Transport ministry to introduce number plate series for individual states – SELANGOR, KEDAH, PENANG, etc.

Brace yourselves, as there will be more unique number plate series coming our way in the future. Following the introduction of the new ‘Malaysia’ number plate series, transport minister Anthony Loke said there are plans for more plate series for individual states such as Selangor, Perak, Johor, Penang and many more.

So, if you’re a long-time Selangorian and you’ve been waiting to place ‘SELANGOR 1’ on your ride, it’s only a matter of time before the Road Transport Department (JPJ) makes it a reality. As reported earlier, any buying of number plates from now onwards must go through JPJ (instead of NGOs) as it is a form of revenue for the government.

Loke didn’t reveal which state-type plate series will be offered first, but said introductions will only begin once the ‘Malaysia’ plate series was completed (results to be announced on August 23, 2018). He added that the rollout of these state plates could take place as soon as September or October. Interested parties will likely have to submit their bids online, in line with the transport ministry’s plans for an electronic bidding system to replace the current, manual-based one.

With individual states getting their own plate series, which one will you be looking forward to the most?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Murtabak on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:03 pm

NEGERI 9

• Nom-nom on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:20 pm

What about custom or vanity plates where you can put your own name instead of just bidding for numbers? I’m sure JPJ and the government will make more revenue by this.

• Tai Loke Mee on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:23 pm

This idea is VERY VERY CREATIVE! BRAVO AH LOKE.

• sile-sile on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:21 pm

sila teruskan menjilat. takde bezanya MoT lama dan dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:56 am

dulu, profits went to NGOs. today, profit goes to government. thats the difference.

• IMDB plate pls. I’ll pay 1 million for this

• Stevie on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:50 pm

They must be kidding. Now it’s getting dodgier by day

• stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:57 am

how is it getting dodgy ? the profits will go to government instead of NGO. bidding and allocation process will be made transparent.there is literally no downside to implementing this.

• Plateohplate on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Will there be Sarawak n Sabah? Kuching? Miri? Sibu? Kota Kinabalu?

• Lolz! And they continue the money making machine! All those who condemned JPJ back then, what say u? Uturn spin again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Dominic on Jun 04, 2018 at 8:05 pm

I know who will want JOHOR 1, haha

• RajaAL on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:07 am

Johor 1, selangor 1, kedah 1 etc will probably be bought by the kings lah.

• Johnny on Jun 06, 2018 at 1:15 pm

Later someone will complain the royalty gets fancy plates while the poor gets vanity plates and separation of classes is due to new MY how?

• stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:58 am

if johor royalty wants to outbid all others in a transparent manner, thats fine. previously the complains were because certain numbers were pre-reserved for certain anonymous parties

• Borneo Darul Seram on Jun 04, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Going for the longest state number plate please! “Pulau Pinang 9999” and “Negeri Sembilan 9999” lol

• Money money money money, MONEY

• Gursharan Singh on Jun 04, 2018 at 9:48 pm

Good as revenue goes to Government.YB MINISTER should now cancel somecseriws given to NGOs if still to sold and call for accounts of others forr which numbers have been or are being sold. Some were reported to have collected tens of millions of RM and these should be made public.MOT INT AUDITOR should be assigned to audit them.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 04, 2018 at 10:24 pm

Once you get tired of the vehicle it will only be sold within that particular state…nobody would want to buy Penang plate if they live in Selangor…apa kelasss

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 04, 2018 at 11:35 pm

why can’t we stick to the current format and only the current format

• azrai on Jun 05, 2018 at 7:44 am

Next in line, District no plate..BAGAN DATOK, PEKAN, KOTA BHARU etc.

• How big does the respected minister expect the plates to be? At least study how the Americans are doing it. Don’t change for the sake of it. Perhaps improve upon the current system and crack down on the customisations already illegally done. Maybe just the state flag, then at least we all can re learn our local geography! Just my opinion. Cheers

• Latukbandar on Jun 05, 2018 at 8:31 am

I wonder will it be KL or KUALA LUMPUR or the malay word WP only.

• TabungTiadaHarapan on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:11 am

All the revenue put inside tabung harapan la. 14 state’s first 10 digi alone can collect at least 14 million already, maybe even 20-30 million if you count all of them together. Duit atas angin, no actual cost, seems fair to put inside TabungHarapan.

• segaraga on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:49 am

Why is this new minister concentrating on number plates only? There are thousands of other things at MOT need to be improved. Desperate for money huh?

• Dermalah to Tabung Loki

• stastasta on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:00 am

you first day in paultan ? MOT is also concentrating on honda takata airbags, abolishing SPAD , wiping out bribery in drivers license test, and many others,

• paktam on Jun 05, 2018 at 1:54 pm

“WALAU_EH 8055”