Gov’t to halt sale of special series vehicle number plates – new e-bidding system begins January 2019

If you’ve been eyeing a fancy number plate, time is fast running out – or has run out – to purchase one, because the government has announced that it’s putting an end to the practice of coming out with special series number plates, The Star reports.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the practice of allowing certain NGOs to sell special number plates will be halted with immediate effect. He said that all plate number registrations will have to through the road transport department (JPJ).

“It is true that the minister has powers to allow this, but the practice ends now. From now on, any buying of number plates must go through JPJ, without exceptions. This is government revenue and we intend to collect all of it,” he explained.

Gov’t to halt sale of special series vehicle number plates – new e-bidding system begins January 2019

The last special plate introduced was UP, but there have been a host of special plates in recent times. These include G1G-G999G, X, XX, YY, UU, GTR, GG, SAM, K1M, T1M, A1M, US, SMS, NBOS, NAAM, VIP, G, GT, U, Y, PERFECT, PATRIOT and FB by JPJ itself.

Loke also revealed that an electronic bidding system for number plates will be introduced to replace the current one, which is being carried out manually. He said that he has instructed JPJ to prepare the system for introduction at the beginning of next year.

“At the moment you need to physically show up to bid for certain numbers at JPJ offices in certain states. We hope to roll out the online system by January 2019, which will allow more vehicle owners to bid for special number plates,” he stated, adding that the new e-bidding system will improve transparency and efficiency as well as increase revenue for the government.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 24, 2018 at 4:52 pm

about time la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Michael Ohwai on May 24, 2018 at 5:22 pm

This is better. I think this is the result of a clean Government like PH. Cause now, all the big shots cannot just ask JPJ for free number plates.

Now, there will be a proper system and proper accountability.

That is the way Pakatan. Transparency and efficiency!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Lemak Cukup on May 24, 2018 at 9:42 pm

No more bleeding the government while enriching the few

• Jimmy on May 24, 2018 at 9:55 pm

If JPJ is serious in helping the nation to pay off the one trillion, JPJ should raise the prices of hot numbers, upto the market level.
        Do some research.

• passion on May 25, 2018 at 11:38 am

All these former Govt fault & JPJ gotta cut manpower to pay off the one trillion,

• anonymous on May 24, 2018 at 4:57 pm

good move. keep on going. thumb up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • papito on May 24, 2018 at 5:29 pm

former gov style of alibaba bidding seemed more user-friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • sam123 on May 24, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Luckily bought my SAM plate. Phew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • At last, the tender money going into the right channel and for the Rakyat.

• Wujin on May 24, 2018 at 5:21 pm

Can standardise the size & alphabet of plates ar..

• Someone’s getting contract for the system. Hehehe.
    And further someone gonna have underground bid to jig the system for the “right” bidders. Hahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • lao yee on May 24, 2018 at 5:26 pm

That’s how it should be the right practice

• SpongeWai on May 24, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Hi sir,

Can you abolish MAI?!

As you can see the car manufacturer brand invest so much money to our neighbour country for R&D

• Tun M on May 24, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Good Pakatan

• rchoo on May 24, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Love it, transparency. All revenue to government. I wonder who came up with the idea of NGO collecting revenue? bloody corruption in the 1st place, reap benefit at the expense of government.

• A Concerned Malaysian. on May 24, 2018 at 6:31 pm

You know…I’m glad the corrupted system is gone and all. But now that they’ve even gotten rid of this number plate thing… How are they going to make money to pay off the debts? One trillion isn’t a small amount. No GST, and with all the subsidies the government is giving, how are we going to pay those debts? I don’t mind paying GST or taxes as long the government uses it properly…..

• azhar on May 25, 2018 at 11:04 am

SST will generate 30billion..less about 12 billion only from GST..and 17k of political govt job will be terminated..and much more thing they will do to add to govt coffers

• Mikey on May 25, 2018 at 8:33 am

Now U are paying directly to the Gomen coffers if U are bidding for the number plate. The IMFU/VIP/F1/FB numbers are farmed out to NGO(cronies)

• Stone Cave man on May 25, 2018 at 11:13 am

LOL what if those NGO heads also stashed all the monies and valuable things inside their apartment or house? LOL

• heybadigol (Member) on May 25, 2018 at 10:03 am

Just give buyer option to bid for whatever fancy number he/she wants. As long it’s not vulgar and not already taken.

• Gursharan Singh on May 25, 2018 at 4:04 pm

At last action which I have been voicing for years. Ask all past recepients to produce accounts and be audited.
    Next STOP DISCOUNTS TO TRAFFIC OFFENDERS/DELINQUINTS and COLLECT PRESCRIBED PENALTIES as acvumulated amounts are estimated to be in BILLIONS RM.