FCA recalls 4.8 million cars over faulty cruise control

Fiat Chrysler Automobiles has issued a recall involving approximately 4.8 million vehicles over a defect that could prevent drivers from turning off the cruise control feature. The company also warned owners outside of the US to not use the function until a software upgrade is in place.

According to the BBC, there has been no injuries or crashes relating to the potentially faulty software. There is, however, one report of a driver of a 2017 Dodge Journey being unable to turn off cruise control.

The company said its cruise control system will automatically start accelerating to help cars attain the driver’s desired or preset speed. If that automatic acceleration happens at the same time as a short-circuit in the car’s electrical system, then the driver may be unable to switch off cruise control.

As scary as it sounds, FCA said drivers could still bring the car to a complete stop by continuously applying brake pressure or by shifting into neutral gear and braking. Most of the vehicles involved are made between 2014 to 2018, with several markets outside the US – such as Canada and Mexico – being affected as well.

Currently, the total number of affected vehicles globally is not known, but the company said it plans to contact all affected customers. Affected models include the Chrysler 200, Chrysler 300, Chrysler Pacifica, Dodge Charger, Dodge Challenger, Dodge Journey, Dodge Durango, Dodge Ram, Jeep Cherokee, Jeep Grand Cherokee and Jeep Wrangler. Some markets outside the US and Canada are also recalling certain Fiat Fremont models.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• TherealMaserati on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:47 pm

hoping my Maserati Ghibli S not affected. Fingers crossed.

• therealmaseratikok on Jun 11, 2018 at 9:10 pm

We all know you mean your 1:30 scale toy car

• Dun worry. Ur diecast toy car is in not involved in this recall and ur life is in no danger whatsover… unless u swallow the car of course.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Unable to “off”? Wow PT. You guys need to beef up your command of English. Switch off or turn off would be better.

Can you ON the cruise control? LoL

• sampan 250kmph on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:58 pm

“Activate” cruise control
      “Deactivate” cruise control