‘SMS’ joins the list of special series number plates

Another special number plate series is now available for Malaysian motorists, and joins ‘RIMAU‘, ‘PERFECT’, ‘NAAM’, ‘VIP’, and ‘GT’ from 2016 and the ‘PATRIOT’ plate from 2015 on the unique plates list. Officially introduced a couple of months ago, the latest special plate is ‘SMS’, and as usual, the numbers in the series run from SMS 1 to SMS 9999.

The SMS plate is in celebration of the Sultan of Kedah’s two-term reign as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, and honours Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah via the initials of the vehicle plate series. The plate has been released by the Yayasan Sultanah Bahiyah (YSB) foundation, with the numbers being marketed by Perintis Jerai and issued via the Road Transport Department (JPJ).

The foundation says that main objective of SMS is to raise funds for its cause in helping needy citizens, especially the elderly and children. Fancy SMS-ing your car, then?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 29, 2017 at 11:42 am

in the name of charity….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • longjaafar on Jun 29, 2017 at 12:02 pm

There’s always a “marketing agent” to do this. In fact, I’m not surprised if the whole idea was mooted by the marketing agent. Of course they don’t work for free….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Now people use WhatsApp, no more SMS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Ahmadjr on Jun 29, 2017 at 12:38 pm

All the money should go back to the government. Stop pretend it’s a charity event. It makes me want to puke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • bodo piang on Jun 29, 2017 at 1:11 pm

If gomen have no money, how to run the country? Bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 63
      • If our country is transparent, we are well rich like Brunei. All 4 corners of our country has huge opportunities to grow. We have so many natural income. We have so many taxes to pay. Even you buy a car, you paid minimum 3 taxes already. Those are income. Income and charity is different thing. Be a mature man, young boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • Who cares it is charity or not, ada money you buy, takde money just shut up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
  • 12yrsold on Jun 29, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Marketed by Perintis Jerai but issued by JPJ. In short, they are telling me/us they don’t trust JPJ to do the collection or what!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6