A1M plate bidding starts from RM2.5k, A1M1 RM500k

No shortage of fancy plates to be paraded on your car these days. There’s ‘U’, ‘US’, ‘SMS‘, ‘RIMAU‘, ‘PERFECT’, ‘NAAM’, ‘VIP’, ‘GT’ and ‘PATRIOT’, on top of unique regular series plates such as ‘AKU‘ and ‘RR‘.

The latest to join the list is ‘A1M’. The A1M 1 to A1M 1000 number plate series was launched earlier this month by Yayasan Artis 1Malaysia, a foundation set up in support of local performing artists including actors, singers and musicians who have aged, deteriorated in health or deceased. The organisation’s president is Datuk Irwan Shah Abdullah, also known as DJ Dave.

Application forms for bidding can be obtained online from www.plata1m.com.my. A1M is said to have the lowest required deposit amount of the special series plate runs, at 10% of the bid.

The sales and marketing of the number plate series is handled by D’City Planners, appointed by the foundation. A launch ceremony will be held where the winners will be announced, and will be invited to dinner with local artists. The minimum bid price differs according to categories. It starts at RM2,500 for regular numbers, while the minimum bid for ‘A1M 1’ is RM500,000. The closing date is October 2.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Retired artiste dijaga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • aiful on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:33 pm

omg enough la fancy plate!!

• KenJi on Sep 15, 2017 at 5:37 pm

500k for number plat? Better buy house rather than show off

• Rich and bored? Go ahead and buy one. Rich and planning to get it as an investment that would be borne out by other rich and bored people in future? Cool. No money? Just shake head and move along. Anyway, just hope this exercise benefits those who it says would help.

• Buy 1 for Rm30k, then sell it for Rm400k. The kapcai is dessert on top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Kenny on Sep 18, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Buy for investment? As long as they keep coming out with special number plates it will be worth peanuts in future.

• Leslie Man on Sep 16, 2017 at 12:29 am

Stupidity knows no limit.

• Kumarsemaran on Sep 16, 2017 at 11:29 am

this might suggest rich ppl are easily conned with simple alphabets and numbers….

• Satu cara utk dpt duit dr rakyat. Esok lusa kita masih bangkitkan isu gst… Isu barang mahal… Isu harga minyak… Tapi kita masih leka dengan nombor… Dengan F1nya.. AKUnya.. nnti FB lagi.. Mana pi duit hasil jualan no plate selama ni pun tak tau…

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 17, 2017 at 7:08 pm

I also wanna create a vanity plate. Tanah 1 United, abbreviated to become T1U. I foresee T1U 7 would be very high in demand.

• Ben Yap on Sep 18, 2017 at 9:10 am

As much as I want to support local artists, but i find that if they are really that good, they would’ve make it big without selling number plates.

try singing on youtube and see if they can be a youtube superstar internationally. that’ll be a good indication if they are able to compete internationally.