ETCM says prices might go up slightly post-SST, Price Protection Scheme will also apply to Nissan models

The new Pakatan Harapan government’s promised abolishment of the 6% goods and services tax (GST) may not bring a reduction of car prices that some people are hoping for. During the launch of the new Nissan Serena S-Hybrid, Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s sales and marketing director Christopher Tan told the media that prices of Nissan vehicles might actually go up slightly if the previous 10% sales tax is reinstated.

“Almost every brand, when we migrated from sales tax to GST, their prices actually came down a little bit,” he said. “So if the situation is such that if the sales tax implemented will be exactly the same as before, there could actually be a price increase. What I can say for now is that perhaps now is the best time to buy, because if that happens you could be paying a slightly higher price in the future.”

Tan added that ETCM will have a price protection scheme, similar to what Motor Image has announced for Subaru vehicles. Under such a programme, customers who purchased their cars starting this month will get the difference refunded to them should prices go down with the move from GST to the new sales and service tax (SST), although exactly what form the refund will take has yet to be decided.

The application of the old sales tax (left) on a car, versus the current goods and services tax (GST, right)

“However, of course, if at a later time the prices of cars are higher, then people who recently bought [their cars] got a good deal,” he said, adding that he is confident that the new government has the consumer’s best interest at heart, and that there will be a “positive price situation.”

The Price Protection Scheme introduced for Subaru vehicles promises to maintain prices at current levels for vehicles purchased from now until August 18. Should prices be reduced when SST is implemented, Motor Image will refund the difference in the form of a service voucher of an equivalent amount, or adjust the price for vehicles that have been booked but have yet to be registered.

Read our in-depth article on GST and its impact on Malaysia’s automotive industry, with views from customs department director-general Datuk Subromaniam Tholasy and Malaysian Automotive Association president Datuk Aishah Ahmad.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• People sure are gonna go berserk in this comment thread

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Ini salahan ETCM not follow reality of new regime. Time for authorities to call them for “kopi chat”

• YB Albert on May 14, 2018 at 7:51 pm

The rakyat should not commit to frenzy and uncontrolled buying of cars anymore.
      After 100 days,then see what is the pricing then.
      By then,the car distributors especially premium price Queen UMW, will be giving hell of a rebate when stocks overflow at their yards.Does this make sense,or u still need a degree in rocket science?
      Let our beloved Tun fix the bigger issues like nabbing the pencuri…we the rakyat control our own debt level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 14, 2018 at 2:38 pm

Hahahahaha…

• No worries, they will still blame ini salahan previous gov. Alwiz works wan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 14, 2018 at 2:49 pm

hari hari pun naik la…when got go down one…ringgit appreciated back this year….got adjust back for us…but when ringgit depreciate…kari lembu kita

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • rightwinger on May 14, 2018 at 3:05 pm

sure drop 30% one shot liao….

• Jangan lupa sekarang dah jadi gomen. Lepas ni korang komplen lagi aku gelak je hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Duty for duties on May 14, 2018 at 3:21 pm

The government can actually adjust the excise duties on cars to bring the cost down. I think the minimum is now set at 60% for below 1500 cc. Then the prices of vehicles can be reduced 30%. But I don’t expect it to be done immediately as the duties will be used to clear off our national debt

• PitStop on May 14, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Actually, I am not surprised if the current government will reduce or even abolish the excise duties for cars. Because now Proton is no longer government-owned, they sure do not need to ‘tongkat’ them any longer.

• kzm (Member) on May 14, 2018 at 7:09 pm

Excise tax for CKD car 1.8L n below actual lower than u think

• Eyo (Member) on May 15, 2018 at 5:03 pm

I love your optimism bro. But let’s be realistic here, do you honestly believe that the current government will do away excise duty? Those are money for the government dude. Doing away GST already cost the our government billions. Not to mention free education, free tolls. According to Paultan, buying back LDP highway alone cost more than RM2b.

• John penipu on May 14, 2018 at 3:24 pm

1st day only wanna announce price hike already? Why are big corporations so greedy I dono la… so eager to pass on the information that price might be going up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • You_can_keep_your_Nissan_to_urself on May 14, 2018 at 3:42 pm

No one wants your underspecced overpriced cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • hahaha on May 14, 2018 at 3:56 pm

did they reduce the price when GST was implemented?
    or they are just taking advantage of policy changes to further increase the price?

• https://paultan.org/2015/04/01/nissan-malaysia-gst-prices/

• YB Albert on May 14, 2018 at 7:58 pm

The rakyat has only themselves to blame if they keep buying new cars to show off,when they need not.
      Alto regime change has finally arrived,remember….if u can still use your current car or get a good preowned unit,why not?
      Cars dont appreciate with time.They depreciate every day.

• lilytan on May 14, 2018 at 4:25 pm

High price for a change in gov. Have to stick with proton from now on.

• sugarhill on May 14, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Same old marketing gimmick.

“If u want, better buy now. Next year price will increase”.

Now same tektik but blame it on new tax structure. Bye nissan. Yr car sux anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on May 14, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Come Dec, they gonna throw massive discounts, their SAs gonna beg on their knees literally asking you to buy their cars.

• tokmoh. on May 14, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Increase la, even less people gonna buy your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Not their fault lor. 6%GST replace with 10%SST how to be cheaper.

• Nice try Tan Chong, still not going to buy Nissan.

• Oh no..new government can’t bring down car price even worst more expensive

• digidigi on May 14, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Many people are naive, gst abolished, cancel toll, if tax duty on car lagi potong, where they gonna fill the gap?

• Johnsmith on May 14, 2018 at 8:13 pm

A car salesman asking you to buy now. This is not news.

• I have a better scheme to reduce prices. It’s called “withhold purchase until discount kaukau scheme”

• If anyone increases the prices when GST is abolished just boycott their products..teach them a lesson like we just did in the elections

• AhmadM on May 15, 2018 at 9:42 am

Apabila saya mengatakan bahawa harga akan turun kerana GST, semua ketawakan saya. Kini anda semua lihat lah, bukti kukuh, apabila GST dimansuhkan, harga akan naik.
    Sekian.

• At the point in time, i rather the prices of cars go up slightly than have a government that mismanages our money including all those who enrich them themselves (ministers and public servants) that think this country belongs to them.

• Sorry for u that the gov u wanted wasnt voted in. Lets see next 5 years.

• What a dirty way to push sales of a new product. Threatening the people with significant price hike. People will react.. but ETCM won’t like it..

• kereta proton tak bagus on May 15, 2018 at 10:36 pm

let’s see after 3 months from now if ETCM reduce prices or not once GST is pull out.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 15, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Did anyone realize that? “Government approve selling price.” OMFG The stories are real guys.

• stastasta on May 17, 2018 at 10:05 am

means government strictly control the selling price ? no free competition ? want to sell cheaper also cannot ?

• I feel they did not reduce the price when GST was implemented?
    And now they are taking advantage of increase the price?

• KuatKincing on May 16, 2018 at 9:58 am

sudah kena kencing.. sudah kena tipu.. WTF.. Manifesto “Win election, tomorrow GST gone”.. by yet after win, still haven’t decided when and how? WTF laaaa.. wasting my time voted for u guys..

• ZERO_RATE_FOR _MACAI on May 16, 2018 at 6:20 pm

GST sudah kasi zero rate lah macai bijak pandai

• kuatkincing on May 16, 2018 at 10:30 pm

zero rate still got GST maaaa, but ZERO rate.. they can add any number in the future if they want to. PH promise to ABOLISH GST and replace it with SST.. So, when you promise to abolish, abolish la. Why spin spin..

• implementing gst last time was already troublesome. Many POS, ticketing, billing, accounting system needs to be change to facilitate this newly imposed tax. If you want to remove it totally, it will go thru the whole process once again & it will incur more cost. It’s not cheap to change the system. So, to avoid this wastage of money, time & effort, just zero rate everything for GST. zero rate = not paying gst. It still gives you the same output. don’t be so childish

• Derek on May 19, 2018 at 1:53 am

A lot of car brands in Malaysia – Toyota, Honda, Subaru, Benz, BMW) have all announced lower price due to zero GST. ETCM is clearly trying to pull a fast one or their are too disillusioned like a certain political party.

• Musalmahendot on May 19, 2018 at 10:21 am

Stupid ETCM. All cars prices down without gst, only Nissan hike. Thinking untung only. Some more all nissan model bring in for uncle. No style!
    Latio is gone. No competitor for city n vios.
    No competitor for hrv n chr.
    No competitor for wish n stream.

Go die la ETCM. Vote for new distributor.!

Nissan got so many nice cars that ETCM think not suitable for uncle. Imagine Sylphy.. all uncle faces suddenly pop up!

Can we have more distributors for one brand?