G series number plates by Lee Chong Wei Foundation – bids for single digit starts from RM250k, G1 RM500k

Another week, another special number plate series. This time it’s the G series, of which you have until September 29 to submit your bids for, with results set to be published on October 9.

The G 1 to G 9999 number plate series is one approved by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) for the Lee Chong Wei Foundation, set up by national badminton player Datuk Lee Chong Wei.

Funds raised from the sale of the plates will be for the benefit of “amongst others, sports associations and programmes which are designed to support potential and promising athletes in their endeavour to help Malaysia in its quest for the first gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics 2020,” according to Yakin Emas Sdn Bhd, the exclusive agent.

The vendor has set minimum bidding prices for various categories, depending on how “special” the number is. Minimum bids range from RM2,500 for regular numbers to RM250,000 for ‘G 2’ to ‘G 10’. The top ‘G 1’ plate will sell for a minimum of RM500,000 or whatever figure reached by a bidding war.

There has been a raft of fancy plate offerings lately. We’ve seen ‘A1M‘, ‘U’, ‘US’, ‘SMS‘, ‘RIMAU‘, ‘PERFECT’, ‘NAAM’, ‘VIP’, ‘GT’ and ‘PATRIOT’, on top of unique regular series plates such as ‘AKU‘ and ‘RR‘ and ‘DDD‘.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• We are going to run out of letters for number plates at this rate.

• apamau on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:11 am

Apa lagi JPJ mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • calldisc on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:00 pm

acutally, the money will go to Lee Chong Wei Foundation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • De great on Sep 21, 2017 at 5:48 pm

And jpj just approves it without any share??? Out of what?? Kesian ? Lol

• Rayyan on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:14 am

G 8481.

How much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:19 am

when will launch MCA and MIC plates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Melaka already has MCA plate. so too late for that

• MCA has been released few years ago. Don’t think MIC is feasible

• Gursharan Singh on Sep 21, 2017 at 4:06 pm

How about PAS UMNO DAP PERKASA BERJAYA USA EU,,,,
      LIST IS ENDLESS
      EACH NUMBER MAY BE ESTIMATED TO BE WORTH BETWEEN RM10M AND RM50M DEPENDING ON FOR WHOM.

• eVaz88 on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:20 am

Another way to earn money. Only Rich people can afford this. Rosmah Fav son.

• Gimme Ur Money on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:24 am

Money game ke ni? Tiap2 hari ade format baru… Mcm tipu jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Will it reach “GAY”?? will be excited to bid for it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • engdau on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:38 am

No ending with these funky number plates for Malaysia….
    Just to get money from Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Dr J Abraham on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:41 am

This has become a joke already. Everybody is laughing at JPJ and their every other day number tenders.

JPJ collects so much of money from the rakyat and yet, our hospitals and schools have their budget cut badly and people can’t even get medicines sometimes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Gursharan Singh on Sep 21, 2017 at 4:08 pm

Buy such numbers and then ‘gift’ them and then buy back. IS THIS ANOTHER ANOTHER FORM OF GIVING CORRUPTION?
      Malaysians have really been innovative in finding new ways of corruption while on the other side of the coin there are new SLOGANS and PROMOTIONS to combat corruption but it continues to expand.
      Like the OATHS ON HOLY BOOKS the slogans and promotions may be becoming JOKES.

• Winderweis on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:47 am

Haih..what la..later bring out the letter O, OO, OOO, pair with number 0,00,000, 0000…sell it for million..zzz..sarcastic mode..boring with all this plate number bidding

• LCW, good job mate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Another waste of money

• medic on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:34 am

as if your money is being used.. cant afford to buy means keep quiet, bro. its for a good cause, the money will be used to promote sport. when was the last time you donated something significant to promote sport?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
      • mr_em on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:55 am

all this fund raising through middlemen begs only one question? how transparent is the process?….

if the sole purpose is to promote sport or “any good cause” there are so many cheaper means to contribute money DIRECT to the person in need…

in this instance, someone (re:agent) somewhere makes probably more money than the actual end-user(s)/receiver(s)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • crazydriver on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:11 pm

as if u know it will actually go for good causes. many times, and I mean many times they end up in someones pocket. so it is not wrong to doubt, in this cartoon world of msia. perhaps we are really helping the US economy

• sick&tired on Sep 21, 2017 at 3:06 pm

you are a fool if you think the money raised is to ‘promote sport’! Ah Chong is bored of using GTR35! Time to upgrade to Ferrari!

• Along on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:11 pm

G is for light Goods lorries number plate in Singapore… Then we see massive G number plates were registered on lorries in JB…

• Ben Yap on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Since it’s a trend to start the special plates bidding frenzy, paultan can start paultan foundation to help the urban poor. Bidding for number plate can start from paultan 1-9999.

what you guys think?

• I want G6!

• The money goes to gov so what…only those with extra money will buy the number and this is 1 way of gov making money..i dont see any issues with this.their money why so butt hurt..haha

• I want G EEWHIZZ. got?

• Got SAM series?

• Ron95 euro2m user on Sep 21, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Wondering since jpj is so loaded with monies, why not hires more personnels on the roads daily? Please get rid all the overloading heavy vehicles, black smoke chocking vehicles off the roads. And also prevents all the motorcyclist beating the red lights at traffic junction. Etc.

• sick&tired on Sep 21, 2017 at 3:12 pm

i also want to start my own ‘foundation’ can ah? The purpose of my ‘foundation’ is to make millions for myself without doing any work! Sorry what I meant to say was to “promote sports’!

• Retirement fund for LCW

• Gursharan Singh on Sep 21, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Public funds for private NGOs. Another form of PIRATIZATION? What is the criteria for this source of personal control of ‘transferred’ public funds?

WHO WILL AUDIT AND WILL THE ACCOUNTS BE MADE PUBLIC FOR TRANSPARENCY AND ACCOUNTABILITY?

If this continues how will JPJ increase its revenues for public good?

• Decapod on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:14 pm

PM price

• pondan3 on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Can’t wait the letters go up til GHA 1

• @admin . no detail how to bid or LCW faoundation contact no / mail ? .. can u help ?

• Mr LU TONG YOUN on Sep 22, 2017 at 3:02 am

Im keen to bid the number G-728….How should i go about ?

• PotatoJames on Sep 23, 2017 at 9:49 pm

I want to bid G30 for my BMW 5 series even if it costs the more than to car itself <— this will happen

• eeeee

• G in Cantonese means “pig”.

• Way boon on Oct 09, 2017 at 9:42 am

G 3303. Price?

• Tony Tan on Jul 06, 2019 at 4:50 pm

G1138

• Got number 1008

• Lee hi I m sia how much spends from dato heong . You dato lee how much spendings

• Peramala on Sep 27, 2023 at 8:19 am

Is the G plate still available