RON 95 price would be RM2.53 without subsidy, diesel RM2.51; prices to remain for the rest of 2018 – LGE

We now know the newly floated price for RON 97 petrol, which is RM2.66 per litre, or 19 sen higher than the RM2.47 mark maintained since the fourth week of March. Meanwhile, the mass market RON 95 grade has been maintained at RM2.20 per litre, while diesel remains at RM2.18 per litre.

What many might not realise is that at current rates, RON 95 and diesel is being subsidised by the government, as global oil prices have been on the rise of late. Now, finance minister Lim Guan Eng has revealed the quantum of subsidy.

According to Lim, the government will be subsidising 33 sen for every litre of RON 95 and diesel this week. Without the subsidy, pump prices for RON 95 and diesel would have been RM2.53 and RM2.51 per litre, respectively. The minister added that global crude oil prices have reached US$76 per barrel, while refined petrol and diesel products are currently priced between US$87 and US$88 per barrel.

The federal government has allocated RM3 billion until the end of 2018 to finance the subsidy and to maintain the retail pump price of RON 95 and diesel for the rest of the year. Reintroducing fuel subsidies was part of Pakatan Harapan’s manifesto.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• komarad on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:15 pm

so RON 95 will be RM2.20 per liter for the rest of the year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Syukurlah. Teh tarik and roti canai price wont change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Turbo Cars Cry on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:01 pm

I’m going to laugh at those Civic CRV Turbo, BMW 1er 3er, Merc As Cs next time LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
        • Why?

• Acting Rich L0r on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:37 am

Got money buy car.
            No money buy fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Lee W on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:18 pm

The CR-V will run fine on 95 and likely the lower-end of the BMW and Mercedes-Benz range

You can use 97 and it may be ever so slightly better for the engine but it’s up to you to decide if the benefit are worth the extra.

Don’t forget that a number of ultra high revving naturally-aspirated cars require RON98 as the bare minimum.

• PT CRV Video on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:42 am

In the latest Driven. The CR-V 1.5 turbo so damn noisy and sluggish low speed. If is not CVT problem. Is that due to RON95?

• Lee W on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:17 pm

As far as I know, the local model CR-V doesn’t have a dedicated R95/97 profile.

Would acoustics and ride quality be improved with a higher AKI? Not entirely sure but I have a suspicion that the CVT could have played a small role.

• PT CRV Video on Jun 08, 2018 at 3:47 pm

In the Driven clip. PT crew purposely recorded the roaring sound of the CVT. They also in opinion is not the CVT to be blamed.

Is Civic Turbo roars the same way?

• Lee W on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:09 pm

Haven’t driven the Civic Turbo much but from the short time I had with it, I don’t recall hearing much of a roar.

I did test the BR-V though and it had a bit of that roar.

• PT CRV Video on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:52 pm

CR-V & Civic having the same 1.5 turbo and same CVT?

• Lee W on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:44 pm

The actual engine and transmission itself is very likely similar.

Though the software could be different in the sense that both cars likely have different tuning profiles to suit their demographics. The CR-V’s engine produces more power, for instance.

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:27 am

the CRV noise of 70 decibels during highway cruising is from wind and tyre. not from engine/transmission.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:58 pm

Lucky we got a new clean Government who cap it at RM2.20. If corrupted previous Gomen was around, Ron 95 will be RM3.00 by now.

And our RM1 trillion debt will be RM2 trillion in no time!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 53
          • Ber ber on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:55 am

Errr, even LGE sang different tune regarding that so-called 1-trillion question…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:55 am

I hope we don’t get fake news here again like telling us we have the cheapest petrol prices in the world and cheapest car prices in the world.

I think Malaysians know this is fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Fake news is when LGE decided to calculate debt according to his own standards instead of following world norms. More like fake debts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • One Piece on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Malaysia debts is not a fake news, only the debt term is different, but it is still a liability to Government. Just the macai will try to twist and turn. don’t worry, it just their inability to think out of the box.

• Pemandu on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:38 pm

KPDNKK still relevant?

• arowana on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:45 pm

i thought they say will lower the price after becoming government.. why maintain the price???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 43
    • Dah capati lor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 17
    • Global fuel price increase & they need to money to save our country first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 51
      • Then why complain when fuel prices were changing every week?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
        • One Piece on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Because it will increase other goods also and the goods price won’t drop when fuel prices drop.

• Anonymous on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:23 pm

I thought they said they will lower Ron95 to RM1.50… how come not now…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
      • Manifesto dicapatikan. What else more will be dicapatikan? Lets wait and see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
        • rightwinger on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:58 am

it was well played… the moment they got in, they slapped the rakyat with their boogeyman- debt (which included dubious calculation method), to legitimize their inability to deliver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
          • TheDean on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:09 pm

and how do your goodself legitimize their 1boogeyman- debt …care to clarify ?

• Bapak: “Just as planned. Mwuahahaha!”

• rightwinger on Jun 08, 2018 at 1:09 pm

national liabilities is not debt- it wasnt when Tun was in power the first time, it still isnt in any other countries with sane minded finance minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Only personal liabilities = personal debt. Akpk lolz

• There is no mentioned of Euro 5 Diesel. Anyone knows if it is fixed also? Shopping for a diesel Sorento/CX5 now…

• RON97 floated only up 19 sen, while RON95 if floated will up 33 sen? Wait a sec….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
    • Bro, RON97 have GST earlier. Now at zero rate so the increase is smaller. The increase would be 33 sen if GST still at 6%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • We argued before this that we are an oil producing nation. Why should we be tied to world’s oil price? Don’t we get to enjoy the fuel ourselves?

The argument used by the present government looks like same argument used by previous government. Follow global crude price. What has changed?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 12
    • in the open world of economy, every product has a price. You want lower price of fuel, but the fuel is not de facto for free. Fuel has been processed from crude oil, what is the cost?who is giving the engineers?who is paying the operational cost?

its just like if you run a business in your own shoplot, you should also include the cost of the rental, otherwise as an owner of shoplot, you might as well rent it out without hassle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
      • I’ve heard your argument one too many times. It was during BN. Like I asked, what has changed? Same-same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
        • The only diff is, now we get ripped off but we cant shout about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 17
          • The only diff is, Malaysia got robbed off big time by previous corrupted regime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
          • Einstein on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:39 am

So instead we chose to be robbed again by an even bigger robber, one that has robbed us for 22 years? Are Malaysians insane to do the same but expects different outcome? Even my theoretical physics can’t brain that logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
        • probably no one has taught you how to make a decision.

well, here is the deal, it may be sometimes difficult to compare which is better, you may choose to make the less painful choice.

imagining you have owned a 60 year-old car which has lots of problem. Yes, you can try to fix it, but you pay your cost including $, time. Would you rather choose to own another new car? you may not know if the new car will bring problems, but you instantly get rid of the hassles from the old car. Well, if you think the new car doesn’t suit you later on, probably due to nostalgia, no one will stop you from choosing back your old car although with issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Dr Strange on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:04 am

The old car has served reliably for 60 years. Sure its old & needs fixing, but it never complains much. Then you go & got a new car on whim and abandoned the old one onto the roadside. After that, you didn’t care & it rots there while getting picked of by opportunist. Soon you found that your new car is perpetually going into & out of workshops and staying there for long periods of time. Furthermore replacements and maintenance was astronomically high which the slick salesman didn’t tell you!

You suddenly regret buying that new car & wanted to switch back to use the trusty old one but disappointingly found that its no longer usable. You curse your luck doubly ’cause now you have no car left to use since the new one is hopeless & you didn’t care for the old one.

Strange how circumstances only makes us realised what we have when we lose it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
          • Woah! Dr Stange’s example is deep but meaningful. Food for thought.

• Spongewai on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Dr Strange must have gotten a spanky new iriz. old faithtful Beetle is better :))

• Add on to Dr Strange example, a classic Beetle wud be much much much more reliable than any current gen VWs. :-)

• Previous same reason was x OK, will be whacked by basher.
      Present same reason is now OK, will be sapoted by basher.

Thats the diff.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
  • Spin Too Much on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:59 pm

We don’t want to know how much it cost if not subsidised. We already know that RON95 had been subsidised since the previous administration. Why are you telling us that?

What we want to know is, when you are going to make good your promise of implementing ceiling of RM1.50/L for petrol? Thats what we want to know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 20
    • MeToo on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Did Pakatan promise this?

Pls jog my memory

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
      • Let me help jog ur memory.
        “Ini berbeza dengan Pakatan Harapan (PH) yang telah berjanji akan menurunkan harga minyak ke paras RM1.50 ke bawah.” – Suarapakatandaily (Nov 2017)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
    • Wong Tat Wah on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:07 pm

Previous Government leaves us One trillion Malaysian Ringgit debt. How to give you RM 1.50 per liter.

If you patriotic enough , you should thanks our government now even if they fixed the Ron 95 at RM 3.00 per liter.

You should don’t ask from government but what you can contribute to our beloved government now . Get it ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 83
      • Spin Too Much on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:58 pm

Wait a minute. Ain’t your politicians been telling us since last year that Malaysia was going bankrupt? So why is this not factored into when they did their promise of RM1.50/L? Were they making promises just for fun?

Because it seems like either they were lying to us then, or they are lying to us now. Please make good on your promises or you are just a Fake Government!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 13
        • Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:55 pm

ha ha ha ha. Pembangkang frus. Malaysia was about to be bankrupt with 1 trillion debt and if no change of Government, it would be 2 trillion in few years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Rakyat Malaysia baru sedar. Janji mau kawin, tapi lepas dah dimainkan, itu orang lari dengan pompuan lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
        • Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:21 am

The difference is one gomen did not tell us that we are in a trillion debts while the other did not keep their promise of 1.50 per liter.

Maybe we should let the old gomen run till we be like GREECE !!! After that cry also no tears. Is that what U want??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
          • Maybe u all shud have. Simplest way to know country health is economic indicators and how to gauge this is whether investments coming in or out. BN era coming in, PH era going out- FAST. Which is healthy & which is not, u can think for urself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Good news is gomen will gain extra RM300 million for every USD1 increase in crude oil price (at April 2018 levels of US dollar-ringgit exchange rate.) The previous BN 2018 budget was based on USD52 full year average per barrel. Today crude oil is trading above UDS70+

Even after deducting the RM3 Billion subsidy, nett effect is still extra profits into the Treasury. These funds can be put to better use like funding hospitals, school or helping the hardcore poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • pengayuhbasikal on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:11 pm

can somebody share the price of ron 95 during subsidy last time…when the crude oil price was around USD 75 previously…

• real driver on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Current ron95 is lousy lar. 1 Oct 2018 on time to upgrade to Euro 4M or not?

• Amran on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:34 pm

Rm1.50/l when? Janji dicapati.. same story..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • Jay Chelliah on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:53 pm

FAKE NEWS BY YB LGE. World Price is USD87 per barrel or 159 Litres at cost price equates to RM1.92 per litre cost. Multiply by 3 for distillation, transport etc = RM5.76. Hence subsidy is EM3 per litre. Hence, the Rahyat subsidising the BMWs. MBs at this price before Petroleum Duty and Tax. The Real Subsidy is about RM5 per litre. Tun M said MY uses 800K per day. Hence Subsidy is RM6.36M per day or RM2.3 Billion per year. No wonder Malaysia is BROKE. YB Please rebalance the taxation on Fuel. If someone can afford a car and petrol – they can pay extra tax which MY can use to upgrade our schools and education system rather than global warming and depletion of the earth’s resources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Thomas Ponnudurai on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:10 pm

Cool story brah. But Malaysia is BROKE becoz RM50 Billion 1MDB debt + RM 10 Billion SSER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
  • latukBandar on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:46 pm

So, they claimed this petrol price mechanism was flawed, but now they have no problem using this same system?

If that is the case, this means Najib was right, no?

What’s next? a new national car, electric car? yes, this time it will be different. So, no drop in car price. After all, mahathir did say our cars are too cheap and need to be raise to protect proton.

good luck. 1980’s is back. Fight Singapore, Blame everyone, subsidize Singaporean and Thais petrol, sugar, floor, rice… no new trains, cronies are back and also look east at Japan, the declining empire while China is the new emerging giant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
    • pengayuhbasikal on Jun 08, 2018 at 12:36 am

1MDB was given mandate to promote economic development in Malaysia. But our nation wealth gravely plundered, Ok pulak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
      • LatukBandar on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:30 pm

yes, 1MDB got many corruption inside, so what? it has 58B assest and 55B liabilities.

even if 1MDB collapsed, it is not going to make a dent in our finances. it is just a small company compare to the grand scheme of things.

LGE and gang is just using it to scare everyone. 1 trillion debt? we use the international standard to measure debt, not the new LGE standard. Please read more.

our debt is just 680billion, not 1 trillion. if it is 1 trillion, then you make sure LGE file this report in the up and coming report in bank negara. i want to see who is lying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • B4 he do that, better change all ur money into foreign currencies. When the bottom drops, better make sure have safety net, bro LatukBandar.

• Nak lari lettew. Pahlawan konon phui!

• Not lari. When RM becomes like Zimbabwe dollars then USD is veli useful.

• Back To The Future! Uturn style! But with ironic twist! Back when we Look East Jepun was king, but now China is king while Jepun is decrepit, we still seek atuk Jepunis for help. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:46 am

buy P2……and save money for petrol….
    Can go far far to eat lunch….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Mivi engine 1,329 cc wei. Above 1,300 cc subsidy level wei. Manada jimat.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Are you staying in a cave??
        Go and find out Viva car how many cc la….Adui.

• Chavez on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:24 am

So the lower income group have to move from Myvi to Axia/Viva? I thought our lives were supposed to improve with this new government. Why does it seem like a downgrade to me?

• Aniki Tan on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:56 am

Actually it is not subsidy, just that they can’t earn exactly like what the market value is. Remember those petroleum is 70% from Petronas and the cost is way much lower than what we are paying today RM2.20/litre. However due to GST 0%, i think this is quite a good income as well. Just take a final note, those are more than 70% petroleum from our own territory whereby only maximum 30% was allowed to import from Singapore. They are not going to loose money or “subsidy” as per what they mentioned.

• Shamsul on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:10 am

To Paul Tan: pls publish price comparison for petrol sold in Thailand vs Malaysia vs Singapore. Do it for just for 1st week of every month. Also to show amount of subsidy RON95 sold in Malaysia and also the “would be RON95 price base on pre GE14 floating price formula” vs crude oil price. For me too much harping by certain people on PKR not full filling promise of reducing petrol price. At crude oil price of USD70 per barrel the crude oil before refining & transportation and retailing is already at RM1.73 per litre. You can get more 40% of gasoline from a barrel of crude. Some % of crude will be low valve fuel oil. A certain percentage of each barrel of crude had to be utilise to run furnaces and boilers etc etc in the oil refinery. We are in deep shit that billions of ringgit are poorly spent or leaked out. Therefore it is not appropriate & immature just to harp on why petrol price is not being reduced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Ghani on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:58 am

I don’t see the other commenters as harping. The PH administration came in riding upon their promises to the rakyat. Between their’s and BN’s promises, the BN ones were less bombastic and wasn’t able to capture the hearts and minds of the rakyat, thus the rakyat was taken by PH promises and voted for them instead. Now they have won, its high time they honour their promises. Even a planned schedule should suffice, despite their earlier pledge that all would be implemented within 100 days.

A responsible Government would never promise what it cannot do, don’t you agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • As Shamsul rightly pointed – “We are in deep shit”. Thats 60 full damm years worth of sheet. Its high time they honour their promises. To clean Malaysia from corruption, to investigate 1MDB.

A responsible Government would never promise what it cannot do, don’t you agree?

• A responsible Government wouldn’t mislead its people, and go on telling stories about fake debts. When they fleshed out the debts and liabilities of the Government, those investors and financial sectors can tell that the Ministers were lying through their teeths. Why else would they jump ship and ran?

A responsible Government would never do that to its rakyat, its interest & well-being, and those who care about it,don’t you agree?

• Why decide to maintain petrol at RM2.20. This this price is decided by the government, why not set it at RM1.99.

• Calvin Lee on Jun 08, 2018 at 3:53 pm

If we are nett exporter, our country make much more each time the price goes up. Its not subsidy but selling cheaper to ourself cos we produce oil and we shall only be afraid if price drop then we suffer and lack income.

Only if oil price exceed 100 then we need not have to donate to save our country. Just be thankful to God that the oil price didnt drop below 50 again.

• LatukBandar on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:33 pm

you are an example of a blind DAP/PH supporter.

We import more petrol than we export. go look up the data.

We are not an oil producing nation, we are more of a LNG producing nation. we export Light Natural Gas.

• William on Jun 08, 2018 at 5:56 pm

Don’t promise this and that b4 election.

• Northern Nitro on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:18 pm

I see here everybody here talking wisely about our countries financial position… especially latukbandar homemade FM…its just one month and everybody is jumping already….give them time and continue with your life….if its not good for the people, we know what to do next…people already elect them…then face the fact..if its good keep them…if not throw them out….no point talking here about them…like they care…..

• mmmmmmmm on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:57 am

that is how crazy our current situation is. OLD bn gov already gone. NEW ph gov everyday press conference tell story. You dont need to work? People will complaint anyway, just get on with it.