VIP number plates earn Pahang Tourism RM10.3m

The VIP number plate series to commemorate Visit Pahang Year 2017 has earned the state’s tourism board RM10.3 million. The total sum is from 1,903 numbers sold in a year, according to Bernama.

The state’s tourism and culture board chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Sharkar Shamsudin said that RM10.3 million is a rough figure before factoring in administration costs and GST.

“The project is a joint initiative with the private sector (Digital Tourism Sdn Bhd) to help the state government roll out Visit Pahang Year 2017. A big part of the overseas promotions and publicity programmes was funded by this project,” he said during the winding-up session of the state assembly in Kuantan yesterday.

Mohd Sharkar said that organising a Visit Pahang Year normally costs the state government RM20 million to RM40 million, but with smart partnerships, the tourism board managed to obtain sponsorships and donations totalling RM31.2 million. The state government views Visit Pahang Year 2017 as a success and plans to extend the campaign to 2018, with a launch scheduled for the end of the year.

There have been no shortage of fancy number plates for tender lately. We’ve seen the Y series, G series, ‘T1M‘, ‘A1M‘, ‘U’, ‘US’, ‘SMS‘, ‘RIMAU‘, ‘PERFECT’, ‘NAAM’, ‘VIP’, ‘GT’ and ‘PATRIOT’, on top of unique regular series plates such as ‘AKU‘ and ‘RR‘ and ‘DDD‘, among others.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Brimm on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Wow 1 VIP number plate series earned RM10.3 million. Imagine 10 number plate series or 100 number plate series…. MY all rich pipu!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • 12yrsold on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:38 pm

RM10.3 million is the “total” sum from 1,903 numbers sold in a year.

• Dr Sivalingham on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:20 pm

This has already become an abuse. Everyday got number selling. No more exclusive.

The more interesting is….where is all the money going to? Our hospitals still crying got no budget and medicines have been cut badly. Schools and university also seen their budget cut teruk teruk. Students don’t have anough money to do research or even upgrade the schools.

Where is all the money going to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Aku y sengal on Nov 28, 2017 at 2:35 pm

VIP – RM10 million
          Y – RM10 million
          G – RM10 million
          T1M – RM10 million
          A1M – RM10 million
          U – RM10 million
          US – RM10 million
          SMS – RM10 million
          RIMAU – RM10 million
          PERFECT – RM10 million
          NAAM – RM10 million
          GT – RM10 million
          PATRIOT – RM10 million

Nombor pendaftaran ‘RR’ RM12.2j

• 7yrsold on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Want to show the world how important you are.

Press –
        https://paultan.org/2016/06/21/vip-number-plate-series-approved-on-sale-in-2017/

• oh brimm on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:59 pm

memang ramai jenis macam ni..main komen. buat malu je, budak 12 tahun pun tahu baca.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Stefan on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:28 pm

At least now we know how much money and what are they going to do with that money. What about all the other NGO selling fancy plates? Get rich schemes ah?

• carazy on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Supply and demand, its looks like this trend is not going to fade. Malaysia has so much rich guys that willing spend alot of money on their vehicle’s IC. Running number for me..

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2017 at 12:49 pm

I can also start my own plate and people can bid for “BYAP” 1 to 9999.

I will be rich!

• Gaviny on Nov 28, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Fancy number plates for our nation, social & youth developments.

Not to make you rich.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:12 pm

lol state tourism…sure….

• 12yrsold on Nov 28, 2017 at 2:02 pm

That VIP 1 plate fits the RR to the T.

• Charge the rich, no problemo

• sohai on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Time to roll out VVIP series

• Can Penang or Selangor tourism issue their own special plate numbers too? I know Sabah and Sarawak definitely need one because look at how underdeveloped they are.