not >20km/h from starting point.
    Next consequtive 1km above speed 20km/hr deducted with 200m=rm0.25 X5 ie RM1.25. Travelling thru 2km cost ~~RM0.30.
    Now return is a empty
    From Point A to B point returned to A again totally cost ~RM0.60 followed the same route.If heavy traffic jam during back time even cost more!.
    Total earning is RM4.50.
    Nett profit after deducted fuel cost is RM3.90 only.
    Per every Km is ~RM0.975
    Is to be seem a short distance run will be more benefit however what about their taxi’s rent per hour basically?.
    Taxi rent => Basically rented from company RM50/12 hours working or more
    which is mean they have to pay a basic RM4.10 per hour to wait customer .
    Do every one of customer noticed of this?.
    If an hour gone but come with a 4km job is they still able to survive?. Since many of them are elderly taxi driver who willing paid their precious time and a heavy cost to wait you for a single trip journey? and many other fact that i can’t list it one by one..depend on you who are the reader here!.

• Alex Chang on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:03 am

Tun
    Now let me ask you again do you respect those elderly fulltime or profesional taxis drive like what im respecting on you. See your age now do you willing to work for the community if not because of indesprerated situation?.

• Alex Chang on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:17 am

Choosing the cheaper one is everyone need and solution for bitter. When there are the taxis lines up in Q why those customers want to choose budjet taxi rather than blue or grey cabs?. This question will be same as customers asking why we(taxi driver) want to choose customer ?.ie want to get know where they else prefer to go to in the first place fisrt.

• Alex Chang on Jun 27, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Facts talk
    1. For those who want to complain why taxis driver want to take longer route when there’s a traffic jam situation.
    As what mentioned earlier in previous section, meter fare didn’t increase up any where if you cacth in traffic jam.
    RM2 extra from the first km run
    *RM3.25 is at a infinity if running distance more longer.
    Illutration below:
    (RM2 at infinity) + consequtive km to infinity Kms.
    Rm2 will be seem as ‘cover up’ for short distance run but when consequtive kms at infinity thereafter will cause the rm2 reached almost zero ‘cover up’ and neglected.
    Okay now, when rm2 almost gone to zero, taken to be said that every km run to be cost at RM0.15 a minimun and net profit is RM1.10. From points A to B , then returned to A again with empty car, cost is RM0.30 with nett profit RM0.95 for the distance ABA of 2 km overall.
    Now divided see that every km is to be said earn RM0.48. Isn’t that cheaper than grab?. Who want take a longer route if it’s a W&P condition?. Customer request for meter but don’t even want to know what happened. To be their priorities insurance covers need to be included in these travellings unless they don’t want can sound to us so we don’t needed to buy it, like what you get with airasia flight, flight with your own’ risk witout insurance coverage if you don’t manage to bought one.
    2. Those who drive with grab charged with 20~25% .
    For every RM200 earned by driving grab is said to be charged to RM50 at least for commision by company, is there any different compare such fee with renting a cab?. Proper cab’s rent provide kind of insurances that you need first of all, isn’t it better?.
    When grab drop surge charge during pick booking hours why no customers make noise?,and then they come for taxi help?.