Alternative KL-SG rail line mooted – slower, RM50 billion cheaper than HSR, but is it truly needed?

The Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) project has been shelved, for now, but an alternative rail line that’s slower and much cheaper has been mooted. The Star reports that the proposal, which is to upgrade present rail infrastructure instead of starting a new one from scratch (as with the HSR) has been presented to the Council of Eminent Persons advisory panel.

The daily’s sources say that the alternative proposal will cost the government RM20 billion, which is much lower than the HSR’s cost of between RM60 billion and RM70 billion. It would also save Malaysia some RM500 million in compensation to Singapore for cancelling the joint project.

Using KTM’s existing double-track infrastructure, the proposed alternative is slower – 130 minutes from KL to Singapore versus the HSR’s 90 minutes, with a top speed of 200 km/h compared to 320 km/h.

“Cost will be shaved by more than RM50 billion, which is 70% lower compared to the HSR. This does not include land acquisition cost and possible cost overruns incurred by the HSR. The upgrading of the existing railway tracks would involve minimal land acquisition, minimal disruption to existing system and complement the entire national railway network. It would not lead to a duplication of railway lines,” the report’s source said.

If this plan is to go ahead, current rail infrastructure has to be upgraded to accommodate both standard and meter gauge trains, and this can be done by adding a single line next the double tracks. Our present meter gauge tracks are narrower, which limits train speed. The plan will also be cheaper than the suggestion to extend the Express Rail Link from KLIA to Singapore, which could potentially cost at least RM30 billion.

“The suggested ERL extension plan would involve a completely new alignment from KLIA and there is not much of a difference in travelling time compared with the plan to upgrade the existing infrastructure,” the source said. ERL, which is operated jointly by YTL Group and Lembaga Tabung Haji, has said that it is prepared to extend the line to Melaka if the government approves the plan.

While much cheaper, RM20 billion is still a big sum. Do we need such a train service? Will it be sustainable?

Economist Prof Dr Barjoyai Bardai told The Sun that although the alternative project will slash costs by as much as RM50 billion, it will still be unfeasible due to very low returns on investment.

“When finance minister Lim Guan Eng said the HSR would cost RM110 billion, I calculated that the return on investment would be 0.5%, assuming the train runs at full capacity every day. If you half that original sum, the return is still far below, at 1%. My view is we should defer it by at least five years, as the near future should provide other alternatives to explore,” he said.

Malaysian Chamber of Company Directors secretary-general Salihin Abang raised a pertinent question. “The ETS can go as fast as 160 km/h, so why do we need to spend an additional RM20 billion for an alternative to HSR with a speed of 200 km/h? The RM20 billion would be better spent on buying more coaches for ETS to increase trips frequency and offer the convenience of rail travel for the public and to extend ETS tracks for the JB-Singapore route,” he said.

For Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia economics department head Prof Dr Nor Ghani Mohd Nor, there’s no reason for a costly new train line when there are low cost flights.

“Low-cost airlines can increase flights easily between Singapore and Kuala Lumpur without costing the government a sen, besides contributing taxes to its coffers. Whether or not airlines want to increase flight frequency depends on demand. As long as there is a mechanism for airlines to adjust flight frequency in response to demand for a sector, it will always be fulfilled,” he said.

However, in the longer term, Malaysia and Singapore might be left behind, or saddled with an old system, if the rest of ASEAN picks up HSR in the next two or three decades. This was raised by transport economist Walter Theseira from the Singapore University of Social Sciences to Singapore’s Today Online.

“By building a system now that is not going to be interoperable with a true high-speed rail system, we may put ourselves in the unfortunate position of, in 20 years’ time, having to reinvest in a high-speed rail,” he noted.

Signed in December 2016, the HSR was planned as a 350 km-long double-track route (335 km in Malaysia, 15 km in Singapore) with eight stops in total – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur. A bridge over the Straits of Johor – with a height clearance of 25 metres – would have linked the line between both countries.

Trains on the service were expected to run 10 car-long trains, with the capacity for up to 100 passengers per car. These trains were projected to run at average speeds of 300 km/h and bring down the rail travel time between KL and Singapore to 90 minutes.

What do we think? It’s undeniable that a true city-to-city HSR system (as originally planned) easily beats flying from KLIA to Changi in terms of speed and convenience, as KLIA is located some distance from the city. However, not many outside of the business traveller set would be able to appreciate this, as tickets won’t be cheap. While easy, fast trains are never the most cost effective, whether in Europe or East Asia, which raises the sustainability issue – will the seats be filled?

Given the high cost of high speed rail, and the current state of the nation’s finances, deferring the HSR plan is wise and necessary. A move to the standard gauge has been long overdue, though. What are your thoughts on the matter?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Muhd Satibi on Jun 19, 2018 at 6:46 pm

40 minutes extra is no big deal. After all, our GLCs and Putrajaya also work slow slow. So, having a slightly slower train is no big deal.

Very suitable for the attitude of working slow slow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 66
    • Its this kinda thinking deswai MY wun achieve developed status even after 3030.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
      • No brainer on Jun 19, 2018 at 11:47 pm

SG-PG: Flight or Sportscar. Holiday
        PG-SG: Flight or Drive. Very rare
        SG-KL: Flight or Sportscar. Holiday
        KL-SG: Flight or Drive. Seldom
        SG-JB: Drive or walk/ride (Malaysians). Very frequent
        JB-SG: Walk/ride (Malaysians). Very very frequent.

• D Durai on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:20 am

EUROSTAR train between London and Paris continued to make losses every year. Before embarking on more costly projects. Putrajaya

must focused on paying off their RM55B debts related to 1MDB and RM20B payments advanced to ECRL first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
        • Dun be daft. Public transports have either been making losses to be affordable to the masses or price out of most pipu affordability. Yet look what it did to London when the service came on, it became a financial hub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • 12yrsold john on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:44 am

Agree with U john. U should supply PT with the latest photos bcos PT.org still using OLD photos la.

• Its up to PT to use whatever photo they want. Why u butthurt about it? Take it up with PT lah! U think i run PT kah?

• Do you know that a very capable stock trader can deal up to Rm1 million stock valuation a minute? So if given a 40 minute lag, would mean 40 million worth of stocks going into someone else’s pocket. If his commission is even a measly 10%, that’s a daily loss of Rm4 million. Do you think he can stomach your Slow Speed Rail then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
      • Sick&Tired on Jun 19, 2018 at 11:15 pm

Your logic doesn’t make sense! Do u think a person who earns rm4 million a day will use train service??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
        • A man would, if his 2 hours waiting in the airport can be recoup by using train instead. And besides, a HSR train is much more luxurious than a standard coach train. Have you been inside a Shinkansen before? The seats are much more comfortable than any budget airline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 14
          • What A Loser on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:22 am

Duhhh.. Like stock market benefitted 30 million of Malaysian.. If you don’t want to lose 4 million a day,wake up early la.. As if trade in stock market can’t be done at home in front your laptop? Need to go bursa Malaysia every single day?

• 4mil a day can afford a few private plane…..no waiting time and the seats are way comfortable

• Gan Kai Hock on Jun 20, 2018 at 7:17 am

Er…stock trading doesn’t require traveling by train. Make sure you have a fast iand stable nternet connection which the previous govt said Malaysian don’t need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
        • 12yrsold john on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:40 am

I guess he is from old school still using land line/fixed line to trade.

• Brokers don’t have to be there, but traders need to be on the floor. Get your facts right, mate.

• Tarro on Jun 20, 2018 at 10:05 am

Why!, 40 minutes extra, you still have internet connection in train.

either you took HSR or this or driving or taking chauffeured , as long as you have internet it would be ok.

It is different if you are taking plane, most of it dont have wifi.

• Wolf of wallstreet on Jun 23, 2018 at 6:11 am

If he is making 40m in 2 hrs might as well he buys a 5 star hotel next to singapore stock exchange…or why not just buy a house next to wall street…so can walk less than 2 minutes and make few hundred million more.

• Given a choice between high speed train vs aeroplane between KL and SG, I will opt for the train 10 times out of 10. Because there is always the traveller who can afford to fly but hates flying either through fear of flying, the 2 hours before departure wait, the hassle of security, the limitations of what can be packed in carry on luggage, the uncomfortable economy class seats, turbulence, complicated ticket purchase process and if have last minute changes… the list goes on and on. I want the fast train damnit. And if they decide with an ETS train, hello the damn KTM makes it go slow in certain ulu areas, don’t dream of a constant 160kph for the whole journey. Hate KTM Management. Please build the damn HSR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
      • Fully agree on your statement and reasoning. Cheers, mate

• pembesar on Jun 20, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Nah failed logic. Gomen still subsidizing MRT projek & Prasarana to the tune of RM 50 billions+ worth of debts via DanaInfra.

• Pokjang on Jun 20, 2018 at 10:32 am

Biar papa asalku bergaya.

Bayar habis hutang RM50 billion 1MDB + RM70 billion ECRL dulu…

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 20, 2018 at 11:15 am

Looks like the government have to spend billions to satisfy a handful of people who hates flying….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • musangKing-originalz on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:14 pm

my little child, baba got no money to buy u a fast train now….eat candy now ok and shut the fakup..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 20, 2018 at 11:08 am

We want hsr not this…full stop

• musangKing-originalz on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:10 pm

IT’s time to launch GrabPlane 1.0, grab a plane.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:29 pm

this does not benefit anyone except Singaporean. The shelved HSR actually go through larger city along he way. 130min most probably on-stop from kl-sg. HSR 90min nonstop kl-sg n 120min for HSR intercity within bolehland

• bread on Jun 19, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Rm70billion is a huge sum. But in the long run, it will be worth it. Build it and the business will come. This is a link between two major business cities. People will definitely use it, not just for business but for play and tourism. Tourist will definitely use it to visit other cities from KL, especially if they are staying in KL and just want to do a day trip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 14
    • Muhd Satibi on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:56 pm

HSR RM70 billion. ECRL estimated RM110 bil. For What?

But potholes on the roads still exist. Half the time, tayar letup because of potholes. Or major accidents happen because we are avoiding a huge pothole.

Besides potholes, in an emergency, when you call an ambulance, ambulance driver comes 2 hours later. Ask anyone who had an emergency before, they will tell you same story

What for all the mega projects when the simple things in life we cannot even sort out?

Better we sort all this first….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
      • Sputjam on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:29 pm

Our roads used to be best in asia in the 60’s. Until they allowed utilities to use road to lay down cables and pipes. Now is like in uganda.

• Gan Kai Hock on Jun 20, 2018 at 7:19 am

How long the run?

• As long as the country is projected for continuous grow? Transport projects such as HSR have multiplier effects to boost growth which will enhance its demand, and hence more will need to be built.

• Mr Hakim on Jun 19, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Just axed it for good, this gonna be another white elephant project

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 31
    • rightwinger on Jun 19, 2018 at 10:53 pm

thats what the oppos were saying in the 80’s about Penang Bridge- waste of public money bla bal bla. today three lanes per side oso not enough…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
      • Sick&Tired on Jun 19, 2018 at 11:18 pm

How can u compare Penang bridge to this? Penang bridge was a necessity, while this is not. I agree with the idea of scrapping this. Let’s explore other evenues first before committing to such a large project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
        • Was it? The oppos then were saying the ferries wuz gud enuff back then and it limits the amount of cars going into the island.

So that thinking of theirs back then wuz wrong and NOW its a necessity? So am i correct to deduce that 20 years from NOW, u wud oso say HSR is a necessity too?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
          • PH supporters always think about short term gain, but never think about long term pain. Others, on the other hand, adopt short term pain with long term gain view..

• Deswai 1MDB gonna be long term pain.
            Kudos to BN short term gain view..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Pro David on Jun 20, 2018 at 1:49 am

Yes, white elephants for sure.

X them n move on.

• If slower than journey by plane, then no point. Those high income earners that HSR suppose to catch wun even take a sniff at SlowSR.

Those who dissed HSR forgot that for an equivalent journey, HSR is safer, faster(no need wait to check in), reliable, and most importantly much much much less polluted. Frequent short routes, an airplane will exhaust more CO2 in upper atmosphere than trains. Frequent take offs and landings oso unnecessarily burns more high grade jetfuel.

And talk about cost, a trip to & fro SG today will cost RM714. Gip me HSR ticket at RM700 oso I will say its worth it lah, since i dun have to pay RM70~80 for Grab from KLIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 34
    • Sabri Tahir on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:50 pm

This is a bad decision by the previous Government. This would result in Singaporeans buying homes all over in Malaysia and house prices will rise even more.

Just like JB. house prices there are crazy high because Singaporeans buy big time into JB and Iskandar. Even cost of living so high. Your mere Chicken rice is so so so so so expensive compared to KL because Singaporeans come into JB and makan maximum.

Who loses? Malaysians. How to compete with the Singaporean purchasing power?

Previous Government never thought about all this. Just want to approve deal to make kickbacks and money fast.

Rakyat suffer most with super high house prices and super high food prices when Singaporeans flash their money here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 48
      • Really? Did u forget something? Like the Act that limits foreigners to purchase houses >RM1 million. So how does that affect the rest of us?

In fact, this is the same tactic used by ur clueless FM back in his CM days. U sure u wanna bash his brilliance in “uplifting” Penang GDP kah? Choose ur next words carefully, or The Boss might come and gip a proper sounding for being such a noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • DS Nazri wud rather Umno work with DAP and PKR than PAS. The Boss wud agree.

• Ghani on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:30 am

You’re probably not a Johorean and just talking out of your arse. JB has been expensive since way back in the good old days. With or without HSR, it will STILL be expensive, but then again most buyers aren’t Sinkies, but those newly rich Johoreans working in Singapore. So follow your thinking we should discriminate them fellow Malaysians and not allowed to buy properties in JB? Get real!

And Iskandar has always been marketed as premium properties to the Sinkies, So what if they can afford for the expensive property there? It means more money into our state coffers. And HSR doesn’t go into Iskandar, so what you’re babbling about it for? We know how to run our state don’t need outsiders like you to tell us what to do.

And from your very familiar statements, I now know that your name is just another facade to the same paid PH cybertrooper. You don’t speak for the rakyat, you only mouth for your paymasters.

• Joholan on Jun 20, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Proud to have current Johor leaders not letting the past gov administration mess up my state… Don’t blame Johor If your past leaders are not there with you when the country is plagued with integrity turmoil. We are proud to have leaders who will always fight for our rights and will always be transparent with us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Kamar on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Tony can fly you to & fro SG, RM174 only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Really? I cant get flights for today 19th (lost 1 business day), so I have to book for tmrw 20th which cost me, oh, RM662. So if im a high income earner, shud I waste 2 extra hours of productive time waiting at airport or topup the RM38 for a HSR ticket? No brainer there see, except for that no-brains PH troll, who cant grasp this concept. Too complex for him, u see.

• I checked. A ticket today and return tmrw cost RM662. And I have to put up with AirAsias infemes cramp seats, compared to business keras seating on HS trains.

• Highfler on Jun 21, 2018 at 10:13 am

business traveller can fly business class under company tab. fly KL-SG today and return RM1k no problem.

• Ghani on Jun 21, 2018 at 12:52 pm

What you mentioned there just supported John’s statement. If talk about cost, for the equivalent air ticket would be more expensive. So how does air travel be cheaper than HSR travel?

• lemang periuk on Jun 22, 2018 at 8:33 am

What you mentioned there just naive. If talk about cost, HSR to spend 70B thats RM70,000,000,000

Air travel? Malaysia Airlines lol…

• spock1976 (Member) on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:59 pm

At odd hours yes. But average price is around the rm700 quoted by John. Most businessmen will fly the fri evening or sunday evening flights which are high in demand and hence expensive.

• Anonymous on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:50 pm

A trip from KL-Sg was projected at RM200. The trip would save time n cost since it will directly connect 2 new CBDs, Jurong East and Bandar M’sia.

It will also provide much needed high paying jobs in the high tech transportation sector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • Wow! Thats even cheaper than my estimate and yet even more value for money that the entire New MY gov cant even figure this out.

• Sputjam on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:20 pm

My estimate, peak hour tickets wil be about RM400-500.one way.

• drMpower on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:06 pm

All public transportation dont work without government subsidies/interference. Thats what happened to the initial monorail in KL. Thats why I am very confident to challenge any of you to prove that protectionism dont work. But a running dog (the then government) said the project was a bankrupt. It wasnt. It just the cost cannot be repaid through the lack of ridership number. The PPHPD didnt be able to deliver the ROI within the stipulated period, hence the initial KL Monorail wasnt really a success.
    Next disaster is the MRT. All these rail projects do not present a viable option to the people. In particular the first and the last mile.
    Give me a call anthony. I will help you, with a mere 2 million grant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Hehehe. I see what u did there… ;-)

• aleotak on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:47 pm

MRT does help to reduce traffic jam. If you travel by car daily to KL near MRT route you sure know.

• sohhai on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Use the RM20 billion to upgrade all airports in Malaysia. That would be money better spent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • The problem with a dual/mixed gauge rail as proposed is that it will be running on a shared track with KTM assets, this include intercity, kommuter and freight. The proposed train no matter how much capable it is, will still be Limited to scheduling and traffic. Theres also the fact that the current KTM route is longer and have alot of curve section, no matter how capable it is, it wouldn’t be able to use that speed effectively. Bear in mind, Amtrak of america has the same concept, running passenger service on shared tracks (and like the proposal, having a private company, Amtrak, own the trains While another company, Union Pacific, owns the tracks). Amtrek trains are unable to improve the scheduling and increase efficiency or punctuality because the track owners would give priority to their assets.

Personally, i rather we put hold the plan indefinitely and pay Singapore the penalty sum. RM0.5 billion is still alot less than the huge margin cost to even go with the cheaper, RM20bil plan. Upgrading the tracks wouldn’t do much to improve the overall solution that the HSR is able to provide which is a quick and comfortable solution to get from KL to Singapore, and an alternative to what is one of tge busiest air corridor in the world. If PH can service our debt and rebuilt our economy, perhaps in the future we would have a dedicated HSR spanning the entire west coast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • digidigi on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:11 pm

it Just sound like end the last crony but start a new one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • DonkeyKong on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:11 pm

Stupid idea. This will be a total waste of the RM20 billion. The original HSR, more than anything else, connected two economic centers – Bandar Malaysia, our new financial center, and Jurong CBD, Singapore’s new business district. That was the main value of the HSR, to be able to allow people (and data) to connected between two financial districts seamlessly.

This stupid YTL project will serve no purpose and will generate a loss, with absolutely no multiplier effects to the surrounding areas. Yet another stupid decision by the current government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 16
    • Spot on DK. KLIA alredi struggling with low passenger traffic, RM1 Trillion debts too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Where did u get that low passenger traffic from? KLIAs 58.5mil is just a few hundred k below JFK,New Yorks 59.3mil. To have almost same figure as a renowned transfer hub like JFK is an astounding achievement. RM1 Trillion debt? More like RM1 Trillion ka ching instead.

• Important cronies helped Bapak winrar. So now its time for them to dapat habuan lor. Money come, money come!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Ollie on Jun 20, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Wow this Donkey is still on the BN payroll?? No more money la bro, better find new job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Is that the best u PH trolls can only do? When others have differing opinion, they r automatically labeled as BN sapoter kah? So in ur PH gov, theres no such thing as differing views, only those that agree with ur party line kah? Do u know what democracies called this kinda gov? AUTOCRACY & DICTATORSHIP.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 21, 2018 at 12:23 am

Low IQ comment.. wow you’re on PH payroll? Good for you, new era of cronyism and corruption.

• Bernard on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:20 pm

No need all this inc a car company. Just settle all the debts….
    Try to make Bolehland a happy country …

• Happy on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:09 am

Bhutan is the happiest country and also with low debts, but do u want their lifestyle; with no access to internet to come here and post nonsense?

• bieight on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:24 pm

remove highway speed then also can get to Singapore from kl in 100 minutes if driving a 800bhp car (。•̀ᴗ-)✧

• Sputjam on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:39 pm

Best idea.just expand h8ghway by adding another lane each way. 6 lanes.from KL to JB.

• Wayne on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:54 pm

200km/h with affordable ticket price, then it will be alright.
    Although extending ERL might be higher cost, however I believe in long term, linking KLIA with major cities like Seremban, Muar, Batu Pahat etc, there will be lots of passengers and it will be successful.
    And since it is dedicated Higher Speed Rail, increasing speed in the future when needed still possible.
    200km/h trains sharing same rail with conventional slow trains, might not easy to manage.

• Ah Loke- The Transport Minister on Jun 19, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Stop these stupid discussion! Now government is going to pokkai and loaded with over *”ONE TRILLION”* DEBT and you guys talk about HSR. Malaysia no need HSR, we need cars, we need duty free cars, we need cheap petrol and we need toll free road. With all these implemented, MRT, HSR or ECR or whatever can be scrapped. And please be informed, my ministry is working hard to make this happens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
    • “The official Federal Government debt is RM686.8bil (50.8% of GDP).” – LGE

Loke boy, I tell you now. Don’t get me started to warn you for embarrassing me in front of the internet. Already bad enough, the world now knows I cannot count. So, ah boy, don’t play-play with me.

• AaronC. on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:57 am

We need Malaysian Autobahn! :)

• Useless if a lot of cars on the road till cause of traffic jammed. Even you owned the ferrari but they are no speeding roads and then all pipu had a cars and using the roads that cause drive like snail even you have a ferrari.

• LatukBandar on Jun 19, 2018 at 10:18 pm

That’s like saying we just upgrade Subang Airport enough already. But no, Mahathir wanted a new KLIA Airport, which was under-utilize for so many years.

HSR is a good idea, I believe more Singaporeans will come to Malaysia for a day trip. If there is a HSR connecting KL to bangkok, I believe more Malaysians will go Bangkok than Thais going to malaysia.

Singaporeans won’t mind taking a day trip to Melaka for a meal, maybe to Genting and etc. For us, RM200 per trip is expensive, but for them, it is cheap, thus we earn a lot of foreign currency in the long run.

HSR makes more sense because it will be faster, more quiet and more comfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
  • Ahmadjr on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:49 am

Many people don’t understand the situation here, bukan 70 billion, 110 billion yang jadi masalah utama. Tu masalah kedua. Masalah utama maintenance cost. Bullet train maintenance dia tinggi dan tak boleh berhenti banyak kali macam ets atau train biasa. Jadi margin keuntungan dah banyak potong kat situ. Lagi satu bullet train ni dah banyak negara yang rugi besar. Taiwan dan spain contohnya . Ya public transport ni kerajaan patut subsidi sebab ia kemudahan rakyat, tapi yang ramai guna nanti orang singapore. Apasal duit kita nak subsidi orang singapore. Harga hartanah akan melambung, subsidi barangan mungkin akan dibuang tu susah nak cakap tapi possible.

Paling penting , harga tiket yang mahal pun akan buat ramai singaporean turn off nak beli barang kat kl, baik beli kat jb. Macam kitalah, kenapa shopping dekat2 kalau harga barang jauh lagi murah kat langkawi? Sebab kos perjalanan tu mahal

• Zambino on Jun 20, 2018 at 4:05 pm

Betoi mad. Subsidi maintenance dan operasi je dah cecah 5 billion setaun.. baik repair sekolah.

• Hmm... Much Hmm.. on Jun 20, 2018 at 5:33 am

I just like to point out an information regarding flights from SG to KL… The route is heavily congested, currently operating 84 flights a day with a max of 90. It’s also the world busiest air link with 30,537 flights a year.

Now I know this has nothing to do with PT since this is an auto blog… But there’s not much available route for a safe flight between KL and SG anymore.

If you remember what happened to AirAsia QZ8501, a large reason for it’s crash was the heavy traffic over the area. The ATC would easily approved their requested altitude if it wasn’t congested at the time.

• Gan Kai Hock on Jun 20, 2018 at 7:15 am

I think it’s a viable option. If it’s found to be a feasible, it’s a much better option the original HSR plan. Our projects must be minimum cost with maximum yield. Spend necessarily.

• Thats called shortsighted thinking. Its like u wanna target G-Note customers, but u kiamsiap and spend to come out with G-A7. U try to sell A7 to Note customers but do u think they will go for it, esp if the price of A7 is like Note? Certainly not!

• If you want to scrap, just scrap lah. Why build an alternative that is half the price just to appease the angry public?

At least wait until hyperloop technology becomes commercially viable, then revisit the plan. By then, 90 minutes maybe become 19 minutes.

Although not part of this article, it is the understanding that Daim’s CEP doing the decision-making. They should stop making comments as if they’re part of cabinet. They just make recommendations, let government decide. This old one-eyed man is getting on everyone’s nerve now.

• azhar on Jun 20, 2018 at 8:54 am

support the idea..as long as they solve the mess from the previous govt first…maybe in 5-7 years from now only start the project

• 12yrsold john on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:25 am

Wah LatukBandar, your explanation tak boleh pakai bro. How many S’poreans will spend RM200 per trip daily for us to even break even?? We are talking RM70 billions bro.

Even our MRT Sg Buloh track still loosing millions bcos it did not meet the target ridership(currently still short of 100,000 per day)

Your comment – “If there is a HSR connecting KL to Bangkok, I believe more M’ians will go Bangkok than Thais going to M’sia” – it means $$$ flowing out bro so how to earn foreign currency?? Just saying…

• u only think about now, but never about later.. Last time, the ridership for Putra and Star LRT during the 1st 3 years until they had to be bailed out by the government.. Now, they are filled up to the brim during peak hour!

• 12yrsold john on Jun 20, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Yah, U are half right. When the project is completed, the contractor’s get paid but the current Gomen/Rakyat is the one footing the bill with interest. The real winner profiting here is the contractor(cronies).

Can always build when we are in a better position financially Right!!! Wang Tada tapi mahu tayang. Pikir dulu sebelum belanja.

• Who says we tada wang when even Moodys oso affirmed that debts are at 687Billion. Its just another wayang for PH gov to abrogate their promises lah. Dun be so naive.

• Mig29 on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:34 am

Creativity before capital. The transportation is needed, but instead of 90 minutes 120 minutes is okay. Maybe if people purchase Singapore-KL-Singapore or vice versa, they can travel within one week after staying/stop overnight at the identified station. This will generate the business along the nearby city.

• rchoo on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:59 am

Just realign and retender out a new HSR, I found the alignment somewhat weird (maybe to the interest of certain parties with land banks) and invite Chinese, japanese and French to tender to ensure the best competitive price all to the benefit of Malaysian, I am sure you can halve the existing price. Why give it to YTL and certain individual? 毛长在身上。

• stastasta on Jun 21, 2018 at 6:49 pm

agree with this. who knows , maybe with competitive open tender we will get 30% discount.

• yes, a faster than the diesel ktm is required. build the ETS rail to singapore. the ETS is sufficient enough

• Majhardeen on Jun 20, 2018 at 11:40 am

A high speed train that uses electricity from nearby hydro power stations along route. The coaches designated for each stop with a smaller engine to run again to inside their towns like a tram or a bus. Followed by a coach that carries their personal vehicles such as bicycles, motor bikes and even cars. Plus 10 ft containers for cargo. Or cargo carrying coaches that can be driven to any location nearby. Or double decker coaches with vehicles and containers that can be slide down to a parking bay without much effort. Provided Malaysian Customs has cleared all passengers, small lorries, vans or containers. Frequencies of departures preferably every fifteen minutes. You may have better opinions. Bye.

• Dobi Tunai on Jun 20, 2018 at 11:57 am

If Singapore insists on the RM0.5B compensation for scraping HSR, give it to them. But when 1MDB implicates more Singapore banks and even Monetary Authority of Singapore for being complicit with ex-PM, Malaysia can ask them back for compensation. Think Singapore is always clean? Think again. Where do you think is the easiest and safest location to money launder is Asia?

• applegreen on Jun 20, 2018 at 12:39 pm

The alternative plan with 20-30billion cost is good enough. The previous plan which cost more than 100bilion is too expensive, and I think tesla hyperloop also coming around the same budget.

Government must consider by 2040 there will be flying taxi as alternative from KL to SG

• For Rakyat on Jun 20, 2018 at 1:03 pm

If Pakatan hv budget why not. But not at the moment. ask ur self what we get and our next generation benefit. I thing Pakatan shld forecast on internal RAKYAT facing like : Education, Healthcare, for TNB&TM charges shld reduce 30 to 50% for Klang Valley TOLL fix to RM0.50 for outstation journey 50% discount.. Vehicle frm Singapore or Thailand entry charge RM50 p.day since we have cheap petrol & toll charges.
    Have No1 tallest building, longest bridge etc.. but RAKYAT suffer. RAKYAT don’t ask for bungalow or Ferrari.. We just want a ordinary comfortable life.

• spock1976 (Member) on Jun 20, 2018 at 1:07 pm

I would go with the upgrading of the existing line.

• Majhardeen on Jun 20, 2018 at 2:46 pm

A high speed train that uses electricity from nearby hydro power stations along route. The coaches designated for each stop with a smaller engine to run again to inside their towns like a tram or a bus. Followed by a coach that carries their personal vehicles such as bicycles, motor bikes and even cars. Plus 10 ft containers for cargo. Or cargo carrying coaches that can be driven to any location nearby. Or double decker coaches with vehicles and containers that can be slide down to a parking bay without much effort. Provided Malaysian Customs has cleared all passengers, small lorries, vans or containers. Frequencies of departures preferably every fifteen minutes. You may have better opinions. Bye. P.S. Coaches with drivers in each coach detachable and easily driven to nearby towns. The main coach driver goes to final station with minimal interruption, time saved. Last coaches for first stop.

• hyin21 on Jun 21, 2018 at 8:34 am

Is there a lot of problem travelling between KL and Sin now? If no, just remain status quo

• Ghani on Jun 21, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Is there a problem with that Nokia phone? Then why change it?

• Proper on Jun 22, 2018 at 11:51 am

Thats why MAS Airasia Malindo got no problem. Then why change it?

• Sputjam on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:24 pm

The problem is access to airport via elite highway too unreliable due to congestion, road works and accidents.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 21, 2018 at 10:07 am

I think this is a great alternative plan, using existing double-track route and adding a standard gauge line next to it which will allow trains to go up to 200km/h.. for those who wanna fly, or drive, you can still do that.. but for those who want to take the train, you can do the journey in 130 mins, around 180 mins maybe door to door. On average.. flying, going to the airport..etc. will take on average 230 – 250 mins door to door. Do we really need a 320km/h train to SG? personally, i would love a 320km/h train from north to south the entire length of Pen. Malaysia…. if we could afford it..

• Ben Yap on Jun 21, 2018 at 10:10 am

130 minutes from Malaysia to singapore is too long. If take flight, it’s at most 60 minutes. the extra 40 minutes from the original 90 minutes is a lot. Time is money and wasting 40 minutes is a big deal.

with only 200kmph as top speed it is too slow. even the civic FC can beat that speed. Might as well open up the highways to no speed limit and many cars can still do 200kmph all the way to singapore.

• civic FC can do 200kmph. Yet still kene highbeam flash from behind by another Myvi.

• Sputjam on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:18 pm

We don’t even have a proper train service between KL to singapore or jb. The gemas to jb double track will only be ready in 3 or 4 years time.
    Even today, the service between KL to butterworth and padang besar only seversl service one day. Not even hourly. And that line upgrade cost us RM7 bil excluding rolling stock. How to break even? But travel time reduce to 3.5 hours from 8.
    I would assume if ktm kl to jb foubke tracking in vomplete, we can travel between both cities in 3.5 hours. Not do shabby.
    I prefer or ERL is extended to malacca. It will become a airport rail plus inter city rail. Turn malacca into a international city with first class airport link.
    And another rail linking seremban to putra heights mrt station via klia. This one can use commuter train to lower cost. And klang valley residents can access klia via putra heights.

• Eight stops in total over 350km only? Then a 320km/h train wouldn’t make any sense it all. Example: The German railways opted for train sets with 250km/h max. when they ordered new ICE4 trains recently (the old ICE3 still in service have a top speed of 320km/h). The newer, but slower trains have a better acceleration (important if there are many stops) and the maintenance costs are significally lower. Trains with speeds over 300km/h only make sense if they have to cover long distances between the stops:
    ICE3 traveling between Cologne and Frankfurt airport, 200km in 40min, https://youtu.be/VS26rg52VS0