‘RIMAU’ number plates to commemorate 2017 SEA Games released by KBS – e-bidding starts in March

Another special number plate series will soon hit the roads. After ‘PERFECT’, ‘NAAM’, ‘VIP’, and ‘GT’ from last year (and the ‘PATRIOT’ plates from 2015), Malaysians looking for unique plates will be able to bid for RIMAU 1 to RIMAU 9999.

What’s RIMAU about? Malaysia will be hosting the 2017 SEA Games for the ASEAN region this year, and RIMAU is the name of the games’ Malayan Tiger mascot. RIMAU stands for Respect, Integrity, Move, Attitude and Unity. The SEA Games commemorative number plates are being released by the Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS) via the Road Transport Department (JPJ).

According to the “RIMAU PLAT” Facebook page set up to promote the special plate series, e-bidding for numbers will open in March. Our source from JPJ has confirmed the authenticity of the RIMAU plate series, which is legit. Tiger number plates anyone?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Borneo Darul Seram on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Selangor Bukit Rimau residents may wanna get this registration plate LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:12 pm

At the same time a tribute to Harimau Malaya…which is good

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 02, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Another conjob to rip more money from the rakyat. Now these plates have no more value. It has become so common. biasa already

I wonder what happens to all the money collected? Cause hospitals and universities have their budget cut badly and yet, gomen collects so much of money from number plates, GST etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • abzaja on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:31 pm

Please explain to me how can this totally unforced buy is a conjob? You want you pay you get. But I guess you have to twist something to bash something

• RIMAU 8055 for tauke jual limau.

• kereta_lembu on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:22 pm

cha ching, sweet sound of money!

• 12yrsold on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:27 pm

You have missed out the IM4U number plates

• CHONG WAN KONG on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:52 pm

orang pakai plate ni hari hari mau..

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Pop quiz: Who are the dumbest people when it comes to these dumb number plates?

A. Gomen
    B. Rakyat
    C. Sports associations/whoever is issuing the plate
    D. JPJ
    E. The people who actually pay money to own the number plate………………………..

No hints :)

• Mikey on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:29 pm

The one who pay 4 it. As 4 the rest, take your pick & chances are U won’t go wrong.

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 02, 2017 at 5:59 pm

If people can get title car also can get want now.

• Funny how worthless creations gets gobbled up by people with too much money but too little brain hoping to get their ego stroked. This is how far the human race has advanced. Instead of real inventions that progress the world, we become preoccupied with chasing illusions like cats after laser dots making some other people rich for practically nothing.

• Got The Dough on Jul 14, 2017 at 11:55 pm

Funny how people who can’t afford could just condemn and criticise those who can simply because jelly… see if you were less busy being keyboard warrior and actually working (not out of Starbucks near your home), you could prolly bid for one too…

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:11 am

Ayam1 to Ayam9999 tak jual ke?

• Ben Yap on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:29 am

i prefer personalized number plate…. than I can buy Ben Yap 1….